Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Counting down the days: the end of Bush

• 09-01-2009 7:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭

11 days left. Is there anything nice we can say about the eejit?

I didnt think so. Jeb 2012!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

here's the nicest thing i can think of: at least he didn't blow up ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Overheal wrote: »
    Jeb 2012!

Probably a stupid question but what does that mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

Jeb is his brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

Ciaran500 wrote: »
    Jeb is his brother.
    Long shot but you're not from QJ/MfM are you?

Yes I am, hey Seri.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Captain Ginger

Yes I am, hey Seri.
    Hey, you missed a class game of Uno on IRC last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Toiletroll

The 'misunderestimated' president?

All politicians are prone to make slips of the tongue in the heat of the moment - and President George W Bush has made more than most.
    The word "Bushism" has been coined to label his occasional verbal lapses during eight years in office, which come to an end on 20 January.
    Here are some of his most memorable pronouncements.

"They misunderestimated me."
    Bentonville, Arkansas, 6 November, 2000

"There's an old saying in Tennessee - I know it's in Texas, probably in Tennessee - that says, fool me once, shame on... shame on you. Fool me - you can't get fooled again."
    Nashville, Tennessee, 17 September, 2002

"There's no question that the minute I got elected, the storm clouds on the horizon were getting nearly directly overhead."
    Washington DC, 11 May, 2001

"I want to thank my friend, Senator Bill Frist, for joining us today. He married a Texas girl, I want you to know. Karyn is with us. A West Texas girl, just like me."
    Nashville, Tennessee, 27 May, 2004

"For a century and a half now, America and Japan have formed one of the great and enduring alliances of modern times."
    Tokyo, 18 February, 2002

"The war on terror involves Saddam Hussein because of the nature of Saddam Hussein, the history of Saddam Hussein, and his willingness to terrorise himself."
    Grand Rapids, Michigan, 29 January, 2003

"I think war is a dangerous place."
    Washington DC, 7 May, 2003

"The ambassador and the general were briefing me on the - the vast majority of Iraqis want to live in a peaceful, free world. And we will find these people and we will bring them to justice."
    Washington DC, 27 October, 2003

"Free societies are hopeful societies. And free societies will be allies against these hateful few who have no conscience, who kill at the whim of a hat."
    Washington DC, 17 September, 2004

"You know, one of the hardest parts of my job is to connect Iraq to the war on terror."
    CBS News, Washington DC, 6 September, 2006

"Rarely is the question asked: Is our children learning?"
    Florence, South Carolina, 11 January, 2000

"Reading is the basics for all learning."
    Reston, Virginia, 28 March, 2000

"As governor of Texas, I have set high standards for our public schools, and I have met those standards."
    CNN, 30 August, 2000

"You teach a child to read, and he or her will be able to pass a literacy test.''
    Townsend, Tennessee, 21 February, 2001

"I understand small business growth. I was one."
    New York Daily News, 19 February, 2000

"It's clearly a budget. It's got a lot of numbers in it."
    Reuters, 5 May, 2000

"I do remain confident in Linda. She'll make a fine Labour Secretary. From what I've read in the press accounts, she's perfectly qualified."
    Austin, Texas, 8 January, 2001

"First, let me make it very clear, poor people aren't necessarily killers. Just because you happen to be not rich doesn't mean you're willing to kill."
    Washington DC, 19 May, 2003

"I don't think we need to be subliminable about the differences between our views on prescription drugs."
    Orlando, Florida, 12 September, 2000

"Too many good docs are getting out of the business. Too many OB/GYN's aren't able to practice their love with women all across the country."
    Poplar Bluff, Missouri, 6 September, 2004

"Will the highways on the internet become more few?"
    Concord, New Hampshire, 29 January, 2000

"It would be a mistake for the United States Senate to allow any kind of human cloning to come out of that chamber."
    Washington DC, 10 April, 2002

"Information is moving. You know, nightly news is one way, of course, but it's also moving through the blogosphere and through the Internets."
    Washington DC, 2 May, 2007

"I know the human being and fish can coexist peacefully."
    Saginaw, Michigan, 29 September, 2000

