Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 HOURS?

• 06-01-2009 4:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Just enough time to listen to Freebird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm pretty sure I didn't okay this.... Who's been going over my head???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

the dreaded "man-flu" is taking them all out :D

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Sure, ten minutes per pound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Anyone know any woodturning folk bands in the mid-west region that are looking for new members?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

This aint Star Trek folks, you don't say '3 hours is too long' then Scotty comes back and has it done in 2. It'll take as long as it will take.*

*Between the hours of 6 and 9pm is the one time I never surf boards so haha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Do you mean that between 6 and 7, when I'm in work with absolutely nothing to do boards will be down.

This is a outrage. I demand Terrys email address.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

You work one hour a day??

WTF do you do?

DeV.

Do you mean that between 6 and 7, when I'm in work with absolutely nothing to do boards will be down.

This is a outrage. I demand Terrys email address.

I understand your concerns, I used to work a job (part time) that was 5:30 - 9, something like this would inconvenience me greatly.

It's much better now, now I work 9am - 9am.

But, look at it this way, my dear netizen; you could use the free time for things other than woodturning and local folk band options I suggest.

Why, you could look up the technique on cooking a lemon meringue, or perhaps read about the history of Chinese feudal lords in the 12th century or perhaps fashion a hat out of an A4 sheet of paper.

You could also build a small moat in your garden and attack passers by with a small bow and arrow carved from the rose bush and assorted woody plants.

The possibilities are endless!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

When is boards going down? I'm on my mobile and can't see the announcement. :(

jmccrohan wrote: »
    When is boards going down? I'm on my mobile and can't see the announcement. :(
    from 6 till 9 ish........

I'd put notices into the mobile skin, but I guarantee it'd be a gigantic nuisance. Might start posting them in the Development forum if they're ones I'm making.

Anyway, it's from 6pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

CuLT wrote: »
    Why, you could look up the technique on cooking a lemon meringue, or perhaps read about the history of Chinese feudal lords in the 12th century or perhaps fashion a hat out of an A4 sheet of paper.
    HOW?! Food and Drink forum will be closed, as will History & Heritage forum and the origami forum. /cry

There is an origami forum right?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

minxie1 wrote: »
    from 6 till 9 ish........
    I'd put notices into the mobile skin, but I guarantee it'd be a gigantic nuisance. Might start posting them in the Development forum if they're ones I'm making.

Anyway, it's from 6pm.
    Thank you.

jmccrohan wrote: »
    Thank you.
    so what will you be doing instead???

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

yore ma?

Dades wrote: »
    yore ma?
    was waiting for that one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

DeVore wrote: »
    You work one hour a day??

WTF do you do?

DeV.

Gigolo. Just not a very good one. My only customer at the moment is Seamus. Kiss Kiss Seamus XXX.

Now there's something you don't hear everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I heard somewhere that there were other sites on the interweb other than Boards. When Boards goes down I think I might try and find one.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I heard somewhere that there were other sites on the interweb other than Boards. When Boards goes down I think I might try and find one.

Urban legend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

It's like a countdown at NASA .

4:59 , 35,36,37,38,39,40,41 .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

What the hell is Dowtime?

Is it contagious? Why does it last up to three hours? Can i avoid it if i wear a condom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

bollox. Now I have absolutely no excuse for not going to the gym:eek:

****ing new years resolutions :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Let's go mess up *************.

edit: Didn't know that website was on the filter list lol. It's that pesky .com one.

:rolleyes: ???

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Jaysus I didnt think it would take 3 hours to create the classic rock forum.
    Well fair play to ye anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Now I'll have to talk to the wife and kids.

Could someone PM me their names? Thanks. :o

I could tie some thread to all my neighbours doors ,sit back and watch all the fun .........possibilities are endless :cool:
    Hagar wrote: »

Think of the walton family , it will come to ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

kearnsr wrote: »
    Urban legend

Yep urban legend. See snopes.com if you don't believe me.
    Hagar wrote: »

:D <- smiley in lieu of thanks. I've run out.

HELP!!!!:eek:

I'm just going outside for a bit ....I should be about 3 hrs ....:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

And we're back! (possibly)

well, apparently that didn't last too long (being fixed).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

pro tip CuLT... never say it'll just take 3 hours!! :D

SteveC wrote: »
    pro tip CuLT... never say it'll just take 3 hours!! :D
    I actually thought it would take about an hour and a half. What a nightmare. In the office for 15 fecking hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭eVeNtInE

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I actually thought it would take about an hour and a half. What a nightmare. In the office for 15 fecking hours.

Well thanks for sticking at it and getting it back up and running for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Main thing is you got it back, well done. Bitter experience has taught me never to say 'it'll only take ten minutes' however easy a change it seems... especially when I've a flight home that day.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

mike65 wrote: »
    And we're back! (possibly)

Geez, CuLT really ****ed over the admins with the overtime. Clearly doesnt belive in recession!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Thanks CuLt!

You rock!

Sully wrote: »
    Geez, CuLT really ****ed over the admins with the overtime. Clearly doesnt belive in recession!
    Ah c'mon Sully, would you prefer if he fecked off at 5:30 and said he'll sort it tomorrow... credit where it's due and all. Nobody should have to work those hours just so people can post comments about their mothers.

eVeNtInE wrote: »
    Yeah, sorry..

I've been there though and know what it's like to get no thanks for it.

Apologies Sully if you were joking.:o

Ah c'mon Sully, would you prefer if he fecked off at 5:30 and said he'll sort it tomorrow... credit where it's due and all. Nobody should have to work those hours just so people can post comments about their mothers.
    Ah, I know he's joking :)

I don't get paid overtime anyway! Fixed monthly rental fee on CuLT, quite a bargain if I say so myself, even if I do fudge things up due to lack of experience once and a while.

Thanks for the words of encouragement, it means a lot to me stacked up against the abuse from other sources. Fragile ego, far too concerned with how everyone else perceives how well I'm doing my job. A lot of people watching.

Edit: oh and I'm one day over a kidney infection, high fever, and still have a chest infection, cracked lips and coldsores so yeah I'm feeling sorry for myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

In fairness there are a few idiots posters complaining about how awful it was to be without boards blah blah blah. CuLt had to actually fix the site, I'm sure it was sh1t for him. At least we had the option to do other things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I don't get paid overtime anyway! Fixed monthly rental fee on CuLT, quite a bargain if I say so myself, even if I do fudge things up due to lack of experience once and a while.

Thanks for the words of encouragement, it means a lot to me stacked up against the abuse from other sources. Fragile ego, far too concerned with how everyone else perceives how well I'm doing my job. A lot of people watching.

It's alright dude, we all love ya anyway ;)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Yeah, sorry..

I've been there though and know what it's like to get no thanks for it.

Apologies Sully if you were joking.:o

lol I was joking :) I gave CuLT my thanks and iv told him before I think hes doing excellent work and is a great employee of Boards.ie Ltd.

Good stuff. You know I think your what makes Boards tick anyway.

Edit: oh and I'm one day over a kidney infection, high fever, and still have a chest infection, cracked lips and coldsores so yeah I'm feeling sorry for myself :)

Ah **** the begrudgers, wingers and selfish gob****es who have nothing better to do then critesise others. Its a free service, a bloody hard service to keep running with a lot of the work on one mans shoulders and people who appreciate that are those with a bit of common decency. The rest are just idiots who should be told where to go anyway.

Good man CuLT. Not many would put in the amount of work and effort you do. Keep on rocking dude!