Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We are a Nation of Idiots

• 20-12-2008 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭

So we are!!

1.. We pay those goons out in RTE megabucks,despite the fact that they could not get a third of the salary anywhere in the country.Anywhere.

2.. We pay through the hole for drink in nightclubs, yet feel we MUST tip some cnunt in the jacks, who is paying no tax and is probably claiming state benefits!!

3.. We shell out way over the odds for poor magazines which cost a third less in the UK.

4.. We rush in like lemmings to "sell out" concerts by fourth rate fcukers on their fifth final tour at inflated prices and never query the price.

5..We accept poor service,rip offs with gay abandon and then sit down and have a 'sing song'

6..We fail to see how we are being ripped off by phone ins, reality shows, lotto stuff,has been entertainers,freeloaders and liggers.

7.. We have totally failed to see that the Public service has dragged us down by lack of enterprise,productivity,general torpitude, and bad value for money.

8.. We pay cnunts in the HSE way above the odds relative to other countries.

9.. We tolerate fcukers in the Public service and elected reps who make a bollix of things and do not pay the consequences.

10.. We shut up and stay quiet when jackasses with vested interests wheel out their mantras of self preservation and fcuk everyone else.

Indeed we are a nation of idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

11. We moan about it online, doing SFA to change anything where it might actually matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

So we are!!

1.. We pay those goons out in RTE megabucks,despite the fact that they could not get a third of the salary anywhere in the country.Anywhere.

2.. We pay through the hole for drink in nightclubs, yet feel we MUST tip some cnunt in the jacks, who is paying no tax and is probably claiming state benefits!!

3.. We shell out way over the odds for Shíte magazines which cost a third less in the UK.

4.. We rush in like lemmings to "sell out" concerts by fourth rate fcukers on their fifth final tour at inflated prices and never query the price.

5..We accept shíte service,rip offs with gay abandon and then sit down and have a 'sing song'

6..We fail to see how we are being ripped off by phone ins, reality shows, lotto stuff,has been entertainers,freeloaders and liggers.

7.. We have totally failed to see that the Public service has dragged us down by lack of enterprise,productivity,general torpitude, and bad value for money.

9.. We tolerate fcukers in the Public service and elected reps who make a bollix of things and do not pay the consequences.

10.. We shut up and stay quiet when jackasses with vested interests wheel out their mantras of self preservation and fcuk everyone else.

Did you relate to all of that, yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

"It is our patriotic duty" to do all the above

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

I believe number 11 is the most poignant point on the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭likely_lass

So we are!!

not all of us are that stupid

/ worse is tipping taxi drivers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,662 ✭✭✭Trinity

Jeez this not been able to talk about ****e is really getting to you isnt it.

Oh wait..................you've found away around it

What wrong with tipping?

Trinity1 wrote: »

What wrong with tipping?

What is right with it?

OPENROAD wrote: »
    What is right with it?

Its a personal preference. I know when i worked waitressing on a ****ty wage the tips made the difference. I know the delivery drivers from the chinese (some of them) dont get paid by the chinese and just keep the delivery charges, on a quiet night they could sit there doing feck all and go home about 10 euro up.

Admittedly sometimes i feel obliged. Like i paid 45 euro for a 5 minute treatment in the salon the other day and i gave her 5 euro tip, (i had a gift voucher for the treament from my birthday) truth was i didnt really feel it was worth it or have it really but would have been embarrassed not to in case its the done thing!

Its a personal preference. I know when i worked waitressing on a ****ty wage the tips made the difference. I know the delivery drivers from the chinese (some of them) dont get paid by the chinese and just keep the delivery charges, on a quiet night they could sit there doing feck all and go home about 10 euro up.

Admittedly sometimes i feel obliged. Like i paid 45 euro for a 5 minute treatment in the salon the other day and i gave her 5 euro tip, (i had a gift voucher for the treament from my birthday) truth was i didnt really feel it was worth it or have it really but would have been embarrassed not to in case its the done thing!

I tip a waitress particularly if the service has been good but that is about it to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What the fook has that got to do with you.??

There ya go honey, best advice from the Flutt, go on a personal developement course,because as I see it you totally lack in confidence and feel the need to be liked so much, you pay twice for everything.

