Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Am I the only member of the Gardai never to set foot in Coppers?

• 24-12-2008 2:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭

Is it true? Is there even one other member who has never darkened the doors of this place? Am I the only one who imagines what it looks like based on the stories of my younger colleagues?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭sickpuppy32

yes u are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

pretty much!

so go.... now!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

whats coppers?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Yes. Actually no.

I dont think ive ever seen and four legged members of the dog unit in there.

Have seen some dogs though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Seen a couple of horses in there alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Satan Polaroid

Probably :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Id say so, yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

I thankfully have never been :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Hogzy wrote: »
    whats coppers?

Yes, please explain to us non gardai, ye do have a strange lingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

whats coppers?

It is Copper Face Jacks that is being referred to ... check out http://www.dublinpubscene.com/thepubs/copperfacejacks.html

"You cant beat the craic in Coppers. Full of Teachers, Gardai, nurses and prison officers, GAA players and supporters. G'wan, you know you want to !!!!!!
    Submitted by Emer, The Country "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

god love ya emer! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

From the first day that I had to step out on to the street to avoid the vomit covered footpath outside this kip I vowed never to enter.

From what I've heard it resembles that scene in "midnight express", you know where all the prisoners are walking around that dark pit in a circle, semi-comatosed and crammed together.

So brayblue24 it's not a stigma, it's a proud badge to wear, "Hell No, We won't go".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

CLADA wrote: »

From what I've heard it resembles that scene in "midnight express", you know where all the prisoners are walking around that dark pit in a circle, semi-comatosed and crammed together.
    Ohohohhh Billy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

don't forget the odd fireman lurking in the shadow of a member cos thats the only way we can get in for free... and i mean ODD...:P...
    god long for the day we get I.D's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

ivabiggon wrote: »
    don't forget the odd fireman lurking in the shadow of a member cos thats the only way we can get in for free... and i mean ODD...:P...
    god long for the day we get I.D's

You're not issued any form of work ID? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

probably, though to be honest your not missing anything lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 244 ✭✭White_Feather

kerry4sam wrote: »
    It is Copper Face Jacks that is being referred to ... check out http://www.dublinpubscene.com/thepubs/copperfacejacks.html

"You cant beat the craic in Coppers. Full of Teachers, Gardai, nurses and prison officers, GAA players and supporters. G'wan, you know you want to !!!!!!
    Submitted by Emer, The Country "

and dont forget us cabin crew!!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭milly4ever

i would love to go to coppers again! i do resent paying 10 quid in tho, is it ever less/ free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

metman wrote: »
    You're not issued any form of work ID? :eek:

Nope. Don't need them to be honest. Fire prevention officers have them as far as i know for inspecting premises but the rest of the peasantry don't.

Funnily enough, no one has ever asked me for id when their house was whipping it. They tend to have other things on their mind:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

Paulzx wrote: »
    Nope. Don't need them to be honest. Fire prevention officers have them as far as i know for inspecting premises but the rest of the peasantry don't.

Funnily enough, no one has ever asked me for id when their house was whipping it. They tend to have other things on their mind:)

Strrrrrange. Most of the brigades here issue some form of ID complete with police type badge and holder like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

whats coppers?

More popularly known as slappers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Strrrrrange. Most of the brigades here issue some form of ID complete with police type badge and holder like this.

Not over here! Have countless mates in the brigade and none of them have any idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

More popularly known as slappers.

Slapper Faced Jacks is it not?

Or Copper Glazed Cacks (after a bad Guinness)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

One of the big differences between the fire services in the UK and here is that UK firefighters have to do community fire safety work which involves visits to peoples homes to put up smoke detectors and carry out fire safety audits - which necessitates the ID. The home visits don't take place here.

That said, the provision of ID cards varies by local authority, some issue them to all staff, including retained firefighters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,083 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

sunnyjim wrote: »
    Slapper Faced Jacks is it not?

Or Copper Glazed Cacks (after a bad Guinness)
    Drop Yer Lace Kaks :D

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

hey drop the I.D thing, that wasn't may intention... i just want to here more about slapper face jacks???:p
    and it's clientel.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

ivabiggon wrote: »
    hey drop the I.D thing, that wasn't may intention... i just want to here more about slapper face jacks???:p
    and it's clientel.......

Hear Hear

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

Coppers host hotel - the Harcourt Court (or whatever it's called) - used to be quite reasonable for those of us schlepping it up from the country. Had the added benefit that after a night of sampling Dublin's finest pints you could top it all off with the free curry that the disco had to serve....

(showing my age..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭480905

If you cant get a ride out of coppers any night of the week you may cut it off or donate it to science or something. good spot for a late one after the pubs close. P1sser paying in though....used to be able to go up the steps and give the wave with the ID, not any nore........ now they've copped on and put a till there......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Oh no. Everyone pays? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Oh no. Everyone pays? :D
    Ohhh yes.
    You'll pay, alright! ! !
    Go home with...17980.jpg

Wake up with...Twilight_Nurse_Final.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

deadwood wrote: »
    Ohhh yes.