Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

first dumbass wicklow 200 question of the year

• 05-01-2009 8:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭

Hi, I've paid my money for this now.
    Question is, would I have any chance of doing this (the 100 more realistically ) on a single speed? And how much derision would I receive when pushing the bike up the steeper hills?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

souter wrote: »
    Question is, would I have any chance of doing this (the 100 more realistically ) on a single speed? And how much derision would I receive when pushing the bike up the steeper hills?

100 would be fine (and very achievable) on a single speed. The 200 would be more of a challenge... you might get more amazement than derision if you manned up and gave the full monty a go on a SS (or even a fixie!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I may be doing the 100, in which case it will be on the fixie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

A guy did the W200 on a single speed in 2008. I shook his hand afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Question is, would I have any chance of doing this (the 100 more realistically ) on a single speed?

yes, very doable. with a bit of training obviously. the 100 route avoids the long climbs, right? last year i saw the 200 completed by a fella on a langster (in his 50s i'd say, but a strong man no doubt) and on an oul butcher's bike by 2 guys (from sorrento? bray?) doing it for charity.
    And how much derision would I receive when pushing the bike up the steeper hills?

none. :)

the camaraderie evident on the day is pretty impressive to be honest - it's some sort of solidarity-in-communal-idiocy effect. there'll be all sorts of folks doing it on all kinds of bikes - especially on the 100 route. besides, there were plenty of people pushing their fully geared bikes up slieve mahon anyway.

so, who around here do we think could be dared into tackling the 200 on a fixie? volunteers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

niceonetom wrote: »
    so, who around here do we think could be dared into tackling the 200 on a fixie? volunteers?

I would like to put forward Raam and Blorg ... :D No wait ... Raam doesnt ride a fixie ...

That's cos niceonetom won't lend me his tool to replace me busted cog!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Raam wrote: »

eerrrrrr ... i lend you mine, but i can only bring it in 13 days.

What tool ya need -I've most ones here!

One for removing a track cog from my fixed wheel and putting a new one on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 columk

Tool might not work, I couldn't get mine off, had to bring the wheel to my lbs and they clamped the cog in a vice and 2 of them tried to turn the wheel but couldn't, eventually they put a chisel against one of the teeth and hit it with a hammer. Did the trick!

I have the right stuff to do that, so if you want to drop up here we can give it a shot on Wed or something?

what the? i remember something about you asking what tool to buy... if that was a cunning ruse to get me to give you mine it went clear over my head :P.

if lack of proper equipment is your wafffer thin excuse for riding around idiot fashion single speed (sorry) you could use the rotafix method? do you have a lock ring tool? someone around here recommending using a screwdriver and hammer as an alternative... or fingers and head. whatever.

columk wrote: »
    Tool might not work, I couldn't get mine off, had to bring the wheel to my lbs and they clamped the cog in a vice and 2 of them tried to turn the wheel but couldn't, eventually they put a chisel against one of the teeth and hit it with a hammer. Did the trick!

your threads. grease them. always.

niceonetom wrote: »
    what the? i remember something about you asking what tool to buy... if that was a cunning ruse to get me to give you mine it went clear over my head :P.

if lack of proper equipment is your wafffer thin excuse for riding around idiot fashion single speed (sorry) you could use the rotafix method? do you have a lock ring tool? someone around here recommending using a screwdriver and hammer as an alternative... or fingers and head. whatever.

Unless it's a lockring tool he needs too :)

Actually, I don't have one of those yet -need to get one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

If you could point the tool out of a line-up here i may be able to help.

I haven't got to use my new tools yet, despite taking them to the tv and the dog, neither of which appeared to be suffering from any mechanical distress.

I've no idea what I need... my head examined... possibly.
    Tiny, can I take you up on that offer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

OP- you could do the 200 on a SS, maybe even a fixie, but I reckon you would have to be in the position where doing it on a geared bike would be easy for you. I did a 115km loop including the Wicklow Gap and some other pretty nasty hills on my fixie a few months back and it took a LOT more out of me than the same loop on a geared bike. SS would certainly be easier as the descents are tough on the fixie.

I've no idea what I need... my head examined... possibly.
    Tiny, can I take you up on that offer?

Yup... call up this evening or tomorrow, and we'll sort you out (either with a hammer or the proper tools!)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

blorg wrote: »
    OP- you could do the 200 on a SS, maybe even a fixie, but I reckon you would have to be in the position where doing it on a geared bike would be easy for you.