Stand up for yourself and don't be such a fcukin doormat.

There ya go honey, best advice from the Flutt, go on a personal developement course,because as I see it you totally lack in confidence and feel the need to be liked so much, you pay twice for everything.

Stand up for yourself and don't be such a fcukin doormat.

Thanks, how much do i owe you for that advice :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

So we are!!

3.. We shell out way over the odds for Shíte magazines which cost a third less in the UK.

5..We accept shíte service, rip offs with gay abandon and then sit down and have a 'sing song'

6..We fail to see how we are being ripped off by phone ins, reality shows, lotto stuff,has been entertainers, freeloaders and liggers.

7.. We have totally failed to see that the Public service has dragged us down by lack of enterprise, productivity, general turpitude, and bad value for money.

1. This is sadly true.

2. I and many of my friends have stopped attending these rip-off clowns.

3. With the current rate of the Euro - yes - only a fool will pay still what is double the price.

4. If I hear of yet another Boyzone/Westlife re-run, I'll throw up.

5. Fools have short memories don't ya know!

6. Fools don't fail to see the rip-off, they are just fools for still handing over the money!

7. Yep. The sheep of this nation are also like horses wearing blinkers.

8. Welcome to Ireland!

9. Welcome to the Dail.

10. Welcome to the "me generation"

Yep, sadly though, there is fools everywhere.
    We just have our own share.

Not a damn cent.

Just to see you get off your knees and not be used by other people is reward enough for thr Flutt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

5..We accept shíte service,rip offs with gay abandon and then sit down and have a 'sing song'

Careful now.

Not a damn cent.

Just to see you get off your knees and not be used by other people is reward enough for thr Flutt.

Jaysus i never knew you had such a caring side :D

I'll start at the beers, those toilet attendents wont be getting a damn penny off me :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭shut up!

11. We moan about it online, doing SFA to change anything where it might actually matter.
    In fairness, at least it's less SFA, than saying nothing, or better yet, saying nothing and slagging off those that do. Who knows, maybe a few people will cop a few lessons from one of the points made here.

Jaysus i never knew you had such a caring side :D

I'll start at the beers, those toilet attendents wont be getting a damn penny off me :p

here's sommat else for nothing.

Listen to this carefully.

You are really being ripped off, when you give to someone you think is being ripped off,when it's really you that's being ripped off

Make a frame of that ,digest it, and hang it over your bed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭shut up!

Make a frame of that ,digest it, and hang it over your bed.
    Hang something you digested over your bed???? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I don't willingly pay Rte though.

Metaphorically speaking of course......

On the other hand....:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

or better yet, saying nothing and slagging off those that do.
    I'm not slagging off Flut off, its a point as relevant as any of his.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Metaphorically speaking of course......

On the other hand....:P

I'd willingly pay rte money to throw eggs at their presenters ( the more annoying ones) every morning though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I haven't read the OP but I'd just like to add that I agree with the title.

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

....as the good John Cash once said, if you're gonna be dumb, you gotta be tough!

People pay for things they can afford regardless of the value element being considered. If they want to go to nightclubs and pay for their drinks using their anus then good luck to them! They'll soon learn the true cost of these things when they lose their cushy jobs at the HSE.

Society is (slowly but surely) changing for the better but moaning about it in AH is not going to make a blind bit of difference to things. That is just a downer!! Come hug this tree with me! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

Always have been, always will be. The smart ones will always emigrate. I'm off next year :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

Always have been, always will be. The smart ones will always emigrate. I'm off next year :P

Really? And where do smart people emigrate to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭cbreeze

So we are!!

1. No.
    2. Most definitely no.
    3. Not a chance.
    4. You must be joking!
    5. I expect good service, and reward it.
    6. I agree. Just ignore them.
    7. I agree.
    8. See above.
    9. See 7 above.
    10.You have a mouth, open it, you have a vote: USE it!! You are: NOT ALONE

vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Jeez Flutt, take a dump and calm down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Someone hasn't had his half-ounce of Soma.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,370 ✭✭✭✭walshb

So we are!!

A lot of truth in all points. Number 4 really bugs the sh1t outta me!

