Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airport Police - Blue Lights/Sirens?????

• 22-12-2008 8:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭

One afternoon last week I was in the airport parking in that long term car park that is miles away from airport when all of a sudden an Airport Police car went down the main road with blue lights on. I thought this fairly strange as im nearly 100 percent sure i was outside the airport/daa area
    This brings me to ask the questions

1) Are Airport Police even entitled to use blue lights outside airport, (i dont see how they could be as they are not an emergency vehicle as defined in act)
    2) What do they even need blue lights for????
    (I understand they might need them on runway but what use have they for them once off the run way)
    3) Do they have certain protocols like AGS for using lights??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭BizPost

Don't see why they wouldn't have blue lights once they have the training. Parts of the runway might be easier to get to from the road than across the runway.

A vol ambulance driver (no offence intended) can drive on blues probably without blue light training to bring a patient to hospital so why wouldn't airport police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

Im not querying the driver training... im just wondering if airport police are entitled to use blue lights on a road which is not within the airport. I was always of the opinion hat they were only entitles to use them in airport grounds.
    However an ambulance is an emergency vehicle as defined in the road traffic act and is entitled to have blue lights fitted to the vehicle and use them regardless of driver training.

Would seem to me ok if they use them near the airport on the public roads like if someone is trying to hop the fence around the airport. The law might be different but am sure common sense comes into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭Marcus.Aurelius

If they have "blue lights" insurance and are semi-state or whatever, I don't think there's much to stop them.

Training is not mandatory either, IIRC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

There are 2 allowances for the airport authority to act outside the aerodrome.

A, to close roads and re-direct traffic where its required for the maintanance and / or operation of the aerodrome

B, when taking animals, property or vehicles to an alternative location where they were in contravention of the airport bye-laws.

They are not exempt from road traffic law at any point while on a public road and despite what was said previously, cannot detain and / or question persons for criminal offences. Of course theres nothing stopping them from driving wherever they like just as any person.

A, to close roads and re-direct traffic where its required for the maintanance and / or operation of the aerodrome

B, when taking animals, property or vehicles to an alternative location where they were in contravention of the airport bye-laws.

They are not exempt from road traffic law at any point while on a public road and despite what was said previously, cannot detain and / or question persons for criminal offences. Of course theres nothing stopping them from driving wherever they like just as any person.

Thanks Karlito, Just as i thought, using the blue lights like i saw so is a definite no no,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

ya but who is going to stop them??

With regards to traffic stuff common sense has to come into it. If the law was followed to the letter a lot of things wouldn't happen like the fact the only people permitted to have an orange flashing lights is a JCB or something like that. Something else about the army ordance being the only ones that have right to go through red lights.

It needs updating but mostly good judgement, what about the D-docs are they allowed use sirens and proceed safely and slowly through red lights, probably not but am sure they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

BizPost wrote: »
    With regards to traffic stuff common sense has to come into it. If the law was followed to the letter a lot of things wouldn't happen like the fact the only people permitted to have an orange flashing lights is a JCB or something like that. Something else about the army ordance being the only ones that have right to go through red lights.

Illegal for all vehicles in fact, while mandatory in most other europeen countries! I love our laws!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Abraham

This is an old chestnut. The Gardai have long had an 'attitude' to the similarity in the dress and vehicle mode as between the Gardai and the Airport Police but have learned to live with it. Some Gardai get apoplectic about the notion that the Airport police get mistaken for or even may for convenience sake represent themselves as Gardai but no major wrongdoing has ever been identified in that regard. It usually occurs in some kind of regulatory situation where officialdom is required to exercise direction or control. It irks the grassroots operatives a lot more than the executives but that's to be expected.

Occasionally, incidents flare up and the Garda reaction is, as they tend to do when their authority is challenged , to quote the strict letter of the law whereas the AP usually respond that they were merely trying to achieve an objective that was expedient and in the public interest in terms of duty of care or security. Experience is a marvellous teacher in all these situations.

