Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BrucePoker.com Freeroll Pub/Club League 2009

• 14-01-2009 1:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭

Thr BrucePoker.com Pub/club League

BrucePoker.com would like to announce the BrucePoker.com Pub/Club League 2009. This is a nationwide pub/club league which will be running from the 19th of January for 12 weeks finishing in a Tournament in Dublin with a 60-100k prizepool.

League will start on 19th January 09. It will run for 12 weeks finishing on Sunday the 6th April 09.

There will be a GRAND FINAL played on Saturday 25th April 09 where the top two points scorers in each pub/club would represent that pub/club.

The winner’s being the people who have the most points from the tournaments that have taken place in that venue.

There would be an overall league table, which would be posted on www.brucepoker.com so players can see where they are ranked, with the overall winner of this receiving a trip to Vegas for two.

Any player that finished in the top 50 of the overall league would get a seat in the grand final, weather they qualified through their venue or not.

Bruce poker will organise on-line tournaments on a weekly biases, taking place on Saturday or Sunday nights, during the twelve weeks, which would allow customers to gain league points. This would operate as if it is a virtual pub/club, the top two points scorer from the online tournaments would get a seat in the grand final.
    We would received €50 from the prize fund of each participating venue for each game each week, which would go towards the prize fund in the final. We will collect this on weekly biases through the organiser’s credit card. (alternative methods of payment can be arranged if necessary)

We hope to have 100 participating pubs, which would mean a prize fund of €60,000. This is an estimated prize fund and will depend on the number of participating venues.

Bruce Poker would add a trip for two to VEGAS for the winner of the grand final.

Bruce Poker would organise the grand final and incur the expenses of it.

We have been in touch with a number of tournament organisers and have received a fantastic response to date. We feel very confident that this will be a very successful league and that we will have more than 100 participating venues.

How does a player score points
    Winner 10pts
    Second 9pts
    Third 8pts
    Fourth 7pts
    Fifth 6pts
    Sixth 5pts
    Seventh 4pts
    Eight 3pts
    Ninth 2pts
    Tenth 1pt
    The number of players participating on the night would then multiply these. For example if there were 39 players the winner would receive 390pts (39 x 10) and the second 351 (39 x 9) and so on. We would update this table every Monday, after we have received all the data from the tournament organiser. We are depending on you, as the tournament organiser to insure that the information you send us is accurate. We will allow a player ten days to dispute his points total, after which the posted total will stand.

What if I play three tournaments every week in three different pubs? How do my points work?
    Should a player play in more than one tournament during a week, they will only be awarded whichever is the best score they received for the week. The aim of this policy is to keep the league interesting for its duration, and not to have one player way out in front after a few weeks, because they play every night. For this purpose the week starts on Monday and finishes on Sunday.

What if there is a tie after the twelve weeks.

The players would have a mini tournament among themselves even if its heads up, to decide the winner. This would apply to both the individual pub and overall league.

What does the organisers have to do

They run the tournaments as they already do, they fill in a sheet (sample provided) each week, with all the names of the participating players on it, marking clearly the positions of the top ten players. They must then email, fax or post this information to Bruce poker, so that we may update the league tables. If a player is playing for the first time we need them to fill in the information sheet with their name address and telephone number on it, giving us permission to open a Bruce-poker account for them.
    They must give us a list of all the venues that will be participating in advance and which nights they are running. We will then advertise these on our web site, along with the league tables for that venue.
    They agree that we are to receive €50 from the prize pool every night, which they enclose or allow us to take from a credit card each week. This goes towards the prize pool of the grand final.

Organisers participation,
    We know some organisers like to participate in their own tournaments, we certainly would not tell you that you cannot do so, however we feel it would be inappropriate for organisers to appear on the league table. We do not want to give any customers any reason to have any grievance with the running of the league. Should an organiser play and win the second place player still only gets 9 points.

