Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boardies What do you think

• 09-01-2009 1:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41

Want to know what people think of boards website

Is it a good place for people to voice there opinions

Is it good source of information

Is it that people have nothing better to do

Is it for people to hide when voicing their opinions

Is it just for information more then opinion meaning you cant say what you really want

Or if you have any other reasons why people use Boards
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,553 ✭✭✭✭muffler

I'll move this to feedback as it seems to a be a general issue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

OP, the one big question that peope are going to ask is; "Why are you asking?"

Just preparing you for it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Yup.

Why are you asking?

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

They built it, we came.

Why are you asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

GoodEnough wrote: »

Fucking love it
    Yep
    yep
    Yep
    Yep
    Is it just for information more then opinion meaning you cant say what you really want
    Yep
    Free booze for all registered users, and the wimmens are easy:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

It used be a fairly good website for discussions but now its way too over moderated , as far as I can see there are more guests than members looking at the forums and in one forum which I wont mention a lot of people I know dont bother posting anymore because of the excessive moderation

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

meldrew wrote: »
    ...in one forum which I wont mention...
    Why wont you mention?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It used be a fairly good website for discussions but now its way too over moderated , as far as I can see there are more guests than members looking at the forums and in one forum which I wont mention a lot of people I know dont bother posting anymore because of the excessive moderation
    Please mention it. If everyone keeps quiet about their disquiet, then how are we to know what needs to be fixed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 GoodEnough

seamus wrote: »
    OP, the one big question that peope are going to ask is; "Why are you asking?"

Just preparing you for it.

Just starting a discussion FAE to do. Maybe ;)

Prepared for what the replys. Help replys HELP HELP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

All of the above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

A bit of all of the above as well as being able to talk and express yourself on stuff you might otherwise not do elsewere .Like so many topics of intrest and lots of crap to .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭Tristram

Mostly: Is it that people have nothing better to do

Sometimes you can find some useful information.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

He is talking about the Waterford forum. He's not happy that he can't post slanderous\libelious comments about company's and claims the whole site is over moderated and who cares if the owners get sued.

As for people not posting there anymore that's a very small number. The forums a lot more enjoyable now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

My main reason for being here is to give karoma migranes.

Other than that, its for the cake and buttsexz.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Yup

Very much so

Even those in work post here more then working :p

A little, though your identity on the net is never secret.

People have great discussions here and get great advise. However, within reason. Since the site owners are responsible for posts posters have to be careful whats said to avoid legal action so that area might be a bit strict and you dont have complete freedom. Which is good in other ways anyway.

Meet new people, have a good laugh, read interesting story's, get great advise and support etc.

Sully wrote: »
    He is talking about the Waterford forum. He's not happy that he can't post slanderous\libelious comments about company's and claims the whole site is over moderated and who cares if the owners get sued.

As for people not posting there anymore that's a very small number. The forums a lot more enjoyable now.

Should a moderator not keep to the topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Petty arguments like that don't do much for your case I'm afraid.

I'm not a moderator of this forum. Just a user like you :)

Why pick me out of the countless other posters who went off topic? :P Plus I have already responded on topic anyway.

Fajitas! wrote: »
    Petty arguments like that don't do much for your case I'm afraid.

What is my case?

Are you a moderator Fagitas?

Is every post taken so serious?

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Fagitas?

I see what you did there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

What is my case?

Be nice ourlad...............:(

I'm not a moderator of this forum. Just a user like you :)

Why pick me out of the countless other posters who went off topic? :P Plus I have already responded on topic anyway.

I'm not picking out anyone just making a comment, should a mod not practise what they preach no matter what forum they are on.

and yes you did respond to the topic after your comment

Bloody hell ye are very serious.

Might start a new topic on being too serious here ;)

Be nice ourlad...............:(

Why am i not being nice sorry but could you expand on your comment Thank You

I'm not picking out anyone just making a comment, should a mod not practise what they preach no matter what forum they are on.

Well I cant comment on other forums but any forum I moderate we always allow room for off topic posts (a small bit, within reason). Not every topic has to be done religiously like the book ;)
    and yes you did respond to the topic after your comment

No harm done so? :D
    Bloody hell ye are very serious.

Might start a new topic on being too serious here ;)

Why how dare you! *shakes fist in anger* :P I (and Fajitas obviously) assumed you were being serious and a little bit snotty towards me for addressing a comment in a Feedback thread. So I gave a serious reply. :D

CuLT wrote: »
    I see what you did there.

You have good eyesight:)

Why how dare you! *shakes fist in anger* :P I (and Fajitas obviously) assumed you were being serious and a little bit snotty towards me for addressing a comment in a Feedback thread. So I gave a serious reply. :D

A comment in this thread i presume

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

What is my case?

Your case being your thread.

Nope, 100% not a moderator. Just trying to be helpful. I can see it's not appreciated now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭meldrew

On top of everything else you're a mind reader now , if you have a problem with what I'm posting in other forums please feel free to PM me if not please refrain from answering my posts for me . Thanks

Well you refused to converse over PM already and instead kept dragging the thread off topic giving out about mods and threw another dig here. I assumed you were willing to discuss it here but I guess not so ill leave ya be. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Adam

dont feed the gondolas troll

Mirror wrote: »
    dont feed the gondolas troll

Its okay, the poster has contacted me now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭gramlab

All of the above or none depending on what you want out if it.

Its like reading all the daily papers without actually having to get one. Think the site is the dogs bollix in general.