In passing judgment on such matters, one should never lose sight of the fact that the Gardai themselves have a proven track record of cutting corners and sharp practices but rarely with malice in mind. That's about the size of it.

Yes but we're actually legally allowed to use blue lights and sirens.
    I have no problem with them cutting corners and so on, and quiet frankly i think they should be allowed use blues and sirens in airport and around it, but what happens if outside the airport some airport police car crashes into some persons car when running on blues... what happens then, are they prosecuted for dangerous driving, will DAA stand over them. this is the question I'm wondering about.
    I know if AGS members have a crash when running on blues and sirens and are in the wrong then they have a whole world of problems in front of them such as GSOC etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

timmywex wrote: »
    Illegal for all vehicles in fact, while mandatory in most other europeen countries! I love our laws!
    Flashing yellow lights are legal for certain vehicles, e.g. road sweepers, they aren't legal for agricultural tractors. The problem is agricultural tractors being used on main roads, not the yellow lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

Say what victor? you cant drive a tractor on the road?

ANd the main lights i have a problem with are the yellows, used on everything thats bigger thn a car these days and getting brighter and brighter, there is a bin company in cork using yellow grills now and i'd be full sure they fall foul of something,? wattage? damm annoying anyway

maglite wrote: »
    Say what victor? you cant drive a tractor on the road?

ANd the main lights i have a problem with are the yellows, used on everything thats bigger thn a car these days and getting brighter and brighter, there is a bin company in cork using yellow grills now and i'd be full sure they fall foul of something,? wattage? damm annoying anyway

And nearly every security company has them on their cars too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Airport

Just to clear this up the DAPS area of jurisdiction is on any of Minister for Transport lands that he own and also the roadways also under his in control around the airport.

N.B You may be unaware that some roadways that are complety outside the airport are actual property of the DAA/Minister For Transport and not that of the local authority Fingal County Concil and the DAPS are entitled to patrol them roadways. That why you would commonly see the K9 unit landrovers patrolling.

They do not enforce Offences againt the road traffic act as they have no powers under this act only under byelaws and ANG act.

I have attached a map with some more of his lands ajacent to the airport that is more i will try find a better pic.

Now to clear this up DAPS can pursue a suspect out of the airport once a crime has been committed on said lands.

The protocol is to follow once sight is not lost.

Some members of the service have undergone the Advanced Driving Course with the AGS and the Stratyclde police along with one other UK mainland police service. And all members do recieve specialist police driver training.

Once a vehicle is being pursued by the DAPS, the patrol unit would relay to Police control there position which will be relayed onto the Garda control and AGS units will assit i.e set up stinger which has been done before or take over the chase.

The arresst will later still subsequently be made by the DAPS officer for crime committed by the suspect and then handed over to the AGS once a interview has been completed and the Gardai will process them for subsequent driving offences etc..

Im personally surprised that people have never heard of this happening before. I hope this helps answer your question about why the DAPS like the AGS etc can use there blues lights when responding to shouts.

Sorry mate someone giving you wrong info there.

is this second or first hand info?

Are you presntly employed by DAA or the airport police?

First Hand info.

Employed by the DAA formerly Aer Rienta. Im Ex Army. I work in the same confines as them. That Ok.

Just seen post relating to Dublin airport form unreliable sources before, the effect of this is for me to question ifromation i see here,

Not a reflection on you,
    unless your a certain, well, everyone knows what i mean

No probs mate. Well im only fairly new here but i always to give my share.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Do you have the right to charge or summons a suspect for a breach of those offences, Airport? If so; fantastic! Less paper for me! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭metman

As has been discussed before Airport Police don't have the power to do any of those things. No offence to APFRS staff (they're very good at their job) but they are not a law enforcement agency as we know it. They do not have full jurisdiction in their area, do not swear/execute warrants, issue summons or investigate serious crime etc etc. They can detain pending handing over to AGS at the earliest opportunity practicable.....though I'm not sure what the legality is of APS conducting interviews or what their legal weight would be when AGS would have to conduct another such interview....but no they cannot charge or summons.

