Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HELP BADLY NEEDED...

• 12-01-2009 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭

Lads/Ladies HELP BADLY NEEDED!!!

I am a 24yr old Male, current weight 126Kg, 6 foot 1, large framed. Ideal weight 90-95Kg. Engineer, seated all day. I would descibe myself as unfit, but i can cycle 45km in two hours and run 2.5km in 15mins most days not at my lesiure but comfortably anyway..

I love GAA and enjoy cycling.

I go to the gym three nights a week and i do:

6 min warm up on cross trainer
    10min at 1% gradient at speed 10ish on the treadmill
    Weights mostly based on chest, arms and shoulders
    Core exercises doing Pilate type work, lying flat and doing a very slow cycle motion with one knee pulled to your chest other leg straight, changing at 3sec intervals. 3 sets 20
    Then I do maybe straight crunches and leg raises.
    the above takes approx 1 hour!!

I then do spin class (45min, intermediate or advanced, clock read out 18km min, average RPM 85-95, power 100-115) as i like to do a bit of cycling year round and i enjoy it.

The problem is my weight is not reducing, I am not toning up and mostly it is irritating the life out of me and depressing, is it down to my diet?? I wouldnt say i eat unhealthly or anything but I have kept a two week log of my eating I can post it if that would help anyone who wishes to help diagnose where I am going wrong?? Any help would be much appreciated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

jimbo32123 wrote: »
    Lads/Ladies HELP BADLY NEEDED!!!

I am a 24yr old Male, current weight 126Kg, 6 foot 1, large framed. Ideal weight 90-95Kg. Engineer, seated all day. I would descibe myself as unfit, but i can cycle 45km in two hours and run 2.5km in 15mins most days not at my lesiure but comfortably anyway..

I love GAA and enjoy cycling.[/FONT]

I go to the gym three nights a week and i do:[/FONT]
    6 min warm up on cross trainer[/FONT]
    [10min at 1% gradient at speed 10ish on the treadmill
    Weights mostly based on chest, arms and shoulders
    Core exercises doing Pilate type work, lying flat and doing a very slow cycle motion with one knee pulled to your chest other leg straight, changing at 3sec intervals. 3 sets 20
    Then I do maybe straight crunches and leg raises.[/FONT]
    the above takes approx 1 hour!!

I then do spin class (45min, intermediate or advanced, clock read out 18km min, average RPM 85-95, power 100-115) as i like to do a bit of cycling year round and i enjoy it
    The problem is my weight is not reducing, I am not toning up and mostly it is irritating the life out of me and depressing, is it down to my diet?? I wouldnt say i eat unhealthly or anything but I have kept a two week log of my eating I can post it if that would help anyone who wishes to help diagnose where I am going wrong?? Any help would be much appreciated

I think that if you post up your diet we may find out where you are going wrong.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭jimbo32123

here is what i ate for two weeks, split by day:
    FRIDAY (bad day to start!!!)
    bowl porridge tsp sugar and milk
    5 tea 1 sugar and milk
    1 btle lucozade
    1 wispa
    1 muller light
    1 bagutte chicken cheese lettuce
    2l water
    2 grilled beef sauage rolls
    6 bulimerz

Saturday
    6 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 b toast
    1 chicken salad bagutte
    1 yogurt
    1 apple
    1 bananna
    chicken sandwich b bread

sunday
    6 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 b toast and butter
    1 toasted cheese and ham bagutte
    1 lasaunge and salad

monday
    5 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 petit filou yogurts
    1 bananna
    1 taxi bar
    1 chicken salad wrap
    1 steak burger and patatoe with turmip 2 cups milk

tuesday
    1 bowl fruit and fibre 5 tea milk and sugar
    1 scone and butter
    1 apple
    1 104g bag nuits
    1 muller fruit corner
    1 brown sandwich tuna onion cheese lettuce with mayo
    2 custard creams
    1 plate stew
    granary bap with ham and tomatoe