I think this is the key point to take away here.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I remember some guy did the 200 on a Penny Farthing (it was about 1995/96), he walked up a few hills though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭souter

OP- you could do the 200 on a SS, maybe even a fixie, but I reckon you would have to be in the position where doing it on a geared bike would be easy for you. I did a 115km loop including the Wicklow Gap and some other pretty nasty hills on my fixie a few months back and it took a LOT more out of me than the same loop on a geared bike. SS would certainly be easier as the descents are tough on the fixie.

Whoah dude, I just saw your annual mileage - we are in somewhat different leagues!

I should add my qualifications, or lack thereof: No prior distance cycling bar a one off up to Blessington and back last year. Little opportunity (or more correctly, motivation) to put in much in the way of training.
    I do 5 miles each way on my commute (stop sniggering at the back), and I love my fixie so I'm reluctant to get a geared bike and *gasp* do some training on it just for this.

I'll take a spin up Howth to see how far I get with my 48/18 SS. And yes, fixing for any distance is not an option for me - I can't spin worth a damn.

Single speed should be fine really -I did some training for the W200 on one last year, and the 100 route will be grand on it I'd say

@souter- if you are just beginning I would tend to think you would be better off not trying the Wicklow 200 on a singlespeed. The 100 might be doable. The 200 certainly on a geared bike. If you do decide to do it you will need to start trying to cycle it up the hills in Wicklow and doing long distances; Howth is too short really to give you a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Greyspoke

Hi all! - 'twas I that did the W200 on a single speed last year (though there may well have been others). I took it fairly handy and survived the experience better than I had expected. The general challenge had been just to see if I could do it but more specifically, could I get up all the hills without stopping which I managed on stock Langster gearing of 42-16 (70in)
    I think whether you try the 1 or 200 on a single geared bike, you have to enjoy grinding up hills out of the saddle in a relatively high gear. Other than that it's not too much of a problem other than the fact that your overall speed will be compromised by being under- geared a lot of the time.
    Now I'm beginning to consider the possibility of doing it fixed and was wonderiong if anyone else out there was up for the challenge? It is true that the long downhills will be hard - I came down from the Sally Gap the other day past Lough Tay and whatever about my legs, my arms nearly siezed up!
    So, anyone else??

hey there Greyspoke, and welcome to the forum :) .

we passed each other on the road a couple of times during the w200, and i asked you what gearing you were on (i had a langster too but haven't the cojones to tackle wicklow on it - compact double please). i think there were many whispered words of awe about "yer man on the single speed" at the rest stops, and particularly at the top of slieve mann.

there's zero chance of me tackling the w200 fixed (or single for that matter), but there are mad men around here who could be goaded into it i'm sure...

//pokes blorg in ribs and narrows eyes meaningfully.

Thanks niceonetom.
    To refer back to Souter's original question, if you can manage 100kms on a normal road bike then the W100 on a single speed shouldn't pose much of a problem as there are no really serious hills on the route. It would be a good idea to consider and experiment with your gearing to find the best compromise between struggling on the uphills and spinning out on the flats. Nobody likes having to stop and walk on the hills so go for the biggest gear that you can get up the hills on and then just accept that your legs will be spinning like mad things for a lot of the remainder but so what - it's all good training!
    Good luck!

Have to agree the 200 on SS would be beyond my capability. I've done nearly 100km on the SS, albeit with a several hour lunch break, so I'm reasonably confident I could manage the 100.
    Almost tempted to get a geared bike to give the 200 a go - maybe next year (200km greater kudos than 100+SS to non-cyclists).
    With 2 small kids my training opportunities are limitted so I'll start by gearing down from 84" to 72" on my commute. Maybe alternate each week.
    Fair play to Greyspoke indeed.

To be honest I think the 200 on a geared bike would be tougher than the 100 on a SS, besides being double the distance there is a hell of a lot more climbing in it. Good luck whichever you chose!

If that's the case I'll definitely go for the 100 SS option.

Tougher also = more worthwhile :D

OP, if it's any help to you, i was in your position this time last year. i'd signed up for the main event, i had only my beloved fixie, and i had no idea what was achievable.

i bought my first road bike (last march), started going out on the saturday boards spins and have never looked back (metaphorically speaking that is - always look over you shoulder before changing lanes). i did the w200 at a pace that would have amazed me when i started in wicklow and loved every minute of it (retrospectively - that's "worthwhile suffering" works). sitting in UCD in a puddle of my own sweat was very very satisfying. climbing the galibier a few months later was transformative.

buy a road bike, they've never been cheaper (i love my fixie as much as any hipster douche does, but it's horses for courses really). step up to the challenge, you might amaze yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ryder

With regard to your challenge Greyspoke, foolishly think that i am up for it on my fixed. Plan on doing 100ish k sat morning in wicklow to 'educate myself'.