Again I'm not slagging off airport police, as they fulfill their role. However they are not Police.

metman wrote: »
    though I'm not sure what the legality is of APS conducting interviews or what their legal weight would be when AGS would have to conduct another such interview....but no they cannot charge or summons.

I was of the same opinion as you, Metman; but the point regarding the interview of suspects made raise the question. If Airport Police have no powers to prosecute an individual and rely solely on AGS; how could there be such a thing as a power to interview/detain ?

We have enough difficulty arresting and detaining an individual for interview..and those processes are quite rigid. If not under the same guise as Section 4 CJA..I didn't think that Airport Police could even take a voluntary statement under caution?

how could there be such a thing as a power to interview/detain? ink that Airport Police could even take a voluntary statement under caution?

I imagine the APS gets away with a lot as its not challenged by people who assume they're a branch of AGS or have the same authority etc.

Their power to 'detain' is derived from the air transport and navigation act which confers on them powers as 'authorised officer' to enforce certain bye laws, conduct searches and 'arrest' provided they hand over to AGS as soon as is practicable. I can appreciate why they have a power to detain/arrest, but I fail to see on what grounds they would be interviewing; example, M&S security can detain/arrest a shoplifter, but why would they need to conduct an interview? That's the job of the police (i.e AGS) who are tasked to investigate crime.

I know that customs based in dublin airport have great powers as i have seen them used on joint operations but i have yet to see an airport police person detain/interview a prisoner.
    All these laws and rules etc and advanced driving courses are well in good but if ye end up outside your area and crash into me, will that airport police driver be prosecuted for dangerous driving as they are not an emergency service. Have ye an external body that will investigate ye like AGS have
    But then again i have never worked on a joint operation with airport police. I honestly have never heard of a joint operation between airport police and AGS though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Abraham

It would be very difficult to see how the AP would be authorised to investigate crime and conduct interviews towards that end. Leaving aside all the chicanery that frequently emerges in this discussion about police powers and security agencies, some things are abundantly clear
    Viz:-
    (a) AGS is the only agency within the state authorised to investigate crime
    (b) APS exist under legislation and in terms of functionality as a
    security agency clearly intended to secure the airport in all day to day situations where the rule of law is not threatened. In so doing the APS are allowed a degree of licence in regard to dress code and similarity of motor vehicles but this is not intended to operate on the public thoroughfares. Persons detected/detained by APS are required to be handed over to AGS as quickly as possible for further processing under the law.

Although they have a national remit in terms of border controls, the Customs authorities too operate under some similar constraints which occasionally gives rise to friction but the respective service managements are acutely aware of the precise limitations of their agencies.

Sometimes the real problem is controlling the 'young turks' at the cutting edge of these services who often engage in a degree of taunting, deliberate overlapping and even provocation in the discharge of their duties. These individuals are usually very territorial in outlook to a degree that draws derision openly or concealed but to which the majority by and large do not subscribe.

DAPS operate as part of a semi state organisation and have worked on joint operation with AGS,Revenue,DF and in co-operation with many other state agency and international agencies.

The aim of the DAPS is provide a world class aviation police service.

Correct we do not deal with indepth serious crime on daily basis but officers are involded in anti terrosist operation, undercover work, monitoring known criminals transgressing through the airport and executing warrants on behave of the AGS if requested.

The DAPS are the first responders to most policing situations on the airport grounds. When the DAPS arrive to shouts or call for assistance and take the approriate action, if a arrest is made the prision will be detained.

If required the DAPS have are own Prisoner transport transit connect van with detainment cell in the back. The DAPS will preserve the scene for later investigations by the AGS/DAPS.