wednesday
    1 bowl fruit and fibre
    6 tea milk and sugar
    1 bagutte tuna cheese lettuce
    1 portion of wedges
    2 bananna
    2 voulovonts with patatoe salad
    2 slices b bread with butter

thursday
    1 bowl porridge 1tsp sugar and milk
    3 tea
    1 btle apple juice FRUICE
    1 panini tuna cheese and lettuce
    1 btle diet coke
    1 yogurt
    8 cocktail sausages
    2 garlic bread pieces
    2.0 litres water

friday
    6 tea milk and 1 sugar
    1 chicken fillet bagutte with cheese and lettuce
    cheese burger and chip
    2 slices toast with butter and ham
    1 glass milk

saturday
    4 tea
    1 tea cake
    3 grilled goujons and oven chips
    1 glass 7 up
    2 vullo vonts
    5 pints guiness

monday
    3 tea milk and sugar
    1 btle lucozade
    bb sandwich tuna and red onion
    1 bananna
    1 yogurt
    1 kitkat
    1 ham and cheese bread roll
    1 glass 7 up
    1l water

Tuesday
    5 tea milk sugar
    bowl porridge
    1 yogurt
    1 bananna
    1 ganery bap chicken and cheese
    2 chops patatoes and heniz beans
    2 kimberly busicuits
    glass 7 up

wednesday
    4 tea
    2 btle water
    1 scone with jam
    1 pasta bowl and wedges
    1 yogurt
    2 bananna
    1 plate shepards pie

thirsday
    4 tea
    bowl porridge
    1 scone and jam
    1 b bread withchicken and lettuce
    2 bananna
    1 yogurt
    1 bag nut mix
    4 btls water
    2 pork chops
    3 patatoes and peas

friday
    4 tea
    2 buscuits
    1 roast with patatoe and veg 1 btle water
    1 cheese pizza and 1 glass milk

thiss brought me up to the friday before xmas, i was in the gym three nights as described for 2 and a half months at this stage, the abopve is my typical diet.

i started recording again yesterday again

1 bowl corn flakes
    3 tea 1 suagr and milk
    4 cups camomile tea
    1 small time out
    1 toasted granery bap cheese and ham and red onion
    1 large orange
    2.5 l water
    1 apple
    1 pear
    1 mandrin orange
    1 bvrown bap with chicken stuffing tomato and lettuce

Today so far at 11am
    2 tea milk and 1 sugar
    1 camomile tea
    1 bowl corn flakes

now afer all that typing my fingers are worn!!!!!

hopefully so one could help PLEASE!!!!!

even suggest replacements or alternative ways to eat!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

bowl porridge tsp sugar and milk
    5 tea 1 sugar and milk
    1 btle lucozade
    1 wispa
    1 muller light
    1 bagutte chicken cheese lettuce
    2l water
    2 grilled beef sauage rolls
    6 bulimerz

Saturday
    6 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 b toast
    1 chicken salad bagutte
    1 yogurt
    1 apple
    1 bananna
    chicken sandwich b bread

sunday
    6 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 b toast and butter
    1 lasaunge and salad

monday
    5 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 petit filou yogurts
    1 bananna
    1 taxi bar
    1 chicken salad wrap

tuesday
    1 scone and butter
    1 apple
    1 104g bag nuits
    1 muller fruit corner
    2 custard creams
    1 plate stew

wednesday
    1 bowl fruit and fibre
    6 tea milk and sugar
    1 portion of wedges
    2 bananna
    2 voulovonts with patatoe salad

thursday
    3 tea
    1 panini tuna cheese and lettuce
    1 btle diet coke
    1 yogurt
    8 cocktail sausages
    2 garlic bread pieces
    2.0 litres water

friday
    6 tea milk and 1 sugar
    cheese burger and chip
    1 glass milk

saturday
    4 tea
    1 tea cake
    1 glass 7 up
    2 vullo vonts
    5 pints guiness

monday
    3 tea milk and sugar
    1 btle lucozade
    1 bananna
    1 yogurt
    1 kitkat
    1 glass 7 up
    1l water

