Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feckin eejit!

• 09-01-2009 12:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭

does anyone else think this is madness??

I live in drumcondra on a busy road and yesterday I pulled up in the car outside my house. A few spaces away a woman pulled up and parked her car and in the back seat she had two children in car seats. Id say both were between the ages of one or two. So she gets out, leans into the back of the car, talks to the kids for a minute then puts the alarm on the car and walks off leaving the kids in the back! :eek: I sat there, mainly thinking what a gob sh!te she was for doing this, and twenty minutes later ( no joke ) she strolls back to the car with her dry cleaning and her meat from the butchers! Now before anyone calls me the eejit for sitting there watching, I was worried incase anything happened to the kids!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Shoulda kidnapped the kids.Thatll teach her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Some people shouldn't be allowed have kids!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

That is ridiculous.

Should have at least left the kids the keys of the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Yup she is an eejit. I freak out when I see people leave their dogs locked in the back of a car, never mind their children! :eek:

If they were that young she shouldn't have left them alone. What if one of them starting choking or something? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

This woman certainly deserves to die for her sins against mankind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Well maybe if you got a house instead of living on a busy road things like this wouldn't happen to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭White_Feather

m83 wrote: »
    Well maybe if you got a house instead of living on a busy road things like this wouldn't happen to you.

Id grab your coat if I were you! ;)

m83 wrote: »

Amazing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

No harm but if you were so concerned why didnt you do anything? I agree with you in that she was reckless leaving the children there. However posting on this site wont prevent her doing it again.

Are you sure it was a full 20 minutes or did it feel like 20 minutes? ( waiting for the inevitable posts on babies being left in cars outside petrol stations)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

ClioV6 wrote: »
    That is ridiculous.

Should have at least left the kids the keys of the car.

At least then Ireland may have made international news for having a two year old driving a car......yeah beat that yanks with your six year old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

You should have taken her rego and reported her to the authorities. Over here stupid people do the very same thing on hot summer days. The temperature in a car can get 30 or 40 degrees higher than the outside temp. Every year young kids are found dead in cars because of irresponsible sh!ts like this. I know the temperature is not a factor but that is besides the point. She basically abandoned her children and anything could've happened to them without adult supervision :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Everybody , relax.
    Snyper has other things on his mind.
    The kids were safe.

Pity , OP , you didn't think to video it with your phone , and then call the necessary number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

dSTAR wrote: »
    You should have taken her rego and reported her to the authorities. Over here stupid people do the very same thing on hot summer days. The temperature in a car can get 30 or 40 degrees higher than the outside temp. Every year young kids are found dead in cars because of irresponsible sh!ts like this. I know the temperature is not a factor but that is besides the point. She basically abandoned her children and anything could've happened to them without adult supervision :mad:

Bet they wouldn't have gotten eaten by a Dingo.

Pity , OP , you didn't think to video it with your phone , and then call the necessary number.

Why get the filth involved? This was between the OP and those babies tbh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Why get the filth involved? This was between the OP and those babies tbh!

She meant You've been framed...they pay money for non funny videos.

Does a the dingo ate my baby in my best Hollywood Aussie accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

And you need a licence to own a dog or a tv :rolleyes:

dSTAR wrote: »
    Does a the dingo ate my baby in my best Hollywood Aussie accent.

Are the people in your office looking at you in digust?

Well , like I said , snyper is off the radar.
    I'd shop her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Bryn wrote: »
    Some people shouldn't be allowed have kids!

yeah or pets!

Cant you go to jail for doing that to even your dog! ??

FFS!

axel rose wrote: »
    No harm but if you were so concerned why didnt you do anything? I agree with you in that she was reckless leaving the children there. However posting on this site wont prevent her doing it again.

Are you sure it was a full 20 minutes or did it feel like 20 minutes? ( waiting for the inevitable posts on babies being left in cars outside petrol stations)

Honestly, 20 minutes! from 1pm until 1.20pm! TBH, she was the kind of woman that I would not like to get on the wrong side of, so thats why I didnt say anything. The way things are today in Ireland, you just dunno who you are talking too!! If I had of went up to her, giving out, she probably would have told me ''politely'' to f off and more than likely deck me one.... Technicaly (sp?) I did do something. I sat there and watched that they were ok from what I could see!

Technicaly (sp?) I did do something. I sat there and watched that they were ok from what I could see!

Thats just not enough tbh.

You should have held those beautiful children close to your teets whiles delivering a series of roundhouse kicks to the mothers gooter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Honestly, 20 minutes! from 1pm until 1.20pm! TBH, she was the kind of woman that I would not like to get on the wrong side of, so thats why I didnt say anything. The way things are today in Ireland, you just dunno who you are talking too!! If I had of went up to her, giving out, she probably would have told me ''politely'' to f off and more than likely deck me one.... Technicaly (sp?) I did do something. I sat there and watched that they were ok from what I could see!

In fairness, ya did fúck all.

Are the people in your office looking at you in digust?

FFS I screwed that one up :o

For the record it should be ...

The dingo stole my baby

Eating babies just happens to be a little pastime of mine :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Biggins wrote: »

'There were other people on the ice too and there is a hospital over the road. We weren't told by anyone not to go on the ice.

Quote from the second article, This is from a grown ass man, about his son!!! Noone told them not to, so that makes it OK!!!

Jelly good save , there , dSTAR.

