Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A few questions about Phase 1 in the college...

• 13-01-2009 7:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭

Just want to throw these few questions in a thread here as I have a few things I am wondering about...

a) Haircuts - Is there a certain length permitted / not permitted?
    b) Dorms - Are there any pictures of what they are like anywhere?
    c) Are 2 hours gate duties on your own or are you accompanied by another student or a Garda? How often does this duty come up?
    d) Is traffic nuts trying to get out of T/more on Fridays?

They are very random, bu just stuff that has me wondering :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

D22 wrote: »
    Just want to throw these few questions in a thread here as I have a few things I am wondering about...

a) Haircuts - Is there a certain length permitted / not permitted?
    b) Dorms - Are there any pictures of what they are like anywhere?
    c) Are 2 hours gate duties on your own or are you accompanied by another student or a Garda? How often does this duty come up?
    d) Is traffic nuts trying to get out of T/more on Fridays?

They are very random, bu just stuff that has me wondering :rolleyes:

a)Apparently the new chief wants males to have blade 1, and inspects under the hat
    b) no pics, the room consists of a sink, bed, desk, shelf, wardrobe and window. 8 rooms on a dorm, 16 on a hallway
    c)2 hour gate duty, in my phase which had 280 students, i wound up doing it twice, but with the smaller phases you might do it 4 or 5 times in the 6 months
    d) yes it can be, but if you leave it for 10 or 20 mins it's not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

watch out for the new traffic warden in the town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Car must be taxed, insured and Nct'ed if necessary. Also if you have tinted windows, get rid of them and change the registration plate on your car if they are illegal. Believe me someone actually goes out looking for this and you will be pulled up for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭D22

1. Blade 1???? Fock that!! :eek:
    2. What are the shower facilities like in the dorms? Clean and modern etc?
    3. Is the gate duty on your own?
    4. Do you have to park up on the square for the whole week? Hmmm...

1. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭source

D22 wrote: »
      1. Blade 1???? Fock that!! :eek:
      2. What are the shower facilities like in the dorms? Clean and modern etc?
      3. Is the gate duty on your own?
      4. Do you have to park up on the square for the whole week? Hmmm...

1 just saying what i was told by a current phase 3
        2 there's shower and toilets at the end of each corridor, clean but a little lacking in power
        3 yes it's by yourself
        4 jesus no, there's a carpark at the golf club, apart from that you have to park around the town (legally or you'll wind up with a diary entry and staying back on friday evening)

1. Advertisement
      2. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭0325422

i haven't had a blade 1 since 5th class

3. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭norrie_1001

Well it's not a holiday camp you are going to. The discipline emparted by the college is there to help you adjust to the type of job you are going to be doing. I know that when you go out on phase 2 they tell you to forget everything you were told on phase 1 but believe me, don't. The same happens when you go back on phase 3. The college tells you to forget everything you learned on phase 2!
        The key is to find a happy medium. It is a job not uncommon to that of a referee. Believe me, I am a soccer ref and the discipline I learned from being one really helped me in the college and on phase 2. When you go out on phase 4, you are a garda, with all the powers and this can sometimes go to peoples heads. I found that if you keep a cool head when training, it will stand to you in the long run.
        Anyway rant over ;)

Enjoy phase 1 and keep out of trouble.

4. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭0325422

i kknow its no holiday camp, i was just saying is all... i heard they tell ya to forget everything you learned on phase 1 alright before phase 2... i like the idea of keeping a level head through out.. hopefully good advice for the future

5. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭norrie_1001

0325422 wrote: »
        i kknow its no holiday camp, i was just saying is all... i heard they tell ya to forget everything you learned on phase 1 alright before phase 2... i like the idea of keeping a level head through out.. hopefully good advice for the future
        definately because some of the members of your unit on phase 2, won't do things in the best way. As the old saying goes, fools rush in where angels fear to thread. You will see some members jumping into situations where a calm head would be better served. My philosify is to kill people with kindness. No matter what people are say/shouting at you just smile back at them and say thank you. In the end they will realise they are not going to get a rise out of you and will feck off.

6. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Well it's not a holiday camp you are going to. The discipline emparted by the college is there to help you adjust to the type of job you are going to be doing. I know that when you go out on phase 2 they tell you to forget everything you were told on phase 1 but believe me, don't. The same happens when you go back on phase 3. The college tells you to forget everything you learned on phase 2!
        The key is to find a happy medium. It is a job not uncommon to that of a referee. Believe me, I am a soccer ref and the discipline I learned from being one really helped me in the college and on phase 2. When you go out on phase 4, you are a garda, with all the powers and this can sometimes go to peoples heads. I found that if you keep a cool head when training, it will stand to you in the long run.
        Anyway rant over ;)

Enjoy phase 1 and keep out of trouble.
        definately because some of the members of your unit on phase 2, won't do things in the best way. As the old saying goes, fools rush in where angels fear to thread. You will see some members jumping into situations where a calm head would be better served. My philosify is to kill people with kindness. No matter what people are say/shouting at you just smile back at them and say thank you. In the end they will realise they are not going to get a rise out of you and will feck off.

Good advice here folks so take heed of it.

When you become a member you will have the craic with your unit members. Sometimes the humour used is a way to deal with some of the more serious things you will see. This happens across all ES personnel but to a civilian looking and hearing it, it can come across as insensitive or even inhuman. But hey its human nature. The trick is to switch it off when dealing with people.

Those who believe that their powers give them some sort super human status usually dont even realise they are going about the job all wrong. Use common sense and show respect even to those who are screaming at you.

Dont ever lose the head. If you feel you are, then take a couple of seconds out and concentrate on taking notes in your notebook. If you do lose the head it can get you into a physical confrontation which is what you dont want.

Always take a couple of seconds to think about what was happened and never, ever rush into an arrest. Your first arrest is both terrifying and exciting at the same time.

Remember your ultimate goal is:

1. go home uninjured
        2. provide a service and maintain safety/order for the public
        3. ensure you dont get into trouble for your actions ie. wrongful arrest etc

7. Advertisement
      8. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

wats wrong with tinted windows???

9. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭CuteStuff

TheNog wrote: »
        Good advice here folks so take heed of it.

When you become a member you will have the craic with your unit members. Sometimes the humour used is a way to deal with some of the more serious things you will see. This happens across all ES personnel but to a civilian looking and hearing it, it can come across as insensitive or even inhuman. But hey its human nature. The trick is to switch it off when dealing with people.

Those who believe that their powers give them some sort super human status usually dont even realise they are going about the job all wrong. Use common sense and show respect even to those who are screaming at you.

Dont ever lose the head. If you feel you are, then take a couple of seconds out and concentrate on taking notes in your notebook. If you do lose the head it can get you into a physical confrontation which is what you dont want.

Always take a couple of seconds to think about what was happened and never, ever rush into an arrest. Your first arrest is both terrifying and exciting at the same time.

Remember your ultimate goal is:

1. go home uninjured
        2. provide a service and maintain safety/order for the public
        3. ensure you dont get into trouble for your actions ie. wrongful arrest etc
        I think I will print this off and keep it in my hat (whenever I get one!)

10. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 mark420

Just wondering are the Phase one people allowed to use the gym facilities in the evenings?

11. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭punchestown

Yes, you are encouraged to use the gym facilities. Make sure you give the machines a good wipe down before you start. Dust can trigger all sorts of reactions!

12. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

And make sure you dont fall off a treadmill in front your mates like I did!!! :o:o

13. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

And make sure you dont fall off a treadmill in front your mates like I did!!! :o:o

I lol'd at that thought...sorry Nog!!:(:D

14. Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

I have heard (whether true or not) that both the gym and swimming pool in the college are only open 2 nights a week now due to cutbacks. Also that phase 3 has been reduced to 8 weeks(to save on accomodation costs etc)
        Can anyone confirm?

15. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

pvt.joker wrote: »
        I have heard (whether true or not) that both the gym and swimming pool in the college are only open 2 nights a week now due to cutbacks. Also that phase 3 has been reduced to 8 weeks(to save on accomodation costs etc)
        Can anyone confirm?

No idea but I do know Phase 5 is now 2 weeks.

16. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Have heard that gym and pool times have been cut alright.

OT payments for staff no longer exist!

17. Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

No idea but I do know Phase 5 is now 2 weeks.

Yes, phase 5 has been confirmed as being only 2 weeks.

