Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

tadhg kennelly returns to kerry

• 09-01-2009 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭

rumours has it that kennelly has officially ended his time in austrailia and will return to kerry for good for next week..

i worry about him, he has had some massive injuries. however, he could also have 5 massive years in him and could make a massive difference to kerry.

thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

The Swans are denying that he has left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭YDMHSSB

Fcuk him.
    He left for money, he shouldn't be left near the panel when theres determined youngsters looking for their place.
    Same goes for Setanta and the rest of them.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: great response. every single player in the country would jump at the chance to go there, he was lucky he had the talent and was selected. he will work harder than anybody next year to prove he should be on the panel. the lad is a work horse and if u knew him, you wouldnt be sprouting that shi*e bout money. he wasnt earning that mush when he went there and actually went to college for first few years. your clueless on this topic to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

hes leaving at the end of his contract which is the end of the current/upcoming season

he is apparantly back in ireland next week and will play for his club listowel emmets in the North Kerry Senior Championship final. if he does play, then thats it, his time in Aus is over. i spent a few days down there over christmas and obviously the swans are worried as they have to release statements saying he is staying for one more year. they really want him to stay longer and are willing to offer a new contract i believe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Fcuk him.
    He left for money, he shouldn't be left near the panel when theres determined youngsters looking for their place.

And you sir are a dinousar! Your name Frank Murphy by any chance???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

This rumour has already been shot down. He and hte club have both stated publicly that he's staying till the end of the 09 season and THEN is coming back to Kerry. So, he'll be back next year. Not this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Fcuk him.

thats the type of comment that sickens my hole

This rumour has already been shot down. He and hte club have both stated publicly that he's staying till the end of the 09 season and THEN is coming back to Kerry. So, he'll be back next year. Not this.

will know for sure next week wont we? these are the strongest rumours yet and the swans are very worried. cant remember them actually having to release a statement before. if he flies home this week after going over last week, it surely means he is on the way home for good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

thats the type of comment that sickens my hole
    In fairness, how dare he go out and make a living for himself! So selfish!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

http://www.herald.ie/sport/gaelic-football/kennelly-dismisses-fresh-talk-of-a-return-1595570.html
    Kennelly has stated: "Rumours circulate every year when I go home. I am now back in Australia. I have returned to training with the Sydney Swans. I have a contract with the Swans until the end of 2009."

But sure anyone bar blinkered Kerry people would already know that seeing as it's all been done before and he's under contract -

http://news.realfooty.com.au/sport/kennelly-to-make-gaelic-football-return-20080404-23qj.html

Sure he signed a three year contract in 2006 and said he would leave once that was finished (it covered 2007, 2008 and 2009) so it's been clear for 3 years now what his intentions have been.

Non story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

I'll tell ya what would sicken my hole, being on the fringe of the Kerry Senior Panel only to have him return and stroll back into the squad.

I don't begrudge him his achievements at Sydney but if that does happen i'll have lost all respect for what Kerry Football stands for.

with comments like this, i dont think you have any respect for kerry football anyway. if he or anybody is good enough, they will be selected in the squad, simple as. if your only a fringe player and cant make the cut, theres plenty of people in kerry, not just tadhg kennelly, to take your place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Fcuk him.

Very true. I remember Setanta coming back from Oz a few years ago for a couple of weeks holidays and walking straight into the Na Piarsaighs team for the county final. Absolute disgrace denying another guy the biggest day of his career who would have been training all year round with the club.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    http://www.herald.ie/sport/gaelic-football/kennelly-dismisses-fresh-talk-of-a-return-1595570.html

But sure anyone bar blinkered Kerry people would already know that seeing as it's all been done before and he's under contract -

http://news.realfooty.com.au/sport/kennelly-to-make-gaelic-football-return-20080404-23qj.html

Sure he signed a three year contract in 2006 and said he would leave once that was finished (it covered 2007, 2008 and 2009) so it's been clear for 3 years now what his intentions have been.

Non story.

not that much of a non story neil....this one is genuine. he may end up staying and people will say "ah it was only bull" but ive been at home too and i know whats going on. it could go either way i think. this story aint finished yet and until the North Kerry final is over next week, i will stay open.

I dont think he is back for good yet but then Im not living on main st listowel. I would be surprised if he was.

and to Bill Ashmount the Scientist you guys should really get a clue, or buy one or somethign. If you thought for one second that Jack O'Shea would let anyone waltz onto a Kerry team your mental. if TK makes it back onto the Senior pannel its because he is good enough and has put in the effort and shown the desire.

This isnt Cork football we are talking here ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

What kind of money did he make while down there?

Australian dollars :)

Dont know but its a heck of a lot more that us mear mortals make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Alany wrote: »
    I dont think he is back for good yet but then Im not living on main st listowel. I would be surprised if he was.

and to Bill Ashmount the Scientist you guys should really get a clue, or buy one or somethign. If you thought for one second that Jack O'Shea would let anyone waltz onto a Kerry team your mental. if TK makes it back onto the Senior pannel its because he is good enough and has put in the effort and shown the desire.