How do we insure that every player playing in the league signs up to Bruce poker?
    Players do not have to have a Bruce poker account to play in the pub/club tournament, or to win the league in that pub/club, however they must have a Bruce poker account if they want to appear on the overall league table, and have a chance of winning that trip to Vegas.

Bruce poker would be allowed to have promo nights in any of the venues.
    BrucePoker.com are more that happy to deal with the administration of the league, keeping the overall table and individual pub league table up to date. We will supply a page on our web site where organisers and players can see where they are ranked. I think customers will be very interested to see where they are ranked overall in the country, and in particular against their friends and fellow players.

So if your interested or if you know of a venue who would be interested please do not hesitate to call us on 01-6510224.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭LongAA

Do you know if there has been much interest around Waterford yet??

Sounds Good.

Good Luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Favourites

Firstly good luck with this venture Paul and I hope it goes really well for Brucepoker.To my knowledge its the first real effort at a nationwide league and deserves all players support nationally.
    For any interested players in the North Kildare area the following venues will be featuring this league.

Monday's - Hattons,Garadice,Kilcock,Co Meath. 9pm

Tuesday's - Caulfield's Pub,Maynooth.Co Kildare.8.30pm

Wednesday's - The Corner House Pub,Clane,Co Kildare.8.30pm

Friday's - Favourites Members Club,Maynooth,Co Kildare.9pm

All the above venues are a €50 Freeze Out and further info can be had by calling me on 087 7900250.

Regards,

Ken

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭thepokerroom

the poker room ireland 3 venues for bruce poker league are.

1. bar-code sundays at 6-30pm, 35 euro + 30 euro re-buy/top-up
    2. orchard bar mondays at 8pm, 65 euro double-chance freeze-out
    3. ardlea inn fridays at 8pm 70 euro deep-stack freeze-out

regards jim the poker room ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

Best of luck with this Paul, fair play to Bruce for putting so much into the local scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

Sorry if its a dumb question but i read freeroll so just wondering.
    #1; Is this free to enter and play or is there a buy in each week?

#2;Also the online poker tournaments the top 2 players that finish on the sunday or saturday they play on are they going to the grand final or is a points accumulation system aswel?

#3; If so, Can you play the online poker and combine your winning points to your live play points?

4#; Have you any venues around the ballyfermot/lucan/clondalkin/palmerstown area?

Please clear this up for me
    Best wishes
    The future champ ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭BRUCEPOKER.COM

LongAA wrote: »
    Do you know if there has been much interest around Waterford yet??

Sounds Good.

Good Luck
    Hi LongAA,

Our main venue in the Waterford area is Olympus casino, you can contact Eugene there on 0872302381.
    Regards,

BrucePoker.com

Bruce my questions were relating to you by the way :)

mrDerek wrote: »
    Sorry if its a dumb question but i read freeroll so just wondering.
    #1; Is this free to enter and play or is there a buy in each week?

#2;Also the online poker tournaments the top 2 players that finish on the sunday or saturday they play on are they going to the grand final or is a points accumulation system aswel?

#3; If so, Can you play the online poker and combine your winning points to your live play points?

4#; Have you any venues around the ballyfermot/lucan/clondalkin/palmerstown area?

Please clear this up for me
    Best wishes
    The future champ ;)

Hi mrDerek,

Hope these answers sort you out:
    #1: there is 50 euro taken from the prizepool each week to make up the prizepool for the final tournament. All money accumulated goes to this prizepool. brucePoker.com will foot the bill for the Hotel, dealers etc.

#2: With the Online tournaments this is a separate league. With 12 weeks and the top 2 players getting to play in the Grand Final.

#3:No these points are for a separate league.

#I believe the Deadmans Inn is going to be one of the venues. You can get more venues on our support line. 01-6510224. Or check the BrucePoker.com in the next couple of days.

