Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The EU recognise Dublin as the only city in Ireland !

• 20-12-2008 7:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭

The other villages and towns don't meet the selective criteria !

I agree

and i meant the REPUBLIC of IRELAND

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Just confirming what we already knew. Only place worthy of the status.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭shut up!

I also agree. You have to be able to get lost in a city. You can't in Belfast or Galway or Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

shut up! wrote: »
    I also agree. You have to be able to get lost in a city. You can't in Belfast or Galway or Cork.

Guessing Belfast wouldn't be listed as Ireland anyway since its not in The republic.

It's in Ireland. But you're probably right.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Cite ? Link ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Sure Cork is nothing but an industrial suburb of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

proper order

what some of these aspirsational town councils need to realise that its no good calling yourself a city when not enough people to provide street totty would want to live there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

DID YOU HEAR THAT KILKENNY?

Good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭gramlab

lucozader wrote: »
    The other villages and towns don't meet the selective criteria !

I agree

and i meant the REPUBLIC of IRELAND

Forget the Republic of Ireland

Look for the report on the Republic of Cork

Sucks to be Waterford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

stovelid wrote: »
    DID YOU HEAR THAT KILKENNY?

Good.
    ah here it's not as if we get pissed off if we're not classed as a city, Besides to the guy who says ya have to be able to get lost in a city....come on the piss for a day and find yer way back to wherever you stay. It's quite easy to get lost:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

I used to live in a small city in Korea sandwiched between two large cities. Its basically just a suburb of the 2 other cities.

The whole metropolitan area here (3 cities that are basically one large metropolitan area) has a population of about 27 million people.

People can't believe me when I tell them the entire population of Ireland (Republic) is 4 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

*Awaits livid reaction of Cork TDs*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Cionnfhaolaidh

monosharp wrote: »
    People can't believe me when I tell them the entire population of Ireland (Republic) is 4 million.

4.4 million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

dont forget Limerick City..thats got over 100,000! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

It's in Ireland. But you're probably right.

Dont be obtuse. Belfast is in the United Kingdom. They cant pick and choose what day of the week they feel like being Irish.

Is this the Ireland you speak of. Just outside Armagh. I bet this populus really feels Irish.
    http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/quirke/PICT0579.jpg

Berty wrote: »
    Dont be obtuse. Belfast is in the United Kingdom.

It's also in Ireland, as in the name of the island we live on.
    They cant pick and choose what day of the week they feel like being Irish.

They can under the GFA. ;)

Zebra3 wrote: »
    It's also in Ireland, as in the name of the island we live on.

They can under the GFA. ;)

If you have a British passport you are British.

GFA. Have you read the GFA:

abolition of the Republic of Ireland's territorial claim to Northern Ireland via the modification of Articles 2 and 3 of its constitution. As a result, the territorial claim which had subsisted since 29 December 1937 was dropped on 2 December 1999;[3]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭norwegianwood

i've gotten lost in cork many times, and i live here and all...........maybe thats something to do with me though......:D

biko wrote: »
    Link?

You want a link to the GFA.

http://www.google.ie :D

If its the link from the OP, Sorry.

Dont be obtuse. Belfast is in the United Kingdom. They cant pick and choose what day of the week they feel like being Irish.
    I'm not being obtuse at all. In fact that's a ridiculous comment to make. I never said it was in the Republic of Ireland, merely that it was in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

I don't think we can have any other cities declared in Ireland under our constitution either without acknowledgement from the Queen. :mad:

I'm not being obtuse at all. In fact that's a ridiculous comment to make. I never said it was in the Republic of Ireland, merely that it was in Ireland.

You said its In Ireland. You did not say it was on Ireland which is different altogether.

The city of Belfast is a British City and should only be recognised as such. Its not in Ireland which is the Republic of Ireland, not the land mass of Ireland.

Maybe we should revert to the name Hibernia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Link???????? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

You said its In Ireland. You did not say it was on Ireland which is different altogether.

The city of Belfast is a British City and should only be recognised as such. Its not in Ireland which is the Republic of Ireland, not the land mass of Ireland.

