Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Top 10 Fianna Fail F Ups

• 09-01-2009 1:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭

Lets gets the ball rollin with some eg's:

Now,
    Last year,
    Port tunnel,
    E machines..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

Formation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Mary Harney.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

1 through 10. The Cowan/Flynn/Lenihan dynasties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

That Orbital, directional sign postage in the city centre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

The METHOD about which they introduced the Lisbon Treaty to us all. Ramming it upon us!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Nightowl84 wrote: »

Now,
    Last year,
    Port tunnel,
    E machines..

The e-voting machines were high profile but negligible compared to some of the other massive overruns. The reasons the e-voting machines failed were quite subtle and technical but admittedly they should have been foreseen. I hate that shower as much as anyone but I wouldn't hang them over the e-voting. Most parties probably would have made the same mistakes imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

They didnt use protection :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Scientology

Biggins wrote: »
    The METHOD about which they introduced the Lisbon Treaty to us all. Ramming it upon us!

:confused: It was probably the most lacklustre lazy ineffectual campaign ever run by anyone. Most of the posters I saw about it were either friendly pictures of local TDs with a tiny vote Yes, misinformation from the No side or idiotic suggestive pictures from YFG.

Hardly constitutes ramming the LT on us really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

javaboy wrote: »
    :confused: It was probably the most lacklustre lazy ineffectual campaign ever run by anyone. Most of the posters I saw about it were either friendly pictures of local TDs with a tiny vote Yes, misinformation from the No side or idiotic suggestive pictures from YFG.

Hardly constitutes ramming the LT on us really.

Hey are you that guy who was infront of the spire with the paper that said you ride the mam?

You a pure madser!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Nightowl84

Hey are you that guy who was infront of the spire with the paper that said you ride the mam?

You a pure madser!

I'd say this lad for taoiseach.....

Sorry lads but I suspect my bank is screwing me on behalf of Fianna Fail.
    I picked up on a few hints: 2hgwzr6.jpg

Unfortunately yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Could you imagine the list of f ups if Fine Gael were in power. They are truly a horrible party.

They were in power. List them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

javaboy wrote: »
    They were in power. List them.

The tax on childrens shoes for one.

That's one.

EDIT: That was 17 years ago btw. Some of the current FG crowd were probably young enough to have been affected by it FFS. FF have a lot more recent screw ups.

The homosexual ghost tax in Meath.

Back to F.F. - the too many, many junket trips alone, staying in €5,000 a night hotel rooms!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

allowing the whole public sector to expand at a huge rate, without any accountability needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

What kinda question is that.
    Like it's possible to pick just ten. :rolleyes: ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

1 through 10. The Cowan/Flynn/Lenihan dynasties.

+1 nailed it on the head there Brian!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I'm disappointed that we're not getting a metro in Dublin. Is this for sure now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Nightowl84 wrote: »

Now,
    Last year,
    Port tunnel,
    E machines..

Well i'm in- where's this egging taking place.
    Oh you mean examples...
    Carry on > >

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 mr0bojangles

I am by no means a fine gael supporter (rant starts now) but in fairness I think that a tax on childrens shoes 2 decades ago pales in comparison to the current suation. I have lost all faith in this government. The immeiate issue is that we can not afford current expenditue. We could barely afford it last year when playing with monopoly money (revenue derived from our easy credit addiction). Drastic cuts need to be made. I just hope they stay the hell away from health and education.

Spending is out of control. Personally I dont care if the electronic voting machines never came to pass, I care that other countries such as Holland paid a fraction of the cost we did for the same machines. Who's in charge here. The Gov's own Auditor General thinks they are incompetent (I'm putting words in his mouth here but last years report is very damning)

At this stage I'd imagine I've lost most peoples interest so rather than list Fianna Fail's 10 biggest f ups I'll give 1 to my remaining readers (thank you both, I appreciate your dedication) Moore McDowel, one of the countries leading economists has in my opinion correctly blamed Bertie Ahern for the hardship felt by thousands who find themselves in negative equity following the burst of the property bubble. HE, yes he continually propagated the notion that the boom times could continue forever. Presumably using the same logic that a pyramid scheme can work so long as there are 8 times 8 to the power of infinity people out there more gulable than those paying todays current market price. People trusted those in power (I mean if anyone should know its our government and they're increasing spending exponetially) and now they find themselves in dire straights with no end in sight.