Regards,
    BrucePoker.com

Im sorry just 1 more question to clear things up.you say 50euro from the prize pool is given to you guys each week.but how is this prize pool made up.like do we have to buy in each week to make the pool and if so how much?
    cheers :)

Im sorry just 1 more question to clear things up.you say 50euro from the prize pool is given to you guys each week.but how is this prize pool made up.like do we have to buy in each week to make the pool and if so how much?
    cheers :)
    Sorry mrDerek I had to edit the above post, please recheck the answers, as for the 50 euro, basically all venues run different games. So before a payout structure is made 50 euro is taken out to give to the pub/club league prizepool.

ahh ill get on to them tomorrow so :)

1 more piece of info.
    the main final where yous are having it.
    out of the like 50 people that get to play.how many places are paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Best luck with this Lads, very innovative

ahh ill get on to them tomorrow so :)

1 more piece of info.
    the main final where yous are having it.
    out of the like 50 people that get to play.how many places are paid?

We do not have a venue yet as it depends on the total amount of players we will get, right now we have over 100 venues with 2 players per venue which equals to over 200 players. When we have complete numbers we can post payout and venue.

regards,
    BrucePoker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

I'll have the following game in.

Molloys Pub, Tallaght
    Every Thursday - €3,000 Guaranteed
    €65 Freezeout
    Dealer Dealt
    Reg 7.30, Game 8pm
    Normally get 65-85 Players
    Last week we got 100 Players so the points at this will be huge!

No money will be taken out from the prize pool on night!

you can but the following venues in for us. tuedays peakcocks swords, the goose tavern drumcondra. thursdays st pauls football club artane
    the poker room ireland 3 venues for bruce poker league are.

1. bar-code sundays at 6-30pm, 35 euro + 30 euro re-buy/top-up
    2. orchard bar mondays at 8pm, 65 euro double-chance freeze-out
    3. ardlea inn fridays at 8pm 70 euro deep-stack freeze-out

regards jim the poker room ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 ADRIANM

Thu 22nd and every week in Olympus club casino

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

€25 + €5 Freezeout in Cill Aodain Hotel, Kiltimagh every friday night 9pm starting Friday, Jan 23rd

www.mayopokertour.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Mr. Wolf

Hibernian Poker:
    €20 rebuy (2 max) + €5 scalp every Friday night in the Goalpost, Arva. The Brucerpoker League contribution at these games is NOT taken from the prize-pool, it is an added bonus. 38 players here two weeks ago, 43 last week, expecting 50 plus this Friday.
    Mick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheRock

Interesting idea Lads.

Just one question on the points scoring system.
    Should the event buyin not come into the scoring somehow?:confused:

For example; It would seem that someone playing 3 x €30 events per week (even if only there best result counts), would have a much greater opportunity to score points then someone playing 1 x €90 event per week??

Just a thought, not a criticism, maybe I'm off the mark.

TheRock wrote: »
    Interesting idea Lads.

Just one question on the points scoring system.
    Should the event buyin not come into the scoring somehow?:confused:

For example; It would seem that someone playing 3 x €30 events per week (even if only there best result counts), would have a much greater opportunity to score points then someone playing 1 x €90 event per week??

Just a thought, not a criticism, maybe I'm off the mark.

Thanks for the feedback rock, while planning to run this nationwide league we decided we did not want to change the way that each individual venue or organiser held their games. We wanted each and every game to be held to the liking of the players and would hope that our league would attract more people to play in these games around the country.
    We basically said to everyone involved that they can run their events each week however they want, all we ask for is €50 from the prizepool each week and we will bring your top 2 players to a grand final on us at the end of the league.
    We also think the response to the league would not have been as good if we asked everyone to adhere to rules such as buy-in etc. From the information coming into us even from this first week of the league we can see the average buy-in lies between €25 to €40.