"Families is where our nation finds hope, where wings take dream."
    LaCrosse, Wisconsin, 18 October, 2000

"Those who enter the country illegally violate the law."
    Tucson, Arizona, 28 November, 2005

"That's George Washington, the first president, of course. The interesting thing about him is that I read three - three or four books about him last year. Isn't that interesting?"
    Speaking to reporter Kai Diekmann, Washington DC, 5 May, 2006

"I have a different vision of leadership. A leadership is someone who brings people together."
    Bartlett, Tennessee, 18 August, 2000

"I'm the decider, and I decide what is best."
    Washington DC, 18 April, 2006

"And truth of the matter is, a lot of reports in Washington are never read by anybody. To show you how important this one is, I read it, and [Tony Blair] read it."
    On the publication of the Baker-Hamilton Report, Washington DC, 7 December, 2006

"All I can tell you is when the governor calls, I answer his phone."
    San Diego, California, 25 October, 2007

"I'll be long gone before some smart person ever figures out what happened inside this Oval Office."
    Washington DC, 12 May, 2008

URL="http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/7809160.stm"]source[/URL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

He's in your sig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,252 ✭✭✭Wompa1

He kept the terrorists attacks away from America after 9/11 at the cost of Iraq and Afghanistan. He also gave more money to cure Aids then the rest of the world combined. Oh and the guy can duck a shoe like a champion!

Wompa1 wrote: »
    He kept the terrorists attacks away from America after 9/11 at the cost of Iraq and Afghanistan.

except that the terrorists mostly weren't in iraq or afghanistan........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Sam Vimes wrote: »

But they have unlimited stock piles of shoes.

Sam Vimes wrote: »

But he scared them all of by demonstrating the power of his army on Iraq and Afghanistan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

He kept the terrorists attacks away from America after 9/11 at the cost of Iraq and Afghanistan. He also gave more money to cure Aids then the rest of the world combined. Oh and the guy can duck a shoe like a champion!

He does have cat-like reflexes to be fair. Just a pity his mind isn't as agile as his body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

In fairness, George Bush himself is a harmless eejit. It's the neo-cons who ran his presidency that are the real villains.

TPD wrote: »
    He does have cat-like reflexes to be fair. Just a pity his mind isn't as agile as his body.

He's got an IQ of 125-129 so his mind is fine I'd say. Just not a very good speaker and he seemed to let himself get bossed around by Cheney. Just my opinion. Thought it was very cosy that Haliburton got so many contracts out of the war.

But he scared them all of by demonstrating the power of his army on Iraq and Afghanistan.

he definitely scared a lot of people but whether he scared any terrorists or not remains to be seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

He's got an IQ of 125-129 so his mind is fine I'd say. Just not a very good speaker and he seemed to let himself get bossed around by Cheney. Just my opinion. Thought it was very cosy that Haliburton got so many contracts out of the war.

I had heard that his IQ was nearer 100, but the people in charge figured the leader of the free world should be smarter than your average Joe, so gave him IQ test lessons. Im pretty sure after doing about 10 tests and looking at the results anyones average will go up by 15-20 points.

Alot of sites say 91 but Googles equivelant of answers reckons its between 125-129. All past presidents IQ's are estimated by their SAT scores. Clintons got the highest IQ. Nixons was pretty high too. JFK had a high score but he did an actual IQ test and did pretty poorly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

George Bush is the Devil we know, Barak Obama is the Devil we don't know, :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭lisbon_lions

Thanks to bush we have games such as this one.
    Check out his face when you clobber him - priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

George Bush is the Devil we know, Barak Obama is the Devil we don't know, :eek:

Racist. :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I might be just hopeful but I think Barack might actually turn out to be what he appears to be, a first genuine president that has higher standards moral-wise than the other scumbags before him.