I just want to hear something reassuring from my leaders. An admission that yes times are tough at the moment but the recovery plan they are putting in place will reap rewards in the near future. Unlike other countries we seem to have no plan, no hope- thats just not leading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

NO.1

Getting voted in last year.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

the celtic bubble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

1. The HSE
    2. The HSE
    3. The HSE
    4. The HSE
    5. The HSE
    6. The HSE
    7. The HSE
    8. The HSE
    9. The HSE
    10. The costs involved in the Tribunals

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

1. Fuelling the Property mania through the tax breaks for their builder mates and investors. A lot of our current competitive cost problems can be linked to this.

2. Also the Benchmarking fiasco has saddled us with enormous financial burdens in terms of paying Public Sector salaries.

3. Overreliance on FDI - not enough is being done to encourage indigenous industry (I'd blame the banks here as well for not backing businesses, particularly SMEs.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

1. 1977 Budget
    2. Failure to control Planning & Development in the last decade
    3. Excessive Tax cuts of the last decade
    4. Constitutional ban on Divorce
    5. Decentralisation
    6. Benchmarking
    7. HSE
    8. Failure to develop a decent Public Transport system
    9. Neutrality
    10. Selling Eircom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Charles Haughey
    51 Billion Euro worth of gas being handed to Shell
    The Lisbon Treaty
    Bev herself
    Ógra Fianna Fail (just why?)
    Tax breaks for their 'closest friends'
    Attempting to move into the north (watch)
    E-Voting
    'Stick to the kebabs' Lenihan
    Batty O' Keefe and fees
    Eircom
    Shannon Airport

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

1. 1977 Budget
    2. Failure to control Planning & Development in the last decade
    3. Excessive Tax cuts of the last decade
    4. Constitutional ban on Divorce
    5. Decentralisation
    6. Benchmarking
    7. HSE
    8. Failure to develop a decent Public Transport system
    9. Neutrality
    10. Selling Eircom

1. I will start off with the PDs even if they didn't exist.
    2. The PDs Fault
    3. The PDs Fault
    4. I blame the PDs :)
    5. The PDs Fault
    6. The PDs Fault
    7. The PDs Fault
    8. Neutrality; only good thing in this country, we can ****ing afford a health service, and people want an army. :mad:
    9. The PDs Fault.

I miss the PDs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Elmo wrote: »
    1. I will start off with the PDs even if they didn't exist.
    2. The PDs Fault
    3. The PDs Fault
    4. I blame the PDs :)
    5. The PDs Fault
    6. The PDs Fault
    7. The PDs Fault
    8. Neutrality; only good thing in this country, we can ****ing afford a health service, and people want an army. :mad:
    9. The PDs Fault.

Thank you.
    Your post just brought back fond memories of a stout middle-aged woman shouting at me on the doorstep, to defend the PDs policy of making Irish non-compulsory, and my assertion that that was actually FG's policy wasn't going to cut it, because a smart man like Richard Bruton would never allow it.:rolleyes::)
    I think the Progressive Democrats were the only party to have to defend themselves against the unpopular policies of other parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

A handy scapegoat for FF failures indeed - but a least the Greens can now fulfill the role :pac:

...but a least the Greens can now fulfill the role :pac:

They've taken up the role and ran away with it. Looks like they are not yet giving it back!
    At the next election though, it might/should be taken off them!

I think the Progressive Democrats were the only party to have to defend themselves against the unpopular policies of other parties.

The problem with the PDs is that the attached themselves too many unpopular and tried to make the unpopular popular.

The Neo-Liberal policies of the PDs, FG and FF have cause all of the problems we are currently suffering. However the PD try to hard to defend these unworkable policies which would ultimately lead to the failure of our systems.

These neo-liberal ideas have cause lack of Regulation across all sections of business, in particular the Banking Industry but it can also be seen in other important industries e.g. Communications.

Lowering of taxes is not an unpopular thing to do, but Mary Harney was happy to tell the Bertie documentry how McCreevy's Tax Cut could never have happened without PD intervention.

You will be glad to hear I don't like The PDs, FF and FG why because the are the same party.

The PD have to take alot of the blame for this economic downturn just as much as FF. The PD sat over FAS after saying that they would change the public service, but as we found out Mary Harney was happy to spend money willy-nilly while at the same time cutting important schemes in FAS.

Compulsory Irish isn't an election issue, it a very small issue. Tiny in comparision to many others.

Biggins wrote: »
    They've taken up the role and ran away with it. Looks like they are not yet giving it back!
    At the next election though, it might/should be taken off them!

The only people that should have their power taken away at the next election are FF and FG anyone who things FG will do anything different need to really look at FG policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭jackal

The only people that should have their power taken away at the next election are FF and FG anyone who things FG will do anything different need to really look at FG policies.