There then brought to cells and interviewed if required once this is done they will be handed over to the "H" boys (Santry,Ballymun etc.. for processing and yes they may carry out there own interview)

The DAPS work in conjunction with the AGS, the national police. We do not try and match them "we play the same game but in two seperate leagues" but the Airport Police service do take pride in providing an intergal part of policing in the states airport.

Metman some of what you posted is correct, DAPS do try there best to be good at what they do :pac:

If a person commits an offence on Airport grounds they can later be summoned by AGS or the department on request from DAA/Minister For Transport who wish prosecute under ANG act or the bye laws etc..

A summons may be brought through the local or district court depending on seriousness of the offence.

The arresting DAPS officers will give evidence as required at the trial and notes and or video evidence can be given.

Hope this helps clear things up.

If a accident was to occur outside the airport. The DAPS would be investigated by the AGS and the DAA. If like a member of the AGS or ES was found to be driving dangerously not in the course of there duty, the person would be liable to road traffic offence and prosecution just like yous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭fortuneteller

I passed a taxi van last week that was dropping off passangers and he had two red strobe lights in the back window, they were flashing on an alternate pattern,Looked pretty cool but not sure if they are allowed?

HIJACK_onplane.gif

What's that got to do with the airport police!?!!?!?!? :eek::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭dredre

Airport wrote: »
    First Hand info.

Employed by the DAA formerly Aer Rienta. Im Ex Army. I work in the same confines as them. That Ok.
    Correct we do not deal with indepth serious crime on daily basis but officers are involded in anti terrosist operation, undercover work, monitoring known criminals transgressing through the airport and executing warrants on behave of the AGS if requested.

We are the first responder to most situations. We arrive to shout or call for assistance and take the approriate action, if a arrest is made the prision will be detained.

If required we have are own Prisoner transport transit connect van with detainment cell in the back. We will preserve the scene for later investigations

There then brought to cells and interviewed if required once this is done they will be handed over to H boys (Santry,Ballymun etc.. for processing and yes they may carry out there own interview)

The DAPS work in conjunction with the AGS, the national police. We do not try and match them "we play the same game but in two seperate leagues" but we do take pride in providing an intergal part of policing in states airport.

Either you work for Airport Police or 'in the same confines as' Airport Police. It sounds to me like you are making things up.

Your grammar and spelling is that of a teenager also.

Additionally, what does a known criminal 'transgressing' the airport involve?

grammar_police_car_203x152.jpg
    Irony is a funny thing.. I wonder is that metmans car!!

Ive was caught red handed.. I'll put my hands up!

Now that im awake after work. I have done my best to fix my last post hopes it meets your high stamdards.. If not then well.. so it doesnt! hahaha :D

Known criminals trangressing through the airport are criminals known to the DAPS/AGS, Revenue for different reason that have commited or are suspected of commiting offences in the airport or targetting the airport possible could be ATM scamming,fraud, loitering, CIT robbery,car theft, pickpocketing, shop lifting i.e larceny, drugs related offences, vandalism, etc...

People who do not have a lawful reason for being in the aerodrome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭ivabiggon

is it true it was a mule who gave yis the nickname "joey's":D

At last someone talking sense, its cause the DAPS are stuck in the pen! haha :pac:

DAPS operate as part of a semi state organisation and have worked on joint operation with AGS,Revenue,DF and in co-operation with many other state agency and international agencies.

Joint operations at the Airport. I doubt too many airport police are involved in major drug investigations in the city for instance.
    The aim of the DAPS is provide a world class aviation police service.

Anti-terrorist work? Hmmm. APS staff wouldn't be any different from any other security guard in securing their premises against terrorism. Sounds good though.

UC work? You mean plain clothes work. There is a substantial difference. Wandering around the terminal looking for dippers doesn't qualify as undercover work.

Monitoring known criminals? How would APS staff know who 'known criminals' are without the assistance of AGS.

