Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sixth Largest Debt In The World???

• 11-01-2009 3:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭

I knew of course that we had government debt like just about any other country in the world but I never knew it was so much! :(

According to the CIA Factbook we have the 6th largest government debt in the world at a whopping $ 1,841,000,000,000 :eek::eek::eek:

1.841 trillion dollars - can this be right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,680 ✭✭✭Skyuser

Actually according to that its the 6th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭HarryPalmer

Ridiculous number. This government can't count that high. http://www.finfacts.ie/irishfinancenews/article_1015516.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Considering we had the second lowest in Europe, it has really shot up. Maybe we are the exception with Govt. deficits and bank bail outs?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Skyuser wrote: »
    Actually according to that its the 6th

Ahem well pointed out.

Ah, it's current borrowing, not total borrowing! Lucky we have one of the lowest total borrowing ratios in Europe.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

And that means what to us lackies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Our personal debt is 180 times GDP, not good when you're in a recession.

Senna wrote: »
    Our personal debt is 180 times GDP, not good when you're in a recession.

Jaysus, it has really shot up! Amazing!

Link?

Edit. Do we have TOTAL Govt. borrowing to GDP Ratios?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

We should aim for first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Teg Veece

From that table, it seems that the more in debt you are, the more prosperous your country is. Can someone explain why that is? Does that debt actually mean anything at all?

And that means what to us lackies?

We have the one of the lowest Total Borrowing to GNP Ratios in Europe. Google is your friend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fredzer

We should aim for first.

+1, no point doing this in a half assed way. Maybe start a war? Should push up the debt a notch or two!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

fredzer wrote: »
    +1, no point doing this in a half assed way. Maybe start a war? Should push up the debt a notch or two!

We should attack Israel, they're distracted at the moment and will NEVER expect it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭Four-Too

Teg Veece wrote: »
    From that table, it seems that the more in debt you are, the more prosperous your country is. Can someone explain why that is? Does that debt actually mean anything at all?

It means we are F*CKED! Every man, woman and child in Ireland owes this debt. Lame-ass Cowan and co will have no solution to that either, you can be sure. There is nothing free in life, we joined the E.U., accepted the jewels they offered to us, but we forgot there is nothing for free in life...if your debt is not paid...OUR debt, we will have to pay for it in some other WORSE way. :eek:

Teg Veece wrote: »

Just imagine your mate down the road who has a McJob , earning just above the minimum wage, borrows enough to buy a ferrari!

He looks rich, then the HP bills start coming in! he borrows more to pay the car HP.

Then the credit bills come in, he borrows some more from somewhere else.

But he still appears rich to you!

Ireland is your mate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

That figure just about keeps my student loan debt out of the top 6 :P

Four-Too wrote: »
    It means we are F*CKED! Every man, woman and child in Ireland owes this debt. Lame-ass Cowan and co will have no solution to that either, you can be sure. There is nothing free in life, we joined the E.U., accepted the jewels they offered to us, but we forgot there is nothing for free in life...if your debt is not paid...OUR debt, we will have to pay for it in some other WORSE way. :eek:

YEP, They paid it off in the good times. So we have one of the lowest Govt. debts in the EU, so can afford to borrow.

It would be far worse if we where the UK borrowing! Oh wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

if that is to be believed, it is will out of date.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

That's a whole lot of cabbage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

who the fup does the world owe $ 51,780,000,000,000 to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

That's it lads, it's time to take drastic action, like all of us ducking it out in Singapore or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Typo. It's supposed to be Iceland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

gino85 wrote: »

To the bank fat cats I think. We'd be better off persecuting them tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

To be honest, with values that enornmous and spread over such huge economies and countries, those numbers lose their feeling of value. It's not like there's a single Joe Soap who lent Ireland the odd $1,841,000,000,000 down the pub one night (Since he just had it lying around) and all of a sudden is asking for it back "or else".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

We should attack Israel, they're distracted at the moment and will NEVER expect it.

Israels useless anyways,

get the pdf's in there. :rolleyes:

S.I.R wrote: »
    get the pdf's in there. :rolleyes:

You want to attack them with electronic books?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Impressive how long Bertie kept the charade going , even more impressive was how he knew when to get out .:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

gino85 wrote: »

Me, I took €20 out of an ATM on Grafton St one Saturday night and went and had a couple of pints. Must have been some bender, because when I checked my balance the next morning I was 51bn in the red !! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Well that's funny because I have this picture of a spider that I value at €1.841billion, so I'll donate it to the state if you guys make it worth my while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

I dunno. It would be great if it were a chap called Fred, and he was a really really nice guy and said "Era. ****it. Write it off. just leave me a few million and buy me a free pint next time you see me".

