Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AXA Raheny 5 2009

• 11-01-2009 8:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭

25th Annual AXA Raheny Five
    Sunday 25th January 2009

Entry Fee €20

Start Times: Walkers 2.50pm Runners 3pm

Prizes for First 10 Senior Men and Senior Women

First 3 places in All Masters Men’s & Women’s Categories

First 3 Junior Men & Women
    First 6 Senior Men’s & Women’s Teams (3 to score)

First 3 Veteran’s Men’s & Women’s Teams (3 to score)

Enter Via Post By Downloading the entry form and posting it with Entry fee to

AXA Insurance
    4 Main St
    Raheny
    Dublin
    Entries will also be taken at the above address.

Late Entry of €25 If you enter on the Day

All Details at www.rahenyshamrock.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭hawkwing

I'll be there again, hope the weather is as nice as last year when a guy passed me with no shirt on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,089 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Plan to run this year after a 13 yr gap - looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 hurricane147

This is a link to the route and elevation:

http://irelandbygps.com/treks/raheny5mile/

Last year's race was certainly held on a glorious day and hopefully the 25th will be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭OldBloke

Looking forward to it again - it really was a cracking day last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Looks like i'll miss out this year :( .. but wont decide until the day before .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Heard a rumour that this year the race organisers are giving race chips for the participants to be returned after the race.
    Can anyone confirm or deny this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭DaveH

ecoli wrote: »
    Heard a rumour that this year the race organisers are giving race chips for the participants to be returned after the race.
    Can anyone confirm or deny this?

100% true

Chips will be attached to the numbers.

Cheers
    Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

A much deserved bump for this race.
    Hopefully the weather improves towards the weekend but either way I'm really looking forward to this run, was a personal highlight of 2008, well organised and a nice finish in the square.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Sainttoff

HI;

Can anyone tell me how to get to the parking area for the race. I have entered but not sure where it is on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Sainttoff wrote: »
    HI;

Can anyone tell me how to get to the parking area for the race. I have entered but not sure where it is on :)

All around the main street in Raheny and the Howth road will have parking on both sides.
    There is a bank/public building just past the village on the right also.
    Better to steer clear of the coast road as I don't think there is parking there.

All around the main street in Raheny and the Howth road will have parking on both sides.
    There is a bank/public building just past the village on the right also.
    Better to steer clear of the coast road as I don't think there is parking there.
    There is usually parking in the Church carpark across from the Raheny Club house right in the centre of the the Village ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

Cant wait the 3rd-> 4th mile along the sea front looks nice. Hopeto break 27 if things go well.

Has anyone got any results for the race?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Doubt it, it only kicked off less than an hour ago.

yea just thought might be someone was worth a shot.....
    First junior 27.05
    that all i got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

1. Sean Connolly 24.20ish
    2. Mark Kirwan
    3. Tom Fitzpatrick
    4. Sergiu Ciobanu 24.38
    5. Tom Carey
    6. Kevin Moriarty 25.06
    7. Paul Fleming

1. Rosemary Ryan 26.50ish
    2. Maria McCambridge 27.20ish

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

1. Sean Connolly 24.20ish
    2. Mark Kirwan
    3. Tom Fitzpatrick
    4. Sergiu Ciobanu 24.38
    5. Tom Carey
    6. Kevin Moriarty 25.06
    7. Paul Fleming

1. Rosemary Ryan 26.50ish
    2. Maria McCambridge 27.20ish

?. Robinph 31:58

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,504 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

robinph wrote: »
    ?. Robinph 31:58

Great running Robinph.

Krusty_Clown - 32:18 (watch time). Add another minute for gun-time, as started way back down the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

33:07 for me
    Results are up here http://www.tds-live.com/wtrpg/race.jsp?id=2337

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭kevinkilbane

well done woddle, thats a great time for 5miles. pity i missed it, but the way the week has gone, id be lucky to get 45minutes. whats the next race yull be doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,555 ✭✭✭chinguetti

32.34 for me (33.32 on my watch). Glad the rain stopped before the rain. The Juniors had the worst of it with the driving rain.