It's in Ireland, but owned by Britain. In the same way Dublin was in Ireland in 1840, though it was owned by Britain. How hard is this to understand?

If you have a British passport you are British.

GFA. Have you read the GFA:

abolition of the Republic of Ireland's territorial claim to Northern Ireland via the modification of Articles 2 and 3 of its constitution. As a result, the territorial claim which had subsisted since 29 December 1937 was dropped on 2 December 1999;[3]

Have you read the GFA in full? :rolleyes:

All citizens of NI are entitled to both British and Irish passports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Get away from the Belfast thing.

I want to see Cork people crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Belfast is not a British city. Britain/Great Britain = England, Scotland, Wales. Learn to UK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Cork is nothing but a jumped up village.

It's people have this sense of being better than everyone else, when that, in reality, is laughable.

It's especially hilarious the way people from Cork Town call people from Cork County "Culchies".

Lads, you heard it here, you are all Culchies.

Cork. lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭futura123

Baza210 wrote: »
    Belfast is not a British city. Britain/Great Britain = England, Scotland, Wales. Learn to UK.

ammmm hello belfast is a city in the united kingdom and is british.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

reckon this is a load of bs. Also if you consider Dublin to be Irish then surely Belfast has to be too. It has a far stronger claim given that it has a large ethnically Irish population.

Balmed Out wrote: »
    reckon this is a load of bs. Also if you consider Dublin to be Irish then surely Belfast has to be too. It has a far stronger claim given that it has a large ethnically Irish population.

Cork bitterness much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Dublin, a city.

Heh. That's cute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Lol at the dubs, big fishes in a very small pond. :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Des wrote: »
    Cork bitterness much?

???
    Me no speakee gobledeeegookee

Speaking of land masses, Britain is the land mass of England, Wales and Scotland, so how is Belfast a British city? Sorry mate, it's in the UK, not Britain (wait ... should that be in the UK or On the UK??????)

futura123 wrote: »
    Two different things. Next you'll be saying it's an English city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

Sucks to be Waterford

Waterford is not only a city (it has a cathedral) but it is also the oldest city in Ireland. All of this goes to prove that the EU has hardly any idea where Ireland is, never mind what's in it. Feck 'em:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

futura123 wrote: »

Incorrect. In strictly geographical terms Belfast is an Irish city. Also, the full title is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. The Great Britain part (i.e. British) refers to the landmass to the east of us i.e. England, Scotland, Wales, as someone above already said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Who the fcuk cares, where the link?

There is no link is there? This thread was started to have an argument about the bloody Norn Irons again wasn't it?

mike65 wrote: »
    Who the fcuk cares

Cork people.

They are so bitter.

It's part of the culture down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

Yea, where is this link?? Google turns up nothing!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Isnt Wexford part of the UK?

Thank ****. Who needs those yellow-bellys anyway.

And as for Kilkenny.... Ask anybody in Waterford :p

As for Dublin... well I always thought that we recognised Citys but the rest of the world didnt agree with how we looked at our little vilages and towns?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

LINK?????

or GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

It's pretty hard to get lost in Dublin in my opinion.

As far it being the only city well I suppose they had to pick one. I've never looked at it as much of a city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Sully wrote: »

As for Dublin... well I always thought that we recognised Citys but the rest of the world didnt agree with how we looked at our little vilages and towns?

It's relative - take Japan for example - their criteria for city status is far bigger than our own. Then take this for an example http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_David%27s. Even makes Dublin look big.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I've always seen Dublin as a bit like a grubby hobo who finds the wallet of someone rich, and spends the money on tarting himself up with trendy new clothes without bothering to shower first, and then gets wasted on a crate of Buckfast (because old habits die hard). and not one iota of consideration for what'll happen when the money runs out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Davidius wrote: »
    It's pretty hard to get lost in Dublin in my opinion.

As far it being the only city well I suppose they had to pick one. I've never looked at it as much of a city.

Exactly,unless they're looking at dublin in it's entirety. I mean, they should only count the tiny inner city, the rest is county dublin.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

So no link from the OP ?

trolling for dubin Vs. Cork and Eire Vs. UK 'debates' ?