Tuesday
    5 tea milk sugar
    bowl porridge
    1 yogurt
    1 bananna
    2 kimberly busicuits
    glass 7 up

wednesday
    4 tea
    2 btle water
    1 scone with jam
    1 pasta bowl and wedges
    1 yogurt
    2 bananna
    1 plate shepards pie

thirsday
    4 tea
    bowl porridge
    1 scone and jam
    2 bananna
    1 yogurt
    1 bag nut mix
    4 btls water
    2 pork chops
    3 patatoes and peas

friday
    4 tea
    2 buscuits

thiss brought me up to the friday before xmas, i was in the gym three nights as described for 2 and a half months at this stage, the abopve is my typical diet.

1 bowl corn flakes
    3 tea 1 suagr and milk
    4 cups camomile tea
    1 small time out
    1 large orange
    2.5 l water
    1 apple
    1 pear
    1 mandrin orange

Today so far at 11am
    2 tea milk and 1 sugar
    1 camomile tea
    1 bowl corn flakes

now afer all that typing my fingers are worn!!!!!

hopefully so one could help PLEASE!!!!!

even suggest replacements or alternative ways to eat!!

Im not sure if your actually serious here??? if thats not your idea of "unhealthy" I fear to think what you count as junk food (lucozade, cakes, biscuits, pizza, wedges :( )
    I know this is going to sound very harsh but you should completely ditch a lot of the stuff mentioned above, start with ditching all breakfast cereals except porridge or oat based muesli, eat as many whole foods as possible, forget pizza's, pies, chips etc unless you make them yourself from scratch and know exactly whats going in! Eat plenty fruit and veg (muller fruit corners dont count as fruit) and lean meats and stick with the porridge for breakfast, without sugar, also ditch the sugar from the cups of tea or alternatively ditch the tea ... TBH its hard to pick many good foods from your list above but other posters may be able to offer alternative advice.... Oh, and best of luck, if you make the right changes you will see results!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Briefly.

Too much sugar, not enough protein/fat. Ditch the sugar from your tea and you'll see big improvements. (it takes about 1-2 weeks to get used to non sugary tea).

Start doing squats, deadlifts, presses, pull ups, push ups, dips, cleans and stop doing the chest/back/arms work.

see this is my problem i havn't a fecking clue what is 'healthy' or unhealthy, to me a healthy diet

is ceral in mornign sandwich yogurt and some fruit for lunch and then dinner at night!!!

i know lucozade and etc are un healthy, the shepards pie and pizza were bth home made from scratch, so i did know what was in those..

althought you though you were being harsh, thats exactly what i w oyuld like, some knowledge from people who do know what there talking about on how to correct hings!!

many thanks for your reply by the way!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭Relevant

http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054886861 - Have a good read of this. It is a great help as regards diet

Briefly.

Too much sugar, not enough protein/fat. Ditch the sugar from your tea and you'll see big improvements. (it takes about 1-2 weeks to get used to non sugary tea).

Start doing squats, deadlifts, presses, pull ups, push ups, dips, cleans and stop doing the chest/back/arms work.

thanks!!

dont exactly know what dips and cleans are??

www.crossfit.com/cf-info/exercises should help for exercises.

www.exrx.net is used by a lot on this board.

Go to these two sites

www.thepaleodiet.com
    www.zondiet.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Relevant wrote: »
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054886861 - Have a good read of this. It is a great help as regards diet

Okay there's a huge amount to read there but honestly, it really, really is worth it. I can't stress enough how good that thread is. Print it out if you need to, highlight the good foods, really learn that stuff.

Firstly, I applaud your honesty, that is brilliant! :) Best start you can make is honesty with yourself :)

Now I am NOT the expert here but some very obvious things spring to mind.

Sugar & Bread.