Would be brilliant if phase 3 was cut to 8 weeks. And maybe cut out some of the more pointless subjects (Irish/European Language studies).
        The cutbacks are really beginning to be felt, there is no OT at all in my station, exept on the authorisation of the super.

18. Advertisement
      19. Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭LeSurfer

so do you have to park your car around town everyday of the week and pay for it?:eek::eek::eek:

20. Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

LeSurfer wrote: »
        so do you have to park your car around town everyday of the week and pay for it?:eek::eek::eek:

not at all. There is a big car park in the golf club behind the college

21. Closed Accounts Posts: 31 White Wolf

pvt.joker wrote: »
        not at all. There is a big car park in the golf club behind the college

How many does it hold roughly? eg. can it hold the full capicity of the college. And if you dont get a space there are you out on the street???

22. Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

White Wolf wrote: »
        How many does it hold roughly? eg. can it hold the full capicity of the college. And if you dont get a space there are you out on the street???

theres no problem finding a spot what so ever.

23. Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Real_Leinster

i can confirm that the gym, swimming pool and library hours have all been cut. any of the new phase ones coming down in feb make sure ya start complaining straight away. everyone in my phase sent a half sheet to the super and sgt in charge of the gym.

gate duty comes around every 2 weeks or so with a small class. i tell tell ya theres nothing better than standing in the cold from 10-12 on a thursday night watching everyone come back from pollys.

24. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭norrie_1001

i tell tell ya theres nothing better than standing in the cold from 10-12 on a thursday night watching everyone come back from pollys.
        Ah I remeber that very well, especially when your classmates come up to you locked and your blood sober, it used to be great craic:)

25. Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

slingerz wrote: »
        wats wrong with tinted windows???

Unless they are factory smoked glass they are illegal. (ie aftermarket stick on ones)

Haircut does not have to be a blade one!! Its not the US marines.

According to the code it has to be short and neat and not extend over ther ears, it also has to be one inch aobve your shirt collar line.

Blade 2 or 3 on top is fine, 1,2 or even 3 back and sides is also ok as long as it looks neat.

For girls it has to be tied up.

26. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 kevo0489

i can confirm that the gym, swimming pool and library hours have all been cut. any of the new phase ones coming down in feb make sure ya start complaining straight away. everyone in my phase sent a half sheet to the super and sgt in charge of the gym.

What are the hours for each of them now. Will the gym be open every evening??

27. Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭LeSurfer

alrite lads,just wondering what are the computers like in college? thinking of getting vodafone nobile broadband or would i bother?

28. Advertisement
      29. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Ye could do. The computers are grand but can be all taken and of course are prone to crashing

30. Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭LeSurfer

Ye could do. The computers are grand but can be all taken and of course are prone to crashing

thanks for the info,will have it ordered before satuday!:D

31. Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

Get O2 instead. The few ppl i know that got vodafone had to leave it back coz it was useless. O2 works fine for me and 3G works alright too but i would never support them shower of bandits. Its grand to have internet in your own room especially if they starting limiting access to the study areas and libray etc... plus it'll come in handy when ur moving around the country for phase 2, 3, and 4 etc... Worth a 12 or 18 month contract.

32. Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

So you're saying O2 has proper broadband coverage in the college and VOdafone doesn't? Any experience with 3?

33. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,816 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

3 has perfect coverage there along with o2....

34. Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭LeSurfer

cheers lads! O2 it is then,was wondering why vodafone is giving away modems free while you have to pay for the O2 ones!:rolleyes:

35. Advertisement
      36. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

what pieces of kit are issued to phase 1's and when do they get it?

37. Closed Accounts Posts: 24 SOUTHTIPP

shakin wrote: »
        what pieces of kit are issued to phase 1's and when do they get it?

you will be isssued with youre uniform it took us around 10 weeks to get ours yee will prob be issued with the new uniform.you will also get ur stab vest tunic utility belt notebbok flash lamp before you go out on phase 2.you have to buy your college tracksuit and your self defence gear and swimming gear in the shop up there

38. Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭LeSurfer

Deleted

i think someone said it before they'll provide all that,its the washing ironing etc im worrying about as this is gonna be my home for the next 20 weeks.:eek:

39. Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭jt123456

i think someone said it before they'll provide all that,its the washing ironing etc im worrying about as this is gonna be my home for the next 20 weeks.:eek:

Just bring enough gear to do you from monday to friday. You'll be going home on friday evenings so do all your laundry over the weekend. Bed clothes are provided and change of sheets any time you need them but i decided to use my own pillows as they were more comfortable.

40. Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭LeSurfer

jt123456 wrote: »
        Just bring enough gear to do you from monday to friday. You'll be going home on friday evenings so do all your laundry over the weekend. Bed clothes are provided and change of sheets any time you need them but i decided to use my own pillows as they were more comfortable.

im a non-national,have been renting rooms all alone so will have do my washing in college or give them to dry cleaner in templemore...

41. Advertisement
      42. Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

SOUTHTIPP wrote: »
        you will be isssued with youre uniform it took us around 10 weeks to get ours yee will prob be issued with the new uniform.you will also get ur stab vest tunic utility belt notebbok flash lamp before you go out on phase 2.you have to buy your college tracksuit and your self defence gear and swimming gear in the shop up there
        What's so special about the swimming togs?

43. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Mr Jinx

Random wrote: »
        What's so special about the swimming togs?

they reveal you for the man that you are :eek:

44. Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Real_Leinster

everyone has to wear the same. uniformity. they dont leave much to the Imagination

45. Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

So you mean it's speedos instead of shorts?

46. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭0325422

can anyone remember where the list of things you need to bring with you is.. i cant find it, i remember thinking it was on page 5 of one of the forums

47. Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭LeSurfer

0325422 wrote: »
        can anyone remember where the list of things you need to bring with you is.. i cant find it, i remember thinking it was on page 5 of one of the forums

1. the letter of acceptance
        2. P45 or letter from employer to the effect that you have been released
        3. School bag
        4. Contacts/Glasses if you wear them
        5. Four passport photos
        6. List of relitives up to and including first cousins
        7. your CV
        8. Toothbrush & toothpaste
        9. Shower gel
        10. Aftershave/Deoderant
        11. Towels
        12. other toileteries you use...?
        13. Suit(s)
        14. 5 shirts
        15. a few clothes hangers?
        16. Ties
        17. Belts?
        18. Shoes
        19. Socks
        20. boxers
        21. Casual Clothes for goin to Pollys to spend Haz's money cool.gif
        22. Runners
        23. Shaving stuff
        24. Laptop! and printer because college ones are crap.
        25. Broadband if ya want it
        26. €400
        27. Steering lock for your car?
        28. Shoe polish or you'll get a swift kick up the arse on parade day!eek.gif
        29. a4 page mini life story if ya get a chance to do it.
        30. personal gym gear (P.E gear is payed for from your €400)
        31. im sure they're available down there but also pens,a4 pad, folder?
        32. dont know about you but think i'll bring some crisps or chocolate for under my bed for when im feeling pekish. rolleyes.gif

48. Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

What's this all about? Aren't backgrounds etc complete at this stage?

49. Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Paolo5

My guess is that it is to do with picking stations for you - nothing to do with back round checks.

50. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭0325422

1. the letter of acceptance
        2. P45 or letter from employer to the effect that you have been released
        3. School bag
        4. Contacts/Glasses if you wear them
        5. Four passport photos
        7. your CV
        8. Toothbrush & toothpaste
        9. Shower gel
        10. Aftershave/Deoderant
        11. Towels
        12. other toileteries you use...?
        13. Suit(s)
        14. 5 shirts
        15. a few clothes hangers?
        16. Ties
        17. Belts?
        18. Shoes
        19. Socks
        20. boxers
        21. Casual Clothes for goin to Pollys to spend Haz's money cool.gif
        22. Runners
        23. Shaving stuff
        24. Laptop! and printer because college ones are crap.
        25. Broadband if ya want it
        26. €400
        27. Steering lock for your car?
        28. Shoe polish or you'll get a swift kick up the arse on parade day!eek.gif
        29. a4 page mini life story if ya get a chance to do it.
        30. personal gym gear (P.E gear is payed for from your €400)
        31. im sure they're available down there but also pens,a4 pad, folder?
        32. dont know about you but think i'll bring some crisps or chocolate for under my bed for when im feeling pekish. rolleyes.gif

cheers i just spotted it on page 29 of the im in thread

51. Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Deleted

There are bed clothes provided but you can bring your own if you wish. The beds are single bed of course

Random wrote: »
        So you mean it's speedos instead of shorts?

LOL speedos all the way buddy

52. Advertisement