Executing warrants on AGS behalf? Eh? Why on earth would the Police ask a security firm to execute warrants on their behalf. I doubt it would even be legal. Complete fantasy.
    The DAPS are the first responders to most policing situations on the airport grounds. When the DAPS arrive to shouts or call for assistance and take the approriate action, if a arrest is made the prision will be detained.

If required the DAPS have are own Prisoner transport transit connect van with detainment cell in the back. The DAPS will preserve the scene for later investigations by the AGS/DAPS.

There then brought to cells and interviewed if required once this is done they will be handed over to the "H" boys (Santry,Ballymun etc.. for processing and yes they may carry out there own interview)

Again with the interview. What would APS staff be interviewing for? For what purpose? Are AGS aware of this? Are the courts?
    The DAPS work in conjunction with the AGS, the national police. We do not try and match them "we play the same game but in two seperate leagues" but the Airport Police service do take pride in providing an intergal part of policing in the states airport.

In the same league, sure, if you consider the US Marines playing the same game as the boy scouts, just in a seperate league :rolleyes:
    Metman some of what you posted is correct, DAPS do try there best to be good at what they do :pac:

If a person commits an offence on Airport grounds they can later be summoned by AGS or the department on request from DAA/Minister For Transport who wish prosecute under ANG act or the bye laws etc..

A summons may be brought through the local or district court depending on seriousness of the offence.

The arresting DAPS officers will give evidence as required at the trial and notes and or video evidence can be given.

Hope this helps clear things up.

If a accident was to occur outside the airport. The DAPS would be investigated by the AGS and the DAA. If like a member of the AGS or ES was found to be driving dangerously not in the course of there duty, the person would be liable to road traffic offence and prosecution just like yous.

Yawn.

I agree with dredre's assessment.

Irony is a funny thing.. I wonder is that metmans car!!

Ive was caught red handed.. I'll put my hands up!

Now that im awake after work. I have done my best to fix my last post hopes it meets your high stamdards.. If not then well.. so it doesnt! hahaha :D

Known criminals trangressing through the airport are criminals known to the DAPS/AGS, Revenue for different reason that have commited or are suspected of commiting offences in the airport or targetting the airport possible could be ATM scamming,fraud, loitering, CIT robbery,car theft, pickpocketing, shop lifting i.e larceny, drugs related offences, vandalism, etc...

People who do not have a lawful reason for being in the aerodrome.

None of that explains why you have variously claimed on here to

1. Be a member of the Airport Police
    2. 'Work in the same confines as them'

and as highlighted earlier:

Metman in response to your question just take it that i am a person with an active interest in this area. Unfortunatly that is all im bound to say. Sorry if this answer does give you full clarity.

This is all a bit inconsistent for someone who actually does work for the Airport Police to be saying.

I'll leave you off the grammar charge, but you should look up 'transgressing' in a dictionary.

dredre wrote: »
    None of that explains why you have variously claimed on here to

1. Be a member of the Airport Police
    2. 'Work in the same confines as them'

and as highlighted earlier:

This is all a bit inconsistent for someone who actually does work for the Airport Police to be saying.

+1.

Your posts are a tad too fantasist for my liking airport. Sounds like working for the Airport Police is akin to being Jack Bauer for 24 hours.

Well sorry if thats the case metman. I always tryed to model myself more on the boys below.. haha

CHI.ps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

In the interests of inter-departmental co-operation may I offer the services of the this forum. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Sorry mate someone giving you wrong info there.

What? the law is giving me wrong information? Your saying the law that governs you is wrong but your right is that what your saying?

Hmmm, Your making a twit of yourself here. Your wrong in so many places and thanks to the internet, its easily proven.

For starters, a public road is a public road, look up the 'legal' definition of it. Minister for transport eh? So that would be every public road road in the country then.