Regards,
    BrucePoker.com

Thanks for the feedback rock, while planning to run this nationwide league we decided we did not want to change the way that each individual venue or organiser held their games. We wanted each and every game to be held to the liking of the players and would hope that our league would attract more people to play in these games around the country.
    We basically said to everyone involved that they can run their events each week however they want, all we ask for is €50 from the prizepool each week and we will bring your top 2 players to a grand final on us at the end of the league.
    We also think the response to the league would not have been as good if we asked everyone to adhere to rules such as buy-in etc. From the information coming into us even from this first week of the league we can see the average buy-in lies between €25 to €40.

Regards,
    BrucePoker.com

I'm not suggesting all the organisors have the same buyin.

I'm just saying the buyin should perhaps in someway be taken into the calculations for the points scored.

How exactly you do this is open to suggestion, but just an idea.
    Instead of just Points Earned = (result * number of players), perhaps Points Earned = (result * number of players * buyin).
    (or some percentage of buyin)

I'm not suggesting all the organisors have the same buyin.

I'm just saying the buyin should perhaps in someway be taken into the calculations for the points scored.

How exactly you do this is open to suggestion, but just an idea.
    Instead of just Points Earned = (result * number of players), perhaps Points Earned = (result * number of players * buyin).
    (or some percentage of buyin)

But you must admit that if we were to use that method the number of venues that would hold a game with a large buy-in would take over the top of the nationwide league and therefore take over the top 50 and would result in a handful of venue's receiving a lot of tickets for the grand final.
    What I was suggesting in my previous comment was that if we were to put the buy-in as a factor with the league we would have to put restrictions on it to be fair for the nationwide league.
    By using the number of players as a factor we felt it was the fairest way to reward points, seeing as it is harder to finish in the top 10 if there is 30 players then it is with 15 players.

Whats the story with the online league. Nothing on site, that i can see anyway. Also how many pubs/clubs you expecting??

hi, i up-dated my leagues so far i think i am the only one in the next day or so more will follow.
    Whats the story with the online league. Nothing on site, that i can see anyway. Also how many pubs/clubs you expecting??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭VEGAS NIGHTS

All Vegas Nights weekly pub tournaments are participating in this leauge.

Mon................Cuckoos Nest, Greenhills rd...............€25 one rebuy OR top up
    Tues...............Village Inn, Clonee..........................€65 Freezout (Dealer delt)

Weds..............Cuckoos Nest, Greenhills rd..............€35 Freezout
    Weds..............Coolquay Lodge, Ashburne rd...........€60 Freezout

Thurs.............Pennyhill, Lucan.............................€35 Freezout

Fri.................Baltinglass Golf Club, Co. Wicklow......€60 Freezout

All games start at 8pm very sharp
    PH: Nick 087 9955669

The Online League is now set up on the site. Its is a $25+$3 with 1 rebuy in the first hour. The 600 euro for the prizepool in the Grand Final will be paid by BrucePoker.com and not taken out of the weekly prizepool.
    It goes by all the same rules as all other venues.

st pauls football club artane, bruce poker league starts at 8pm tonight.
    free-roll nothing taken out of prize-pool. regards jim the poker room ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭gigetheman

Im heading for new ross tonight to play there 50 freeze which is relocated in the local ruby club and the first of Bruces poker pub league games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

gigetheman wrote: »
    Im heading for new ross tonight to play there 50 freeze which is relocated in the local ruby club and the first of Bruces poker pub league games

hard to win in your own club they can read you like a book (more like a comic) :D:D

Any pubs/clubs in Waterford running games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Any pubs/clubs in Waterford running games?

Run Alan run.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055467066

bruce poker pub league starts tonight ardlea inn @ 8pm, free-roll, nothing taken out of the prize-pool.

JP Poker wrote: »
    I'll have the following game in.

Molloys Pub, Tallaght
    Every Thursday - €3,000 Guaranteed
    €65 Freezeout
    Dealer Dealt
    Reg 7.30, Game 8pm
    Normally get 65-85 Players
    Last week we got 100 Players so the points at this will be huge!

No money will be taken out from the prize pool on night!