Well orgainsed race by Raheny so congrats to them for all their hard work.

well done woddle, thats a great time for 5miles. pity i missed it, but the way the week has gone, id be lucky to get 45minutes. whats the next race yull be doing?

Yeah I'm well chuffed but it's funny how after a race your not quite a 100% happy, I reckon if I didn't try to fix my watch, I might have dipped under 33, next time though. Conditions were perfect for a PB. My next race is Dungarvan 10 mile next Sunday and I'll be looking to make it 3 PB for 2009 :D which means sub 69. Will you do the swords xc, you can borrow my spikes if you want.

Well done all. I had a DNF today but not to worry... Its actually worse then my 50 min time from last year :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭gmurran

Ran 00:28:09. A bit small bit disappointed with that. Had hoped to keep each mile sub 5.30. I lost a allot of time on the first stretch not realising there was so many slower runners in front of me. I'll know better next time.

Happy my team Sportsworld came in 3rd.

Well done everyone is was a good run and the rain stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Ran 47.30 watch time/46.28 chip time. Absolutely ****ing delighted. Seriously, I was thinking I'd be lucky to get under 50.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭kevinkilbane

Woddle wrote: »
    Yeah I'm well chuffed but it's funny how after a race your not quite a 100% happy, I reckon if I didn't try to fix my watch, I might have dipped under 33, next time though. Conditions were perfect for a PB. My next race is Dungarvan 10 mile next Sunday and I'll be looking to make it 3 PB for 2009 :D which means sub 69. Will you do the swords xc, you can borrow my spikes if you want.

ah no, wont be going to swords, i reckon i just do a few training sessions, maybe go to marley for a good few miles.
    i dont know what race ill do next, doubt ill be doing another bhaa race soon, maybe the garda cc. ill see how i get on.
    im sure youll get the pb in dungarvan, im sure it be good run too.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The tds-live site seems to be struggling at bit at the moment, but just before it disappeared I think I saw that Boards AC came in 34th place in the team race. :D

Which nicely matches my category place of 34th as well, which I'm not so happy about as it just means I'm getting old.

Edit: Even better though, the chip only added 1 second to my time so I still made in home in 31:59. :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

31:59...I'm really happy with that as I'm just coming back to running after 10 years away.

Great running Robinph, def think we should have started a few rows up. I was running beside you at the start and then all of a sudden bang I got body checked and lost all sight of you, well done. whats that 4 or 5 nil to you :mad:

I started way way back and was lucky that everyone went around the pools of water.. they jsut cleared the way for me to plow through..

Your probably right about needing to start further up the field, I always under estimate and then get anoyed with how many slow people ended up starting infront of me. I'll need to start counting how many people are infront of me at the start, if there are more than whatever placeing I got in the previous race of that distance then it means some people need to be pushed out of the way. ;)

Think it's 4-0 to me at the moment, it is always very close though. :D

Your probably right about needing to start further up the field, I always under estimate and then get anoyed with how many slow people ended up starting infront of me. I'll need to start counting how many people are infront of me at the start, if there are more than whatever placeing I got in the previous race of that distance then it means some people need to be pushed out of the way. ;)

Think it's 4-0 to me at the moment, it is always very close though. :D

1 min and 08 seconds ain't close and your now considered an oul lad, shame on me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Sounds like a great well-organized race. Some great reports in here, well done to all who ran it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Some great times there lads - well done. Woddle and Robinph, my PB for 5 mile is only 33:19 so both of you would have kicked my ass today:eek:
    Speaking of kicking ass, are you running in swords next week Robinph??

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Awww...now I'm sorry I missed it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭limerickleader

Thankfully the rain held off for the duration of the race. Got around in 30'30, pb by a minute so pretty happy with that. Fair play to Raheny, well organised race as usual

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Ran 47.30 watch time/46.28 chip time. Absolutely ****ing delighted. Seriously, I was thinking I'd be lucky to get under 50.

Well done Kirby, you're on fire.

Shout out for Kevin Woods of Crusaders winner of the younger juniors' race. Then the lad from Finn Valley in the older race who ran the mile in 4.19 :eek: assuming the mile measurement was correct.

gerard65 wrote: »
    Speaking of kicking ass, are you running in swords next week Robinph??