Yeah and besides, what the hell would an ex Kildare manager have to do with the current Kerry panel, besides the fact that his son is on it?

ah..yeah ... Im sure I thought O'Connor in me head. and thats what matters right ?

Im not living on main st listowel

well its a good thing i hace cousins living on it then isnt it ;). to be honest, i dont think anybody bar tadhg or the swans know whats happening. i heard a story straight from somebody very close to him but in interest of respect to them, ill keep it to myself.

I have plenty of respect for Kerry Football and i would acknowledge them as the best county (by far) at Gaelic Football.
    My point is that he wont be tried or tested, if he returns then its going to be a simple case of "Oh Kennelly is back, throw him in at corner forward".
    Politics, pure and simple.

A man should have to train with any GAA team for months (and prove himself) before being given a place on the first team.
    It would be utter disrespect to the ethos of the GAA if he comes back and is just handed a jersey.

errm, he will be training the same as all the other players. first championship is until may also so thats 4 months to proove himself. and i can tell you one thing, with gooch and other options that we have, he will not be playing corner forward.

Kennelly played at half forward at minor and senior level before he left.

He'll be returning at midfield where Kerry, frankly are short with Dara's age and two workhorses in Scanlan and Quirke.

Regardless he is not going to burn his bridges in Australia and leave before his contract expires.

He'll be back in 2010.

Im close to having pity for the Cork hurlers given the input of Cork supporters to this debate.

Is it still 1909 in Cork or what?

By the way Kerry football would be disgusted if someone like the Scientist had anyrespect for it I would reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

I was only talking about what happened with Setanta. Never mentioned Jack O'Shea.

I'm not too pushed what Kerry do from now on anyway, their glory days are behind them. ;)

I was only talking about what happened with Setanta. Never mentioned Jack O'Shea.

I'm not too pushed what Kerry do from now on anyway, their glory days are behind them. ;)

I think you will find that Jack O Connor is the Kerry manager and yes the glory days of 4 in a rows are probably over. Kerry now settle for 5 All-Irelands a decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

What is it with rumours and ye lot down in Kerry? Have ye nothing else to be doing?? :P

Zzippy wrote: »
    What is it with rumours and ye lot down in Kerry? Have ye nothing else to be doing?? :P

sure gives all the others something to talk about. you should try living down there and keep up with all the scandle in the club scene. gets to a shocking level sometimes :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭corcaioch

I have plenty of respect for Kerry Football and i would acknowledge them as the best county (by far) at Gaelic Football.
    My point is that he wont be tried or tested, if he returns then its going to be a simple case of "Oh Kennelly is back, throw him in at corner forward".
    Politics, pure and simple.

A man should have to train with any GAA team for months (and prove himself) before being given a place on the first team.
    It would be utter disrespect to the ethos of the GAA if he comes back and is just handed a jersey.

Agree with that. It is the exact opposite of to the humble gestures of Stephen O' Neill who wouldn't accept his All Ireland medal last year even though he played a part in them winning it. Instead he has put his head down, will train hard and could end up as top scorer in the years championship along with winning an All Ireland medal(?), especially if his exceptional performance against Monaghan last week is anything to go by. A true Laochra Gael.

As for Keneally, if he puts in the same training as everyone else and is good enough to make the Kerry team then of course he should play. But I wouldn't guarantee that. With the quality of forwards Kerry have, he may not have been a starter on this years team even if he had stayed in Kerry all these years. Gooch, Donaghy and Walsh are the only sure starters in the forwards.

He's not a forward :rolleyes:

Look, if you tell me a professional athlete is going to come back to Kerry a county for whom not winning an all Ireland is seeing as a failed year and is going to warm the bench ahead of amateur player you're having a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Wucking Fanker

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Yeah and besides, what the hell would an ex Kildare manager have to do with the current Kerry panel, besides the fact that his son is on it?

:eek: Jacko managed Kildare??!!:rolleyes:

dont think he came home for the game on Sunday.

however, apparantly he took a kick at goal in training last week for the swans and it was in a north west direction. local reporters say its the clearest indication yet that he is moving to kerry immediately.

just taken from hoganstand, interesting....

Tadhg Kennelly will decide by this weekend whether or not to leave the AFL and re-join the Kerry senior football squad.

Football fans throughout the Kingdom are hopeful that the Sydney Swans star will call time on his AFL career and return to assist Jack O’Connor’s All-Ireland bid. With his current contract set to expire in October, he is due to hold crunch talks with Swans coach Paul Roos this week and it seems possible that the Kerryman could quit Australia early.

According to Tadhg’s brother, Noel, a definitive decision is imminent:

"Tadhg won’t be making any plans on his future until he talks with Paul Roos on Tuesday. Apparently, Roos has been absent from the club for some time, but he’s due back.

"Over the last seven to eight years, Tadhg has developed a very close relationship with Paul, and he definitely would not make any decision on ending his contract prematurely until he had first spoken with Roos.

"After Tadhg and Roos have had their talks, Tadhg will have to think things over and he hopes to make a decision one way or the other by this weekend."