Section 33, Air navigation and transport Act 1988
    "An authorised officer, in the interest of the proper operation, or the security or safety, of an aerodrome, or the security or safety of persons, aircraft or other property thereon, may do all or any of the following things—
    ( a ) stop, detain for such time as is reasonably necessary for the exercise of any of his powers under this section, and search any person or vehicle on an aerodrome;
    ( b ) require any person on an aerodrome to—
    (i) give his name and address and to produce other evidence of his identity; (ii) state the purpose of his being on the aerodrome;
    (iii) account for any baggage or other property which may be in his possession;

( c ) order any person
    (i) who refuses to give his name or address, or to produce other evidence of his identity, or
    (ii) who refuses to state the purpose of his being on the aerodrome, or
    (iii) who refuses to account for any baggage or other property in his possession, or
    (iv) who gives a name or address or states a purpose of his being on the aerodrome which is known, or is reasonably suspected, by the authorised officer to be false or fictitious, or
    (v) whom he knows not to have, or whom he reasonably suspects of not having, a lawful reason for being on the aerodrome,

to leave the aerodrome, or any part thereof, or he may remove such person from the aerodrome, or any part thereof, or he may arrest that person without warrant,

[GA] ( d ) arrest without warrant any person-

[GA] (i) who assaults, or whom he reasonably suspects to have assaulted, another person on an aerodrome, or

[GA] (ii) whom he knows to have, or whom he reasonably suspects of having contravened section 12 or 19, or

(iii) whom he knows to have, or reasonably suspects of having, a stolen article in his possession.

(2) Where an authorised officer, who is not a member of the Garda Síochána, arrests a person under this section, he shall, forthwith, deliver such person into the custody of a member of the Garda Síochána to be dealt with in accordance with law.
    (3) Where an authorised officer arrests a person pursuant to the powers conferred on him by subsection (1) (d) (iii), he may retain in his possession any article which he knows to have been, or reasonably suspects of having been, stolen until it has been established whether or not the article was stolen.
    (4) A person who was ordered by an authorised officer to leave an aerodrome or part of an aerodrome, or who was removed from an aerodrome or part of an aerodrome by an authorised officer, shall not, on the same day, without the permission of an authorised officer, return to the aerodrome or the part of the aerodrome which he was ordered to leave, or from which he was removed, as the case may be.

(5) Any person who obstructs or impedes an authorised officer in the exercise of any of the powers conferred on him by this section, or who fails to comply with any lawful requirement of an authorised officer under this section, shall be guilty of an offence.

As I already said, you cannot use any of your powers outside the aerodrome, your only concerned with the security of the aerodrome and your powers confirm this, you cannot detain or question persons and your not police drivers. You think theres no Gardai that were airport police? yes, several who were NOT trained drivers. Strangely I dont recall any Gardai resigning to pursue a career in the airport. Your a security guard with slightly more powers than any other, live with it. Alternatively, if you want to be an actual police officer, join the actual police.

Airport - I personally respect the role Aiport Police have in this country and, if anything; feel that they should have a mandate similar to Transport Police in the UK. What I mean by that is more training, more powers and ability to look after the area themselves.

I'm sure every other AGS member here thinks and believes the same however this forum exists to help us understand the precise roles that each and every one of us have. Karlitos is doing that by quoting law..Which at the end of the day is the 'word of God'; and it helps us all get an idea of what we're to do should such a situation arise.

I still think it's madness that our airports aren't as secure as they are abroad. Would the only way around it involve us moving in and taking over? A little unfair..particularly on those who know the aerodrome like the back of their hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The airport lands do extend beyond the literal airport. They extend to roughly the dotted yellow lines here: http://www.dublinairport.com/about-us/airport-development/Parallel_Runway.html
    For starters, a public road is a public road, look up the 'legal' definition of it. Minister for transport eh? So that would be every public road road in the country then.
    Minister for Transport owns very few roads - invariably they are owned by local councils and / or local landowners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

I work in the same confines as them. That Ok.
    So does this guy!
    2641860350028741026uGNJIC_fs.jpg

I'm going to call it here

Bull$hit Airport is fyr fytr.