Thats'd be great. The world would have no more debt and Fred would have free pints for the rest of his life.

Acutally most sovereign debt is owned by people within the country of issue, although the US sovereign debt is being snapped up everywhere. Who knows why.

There has been a huge imbalance in world trade for about a decade now - largely due to the entire transfer of tne manifacturing capabilities of the West to China, India, and Eastern Europe. I don think this can balance out until we all get as poor as China and India, or there is an average salary in common between all places.

That, or we end globalisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭barbiegirl

Ok some of the same posters on this one as the ones giving out about the govt cuts. You want us NOT to borrow and not to cut. Where does the money then come from??? Think basic fiscal policy. In the last 15-20 years we have reduced our debts from the huge 1980's level and now, yes we need to borrow hugely, like eveyone else, but we're starting from a better position. Did we waste the Celtic Tiger, nope we paid back our loans, just like in your home budget, paying debts comes before the house extension or improvements you want, now we have to take them again, as does everyone in the world. Books have to balance people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Think basic fiscal policy. In the last 15-20 years we have reduced our debts from the huge 1980's level and now, yes we need to borrow hugely, like eveyone else, but we're starting from a better position.

True. That is one thing the government got right. And I dont care about borrowing. We escaped from 100% of GDP down to 36% so we have room to grow debt as a percentage of GDP now, in fact we have to. And run it down in the boom years when theuy come back.

I'm sorry, but that figure can't be right...
    There's no way we've borrowed the over our whole gdp(todays) 10 times. Any economists care to shed some light on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Oddly enough, Afghanistan's debt has not been updated since 2004.

*shrugs*
    I'm off to Lichtenstein.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

People are getting confused.
    wikipedia wrote:
    External debt (or foreign debt) is that part of the total debt in a country that is owed to creditors outside the country. The debtors can be the government, corporations or private households. The debt includes money owed to private commercial banks, other governments, or international financial institutions such as the IMF and World Bank.

So this includes public debt (Government owed debt, which according to the CIA factbook is 24% of GDP, which is either €191 billion or €259 billion, so that gives us circa €70-80 billion of government debt, which seems to fall in line with harrypalmer numbers above.

The rest is private debt. I have no idea how the number is so high, it comes out at about €400,000 per man woman and child in the land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The debt problem would be solved if Biffo was fit enough to get to the end of a rainbow before it disappeared. Perhaps he should appoint Sonia O'Sullivan to replace Brian Lenihan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Sure this is well out of date look at the date:

Ireland $ 1,841,000,000,000 30 June 2007

Surely it would have doubled now at the rate things are going at :mad:

Peteee wrote: »
    ...it comes out at about €400,000 per man woman and child in the land.

That's a fair number of credit cards maxed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

We should get Bertie back in power and I'll to 1st in no time.

This would not be a problem if Bertie was still in power, it would still be a secret.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

galwayrush wrote: »
    This would not be a problem if Bertie was still in power, it would still be a secret.:rolleyes:

He was in charge when the figures were collated.

Yep , all secrets.:rolleyes:(we can all use those)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Économiste Monétaire

I knew of course that we had government debt like just about any other country in the world but I never knew it was so much! :(

According to the CIA Factbook we have the 6th largest government debt in the world at a whopping $ 1,841,000,000,000 :eek::eek::eek:

1.841 trillion dollars - can this be right?
    That figure is for all external debt relating to government, private citizens, and corporations. It's just a technical number which is ambiguous in its calculation. It's not the same as government debt; there's no way we could have a public debt to GDP of 1000%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

there's no way we could have a public debt to GDP of 1000%.

Never underestimate the power of Playstation Fianna Fáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

irish government spending budget in 2006 48 billion euro http://www.finfacts.com/irelandbusinessnews/publish/article_10003969.shtml
    irish government spending budget in 2007 54 billion euro http://www.finfacts.com/irelandbusinessnews/publish/article_10008108.shtml

how can our external debt equal nearly 2 trillion based on that?? unless you include EU grants there is no way we spent that much money never mind borrowed it, what did we spend it on, if we had a military like the US or russia i could believe that figure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Highsider

You'll talk us into a recession.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Private debt is €400bn, the highest in the eurozone, we're no.1 at that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

I say we invade San Marino.

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I say we invade San Marino.

Fcuk it, let's invade England.

Better not, we've spent all our money on Quangos to plan the invasion.:rolleyes:

galwayrush wrote: »
    Better not, we've spent all our money on Quangos to plan the invasion.:rolleyes:

Sure, we'll send them in first. It'll be grand.