Sugar is a refined carbohydrate, the body uses it as energy but if there's any left over, it converts it to fat. I won't go into the effects on insulin and predisposition to Type 2 diabetes here.

Sugar in tea. Each teaspoon is about 5g of sugar, 5 cups a day = 25 g sugar! That's just from the tea! Slowly reduce the sugar to half a teaspoon, then reduce it to zero. Seriously, this alone would be great.

Fizzy drinks = sugar. No more, none. Seriously. If you really, really must then only drink Diet 7up (no sugar) or similar but avoid if possible.

Wispa/time out = sugar. No more or at a minimum, one of these, once a week as a treat (providing you haven't had beer, chips, etc.)!

Beer = sugar :( Knock it on the head, especially 5 pints of guinness :) Why waste all the good work you do exercising by downing a couple of pints on a Friday? This one is hard for most people, if you can't quit, drink bottles, drink them slowly and have a pint of water between each one.

Muller 'light' and yoghurts. Most low fat products are high in sugar, most yoghurts are full of sugar. Have natural yoghurt instead, keep the portion small. Add fruit to it if you like :)

Baguettes, bread, bap, toast...
    If you must eat bread, go for wholemeal varieties, read the label to be sure it's wholemeal. However, if you want to lose weight you should reduce the amounts you eat drastically. Instead of a chicken baguette, try a wholemeal pitta bread with chicken and lettuce

No Mayo!

No sausages/sausage rolls
    No chips
    No pizza
    No burgers (unless homemade with lean mince*nyom, nyom* :))
    Reduce the amount of cheese in your diet.

Doesn't sound like much fun does it? There's great news though

In the thread I quoted above, posted by Relevant, g'em posts this.

If you don't read the rest of it, at least read this. :)

When you've finished reading you should come back and ask whatever questions you need to, either in this thread or in the Nutrition & Diet forum.

Enjoy the reading and welcome to a new way of living! :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

www.crossfit.com/cf-info/exercises should help for exercises.

www.exrx.net is used by a lot on this board.

Go to these two sites

www.thepaleodiet.com
    www.zondiet.com

Do you reccomend that Paleo diet? I'd be hard pushed to follow a diet with little or no dairy products.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

bowl porridge tsp sugar and milk honey
    5 tea 1 sugar and milk
    1 btle lucozadeNo, no no!!

1 wispa
    1 muller light
    1 bagutte chicken cheese lettuce wrap/wholemeal bread
    2l water
    2 grilled beef sauage rolls no pastry. Particularly puff pastry

6 bulimerz

Saturday
    6 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 b toast
    1 chicken salad bagutte
    1 yogurt
    1 apple
    1 bananna
    chicken sandwich b bread

sunday
    6 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 b toast and butter
    1 lasaunge and salad

monday
    5 tea 1 sugar and milk
    2 petit filou yogurts Very sugary. If you must, go for a diff brand
    1 bananna

1 taxi bar

1 chicken salad wrap

tuesday

1 scone and butter

1 apple
    1 104g bag nuits
    1 muller fruit corner
    2 custard creams
    1 plate stew

wednesday
    1 bowl fruit and fibre
    6 tea milk and sugar
    1 portion of wedges avoid like the plague
    2 bananna
    2 voulovonts with patatoe salad more puff pastry

thursday
    3 tea
    1 panini tuna cheese and lettuce baguette in another guise.
    1 btle diet coke
    1 yogurt
    8 cocktail sausages
    2 garlic bread pieces big baddie, its just white bread and butter
    2.0 litres water

friday
    6 tea milk and 1 sugar
    cheese burger and chip
    1 glass milk

saturday
    4 tea

1 tea cake
    1 glass 7 up Diet?
    2 vullo vonts

5 pints guiness
    Very calorific stuff
    monday
    3 tea milk and sugar
    1 btle lucozade evil stuff.:)
    1 bananna
    1 yogurt

