Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

whos owned the most cars?

• 06-01-2009 3:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭

who here has owned the most cars?(only cars no bikes vans or trucks)...anyone get to the tonne????? personally i'll start im 30 and am on my 5th car...who's next??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

30 as well and on my 6th..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

my bro is 29 and has had 8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I'm 20 and i've had 4.

Started in a 98 Ibiza,

Moved on to a 07 Citroen C1,

Then bought a 07 3dr focus which i wrote off,

Currently have a 04 focus.

had 97 punto
    95 golf gti
    98 laguna sport
    03 volvo s60 2.0t
    05 golf tdi
    soon to be 88 golf mk1 gti cab

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

26 since yesterday and on my 3rd (road going at least)

99 Fiesta
    04 Focus
    06 Leon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

Started driving when was 18
    1998-2002 1991 Rover 214
    2002-2004 1992 BMW 318is Coupe
    2004-2004 1998 Hyundai Coupe
    2004-2006 1997 BMW 316 Coupe
    2006-Present 1999 BMW 520

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

i'm 20 and still on me first car :
    00 golf tdi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

17 that I can count.

so thats 5 pablo

17 fair play anan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

so thats 5 pablo

Aye, same as yourself Chief.

Be interesting to see Junkyards count!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

I think Junkyard is going to win this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

25 & 2 Cars owned so far...I need an upgrade!!!

.95 Corsa
    .95 Primera

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

Do company cars counts? if they do I have had around 30 cars, otherwise
    I have owned 8 of my own on top of that, 35 only.....

ha ha no junk yard owners or car dealers ha ha common within reason..ye know yerself....

cars YOU have owned in yer own name......should have cleared all this up at the start hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I'll be driving a year next week, and i've had 5 (four in my name).

Two Golfs(99-00), Two Polo's (99-00) and a Renault Scenic(which wasn't in my name:D):o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

been driving since I am 17 - but have owned cars since I was 15 - I think I am on number 34 or 35 (since september) - and thinking about 35 or 36 as we speak

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Renault Scenic(which wasn't in my name:D):o

saved by the brackets...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

EPM wrote: »
    saved by the brackets...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I was talking to a mate the other day about this very thing, ive had 26 cars, and ill be 26 next month! That said, most of em were pieces of crap, best ones out of that were an 05 Golf TDI, A 97 Impreza 2.0turbo, a V6 mazda Mx3 and a 3.0 300zx, the rest were toyota carinas, corollas, puntos, 323f's etc etc.

RobAMerc wrote: »
    been driving since I am 17 - but have owned cars since I was 15 - I think I am on number 34 or 35 (since september) - and thinking about 35 or 36 as we speak
    That's a lot of cars.:)

we,re startin to move up the numbers nicely..remember named driver on a policy doesnt count...YOU HAVE TO OWN THEM...

JAYSUS FEAR THAT A FAIR FEW FOR YOUR AGE EVEN IF MOST WERE BALLS OF S**T

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's a lot of cars.:)

Yea - and I am happy to say I have had some real classics in there too - Mini, Fuliva, R5 GT Turbo, Clio 16v, 106 xsi and Gti, MX5, Fiesta XR2 ( for a week or so couldn't insure it ).

had one car less than 24hrs (but my name was on the log book )- in fairness a bargain is only a bargin if your wife will be seen in it :D

they all count rob even if only for 24 hrs

Yea - and I am happy to say I have had some real classics in there too - Mini, Fuliva, R5 GT Turbo, Clio 16v, 106 xsi and Gti, MX5, Fiesta XR2 ( for a week or so couldn't insure it ).
    We have very similar tastes.:)

Anan1 wrote: »
    We have very similar tastes.:)

Yep - and I would have your 911 too if I could talk the bank into it .