IP check possible?

Airport - I personally respect the role Aiport Police have in this country and, if anything; feel that they should have a mandate similar to Transport Police in the UK. What I mean by that is more training, more powers and ability to look after the area themselves.

I'm sure every other AGS member here thinks and believes the same however this forum exists to help us understand the precise roles that each and every one of us have. Karlitos is doing that by quoting law..Which at the end of the day is the 'word of God'; and it helps us all get an idea of what we're to do should such a situation arise.

I still think it's madness that our airports aren't as secure as they are abroad. Would the only way around it involve us moving in and taking over? A little unfair..particularly on those who know the aerodrome like the back of their hand.

Fair post foregone reality, I didnt think my last post through before responding to Karlistos post.. I do apologise to Karlitos for that. The way things seem to be looking now for the DAPS is further increasing the alignment with the AGS this is happening through increased co operation in many areas such operational roads policing, training co operation/excercises, closer service support.

It was only said recently said by goverment minister visiting the airport that along with nurses one of the savest jobs in the country now was that of a DAPS officer because, he said with the down turn in the Garda recruitment and focus on traffic and other frontline areas there would be no hurry to send the gardai in large numbers to take over the airport. Threre had always been talk of this before.

DAPS role would be now more secure then ever. As metman has said before we do provide a different type of Policing to that of the AGS or British police the DAPS provide a specialist niche policing role. You really do want to have an active interest before applying for a position as a DAPS officer as its not all running on blues or plains clothes work but alot of mundane stuff like yous do too.

More so proavtive patrolling in car, on foot, public office, control room or out on a segway :) We provide the public and larger airport community as a whole with peace of mind that the DAPS is there to answer there call for assistance anytime in the airport.

You still haven't addressed my questions as to why you appear so confused as to whether you are actually a member of the Airport Police or not.

Other than to post saying you are not fyr.fytr and then delete it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Without quoting massive tracts of legislation and from the view of a former airport employee who knows what he's on about ;) -

The carpark is the property of the DAA and is part (subject to evidence to the contrary) of the land deemed to be classified "Dublin Airport". and as such lies under the jurisdiction of both the Dublin Airport Police and An Garda Síochána. Strictly speaking DAP would need to switch the blues off crossing the R132 to reach the carpark but to be honest, that would just be stupid.

It would be reasonable, and in my experience not unheard of, for DAP to respond to an incident outside the perimiter fence which may be a threat to the security of said fence. It's very uncommon (I've never seen it) but in an emergency where AGS would be miles away it really can't hurt.

dredre wrote: »
    You still haven't addressed my questions as to why you appear so confused as to whether you are actually a member of the Airport Police or not.

Other than to post saying you are not fyr.fytr and then delete it.

Hi dredre

I am not fyr.fytr.

It is none of your business what i am. No offence intended. Im just a emergency service enthuasist with an active interest in aviation policing.

Hi dredre

I am not fyr.fytr.

It is none of your business what i am. No offence intended. Im just a emergency service enthuasist with an active interest in aviation policing.

You'll forgive us for being suspicious of someone who pretends to be something they're not though.

It is indeed none of my business who or what you are. However, if you want people to take you seriously and you wish to speak with some authority on a subject (as you have tried to do), you have to provide some evidence of your basis for doing so.

You have provided quite the opposite. Which makes you look like a fool. Your posts are just a rehash of information readily available on the internet supplemented by what you hear from family. They have already been exposed as such by others here.

Added to ignore list

Do you know what is funny though guys?

Both fyr.fytr and Airport visited my profile page this afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Right so,
    Airport, on more than one post you've suggested you are a member of the APS, but then post that you are not. Make up your mind. If you are not a member, you are breaching the forum rules by posting as if you are, and further instances will result in a ban.

Please edit your recent posts to clarify the position.