Me. I tend to read a lot more than post. But when I see some of the post counts here, I cant help picturing 20 odd stone people glued to their seats by their own excrement surrounded by pizza boxes.;)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

GoodEnough, can I join your fan club you seem really cool and I love how witty and entertaining your posts are especially your constant digs and sully and boards.ie in general.

You are just sh*t cool!

Cabaal wrote: »
    GoodEnough, can I join your fan club you seem really cool and I love how witty and entertaining your posts are especially your constant digs and sully and boards.ie in general.

You are just sh*t cool!

Cabaal sorry I dont have a fan club, (my god a Mod with a sense of humour or is it just the waterford mod that has lemon running through his veins) but maybe they should be a thread for witty sarcasm at folk and organisations and this would not be slanderous if theres not already one started i'll start one off and you can let me know if there is already one :D

I don't recall seeing you post in the forum, ever before it was even moderated, nor do I recall any of the mods including me ever interacting with you. Yet you have the cheek to take cheap potshots at us and others who don't agree with you?? Highly ignorant tbh.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

I don't recall seeing you post in the forum, ever before it was even moderated, nor do I recall any of the mods including me ever interacting with you. Yet you have the cheek to take cheap potshots at us and others who don't agree with you?? Highly ignorant tbh.

He/She has posted in Waterford city forum according to the post history, but off hands none of the posts seem to be in relation to having a run in with mods.

So basically he/she seems to be trying to defending other people off their own back

Cabaal wrote: »
    He/She has posted in Waterford city forum according to the post history, but off hands none of the posts seem to be in relation to having a run in with mods.

So basically he/she seems to be trying to defending other people off their own back

Not a regular so? Didn't recognise the username!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Cabaal sorry I dont have a fan club, (my god a Mod with a sense of humour or is it just the waterford mod that has lemon running through his veins)
    Sully bitter? Ha! That's classic...

I would have taken offense had he mentioned vodka, veins and muffler in the same sentence.

Vodka's not a manly drink, to be fair.

Would you have been ok with beer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Yes it is, especially when it is within the bounds of what is acceptable, given the litigious nature of the society we live in. Plus, the fact that Boards.ie, not the poster, can be held accountable for everything that is said on this site.

For the most part, yes. But as with everything on the internet, you have to be sure that what you are reading is in fact correct and from a reputable source.

No. It can be a place to "hang out" and indulge in a bit of banter, but it can also be a place to discuss a wide range of topics with people who have similar interests.

No, it is very easy to find out who a poster is and where they are posting from.

No.

See above about like-minded individuals. Also, Boards.ie is becoming more and more like a social networking site. The beers are becoming a great way to meet people.

But of course, if a person simply concentrates on one tiny corner of Boards.ie, they tend to become insulated, dare I say narrow minded and somewhat bitter. It could be argued that they don't "get" what the whole of Boards.ie has to offer, they would prefer to stay in their own little insulated corner of the site and kick up a fuss when things don't go their way. This displays a fundamental lack of understanding of what is and is not acceptable on a site as large and prolific as Boards.ie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭311

The best thing about this site ,is that people can post like this and get away with it.:)

Imagine what boards would be like if was controlled by BOTS ,it would be pretty miserable to say the least.

Dudess wrote: »
    Would you have been ok with beer?
    Yes as a chaser :D

311 wrote: »
    The best thing about this site ,is that people can post like this and get away with it.:)

Imagine what boards would be like if was controlled by BOTS ,it would be pretty miserable to say the least.
    Yep, some people seem to forget that it is run by those fallible creatures, humans.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Been saying this for a few years now... why do you need a poll? Graph the numbers over time and see if they are going up or down. Are more people posting and reading then last month, and the month before and so on... thats a genuine "poll" because EVERY user is voting with their browser.

Its funny that you should be concerned about the "right" to speak your mind when you cover what you really want to say with this pseudo market research (which appears to have backfired).

DeV.

well said DeVore, at the end of the day people vote with their browsers and boards is as popular as ever :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭deiseff

After reading thease last few thrends ill just throw in my opinion,

The mods at times have a diffucult job and majority of posters understand that and there is and will be times when posts will have to be deleted or edited.

However there is a point being made that i think should not be over looked but is. A couple of posters have aired there un happyness at the way the Waterford forum is being moderated and thid should not be ignored. Some have made valid points and given examples.

One thing that happened to me eg. i started a thrend which was locked soon after, before the thrend was locked a moderator had a go at me for posting slanderous comments which in fact wernt slanderous and were confirmed on local radio a short time after??

No appoligy was offered and i was treated with a week bad for showing my contempt at this moderator, cant remember which one it was. The thing that annoyed me was the mod was able to question my character and my comments and accuse me of lying then locked the thrend, This is a public forum which users can read at any time, I had no option to reply and defend myself and my comments. In my opinion this was not good moderation.

There have being also alot of posters displaying there annoyance at the moderators in the Waterford forum so may be there is something to look at.
    Also if you look at the last few thrends its mostly mods posting back, defending themselves and they have that right, but it does seem like if you post in here your opinion will be attacked and all the mods will back each other up, maybe a reason for posters not bothering to post.

Should also say had a few pm with sully and he seems fairly sound and will listen.

Is "thrend" Waterfordian for "thread"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭deiseff

Dudess wrote: »
    Is "thrend" Waterfordian for "thread"?

Thanks dudess you have just proved my point, you ignore the real issue and attack the poster.

Arnt you supposed to be a mod?