Be patient, it's getting cheaper all the time.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

I'm 27

00 Golf 3 door 1.4 litre
    02 Subaru Impreza WRX
    05 BMW 320D SE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,335 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Turning 28 (tomorrow) and have had 5 cars over the past 5 years driving

1984~Austin Mini (sold after a lot of work done to it!)
    1989 Austin Mini - Coop wanna be(sold)
    1998 Rover Mini Coop with John Coop 'S' Works upgrade(still have)
    1998 VW Passat (sold just after I got my full licence! I was a bit lazy on that one)
    2000 BMW 523 (current everyday driver)

already thinking of my 6th :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 AAARON

20 and had 6 cars on 7th

99 micra
    00 astra
    92 lancer
    00 corsa
    98 corsa
    97 fiesta
    now have 03 vectra

looking back now thats alot in 2 years lol:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

I'm 25 and i've had but only got my first car when i was 21:
    -95 golf 1.4 (1st car)
    -99 golf Gti
    -99 Vectra 1.6 (had it for 2 weeks, hated it)
    -94 Bmw 320i Coupe, (trying to sell it)
    -03 Alfa 156 (daily driver) 115k and still going like a train
    -05 Focus
    -05 Almera 3dr sport (actually liked that car)
    -94 Mx-5 1.6 (great yoke, gonna get another)
    -99 Bmw 523i AT. Lovely car, Alcoholic though.

So, thats 9 cars in 4 years. including company cars its 3 times that.

Not bad going. Best of the company cars was a 07 Mx-5 RC, worst was a 2004 Ssangyong Rexton Auto!!!!!

mx-5 company car?????????? but they dont count anyway...good going though for the time period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

mx-5 company car?????????? but they dont count anyway...good going though for the time period

Well. it was a mazda garage but not complaining.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

25 and ive had
    1)vw golf
    2)pug 205
    3)bmw e30 320
    4)bmw e30 325
    5)pug 205 van again
    6)celica st105
    7)megan van
    8)opel vectra
    9)passat 1.6
    10)passat 1.9 tdi 90bhp
    11)bmw e30 318is
    12) toyota avensis
    13)passat tdi 130bhp
    14)skyline gtst r32
    15)nissan navara
    16)bmw e30 320se
    17)bmw e30 318is
    18)passat 1.6
    19) kp61
    20) vw corrado 16v( my favourite car regret selling it)

i THINK thats it...ive prob forgotten some

hmmmm are we counting megaVANS and pug VANS???????? maybe we will as they are CAR vans..cant count a commercial navarro though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Im 20 with no cars, what makes it worse is im a mechanic that can't drive:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭Kersh

Im 32, and here is the list, Im driving since 1997.

1986 Suzuki swift 1.0
    1989 Fiat Tipo 1.6
    1989 Toyota celica 2.0
    1991 Mitsubishi GTO 3.0
    1991 Nissan 300zxTT 3.0
    1990 Nissan 300zxTT 3.0 - Still have it :)
    1992 Honda Prelude 2.2
    1979 Porsche 911 SC 3.0
    2002 Mitsubishi L200 2.5
    1976 Ferrari 308GTB 3.0 - Still have it :)
    1997 Jaguar XK8 4.0 - Still have it :)
    2007 Nissan Pathfinder 2.5 - Still have it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

20, have had...
    1998 Hyundai Accent - 1year
    2000 VW Passat 1.6 - 1 year 6 months
    1999 BMW 323ci - 4 days... Long story.
    1998 Saab 93 Convertible 2.0iS - ~7 months.
    Selling the above to hopefully move onto another 323/325ci.

jesus kersh ...cost you much on petrol over the years? what a tipo doing in there?

:D.. it just kind of ... appeared one day :pac:

At the moment its 12.5 litres, 23 cylinders and 3 turbos...:D

i presume it disappeared as quick ha ha

6 months... the first 3 all within 14 months,

Then the serious car buying started,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

31 and 6 cars

Mits Colt
    Hyundai Coupe
    BMW e46 318
    Nissan 350Z
    BMW e60 520d
    BMW e60 535d

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

im on number 7 since April 2006
    all sold on :)

90 Toyota Starlet
    94 Toyota Starlet
    91 Toyota Starlet
    96 PUG 306
    98 Nissan Primera
    96 BMW 318
    97 BMW 316

so that works out that iv owned each one on average for 145 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭here.from.day.1

22 and 1 Volvo S40 which gets the job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mumblin deaf ro

32, driving a year and a half and have had two cars - 00 Punto and 06 Focus.

Can I ask those of you that have had huge nos of cars, how do you do it? Do you buy a car for €500, drive for a couple of months and then get shut of it and buy something else or what?

no one hit the 30 yet ?