93 Players last night

1st Anthony Norman = 930 Points
    2nd Paul Mc Menamy = 837
    3rd Gordan Cowan = 744
    4th Stephen Norman = 651
    5th Gerard Curtis = 558
    6th Adam Bolger = 465
    7th Robbie Lee = 372
    8th Mick Mc Gee = 279
    9th Stephen Barrett = 186
    10th Brian Gaynor = 93

Good chance of making the top 50 in the over league by playing this game as the points as high due to the big crowds.

The Online League is now set up on the site. Its is a $25+$3 with 1 rebuy in the first hour. The 600 euro for the prizepool in the Grand Final will be paid by BrucePoker.com and not taken out of the weekly prizepool.
    It goes by all the same rules as all other venues.

Cant find any info on the iste though im not familiar with it, having only signed up. Help????

20578755st5.png

Hi Coillte Boy. Above is a pic of our poker room with the virtual pub league selected. its on tomorrow night at 8pm. $25 buy-in with 1 rebuy in the first hour. If you are having trouble with installing the BrucePoker software please call our support team on 01-56510224 and one of the guys will be able to help with any problems.

regards,
    BrucePoker.com

Thanks Danny,
    I meant anywhere where there's really a game on. Not an imaginary one. :p

bruce poker league starts sunday at 6-30pm, barcode clontarf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Rockfish

How many runners in first night of online league??

I'm running two of these in Mayo - Kiltimagh and Claremorris but wouldnt ind playing in one as well. Anyone know of any others in the area. In venue listings there are a few names of bars i recognise but no address or contact details given.:(

Rockfish wrote: »
    How many runners in first night of online league??

With only 8 runners on the first night of the Online League we have decided that the buyin and rebuy will be $15 from the Saturday Night.

I'm running two of these in Mayo - Kiltimagh and Claremorris but wouldnt ind playing in one as well. Anyone know of any others in the area. In venue listings there are a few names of bars i recognise but no address or contact details given.:(

We hope to have the address of each venue in the venues page by the end of the day. If you need any address's before then please call
    01-6510224.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

i played in Malahide last night, the Westbury Card club and Casino

will the results be posted in a league somewhere and 2nd query, if i play in various clubs, what exactly happen with my points from each club ?

are they separate? do they add together ? what ?

DEREK

i played in Malahide last night, the Westbury Card club and Casino

will the results be posted in a league somewhere and 2nd query, if i play in various clubs, what exactly happen with my points from each club ?

are they separate? do they add together ? what ?

DEREK

Hi Derek,

We have set up the site so either the club itself can input the results or they can send them to us and we will put them in. Each venue will be listed on publeague.brucepoker.com with the top 10 players each week. If you are playing in different venues, each venue will be regarded as a different league and therefore are seperate. But your highest points will be the points that go towards the nationwide league.

Regards,
    BrucePoker

Hi Derek,

We have set up the site so either the club itself can input the results or they can send them to us and we will put them in. Each venue will be listed on publeague.brucepoker.com with the top 10 players each week. If you are playing in different venues, each venue will be regarded as a different league and therefore are seperate. But your highest points will be the points that go towards the nationwide league.

Regards,
    BrucePoker

THANKS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

Paul whats happening in dundalk ,you mentioned something in the killarney thread about later in the month???

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 176 ✭✭pkr_ennis

Here at The King's we are running this league. We're wondering how many venues are taking part?
    Thanks,
    C

Molloys Pub in Tallaght is on again tonight.

We had 95 runners last week so hugh points again

have you now managed the amazing trick of bi-location or will you have someone else running the sattelite in the GJP Deepstack sattelite in the Red Cow

why not have the molloys game moved to the Red Cow, only in a different room, or the same room in a corner

Derek
    ps, please put me down for the sattelite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭bellapip

The Deadmans Inn, Palmerstown Lucan run a game on a Monday night.

First night had a great turnout not sure of numbers but a really good game.

Bell.