ClioV6 wrote: »

So if I hadnt of waited in my car watching them and the car went on fire or something! (dramatic but can happen!) who would have known two kids were inside apart from their dim mother and myself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

What did the woman do wrong exactly? Did she have her foglights on or something? :confused:

Jelly good save , there , dSTAR.
    If that quote had of come up in an Australian citizenship test sadly I would've failed and been booted out for being unAustralian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Crikey!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Actually had a similiar experience in a busy shopping centre. Mother and child arrive at a table. Mother tells child to keep the table as she gets the food. Food was on the other side of a massive food court, during a really busy time of the day.

Ended up sitting there waiting till the mother returned. Mother returned about 10-15 mins later. :eek: I was freaked the child was left alone for that length of time, so can't understand how the mother could do that.:confused:

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

When my brother and I were about 4 my dad locked my brother and I in the car and was suppose to just go to the chipper but ended up going for a pint...anyways 9 hours later my mother came and got us when she found my dad passed out on the couch. Now thats parenting!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,313 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I went go-karting up around Ashbourne a few years back with a few lads and on the way back we decided we'd go out in Navan for the night. I was going straight from work so brought a change of clothes in case i need them.

As it turned out I wasn't allowed in the pub with trainers and went back to get changed. I got into the back seat of the car and closed the doors but for some reason the internal ligth wouldn't go off. So i set the alarm, which knocked off the lights, and proceded to get stripped in the security that no one could see into the car. Just As i was near stripped in just me boxers the alarm went off and I couldn't find the keys. There I was on the main street in Navan, near naked in my car with the alarm screaming to attract loads of attention to myself. I was like that for about 3 minutes (felt lke an houe) before I found the keys.

I was getting weird looks from people all night and I was paranoid about who did and didn't see me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

biko wrote: »
    All wearing same type hat. Coincidence? I think not.

Yep, they seem to be looking for a disaster!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,313 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

I didn't read the headline but just looked at the picture and thought for a second that it was an article on several Jesus impersonators walking on water

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Daily Mail?

FAILpaper tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Unfortunately this happens too often. Last year my Mam went into the shops only to come out to a group of people standing around her car. When she got to it she found another car had rolled back into hers. How? Because some silly bint had left a 3 yr old in the car and he lifted the hand-break.

Next time you see something like this happen. Ring 11811, get the number for the local Garda station and report the cow/bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭axel rose

Yea 20 minutes is way too long, and for some reason I think locking the car makes the situation worse.

I can understand your reluctance to approach her- there are a lot of rough birds out there. Why didnt you phone the guards? This time the children were being supervised by you but the next time who knows what could happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭dolliemix

axel rose wrote: »
    Yea 20 minutes is way too long, and for some reason I think locking the car makes the situation worse.

I can understand your reluctance to approach her- there are a lot of rough birds out there. Why didnt you phone the guards? This time the children were being supervised by you but the next time who knows what could happen?

OP obviously didn't know at the time that she was going to be 20 minutes.

Tbh I'm not overly shocked by this.....maybe the mother could see the kids from the window of the butchers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Ig god forbid a truck had crashed into her car she would no doubt have being full of remorse and possibly facing a serious charge of neglect .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Josie_dub

Same kind of thing happened just before christmas outside a shopping centre in clondalkin, a mother left her toddler in the car while she went shopping, it was about -2 degrees out. A few people noticed and contacted security and the guards. Stations right beside the centre so they were straight over and located the mother inside.

When she came out she was so busy apologising to the guards that she had to be told to open the car and check on the toddler. This was all in the local newspaper and when they contacted the station about it they said it hadn't been brought to the attention of the guard in charge that night, so basically she got off scott free no formal warning or anything:eek:

Quote:
    Originally Posted by ClioV6 viewpost.gif

-Phuqer- wrote: »
    He did more than a lot of people would have done in fairness,especially the mother. At least he stayed there watching the kids for 20 minutes which is more than the mother of the kids did!

And what more could he do? Talk to the idiot? He'd probably just be told to fúck off and not tell her how to look after her kids.

Thanks Phuqer! Im a girl tho! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

does anyone else think this is madness??

I live in drumcondra on a busy road and yesterday I pulled up in the car outside my house. A few spaces away a woman pulled up and parked her car and in the back seat she had two children in car seats. Id say both were between the ages of one or two. So she gets out, leans into the back of the car, talks to the kids for a minute then puts the alarm on the car and walks off leaving the kids in the back! :eek: I sat there, mainly thinking what a gob sh!te she was for doing this, and twenty minutes later ( no joke ) she strolls back to the car with her dry cleaning and her meat from the butchers! Now before anyone calls me the eejit for sitting there watching, I was worried incase anything happened to the kids!!!

Over-react much?

Better 20 minutes in a secured vehicle, sitting, that trying to get toddlers to waddle across a busy road or have them running off when they were in the butchers or something.

God knows I was a little bastard when I learned to walk - get me into a shopping mall and bam, I'm just gone. Hide and Seek was the sh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Overheal wrote: »
    Over-react much?

Better 20 minutes in a secured vehicle, sitting, that trying to get toddlers to waddle across a busy road or have them running off when they were in the butchers or something.

God knows I was a little bastard when I learned to walk - get me into a shopping mall and bam, I'm just gone. Hide and Seek was the sh!t.

At that age, locking and alarming the car isnt enough.

All they need is 10 seconds to choke on something. At those ages, teething is still an issue, and they would chew anything.

She shoulda used the chloroform. That would give her plennnty of time. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 tiger325

yea if it was that long i would have called the police

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

I dont know if this been mentioned, but below is s story of a 3 month old that died of sunstoke after being left in a car, unlikely to happen in January though.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/baby-left-in-car-dies-of-sunstroke-1103153.html