Ireland has been for a long time the place where failed 'stars' can easily resurrect a ****ty career!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

shut up! wrote: »
    In fairness, at least it's less SFA, than saying nothing, or better yet, saying nothing and slagging off those that do.

Exactly !
    Why are we so afraid to speak out? and those that do are castigated for telling it like it is. Look at the way Michael O'leary was ambushed at the oireachtas committee. Why, because he calls a spade a spade and most people don't like that. The reaction to flutterin' bantem proves my point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭BravoSierra

juuge wrote: »
    Exactly !
    Why are we so afraid to speak out? and those that do are castigated for telling it like it is. Look at the way Michael O'leary was ambushed at the oireachtas committee. Why, because he calls a spade a spade and most people don't like that. The reaction to flutterin' bantem proves my point.

Its easier to ridicule than propagate or research the truth.

I agree with a lot of the OP points and could probably think of a few more...

For example: fools will still get up tomorrow and pay over the odds for a magazine that has a sterling price on it and an Euro price probably stick on it which is way over the odds, near double in price. Go figure!

What can you do with that type of mentality! Not a lot.
    Will they complain at the counter to the retailer (like I have and asked them to justify this week their rip-off price? I gave them back their computer mag and Sci-fi mag)
    Nope - they will just hand over the money, say "thanks" to the rip-off merchant and go their merry ripped off way!

:(

Some folk are just sheep to be herded and be allowed to be herded.

Biggins wrote: »
    Nope - they will just hand over the money, say "thanks" to the rip-off merchant and go their merry ripped off way!

:(

Righto, more inaction and procrastination.

Yep, its depressing. O' they will moan about others pointing these things out but god forbid they might type a letter, email or complain to the relevant local/national public representative or body!

There is a well known say that people deserve the government they get - when I was young I didn't understand the full grasp of the words.
    Now I do.
    People deserve the government they get and to be honest, following on from that train of thought, the treatment they get in some cases. If in fact if they bothered to open their mouths at the appropriate time, they could start to make a difference and say "Hang on - I don't have to take this crap!"

There is a well known say that people deserve the government they get -

Its not a case of singular action. Its a case of solidarity. Thats why we fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 drmccoy

i agree with you and could add alot more to your list
    why dont we open our mouths and say the joke is over
    from now on 2009 nobody gets away with anything

drmccoy wrote: »

My stars and garters. Irish folk will be less forgiving with the recession at hand.

drmccoy wrote: »

If only...

I came to that decision this year. I am now one grumpy ageing sod but by god, if you try and take advantage of me, I'm no longer taking the bullcrap any more!!! :mad:

On behalf of a sleeping nation, I've had enough!

If only...

I came to that decision this year. I am now one grumpy ageing sod but by god, if you try and take advantage of me, I'm no longer taking the bullcrap any more!!! :mad:

On behalf of a sleeping nation, I've had enough!

Your vehemence alone won't suffice. An action comitee of sorts needs to formed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 drmccoy

where can you get a job without a C Vonly in the dail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

I’m as patriotic as the next guy but I can tell you I am ashamed of the present government. We have a leader that can’t even stand up straight an overweight health minister along with a collection of ministers like little Willie O’Dea and little dick Roche that would find it hard to get a job in the real world. A banking system together with semi-state bodies that have been found to be corrupt and the Catholic Church that still can’t get their head around what’s wrong with molesting our children and a group in our society that can mutilate defenceless animals with impunity. Of course we are not allowed to say these things because that might be politically incorrect and we can’t have that.
    Yep ! It’s great to be Oirish !

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

So we are!!

3.. We shell out way over the odds for poor magazines which cost a third less in the UK.

5..We accept poor service,rip offs with gay abandon and then sit down and have a 'sing song'

just move country.

juuge wrote: »
    I’m as patriotic as the next guy but I can tell you I am ashamed of the present government.

Revolt anyone?

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    just move country.

Not an option for a true patriot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

You're very hard on the rest of us, Flutther.

R_H_C_P wrote: »
    just move country.

Aye, thats so much easier than actually doing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

jeeze ye are like a shower of good wans ye keep taking it, why not be like me, say fcuk off. all ye do is crib crib