Is that the next BHAA one? I think I'm planning on doing that one.

Some great times there, well done.

Will see ye in swords

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭DAVID AKA MACKY

i came up from kilkenny today,might have seen me with the black and amber band around me hahah,im with kilkenny city harriers,what a great event it was and fair play to everyone that competed,some amazing times,mine was 31.37,i should do a lot better but from where i started way back and been held up it was difficult to get a sub 30 time which i was hoping for,but congraths to everyone,everyones a winner.
    doing the dungarvan 10mile next sunday,will be a difficult race but cant wait for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭greenplain

Great race, blessed that the weather cleared up. Happy enough with my time 32.42

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

Very well organised race as you would expect from a great community club like Raheny Shamrocks.
    With the huge numbers in the race, and the decent weather, I would have expected far more to break 25 minutes. I think there were only 5 under the mark.
    Great to see Tallaght winning the mens team prize.

I agree it was well organised the only thing I would question was the stewards at corners were people were jumping up on to paths, I would have imagined the course was marked on the road and not the path, maybe I'm wrong. Should these stewards not have been trying to block the paths to keep people on the roads, I got body blocked on the first corner by someone running across me trying to jump up on the path. I loved the race and will do it next year but when you compare it to the sportsworld 5 the stewards there shout at you to stay on the road, just curious maybe it was marked on the path, I don't know but fair play to all the volunteers they were great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,138 ✭✭✭✭Stark

but congraths to everyone,everyones a winner.

So it would seem from the trophies given out in the goody bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭jlang

I agree it was well organised the only thing I would question was the stewards at corners were people were jumping up on to paths, I would have imagined the course was marked on the road and not the path, maybe I'm wrong. Should these stewards not have been trying to block the paths to keep people on the roads, I got body blocked on the first corner by someone running across me trying to jump up on the path. I loved the race and will do it next year but when you compare it to the sportsworld 5 the stewards there shout at you to stay on the road, just curious maybe it was marked on the path, I don't know but fair play to all the volunteers they were great.
    I will admit I ran on the path a couple of times, at certain corners where the consensus line seemed to be to hop up and also along the seafront where the tarmac footpath looked much more inviting than the concrete road. You're probably right about the measured course being to the road corners, but I'd be very surprised if I ran less than a net 5 miles with weaving and overtaking etc and I'm far enough out of the prizes that I feel comfortable with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

I wasn't out at the race yesterday which meant a lack of photos but there are a few pictures from the race on RacePix365. There's about 20 or so there at the moment taken by Lindie Naughton. If anyone has any other pictures of the day it'd be great if you could upload them or let me know.

I like the changes you've made to the picture browser thingy.

There was quite a few people along the side of the route with cameras, but if any of them were taking more than one picture of whoever they knew is another matter entirely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

I like the changes you've made to the picture browser thingy.

Thanks, there's also a fancy new email alert if new pictures get uploaded to a race thingy... it was an exciting weekend in these parts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 flannlmacgowan

Congrats to All. Did it in 34.31 myself, which is a PB to say the least (did my last five mile race in 2005 and it took 38.20!). Got an awful stitch about three miles in, so it was a struggle to finish. Must try and improve time though. All about the 10K in the Park now. Bring it on.

Did anyone find this race pretty hard? Conditions were nice, but it was pretty eerie running down Vernon Avenue with no one out cheering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 KARENGILLIAN

Congrats to All. Did it in 34.31 myself, which is a PB to say the least (did my last five mile race in 2005 and it took 38.20!). Got an awful stitch about three miles in, so it was a struggle to finish. Must try and improve time though. All about the 10K in the Park now. Bring it on.

Did anyone find this race pretty hard? Conditions were nice, but it was pretty eerie running down Vernon Avenue with no one out cheering.

Conditions were great, the only problem was the downpour before the race meant I didn't do a proper warm up and picked up a strain as a result. Also found the corners slightly dangerous with runners and walkers and stewards all jockying for the same spot. First time I did it, but for the most very enjoyable