1 kitkat

1 glass 7 up diet
    1l water

Tuesday
    5 tea milk sugar
    bowl porridge
    1 yogurt
    1 bananna

2 kimberly busicuits

glass 7 up diet

wednesday
    4 tea
    2 btle water
    1 scone with jam

1 pasta bowl and wedges
    very carb heavy
    1 yogurt
    2 bananna
    1 plate shepards pie

thirsday
    4 tea
    bowl porridge

1 scone and jam

2 bananna
    1 yogurt
    1 bag nut mix nuts are good, but watch the portions
    4 btls water
    2 pork chops
    3 patatoes and peas

friday
    4 tea
    2 buscuits

1 bowl corn flakes with sugar??
    3 tea 1 suagr and milk
    4 cups camomile tea

1 small time out
    1 large orange
    2.5 l water
    1 apple
    1 pear
    1 mandrin orange

Today so far at 11am
    2 tea milk and 1 sugar
    1 camomile tea
    1 bowl corn flakes Not the best cereal, try porridge, or even weetabix, but no sugar, use honey
    I just crossed out some of the stuff I would remove if it was my diet. :) All the advice has been given, and Id agree, remove bread where possible. No sugary fizzy drinks. Replace your chocolate and biscuits with fruit, you WILL get used to that. Avoid fried or very oily foods (like wedges). And watch your portions. If you like your plate full, get a smaller plate. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Jamie32

Briefly.

Hi Colm, I do a lot of chest work/arms for the last couple of weeks along with abs and tough HIIT cardio is there a particular reason that I should choose to concentrate on the lower body muscles before chest etc? I've really been goin hell for leather since Xmas on my workouts. My stats aren't too disimilar to the OP...i'm 110KG, 6ft 1" and i'm trying to drop weight but still maintain a good muscular shape. My diet isn't spotless but (no disrespect to the OP) is a lot better than the OP, no alcohol at all, no chocolate no sugar, plenty of fruit & veg, chicken, etc.

Do you think I should be focusing more on the deadlifts, squats and cleans along with the good diet and HIIT Cardio??

folks any thanks for all your comments:
    colm_oreilly the links you provided were very usefull, ill arrange a plan tonight and post it to see if there are any comments

Relevant: alot of reading in that but ill give it a go thanks seems like very very good info

ORYX: Thanks for the insight, ill try to adhere to all those!! from yesterday sugar completely gone from the ceral, it is only diet fizzy drinks i take. and the sugar is completely gone from the tea today and i have switched to peperment or aplle and honey tea by twinings!!

r3nu4l: very helpfull and honest is the way to go, as i say i am buck useless and completely unknowledgable when it comes to nutrition etc!!

all this info is really helping guys the more the merrier!!!

Do you reccomend that Paleo diet? I'd be hard pushed to follow a diet with little or no dairy products.

I do recommend paleo, but I'll forgive dairy products. The dairy products generally made available in the states are done on grain fed cows predominantly, whereas in Europe/Ireland our cows are grass fed predominantly, which impacts on the milk/dairy.

For some, dairy leds to phlegm, and other under the radar inflammations. For others, it's not an issue. I'll still have cheese every now and again. I'd very rarely drink milk but if someone was in need of bulking up, you really need milk to get the extra calories in.
    Do you think I should be focusing more on the deadlifts, squats and cleans along with the good diet and HIIT Cardio??

Absolutely, squats (front, back, overhead, high bar, low bar) should form the basis of any respectable resistance program. Squats and deads aren't exclusively lower body exercises either. The squat will strengthen you, as will the dead. Doing presses and benching will take care of your upper body. Add in pull ups and your definitely taken care of.

Isolation exercises should really only be used by bodybuilders on advanced programming with Vitamin S, advanced weightlifters/powerlifters with specific, identified deficiencies, and possible rehabing.

Jamie, you might enjoy CrossFit programming, which mixes strength and high intensity training into various workouts. Have a look for a workout on their site you like and give it a go. You'll see great results.

