Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Car Regs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

The cars being used by the specialised units would not necessarily be D reg or even Irish reg. On occasion these cars will be passed down to be used as DDU or unmarked for the regular units too.

I once saw an unmarked Nordy or English reg BMW on the M7 years ago when it was first opened with a uniformed mule in it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Nearly all marked and detective cars will have d reg's

Specialised units have access to thousands of false reg plates and false tax and insurance discs.

They change them often to keep "very" undercover.

Normal gardai and detectives wont know who they are either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Chief--- wrote: »
    Specialised units have access to ...............

I think thats enough to say about specialist units

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

pa990 wrote: »
    I think thats enough to say about specialist units

its not exactly outing them.no one is looking for exact regs.how would a WW reg car be registered to the depot when thats in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

TheNog wrote: »
    I once saw an unmarked Nordy or English reg BMW on the M7 years ago when it was first opened with a uniformed mule in it.
    That's only used in certain sitchyashins.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

darren254 wrote: »
    its not exactly outing them.no one is looking for exact regs.how would a WW reg car be registered to the depot when thats in dublin

they're still registered to the Chief in the depot just there actual plates aren't on them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

No proper specialist/surveillance car is registered to Garda HQ...... you'd be very surprised were they are registered to!!!!
    Everyone knows someone in a tax office etc etc... this is why they are registered to other places.
    Trust me if your getting followed by specialist unit you wont even see them. Even if they were pointed out to you wouldn't believe it.
    Now i think thats enough conversation on specialist units

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Terrontress

When a drugs unit took out some dealing scum on the M50, the Gardai were driving, amongst other vehicles, a taxi and an eircom van.

...and tilers vans, painters vans...;)

Every little helps!

No proper specialist/surveillance car is registered to Garda HQ...... you'd be very surprised were they are registered to!!!!

Actually they are

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭CLADA

Everyone knows someone in a tax office etc etc... this is why they are registered to other places.
    Trust me if your getting followed by specialist unit you wont even see them. Even if they were pointed out to you wouldn't believe it.
    Now i think thats enough conversation on specialist units

When in doubt refer to the motors forum. The "unmarked Garda Car" has been the subject of many threads on that auspicious forum.

They have established:

The unmarked Garda car is a four door vehicle usually of Ford manufacture.

It has three aerials on the roof.

And most importantly they "can spot unmarked cars a mile off".

I would like to add:

In Dublin the corners of the car are usually scraped as a result of getting out of tight parking spaces in Harcourt Sq.

It's occupants are usually portly gentlemen with wesht of ireland accents in ill fitting tweed jackets.
    In the morning these officers are easily spotted as the remains of a large irish breakfast from Gerrys on Montague St lingers on their chin or jacket collar.

One or more of the lights of the car may be faulty or damaged, can't ascertain the condition of the indicators as they are never used.

To suggest that the Garda specialist units operating covertly would use number plates on their vehicles relative to the county they are working in is ridiculous.

To think that they would disguise their vehicles as builder/plumber/taxis etc..
    or use any such means to blend in is outrageous.

I would like to reassure all posters on the motors forum and any criminals who drop in here occassionally that the Gardai aren't capable of operating covertly.
    You can rest assured and I give you my word that all unmarked cars are ford mondeos with 3 or more aerials on the roof.

Don't be listening to the young lads on this forum they're only tryin' to make ye paranoid.;)

CLADA wrote: »

I would like to reassure all posters on the motors forum and any criminals who drop in here occassionally that the Gardai aren't capable of operating covertly.
    You can rest assured and I give you my word that all unmarked cars are ford mondeos with 3 or more aerials on the roof.

Don't be listening to the young lads on this forum they're only tryin' to make ye paranoid.;)
    Don't forget, an undercover guard has to tell you, by law, he's a guard if you ask him. My friend who's brother applied for it said so. Fact.
    (By putting "Fact" after a statement, it's indisputable. Fact.)

And a Garda has to be wearing his hat to arrest you "fact"

miju wrote: »
    Actually they are

Of course they are... nod nod ;);)

You'll never see the spooks.... their everywhere :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Anyone here ever done or heard of someone registering their cars to the stations instead of their home addresses? I know its allowed but is it common?

I know loads of lads that have done it. Iv have it done myself..... long story why,, but i can tell you its well worth it.

Is it allowed though? What do management think of it?