We can only hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

He spent more on Africa aid than any other US president in history I think

Aye, he's done such a spectacular job in the White House, we ought to buy him a drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

The end of bush? You mean every woman has decided to shave/wax????
    NO MORE STRAY HAIRS!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Inspired the creation of one of the most successful industries in America today:

Unfortunately without his steady hand at the helm, said industry will likely go down the tubes now. :(

b84bh5.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

I wonder is he itching to press the big red button before he finishes up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

No. I wish they would cuff him as soon as he steps down but it obviously won't happen so I hope he gets cancer and dies painfully.

Collie D wrote: »
    I wonder is he itching to press the big red button before he finishes up.

Hopefully not - but another one should have been pressed by Americans a long time ago for him alone!

24cbmuo.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

His honesty was refreshing:

"Our enemies are innovative and resourceful, and so are we. They never stop thinking about new ways to harm our country and our people, and neither do we."

"The ambassador and the general were briefing me on the - the vast majority of Iraqis want to live in a peaceful, free world. And we will find these people and we will bring them to justice."

"You know, one of the hardest parts of my job is to connect Iraq to the war on terror."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The end of bush? You mean every woman has decided to shave/wax????
    NO MORE STRAY HAIRS!!!!!! :D
    LOL
    The title could also be construed as no more bush for the OP in a few days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

He's in your sig?
    suffering a horrible death through fibrillation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

Hey OP, you joining the priesthood in 10 days or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Why celebrate? All the last 8 years has done is proven that the average American is indeed retarded, and that we do indeed have something to be worried about given that they're they've the most powerful military in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Rb wrote: »
    Why celebrate? All the last 8 years has done is proven that the average American is indeed retarded
    QFT. At least we don't elect crap leaders here, we Irish having much more sense than that. That's why our economy is booming and everyone is happy.

Hmm, on second thoughts, it's the American-bashing that's really retarded here.

The majority here as far as I can see, are not American people bashing - we are ONLY glad to see the back of Mr Bush (as are fellow Americans too).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Agamemnon wrote: »
    QFT. At least we don't elect crap leaders here, we Irish having much more sense than that. That's why our economy is booming and everyone is happy.

Hmm, on second thoughts, it's the American-bashing that's really retarded here.
    Where exactly did I imply that I thought the Irish were any better?

As far as I'm concerned, Fianna Fail supporters are a sub-species that should be prevented from breeding in the future, but in fairness to them at least the damage FF were doing wasn't so apparent, such as invading another country based on lies and sending a whole bunch of our kids to die for that lie.

Edit: I should probably say most FF supporters instead of implying all, simply because some were very smart and are now mega-millionaires as a result of their political relationships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

george bush is the man he and bill dogg were americas best presidents.

foook all you george bush haters.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

What did you really expect from him, he was american.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

We have the end of Blagojevich countdown in Illinois as well, brilliant. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

With all this talk of IQ tests i decided to take one just now...

lol try a free one: http://www.iqtest.com/ or http://www.ifreeiqtest.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Kold wrote: »
    No. I wish they would cuff him as soon as he steps down but it obviously won't happen so I hope he gets cancer and dies painfully.
    :confused:Bush did alot of good but all of that is forgotten by his poor public speaking skills and crap luck(and facial expressions :D)

BTW wishing anyone get cancer and have a painful death is just a bad thing to wish on anyone. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

I for one will miss the lovable cute little scamp. I'll miss him the same way I miss that dose of galloping knobrot I had last year and couldn't shake for months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭gino85

The Saint wrote: »
    I for one will miss the lovable cute little scamp. I'll miss him the same way I miss that dose of galloping knobrot I had last year and couldn't shake for months.

pun intended?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Albert000

How bout this...Do we really give a shi*t?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

:confused:Bush did alot of good but all of that is forgotten by his poor public speaking skills and crap luck(and facial expressions :D)

BTW wishing anyone get cancer and have a painful death is just a bad thing to wish on anyone. :mad:

Erm. Do you honestly think those are the reasons that people might resent George W Bush?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

He spent more on Africa aid than any other US president in history I think

and where has the money gone, to people who need it or to fund further wars??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Ruu wrote: »
    We have the end of Blagojevich countdown in Illinois as well, brilliant. :)

Nobody does scandal with that kind of theatrical flourish anymore. The only reason not to arrest him is because i'm dying to see how he'd top that.