Hope this helps,
    Col

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I do recommend paleo, but I'll forgive dairy products. The dairy products generally made available in the states are done on grain fed cows predominantly, whereas in Europe/Ireland our cows are grass fed predominantly, which impacts on the milk/dairy.

I had a good aul read around tinterweb there, eating dairy seems to be a personal choice depending on your genetic predispostion to it. Otherwise the diet is not actually extreme at all. Seems to be fairly similar to any diet reccomended for weight training, high protein and high in good fats. The only difficult part would be a complete lack of grains.

The foods you can't have are:

No oats, wheat, rice etc..
    No legumes, so no peanuts, beans or peas

That leaves you with eggs, meat, berries, fruit and green veg, with the option of dairy thrown in. All the tasty stuff really. Very doable.

I'm off to hunt down a cow and catch some fish while the missus picks my veg :)

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

hi guys an updated i started this thread a year past in janurary weighing 126kgs, i balloned to 130 kgs at xmas passed there and enuf was enuf!!

currently i am at 108kgs, playing senior football for my club, running 5kms in a summer league and loving it.... and i done it as follows
    DIET..
    7-8am 3 wheatabix with low milk breakfast..
    10ish muller lite yogurt
    1.00 full packet or erin low fat chiecken rice or 2 boiled duck or hen eggs
    5.00 2 bananna and a muller lite
    8-8.30 spuds or pasta with meat/chicken/fish and veg

in addition to this as much mellon apples and oranges i could eat!!!

EXERCISE
    monday thursday and saturday
    2 hours MMA training grappling and curcuits
    Tuesday
    GAA training
    wednesday
    rest
    Sunday
    Cycling minimum 70km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Congrats on the weight loss! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

hi guys an updated i started this thread a year past in janurary weighing 126kgs, i balloned to 130 kgs at xmas passed there and enuf was enuf!!

currently i am at 108kgs, playing senior football for my club, running 5kms in a summer league and loving it.... and i done it as follows
    DIET..
    7-8am 3 wheatabix with low milk breakfast..
    10ish muller lite yogurt
    1.00 full packet or erin low fat chiecken rice or 2 boiled duck or hen eggs
    5.00 2 bananna and a muller lite
    8-8.30 spuds or pasta with meat/chicken/fish and veg

in addition to this as much mellon apples and oranges i could eat!!!

EXERCISE
    monday thursday and saturday
    2 hours MMA training grappling and curcuits
    Tuesday
    GAA training
    wednesday
    rest
    Sunday
    Cycling minimum 70km

Bare with me here coz I'm not a nutrition professional by any stretch. I have a few suggestions (A) that I hope will be of benefit to you, and (B) that I am wondering whether they're correct suggestions or not; and they are as follows:

Don't eat so much melon, oranges and apples as they are high-sugar foods. Eat 6-9 portions of fruit/veg every day, and only about a third of this should be fruit.

Also, two bananas in one day sounds like too much to me.

Anything that has been made to be low-fat has gone through a process, and processing removes nutrients. So, stick to full-fat milk if you like the taste of it in order to get the most nutrients.

Muller lite: stay away from "diet" foods. They are not natural and your body will not deal with them effectively, and you may find that it stores the ingredients which it cannot deal with as body fat. Try switching to organic natural yoghurt instead.

Weetabix: This is a processed food and as a result the ingredients will have been stripped of their nutrients. Stay away from breakfast cereals, full stop.

Pasta/spuds/weetabix: Quite a lot of carbs in one day. If you're aiming for bodyfat-loss, reduce perhaps to one portion of carbs per day, replacing it with proteins or fats.

Again, I'm really not certain about all the advice I've just given but it's what my initial reaction to your diet was. If anybody wants to correct/alter what I've said, please do as I want to learn.

For somebody who in the first post said they think they're unfit, you do a sh*t load of exercise!! You're about twenty times fitter than me, I'd hate to hear how unfit you think i am lol :P

Fair play for all you've done, sounds like you've done a great job so far.