Kennelly has 'retired' from AFL.

Some discussion already ongoing here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Kennelly has 'retired' from AFL.

Some discussion already ongoing here
    Disgraceful eh? ;):D

smashey wrote: »

he is following xavi home...whats the odd they will be on same flight?!!

na, its a great move for him and been on the cards since christmas, everybody at home knew this was happening, he just had to talk with them first to make it official

a new full back for kerry perhaps!?

Oh no- he'll partner Darragh at midfield. Kerry have been fallen away in the second half of games as Darragh doesn't have the stamina for the full 70 anymore. Tadgh will make a fantastic target in the middle of the park and take the pressure of Darragh to "carry" midfiled.

If Kerry take 50% of midfield in any game they'll kill you.

will have to wait and see but tadhg is not and has never been a midfielder. i remember him playing an under 14 game their once, but thats about it!!

my prediction - if tadhg is to make the kerry team, he will be in the half back line, probably center back. aidan to the wong and thomas in mid field. well, thats what they will try in the league. jacko loves thomas in mid field and played him there in a few big league games, before returning to the kirby/brosnan/griffan parntership in 04/05 championship with scanlon their in 06.

my second guess would be center forward but thats declans position and he is no where near as effective elsewhere. wonder when is he home and at what stage will he make his senior debut? against the dubs would be nice!! he has been injured but his fitness would be ok and nobody will work harder to get themselves to the top level more than him. if he stays clear of injury, he will have a big part to play this year. word is also, that this had a little influence on darragh staying as jack o connor knew about this a month ago :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Non story.

Looks like it was a story then :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

will have to wait and see but tadhg is not and has never been a midfielder. i remember him playing an under 14 game their once, but thats about it!!

my prediction - if tadhg is to make the kerry team, he will be in the half back line, probably center back. aidan to the wong and thomas in mid field. well, thats what they will try in the league. jacko loves thomas in mid field and played him there in a few big league games, before returning to the kirby/brosnan/griffan parntership in 04/05 championship with scanlon their in 06.

my second guess would be center forward but thats declans position and he is no where near as effective elsewhere. wonder when is he home and at what stage will he make his senior debut? against the dubs would be nice!! he has been injured but his fitness would be ok and nobody will work harder to get themselves to the top level more than him. if he stays clear of injury, he will have a big part to play this year. word is also, that this had a little influence on darragh staying as jack o connor knew about this a month ago :)

What about full-back?

Agus wrote: »
    What about full-back?

yes of course, but tadhg as a gaa player is an attacking force, even though he has been a defender in the Aussie Rules. full back maybe too defensive for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Agus

yes of course, but tadhg as a gaa player is an attacking force, even though he has been a defender in the Aussie Rules. full back maybe too defensive for him.

you may be right, although on the other hand it might just settle that question if it worked out, and this would be a very good back six

Marc Ó Sé, Tadhg Kennelly, Tom O'Sullivan
    Tomás Ó Sé, Aidan O'Mahony, Killian Young

Whatever about a position, he will need to get himself back sharp again from an early stage, he has been away from regular football a long time

smashey wrote: »

Most definitely. He's dicked the Swans around big time, particularly with regard to the timing of the decision.

Very unprofessional effort on his part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Just out of curiosity, when did he first join the AFL?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

deise59 wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity, when did he first join the AFL?
    sep 1999

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭dhorgan3

my second guess would be center forward but thats declans position and he is no where near as effective elsewhere. wonder when is he home and at what stage will he make his senior debut? against the dubs would be nice!! :)

But not against cork. Play him at full back andCussen would destroy him. I think this is corks year. Has been coming for a while. Ye were lucky last year. Not this year lads! Up the rebels!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

dhorgan3 wrote: »
    But not against cork. Play him at full back andCussen would destroy him. I think this is corks year. Has been coming for a while. Ye were lucky last year. Not this year lads! Up the rebels!!!

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

dhorgan3 wrote: »

What have you been smoking??:rolleyes:

Sure Limerick nearly beat ye last year and we're hardly a stronghold of football:eek::eek:

Play him at full back andCussen would destroy him

HA HA HA. That made me laugh.

What happened to Cussen in the semi final last year or in the Final in 2006?? One good game game does not a star make. (last years Munster Final)

Tadgh Kennelly is a PROFESSIONAL, repeat PROFESSIONAL athlete who has played at an elite level for TEN YEARS at an elite sport in one of the most popular games in Australia, a country with many many times the population of ours. In additition to this they won the AFL premiership. Cussen, with all due respect, is not.

When Kennelly laced up as a professional athlete Cussen was playing Under 16for Glanmire. Whilst Kennelly has had his diet regimented by professionals and training every day Cussen is doing laps in the squad car and has probably spent his winter down the pub.

Kerry have annilated Cork in Croke Park how many times in the last few years?
    Cork's closest was a draw.

There is no comparison. Kennelly would put him in his arse pocket and throw him in with his change on the counter to buy a victory round on the way home with the lads.