Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bah humbug.

• 24-12-2008 1:43pm
    Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭

Right, I forking hate Christmas. It's a time that reminds me of the fact that my parents are liars (well, they were anyway) and that there are some people who only have the capacity to smile at you once a year.

I hate the taste, I hate the smell and I hate the toxicity of the commercial sector. I hate having to pretend that I like sitting around with my family and faking delight when they give me one half of a Lynx Christmas pack and give my cousin the other half.

I hate the music and I hate the TV around Christmas. I hate the fact that the whole thing is just another reason for the country to shut down for a few days. Why don't they just have annual nobody-do-a-tap days? That way, those of us who are inherently miserable can be just so. We don't need to pretend we like things that none in their right mind should like: brussels sprouts, Christmas cake, sherry, trifle, turkey (curry) etc.

So, thankfully, this year, it's just me and my mum and dad. We're having duck that I'm cooking with plum sauce and we're drinking things that we like to drink. My mum's going to make a berry crumble for dessert and there isn't going to be a brussels sprout within a 50m radius of the house. We've agreed not to get anything for one another that doesn't serve a particular purpose and we're just going to do whatever the hell we want. Happy days. No work. No festive games. No Christmas ghey.

Anyone else doing similar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

You're a barrel of fun :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Try having your birthday on Christmas. "Oh, you must love Christmas!". I would if I could go to the ****ing pub for a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Économiste Monétaire

Aye, it's a pain to have to be nice to the legions of the galactically ignorant that arrive for dinner and attempt to make idiot conversation about things for which I care very little. Galactically ignorant, aka extended family. Too much hassle around Christmas, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,764 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's a few days off work. Problem solved.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

get over yourself become a muslim then you wont have to "celebrate" xmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Toiletroll

I fraking love brussel sprouts, they dont make me fart and they are good for ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

Right, I forking love Christmas. It's a time that reminds me of the fact that my parents are heroes(and they always will be in my eyes) and that there are some people who thankfully have the capacity to smile at you at least once a year, even if it hurts them to.

I love the taste, I love the smell and I love the warmth of the humanity. I love sitting around with my family and enjoying the delight when they give me one half of a Lynx Christmas pack and give my cousin the other half. It never really bothered me what I got, its not what its about really is it?

I love the music and I love the TV around Christmas. I love the fact that the whole thing is just another reason for the country to shut down for a few days.

Hullaballú, thats what you really meant right.

I love Christmas and everything about it.....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Right, I forking hate Christmas. It's a time that reminds me of the fact that my parents are liars (well, they were anyway) and that there are some people who only have the capacity to smile at you once a year.

I hate the taste, I hate the smell and I hate the toxicity of the commercial sector. I hate having to pretend that I like sitting around with my family and faking delight when they give me one half of a Lynx Christmas pack and give my cousin the other half.

I hate the music and I hate the TV around Christmas. I hate the fact that the whole thing is just another reason for the country to shut down for a few days. Why don't they just have annual nobody-do-a-tap days? That way, those of us who are inherently miserable can be just so. We don't need to pretend we like things that none in their right mind should like: brussels sprouts, Christmas cake, sherry, trifle, turkey (curry) etc.

So, thankfully, this year, it's just me and my mum and dad. We're having duck that I'm cooking with plum sauce and we're drinking things that we like to drink. My mum's going to make a berry crumble for dessert and there isn't going to be a brussels sprout within a 50m radius of the house. We've agreed not to get anything for one another that doesn't serve a particular purpose and we're just going to do whatever the hell we want. Happy days. No work. No festive games. No Christmas ghey.

Dude... you said it all!!

I applaud you, i feel the same... Last year i spent Christmas alone, the only thing i did was go to mass and the church was filled with families so i left early...

Spent the whole day on boards and facebook....

This year i am cooking for a few friends, tbh i couldn't care less.... I enjoy cooking, not making a turkey-Chicken instead(who gives a rats ass!) and i am baking a sponge cake for dessert.
    I have no christmas tree, nothing christmas and instead of drinking wine we are drinking beer!!!

Christmas is an overated affair!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

If you hate Christmas so much don't be so ignorant and do something worthwhile. I hate Christmas as much as you so i'm goin for a swim tomorrow and then hoping to head up to the Homeless shelter to give a hand - Those poor b4stards have it worse than you or I - It's better than b1tching about it on an internet forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

now i want sponge cake

ah i dunno xmas is fine,no yay no nay, going to my sisters for dinner tomorrow and she does an excellent meal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

mmm duck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I love the giving and the peace; I hate the excess.

If you don't like boiled sprouts, toss them in a mixture of olive oil and honey and bake them for 30 mins. Unbelieveable. :)

JohnCleary wrote: »
    If you hate Christmas so much don't be so ignorant and do something worthwhile. I hate Christmas as much as you so i'm goin for a swim tomorrow and then hoping to head up to the Homeless shelter to give a hand - Those poor b4stards have it worse than you or I - It's better than b1tching about it on an internet forum
    Me ignorant?

How do you know they have it worse than i do? You don't know me or my situation, so stop jumping into conclusion!

I am cooking for friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Miserable Pr!ck. Fook off to the Amazon or something.