Good man Ryder! I would expect that anyone else daft enough to consider trying this will be better prepared than me - living out in Co Kildare means most of my spins are very flat (I did used to live in the hills though).
    I'd be interested to hear how you get on on Saturday if you go out - what hills you took in and what gear you were using. Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

I'm doing the W200 on my fixie i've decided.
    i have a roadie too but that seems to easy.
    now to do some test rides 46:16 should be fine.......

Yes, I fully appreciate that.
    My hidden agenda is to announce I'll do the 100, then find myself full of beans at the split and go for the 200. Then grind to a halt at the first serious climb.
    I'm suppressing the urge to get a road bike because I have no plans to take up cycling soon (2 boys < 5 years = not a whole lot of free time), I'd hate to have it gathering dust in the shed as I imagine the bottom will fall out of teh 2nd hand market with the tax scheme.
    Still, not having tried gears since my 18yr old tourer (shifters on the down tube) and before that my 5 speed, the current tech + tax scheme does give me occasional pangs.
    I'll keep an open mind on it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭Gavin

Yes, I fully appreciate that.
    My hidden agenda is to announce I'll do the 100, then find myself full of beans at the split and go for the 200. Then grind to a halt at the first serious climb.
    I'm suppressing the urge to get a road bike because I have no plans to take up cycling soon (2 boys < 5 years = not a whole lot of free time), I'd hate to have it gathering dust in the shed as I imagine the bottom will fall out of teh 2nd hand market with the tax scheme.
    Still, not having tried gears since my 18yr old tourer (shifters on the down tube) and before that my 5 speed, the current tech + tax scheme does give me occasional pangs.
    I'll keep an open mind on it anyway.

You should really get in a 100km spin soon, just to see how you get on with it. I was of the same opinion as you that cycling the 200 on a singlespeed would be grand, then I went for a short spin through wicklow. It was not easy. The much longer distance also tends to prey on your mind, encouraging you to give up. Having the option to drop into an easier gear and just pedal away makes things easier, mentally anyway, for me.

Also note that it's not so much the climbs that'll kill you on the fixie, it's the descents (and to a certain extent the flats).

On the W200, you tend to start in with a bunch of riders, and end up in groups for a lot of the flat sections, and drafting saves you a lot of energy, and you're coasting along at 35 - 40kph with little effort. On a fixie, you don't have this break, as you have to pedal, and to keep up with a group at that speed, have to pedal fast.

Similar on the descents, you'll go slower as you're spinning out quicker, and basically have to tiptoe down the hills. All this greatly raises the effort required.

Head out on a 100k loop, and include the Sally Gap and see how you feel -I think that's the best way to decide :)

As someone who has a road bike sitting on a turbo and planning to get a new bike for the shed i think youre right to be cautious about getting a new bike. Wouldnt worry about the drafting issue so much but i think the downhill is the real problem. Its mentally very difficuly to go downhill because of the pedal issue. Other than that should be fun

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Have you people all got bionic knees?

I'll buy a pint for anyone who does the W200 on a fixie. It won't stop me from thinking that you're nuts though.

el tonto wrote: »

I'll buy a pint for anyone who does the W200 on a fixie. It won't stop me from thinking that you're nuts though.

I came to work on mine this morning. What do I get for that?

A pat on the back.

Is it still noise free?

There's some kind of rattle over uneven terrain, but the original noise is gone.
    I'm happy with it.

There's some kind of rattle over uneven terrain, but the original noise is gone.
    I'm happy with it.

Good stuff.... glad it's ok

el tonto wrote: »

hmmm other than quoting you how do i quote you?

Weather and wiggle permitting will be going for a fw spin on sat in wicklow. Think it would be a bit slow for the regular sat spin but anyone else wanting to have a go is welcome

i cycled from knocklyon up past the equestrian center, up past hellfire and kilakee and then onto sallygap and then back again on my fixie without stopping/putting my foot down so i reckon the wicklow 200 is well in sight, took a bit over an hour up,

That's pretty good going. Plenty of climbing on that route.

Did the sally gap today. Fine apart from the weather. The only difficuly part is the downhills

What gearing out of interest? I'm 46-17 (73") which I reckon works well. Have to pick something that lets you get up without killing you on the way down. Was discussing the W200 with Neil on our Wicklow Gap spin yesterday, looks like there might be more than one maniac willing to take it on with a fixie.