Most members that i know that did it, registered their vehicles to the station when that website came in that would let you check any car reg online etc... lots of lads getting grief from criminals.. plus some criminals knew people in tax office, insurance companies etc etc, which made it easier for them to find out members address once they had car reg. When i registered mine i explained my situation to super and various concerns. He had no problems once i undertook that all correspondence regarding vehicle.. insurance, tax etc be sent to me at station by registered post.
    I know that some stations have an actual name on them besides "Garda Station, Store Street, Dublin" etc, this makes registering vehicle even better. Im a strong believer that in the current climate (threats to members) that all members vehicles should be registered to members respective station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Apart from extra security, what is the main reason for this, if any other?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

residential parking permit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

timmywex wrote: »
    Apart from extra security, what is the main reason for this, if any other?

None that I can think of. The security aspect is why I was asking, thinking of doing it myself and dont see why the Super would even need to be told.

I presume since its his station.... all the lads I know that did it asked permission first. Better to be safe than sorry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

maglite wrote: »
    residential parking permit?

Yes fully exploited along with fake tax discs with "Exempt" printed on them for private owned cars and complete with Easypass toll tags, steering locks, babyseats to make anyone who isn't an idiot (ie Parking warden told to STFU) know what's going on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,472 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

fake tax discs with "Exempt" printed on them for private owned cars
    Would that not blow your cover? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Some of the replies in this thread reminds me of an incident a few years back, I think it was 2003.

I was coming down through Portabello from Cathal Brugha Bks when I seen a scuffle in a side street and a guy being 'abducted' and put into a beat up old Honda Civic (white, four door and in bits).

So I rang the police, told the lady on the phone I was following the car down Syne St (spelling?) etc. I was told to be careful etc, but continued to give 'chase' :p

Passing by the Ivagh buildings at the old hospital I told the guard the car had turned right onto Kevin St.... Then, embaressed me "Oh, ermm... its just turned into Kevin St garda station"....

'Laughs from the phone ... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

And a Garda has to be wearing his hat to arrest you "fact"

If I need to piss, you have to give me your hat. Fact

If I am pissed, you have to give me a lift home. Fact

eroo wrote: »
    If I need to piss, you have to give me your hat. Fact

If I am pissed, you have to give me a lift home. Fact

Not only that. We'll give you B&B for the night!

If you speak to a Garda in arabic he has to arrest you in arabic.... Fact

هذا صحيح.
    حقيقة.

إضافة إلى الحصول على شحنة من السيد أستطيع أن أتكلم العربية.
    يا بوابة فلاش :D:D:D:D:D

إضافة إلى الحصول على شحنة من السيد أستطيع أن أتكلم العربية.
    يا بوابة فلاش :D:D:D:D:D
    Translated by google
    In addition to receiving a shipment of Mr. I can speak Arabic.
    Oh Gate Flash

If you have to go for a sh!t a Garda has to put his jacket around you..... fact
    (i have actually heard people saying this and thinking that it along with having to wear a hat when arresting you were true)
    *** read carefully, don't get these mixed up*** :D

انت قيد الاعتقال. انت ليست ملزمة أن أقول أي شيء إلا إذا كنت ترغب في ذلك ، لكن ما تقوله سوف تتخذ في الكتابة ويجوز إعطاء في الأدلة.

You'll have to translate please Bond..
    I'm one of those members that will have to let you go if you speak to me in arabic..... Fact

that same google told me that was arabic for:

get a load of mr i can talk arabic
    the flash git :)

You'll have to translate please Bond..
    I'm one of those members that will have to let you go if you speak to me in arabic..... Fact
    That is the standard Garda arrest caution. :D

Bond-007 wrote: »
    That is the standard Garda arrest caution. :D

Iv never been stationed in downtown Fallujah unfortunately, so my arabic is brutal.
    I think Fallujah is still attached to the "K" district and hasn't been affected by the new divisions changes as of yet. :D

Alright this is going way off topic, even for us

TheNog wrote: »
    Alright this is going way off topic, even for us

Guilty as charged Judge Nog :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

deadwood wrote: »
    Not only that. We'll give you B&B for the night!

AND breakfeast?:eek::pac:

eroo wrote: »
    AND breakfeast?:eek::pac:
    How do you like your egges in the morning?

Erm.... eru...sig....00 D 9165 etc...

Served with a nice crispy charge sheet.