We are seeing the chickens coming home to roost now with the Dell closure. Life has become too expensive here, and a hell of a lot of it comes back to the overheated property market.

Even though the economic sky is falling in, those in power, those who have made themselves rich through the property and development game (i.e. the puppet-masters of FF) simply do not understand that the Celtic Tiger style economy of build, borrow and sell houses to mugs was bad for Ireland in the long term, made little difference to most - in that costs rose just as quickly as wages - and made a few people extremely rich. They have nothing. No ideas, they are just in a panic. Anybody new is good, whether thats F.G., a coalition or even Michael O L at this stage. F.G. are not beholden to the powers that be here in Ireland (the large property developers, banks, county councilors) who must have so much dirt on FF that they can do nothing without the approval of these people for fear they let the skeletons out of the closet. Look at the planning decisions and so on that have been approved and ask yourself, were they for the greater good, or did they just make a political supporter rich.

Look at the bailout of the banks, the bailout of the property developers (Home choice me bollix) and just look at the fact that an openly greedy self serving gombeen like Beverly Cooper Flynn was welcomed back into the fold and ask yourself are you going to see anything change here with this bunch still in power? They are too afraid of stepping on toes to change things as they need to be changed. A lot done, more to do indeed. Gob****e FF voters.

jackal wrote: »
    Even though the economic sky is falling in, those in power, those who have made themselves rich through the property and development game (i.e. the puppet-masters of FF) simply do not understand that the Celtic Tiger style economy of build, borrow and sell houses to mugs was bad for Ireland in the long term, made little difference to most - in that costs rose just as quickly as wages - and made a few people extremely rich. They have nothing. No ideas, they are just in a panic. Anybody new is good, whether thats F.G., a coalition or even Michael O L at this stage. F.G. are not beholden to the powers that be here in Ireland (the large property developers, banks, county councilors) who must have so much dirt on FF that they can do nothing without the approval of these people for fear they let the skeletons out of the closet. Look at the planning decisions and so on that have been approved and ask yourself, were they for the greater good, or did they just make a political supporter rich.

Problem is that FG do exactly what FF do, Micheal Lowery. FG voters cop on, your just voting the same people.

Or as I like to now call theM FF/FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Elmo wrote:
    Problem is that FG do exactly what FF do, Micheal Lowery. FG voters cop on
    To be fair, they did kick him out. Can't ask for much more.

1. The over-runs on roads in the last National Development Plan. Billions wasted.
    2. The HSE. Billions wasted.
    3. The last benchmarking joke. Billions wasted.
    4. Failure to reform CIÉ. That's why the M50 is a traffic jam.
    5. Failure to curtail spending during the boom to shore up reserves.
    6. Inappropriate investment in primary education.
    7. Pathetic attempts at reforming and improving universities.
    8. Reliance on old methods of electricity generation/distribution.
    9. Failure to tackle the true causes of criminality.
    10. (I'm leaving this one as a spare for later.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I think its time that a new party was formed. one that represents peoples interests and is not afraid of unions. one that will lead by example.Regulate prices. I also think that there should be a mandatory national service, where you required to lend your skills to the government for a year or two. i.e. If your a builder you build roads for the government If your a computer programmer you work on government systems. that way infrastructure can be built without corruption.

hobochris wrote: »
    Regulate prices.
    Price controls?

The economy is in trouble, and your genius idea is PRICE CONTROLS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭jackal

Problem is that FG do exactly what FF do, Micheal Lowery. FG voters cop on, your just voting the same people.

Or as I like to now call theM FF/FG.

Your attitude is very depressing - the old better the devil you know, sure didnt my father and his father vote FF all their lives - attitude... Who would you like to see lead the country? Do you think the present government and their policies over the past decade are the way forward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

PPP and tolling
    jack lynches budgets esp getting rid of rates
    decentralisation
    lenihan 'on mature recollection'
    MARTIN CULLEN
    the scandels and tribunals (haughey, pee flynn, lawlor etc)
    the banking housing and economic collapses in the last year.
    wasting the money of the celtic tiger e.g. luas not joining up
    brendan symth affair
    gubu

and no 11: Dev and his self sufficiency BS in the 30's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

The economy is in trouble, and your genius idea is PRICE CONTROLS?
    Surely they'd work?

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭akaredtop

The biggest screw-up that FF have made is to elect a "cowardly,beer swilling,ugly, fat pig as leader"

Surely they'd work?

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

/swallows tongue

akaredtop wrote: »
    The biggest screw-up that FF have made is to elect a "cowardly,beer swilling,ugly, fat pig as leader"
    What I'd like to know is how did he manage to avoid being recalled and destroyed during the recent pork crysis :p