Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

under-age drinking!

• 01-01-2009 9:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ecdl07

Did you do it?
    Tagged:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I refuse to answer that question under the grounds that it might indict me now or at a later stage.
    Won't look good on my record as I run for presidency of a mini-state of a Federation of Europe in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

sure did!!

now i'm a responible adult alcoholic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Yes.

Did i get wasted and terrorise the community? No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ash h

In all fairness who didn't...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Yes.
    ..twice.

fúcking rebel out and out I was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Yes. Only in my late teens.

Apparently it is legal to underage drink if your over 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Why yes, yes i did!!:D:D:D:pac:

i used to get into jets at 15..must be legal at 15 too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Yep, Smithwicks and whiskey were the first drinks I ever had. As disgusting then as they are now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Biggins wrote: »
    I refuse to answer that question under the grounds that it might indite me now or at a later stage.
    Won't look good on my record as I run for presidency of a mini-state of a Federation of Europe in the future.
    <spelling nazi>indict</spelling nazi>:p

Of course.

It's not cool to not drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Yes, started when i was 15 or so.

Liver damage, here i come.

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Nope, was 18 and 2 weeks when I had my first beer and didn't have another beer until I was 20.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

dsmythy wrote: »
    Yes.

What's this, ask yourself a question day?

Are you starting with the man in the mirror?

Is Swords really a community?

Detective Zee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

You drank underage and bought it yourself

Nowadays one drinks underage and someone overage buys it for them !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Yes.

What he said!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 glasgowghirl

Yes, I was 15. You never got hangovers at that age, it was great. The difficult part was trying to appear sober when you got home. God knows how my mum and dad never clocked that I was steaming every weekend and probably reeking of cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,181 ✭✭✭DenMan

To quote from Hot Fuzz "I might have been a month or two south of proper"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Yes, I was 15. You never got hangovers at that age, it was great. The difficult part was trying to appear sober when you got home. God knows how my mum and dad never clocked that I was steaming every weekend and probably reeking of cider.

They knew. Parents always know. They did it themselves sure.

FunkZ wrote: »
    What's this, ask yourself a question day?

Are you starting with the man in the mirror?

Is Swords really a community?

Detective Zee.

Just letting younguns see the difference between scumbag underage drinking and regular underage drinking.

I started on the guy in the mirror last night and punched him. Woke up this morning with cuts on my hand and a black eye...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

I did it and parents gave me the drink, as long as we did it in the house so they could keep half an eye on us.

I started on the guy in the mirror last night and punched him. Woke up this morning with cuts on my hand and a black eye...

Did you win?

By the sounds of it, the other guy was smashed to pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

That's a reflection on today's underage drinkers.

I drank when I was underage, to this day the smell of cider sickens me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Nope, was never interested in drinking. Wasn't a huge drinker until this year. Still only once a week or so. Just a choice I suppose.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

jimbo78 wrote: »
    Apparently it is legal to underage drink if your over 16.
    There used to be some strange rules about being able to have a drink at 15(?) if you were getting a meal and with the parent/ guardian. Not sure if those laws still exist or not though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dob74

Yes, started at about 15. If you want to be cool I would suggest drinking son. Dont drink on an empty stomach and dont drink too fast.

robinph wrote: »
    There used to be some strange rules about being able to have a drink at 15(?) if you were getting a meal and with the parent/ guardian. Not sure if those laws still exist or not though.

is that not in places like france?

Dob74 wrote: »
    Yes, started at about 15. If you want to be cool I would suggest drinking son. Dont drink on an empty stomach and dont drink too fast.

you can be cool with out having a drink.. peer preasure is bad enough without adults encouring it too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

robinph wrote: »

There's no legal drinking age in Ireland as such, AFAIK.

People can drink in a private residence at any age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

i went through an underage drinking phase when i was 14/15 at house parties an stuff...
    got outta it then and didnt drink at all til i turned 18 after it.
    no idea why!
    i loved them days when i didnt get sight nor sound of hangover no matter what i drank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Nope.