Happy Christmas to everybody else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

Christmas is great, your a miserable ****er!!

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

JohnCleary wrote:
    Lol, what do you think internet forums are for? Bitching about Christmas on boards doesn't mean I'm doing nothing worthwhile. I think you're missing the point. I'm saying that I hate the fake plasticity of Christmas. 'The season of goodwill' - that's what I'm on about. I have goodwill towards people on a year-round basis. I do altruistic things as and when they're needed, not just at Christmas.

Anyway, why try to illegitimise my negative experiences around Christmas? I would have assumed it's pretty clear to anyone who reads my OP that there are underlying reasons for the disdain I harbour around Christmas. Anyway, I'm just seeing if there are other people in AH who find the whole Christmas season tedious and tiresome more so than a festival of neighbourly favours and generosity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Me ignorant?

How do you know they have it worse than i do? You don't know me or my situation, so stop jumping into conclusion!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Fletch123

Hullaballu- that sounds like bliss. You're right, it's a load of hassle, it's a mircale if you don't turn into a big ball of stress on the day.

My parents are divorced so will be spending the day back and forth between two houses trying to be as pleasant as possible and attempting to make conversation with various step-family members who I don't really know and who don't really like your family. Fun fun fun!

But my friend pointed out to me that xmas is about making other people happy, not about pleasing yourself.

I'm still going to say it though: bah humbug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭hobochris

I agree with most of what the op says.

But, I love Christmas for one reason, People tend to show their true colors. you really wanna know someone follow them round while they do their Christmas shopping, you will soon see their true nature: Ignorant, unpolite selfish C*nt.

funny thing is its hard to tell the difference between them and the other ignorant C*nts that try to walk through you and god forbid anyone would ever utter the words sorry when bumping into you or even knocking a bag out of your hand.

The holiday should be called "ignorant spending season".

</rant>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Me ignorant?

You (obviously) have a computer and readily access to the internet, you have friends (as you're cooking for them) and you're trying to insinuate that you *probably* are worse off than a homeless person? Stop feeling sorry for yourself

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Me ignorant?

Your posting on the internet. Not many homeless people do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

We don't need to pretend we like things that none in their right mind should like: brussels sprouts, Christmas cake, sherry, trifle, turkey (curry) etc.
    Thank God you didn't mention christmas pud, that's the only bit I look forward to.:D

Pretty much feel the same about all the fake fuss and commercialism not to mention having to pretend you actually like elderly relatives that smell of wee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Suck it up, close your curtains so the rest of us dont have to see you miserable ****s complaining about the holiday season.

You must really hate Valentines day.

Big Knox wrote: »
    Is there a need for that?

Right...
    Every year people spend money they don't have to try to please people they don't need to please, the shops exploit emotions(Christmas songs everywhere) we forget that next year the recession is going to hit us, how are we going pay for the expenses in cured this year? Come January people will default on their mortgages, rents and bills.

Can you justify the ridiculous spend?

Plus how many people are Christians? How often do they go to mass, Christmas is about Jesus Christ and if you are Atheist or do not believe in God then why bother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I love Christmas. We don't have people over for dinner and we only visit people we actually want to see. I couldn't care less about presents. I've told everyone that I don't need anything. I will be grateful for whatever I get though.

People put a huge amount of pressure on themselves at Christmastime. If you just take a step back and realise that it's not about the excesses then you can have a great day.

The fact that I like Christmas or that I eat turkey on that one day a year doesn't make me a bad person. That's what makes me happy. I do what I want to do as do others.

As long as you realise it's all about doing what makes you happy then you will have a great day, whether you have turkey and all the trimmings or a 6 pack of Dutch and a packet of tayto.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Oh no, the pudding's the best bit. I've already indulged in a grand helping of that.

It's funny, I purposely named this thread something anti-Christmas so that it would be ironic when people came along to tell me to stop being such a miserable prick and that they don't want to have to see this sort of thing etc. :pac:

You (obviously) have a computer and readily access to the internet, you have friends (as you're cooking for them) and you're trying to insinuate that you *probably* are worse off than a homeless person? Stop feeling sorry for yourself

kearnsr wrote: »
    Your posting on the internet. Not many homeless people do that

Ah... am tired, i am not going to start an argument over this... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

It's a time that reminds me of the fact that my parents are liars (well, they were anyway)

Unless they're lying to you again and your house is actually going to look like this.

Don't be sad, people are over-whelmed by commercialism every day of the year now anyway, at least at christmas they use it as an excuse to be nice to their family. And when is that ever a bad thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Unfortuantely not.

It's actually more hassle than it's worth for me not to make an appearance and pretend that I'm enjoying myself.

I'd rather stay at home and get drunk, but the phone would be ringing all day and people would be bitching me out about not showing up.

And before any of you jump in and tell me how lucky I am, don't.

I don't care what you have to say and your rants about homeless people won't make me change my mind about the fact that Christmas is a load of crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I'd rather stay at home and get drunk, but the phone would be ringing all day and people would be bitching me out about not showing up.

Phones have off buttons terry. (or cables that can be unplugged if it's a landline)

Sounds like a good plan to me, just tell them you had the shits,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Then they'll just start banging on the door.

