Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Working New Year Eve....

• 31-12-2008 9:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭

So who else is stuck in work today?
    I've been here since about 07:50.

Edit:

Feck typo in the title, think I need more coffee.... Can a mod fix it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

New Years eve sucks anyway!

Hate new years, more overrated night of the year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭HALLOW RUBY

In work since 8am, getting out for 4pm hopefully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I'm going shopping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭zesman

Here since 9 am. A full day ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

It's 6.27pm here and I still have no plans for midnight. It's just a regular Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Working here aswell...ah well sure what can ya do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

In for about 8am and fecking off at 1pm. Boss is out today :d

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭the drifter

wtf.....its new years eve?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭apoch632

In today. And its my last day too. ****ed if I'm doing anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

I would so love to be rolling out bed right now, checking the forums, couple of other things. maybe stumble up and grab some brekkie, straight back into bed under the covers.

that *would* be the life. ahh :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

In today, doin sweet f all though, trying to get friday off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 rashersangitch

In since 7:30.... Here Till 5pm...
    Absolutely determined to do nothing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Me as well. However, usually we get let out early so hopefully I'll be heading home around 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭spoon

I'm here doing a regular working day. It's treated like a regular working day here. They treated Christmas eve like a regular working day too. Someone needs to explain to my bosses how the holiday period is supposed to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Been in since 8 this morning, have only received one call though ! Thank f*ck for no call queue !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Working today from 2 till 12 tonight :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

In work from 9:30am to 6pm - yay retail. I wouldn't mind but I don't even work in a shop ---> grrrrrr.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

spoon wrote: »
    I'm here doing a regular working day. It's treated like a regular working day here. They treated Christmas eve like a regular working day too. Someone needs to explain to my bosses how the holiday period is supposed to work.

That's a bit unfair alright. It may cost in terms of output but sometimes I reckon companies lose sight of the fact that it's nice to be nice and it does wonders for staff morale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 rashersangitch

Can anyone think of something I could be doing that will kill time until 5pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Working till about 10pm.

Everyone would be half cut by the time i got there tonight. I'm not going to bother.

Will instead find ways to torture my semi drunken staff in the morning (start the year as you mean to continue it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

^^ Read boards

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I'm in today and Friday, not wasting taking holidays on days like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 RHD

Working since 7.30am ........sigh !!

hope to finish about 3 tho

Happy New Year everyone:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭CtrlSource

Am working but hoping to leave around 16:30.

Why do a lot of people think NYE's is overrated? i usually have great craic, except for the one time i spent it on my own! The anticlimax for me is NYD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭shaner

In work today and Friday also but thankfully finish at 2pm today.

Working 9 - 6pm on a Friday wrecks my head compared to 9 - 4.15 in the old job...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Been in since ten and I'm off at four so not too bad.

Won't be doing anything tonight anyway.

Not a big fan of new years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

Install Ark Linuxor Gentoo ...
    Can anyone think of something I could be doing that will kill time until 5pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

i dont think its overrated-i always have great craic new years too!
    am in work today 9-5-dont see why anybody would care bout getting it off its no fun til 8 or so anyway!
    in 10-5 tommorow.. not so much looking forward to that one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭shaner

Azureus wrote: »
    dont see why anybody would care bout getting it off its no fun til 8 or so anyway!

don't mind so much working today as opposed to any other particular day. it's the amount of time worked and not being able to take any days off that bothers me. then again, I did just have last week off so I shouldn't be complaining...

^^-yeah ok hours suck but hey, ya get paid! ;)
    the only days we get off are xmas eve,xmas dat and stephens day..
    eugh!
    that said double time tomorrow so who am i to complain!!
    happy new year everybody!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Not working, well not working for money today anyway. Wish I was though... :( Well at least I can get pissed as a fart tonight and not worry about working tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭deaddonkey

late shift tonight, early shift tomorrow.

loada bollocks :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

Lads its just another day for gods sake!

I hate new years eve....its way to hyped up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

worked enough new years eve in a nightclub so no more :)

think il go do some shopping if i can get off the couch from this greys anatomy marathon and get out of my pj's..... god its a tough life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Lads its just another day for gods sake!

I hate new years eve....its way to hyped up!
    Or......maybe youre way too hyped down.......whatever that means:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

*Raises hand*

Gonna bail now though.....boss has just legged it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

My exams start 8th Jan. My college is the grinch that stole christmas :(

So im studying tonight, also christmas day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Bob N Along

Been here since 7am this morning - getting really bored at this stage as theres no work to do today. Anyway finish at 4 then off for rest of week - 2 more hours .....:cool:

sillymoo wrote: »
    My exams start 8th Jan. My college is the grinch that stole christmas :(

So im studying tonight, also christmas day.

now thats dedication for ya !
    surely you could take one night off ?!

i wish i had your motivation!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

in since 8 going at 3 nobody into break things :pac:

Just recheck the FileServer and there is crap all files open, most of the feckers are on Bebo/Facefriend.

Think I'll just update there entries in the DNS and see if I can head to the pub soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Working as well... Finished at 5:pac:

Still, at least I have tomorrow off. I've worked 3-11 on NYE and NYD for the 3 years before this one, so can't wait to cut loose later without the worry of trying not to get hospitalised before work tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭sillymoo

Azureus wrote: »
    now thats dedication for ya !
    surely you could take one night off ?!

i wish i had your motivation!

Im afraid its by necessity rather that by choice :rolleyes:

Victory for Zim!!!!!!!

I'm out of here, fecking need a drink asap.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,637 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I never used to mind working Christmas Day. The household rituals were too annoying and started too early, there was always a sortof festive, backs-to-the-wall attitude at work (and we didn't do much work anyway), complete with extra pay and a day off of our choice.

New Years' Night, however, I dislike working. The one time in the year that everyone in the world (almost) is partying for the same reason. I feel I'm missing out.

I recall welcoming in 2005 sitting on my tank in a motor pool waiting for transport to go to a battle. Not very festive, really. Next year I'll be sitting on some hill in Afghanistan, probably cold, and definitely with no booze. I've got about 14 hours to find something entertaining to do tonight, while I have the chance.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

working tonight. in a pub. pity the youth.

D-R-E-A-D-I-N-G IT.

quicker you start, quicker its over :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Getting 90 euro for 3 hours work 2nite.Hate new years,far too false imo.

Ill Spend the rest of the night with Jools holland I think.

The wife has to work tonight, so it's just me and my son.

You covering for Yore Ma on Leeson Street tonight?
    Getting 90 euro for 3 hours work 2nite.Hate new years,far too false imo.

Ill Spend the rest of the night with Jools holland I think.