Was 18 when had my first drink. Then again when I was 19, now I'm drunkish at the moment >.<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

abi2007 wrote: »
    you can be cool with out having a drink.. peer preasure is bad enough without adults encouring it too

if you're actually talking about 'being cool' then it's already apparent you're not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

Had my 1st drink at 15, went to nightclubs when I was 16 , was fed up drinking by the time i was legal. Im 25 now & get ID requests cause im told i only look about 17......so how the hellarooney did i get served back then?:P

ClioV6 wrote: »
    if you're actually talking about 'being cool' then it's already apparent you're not.

oh **** maybe i'm not!! I still don't agree with telling kids they should drink to be cool.. thats a very immature attitude.. thats so not cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Yup :D started at 15 now 17 and get into clubs and pubs all the time, amount of money spent this xmas on drink was unreal :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I won't be 18 until the end of August.

I don't drink now, never have. I don't plan to start either.

Everybody thinks I'm weird.

A space after every sentence is cool.

Isn't it?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

Started about 15 i'd say, weekly since 17

so that'd be 2 weeks then, nah 5 years, i actually started to seriously worry about my health this year. There was a three year stint there where it was lke average 3-4 times a week and one of those times would be bleeding nose drunk.I figure to be on a par with everyone else, I'll just have to quit for good at 25.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

Davidius wrote: »
    I won't be 18 until the end of August.

I don't drink now, never have. I don't plan to start either.

Everybody thinks I'm weird.

reading it reminds me of those anti-drink driving adverts except your dad has to come in at the end and say,''David never had a drink and he's still eighteen''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

ecdl07 wrote: »
    Did you do it?

For a few years, but I eventually grew out of it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Yup, certainly did. Never really got asked for ID, as I looked older than all my friends. Im 27 now. Get asked for ID, then laughed at for being old. Weird logic! Dont really drink much, and as of today, may not again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yes I did, and it was more fun than drinking after 18 has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Yep, started when I was 16 and went drinking every Saturday until I turned 18

strongr wrote: »
    Yup :D started at 15 now 17 and get into clubs and pubs all the time, amount of money spent this xmas on drink was unreal :(

That's funny. I'm 24 and often can't get into a pub without ID.

I was asked by someone behind the bar for ID when i ordered once. He himself looked barely above 18 so i told him if he showed me his i'd show him mine. That statement didn't go down too well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

joined fca at 15 got served in the mess in barracks, so guilty 3 times

first for forging birth cert

second for joining fca (but it was great craic)

third for taking advantage of loophole

no regrets :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

strongr wrote: »

You're just too cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

I tried alcohol for the first time when I was 12 or 13 when I would pour myself a glass of my parents Irish Velvet. I wasn't even aware it was alcohol. All I know it tasted yummy. It wasn't long after that I started to actually purchase my own grog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I started when I was 16 in 5th year. I was one of the last out of my friends to start drinking so I was fairly happy with myself, and I took it easy at the start.

I feel comfortable admitting it on a popular internet forum because Obama told the world that he inhaled frequently. We're alike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

started drinking on a regular basis around 15. i'm 24 now and still get asked for ID occasionally. afaik it's not illegal for children to drink alcohol, it's illegal for them to buy it. never did any drugs as a youngster, thought they were "wrong". drinking was good craic, bit of socialising. didn't do much "knacker drinking" aka drinking on a field of whatever. like a previous poster, as of today I'm off the drink for as long as possible. too expensive and unhealthy to get drunk on a regular basis. can't drink in moderation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

started drinking on a regular basis around 15. i'm 24 now and still get asked for ID occasionally. afaik it's not illegal for children to drink alcohol, it's illegal for them to buy it.

Yeah it's illegal for them to buy it and it's illegal to buy alcohol for a minor, and it's illegal for a minor to be in possession of alcohol in public and it's illegal for anyone to be drunk in public.

So basically the only time they can legally drink is if they stumble upon alcohol in their own house that no one claims ownership of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 tiger325

Like most teens yes I did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Yep beer and whiskey down the back of the cinema when I was 15. Needed it to get through The Talented Mr. Ripley.

First proper fully gee-eyed experience didn't come til I was 17 down in Wexford. Sambuca still makes my stomach turn.