Aside from that, I'll still get bitched out the next time they see me.

Also, I did earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 nakedpimp

I know what you mean hullabalu, they lied to you about santa and then you hear them bitching about cheering up and being happy. Thing is CHRIST-mas is meant to be a celebration of someone's birthday, eh so anyone not doing that is a hypocrite, you can see the hypocrasy , are you one too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 bhangwallah

my sentiments lie with the op so i take my hols every crimbo instead of summer and am currently humbugging it in goa,with palm trees ,white sands,sporting some festive sunburn and nary a christmas tree in sight.heaven.

A friend wished me "Merry baby jesus birthday"

My sister plans on shouting out "Happy Birthday baby Jesus" at regular intervals tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭RoMiLe

Go feck yourself. Just because it's socially unacceptable to hate Christmas you call him a miserable prick.

Feck off ya coont.

I too hate Christmas. Just another excuse for a piss up, with people you'd avoid if you were down the pub.

Feck that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

A person has every right to complain about Christmas in a civil, rational manner without being insulted.

Fair play hullaballú. I personally enjoy Christmas but I understand there are people who don't. And I can see reasons for this - the commercialism is scandalous, the falseness is too... It's a time for families - well not everyone has a family or a happy family.

If you enjoy Christmas and are lucky enough to have a good time every year when it must be the loneliest time of all for some people... instead of calling people miserable ***** for not being all jolly at Christmas (oh the irony :rolleyes:) count your blessings that it's a happy time for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

Eh that sounds a lot like a normal Christmas? Do that and watch the Producers in the evening on telly....happy days.

Of course at Christmas you get to see old friends....don't you?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

eh no. Merry christmas everyone:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

I hate having to pretend that I like sitting around with my family and faking delight when they give me one half of a Lynx Christmas pack and give my cousin the other half.

Absolutely. F*cking. Brilliant.:pac::pac::pac::pac:

I think i'd prefer that though to the penneys knickers that I am destined to get AGAIN tomorrow. I've felt the parcel under the tree - it's soft.:( And it has one of those plastic hooks at the top.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Aww cheer up Hull.

Its not all bad. Its the only time of year where its acceptable to dress up pets with antlers.

You my friend need a Nintendo Wii.....or a BJ.

Merry Christmas everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If you hate Christmas so much don't be so ignorant
    What's so ignorant?
    i'm goin for a swim tomorrow and then hoping to head up to the Homeless shelter to give a hand
    You seem to have a knack for self-congratulation. You even told us how much you paid the cabbie the other night. :p
    It's better than b1tching about it on an internet forum
    Wait a sec... so it's not reasonable for a person to use an internet forum for one of its intended purposes - having a rant. And instead, they should do something worthwhile... why? And how do you know the OP isn't doing or hasn't done something worthwhile? Not everyone has to tell people... ;)
    Berty wrote: »
    Why? Oh because he doesn't like Christmas so he must be a miserable Scrooge-like loner with no girlfriend? Anyone who loves Hallmark Cash-in Day of the Year Number 1 Valentine's Day is an idiot, frankly. I'm in a relationship and I think it's a load of insulting balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

janeybabe wrote: »
    My sister plans on shouting out "Happy Birthday baby Jesus" at regular intervals tomorrow.

Why would she use the word "baby"? :confused: Maybe if it was his first birthday, but the bloke is dead nearly two thousand years so that just sounds really stupid.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Big Knox wrote: »
    Christmas is great, your a miserable ****er!!
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Feck off ya coont.

I too hate Christmas. Just another excuse for a piss up, with people you'd avoid if you were down the pub.

Feck that.
    Berty wrote: »
    Suck it up, close your curtains so the rest of us dont have to see you miserable ****s complaining about the holiday season.

Band.
    Happy Christmas everyone else. No more personal abuse please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

janeybabe wrote: »

she is sooo random:D:cool:

I went down to Argos and they closed before 5. The shops are closed now :( So it's a miserable two days doing nothing....

Any ideas how to go through the next 48hrs without commiting sucide :D

My ideas:
    1. Boards
    2. Boards
    3. Boards
    4. Boards
    5. Facebook

Help!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Here's a tail I feel the need to share here.
    I was in Tesco, Bray earlier today and there was this posh but quite well formed lady at the veggie sector. She said to some troll beside her "theres been a run on brussles sprouts!!".

Given that she was well formed I had an overwhelming urge to reach over and see if her breasts felt as good as what was coming out of her mouth but i resisted the temptation and imagined it afterwards.

So back on topic, bah humbug that run on breasts girl makes me sprout.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Why would she use the word "baby"? :confused: Maybe if it was his first birthday, but the bloke is dead nearly two thousand years so that just sounds really stupid.

Nope. If she is celebrating the day he was born then he was a baby then. So it doesn't sound as stupid.

Anyway, she is just using it as an excuse to say "Jesus" over and over in front of my mother.

She has skewed logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

I also hate it. I think it stems from the fact that I enjoyed it so much as a kid. It just can't live up to that anymore so I just (as much as possible) choose to ignore the festivities entirely.