Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Earls

• 18-12-2008 10:16am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭Sunset V

Keith Earls has made a fantastic break into the international team this season but now that the Autumns are over, the build up to six nations is on. As a passive rugby fan, who is the outstanding young talent that I should be looking out for?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

What an odd question.

Also, the 6 nations isn't for another 2 1/2 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭Sunset V

I was just wondering who is the exciting young talent coming through the ranks likely to break into the international team over the next year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Well Earls hasnt broken the international scene yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

For me it would be Pollock for Ulster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Pshan

I'd still see Earls as a newbie but another guy to look out for is Donnacha Ryan, great player with a very good attidude. He got at least one run during the AIs not sure did he gat a full game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭Timothy Bryce

Pollock, D Ryan, Niall Ronan etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Niall Ronan hasn't a hope of a full cap imo.

He wont get a sniff of the Munster 22 when Leamy and Williams are fully fit. Nice ball player but doesn't do nearly enough in the tight for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Earls needs to be given 18 months cause physically he's not quite near international standard, that missed tackle last weekend confirmed that,

since llanelli match last season i've been watching Ryan get better and better, he'll be a class act,
    Pollock will break through along with Cian Healy in the next 18 months.

My suprise selection would be Paul O'Donoghue, Leinster's academy scrum half, given Whittiker's age and Keane's ability i think the Leinster np. 9 jersey is there for O'Donoghue to take next season, he has the ability

of course O'Leary if he improves his passing will be immense.
    Sean O'Brien also has a great future ahead of him!

bamboozle wrote: »
    Earls needs to be given 18 months cause physically he's not quite near international standard, that missed tackle last weekend confirmed that,

since llanelli match last season i've been watching Ryan get better and better, he'll be a class act,
    Pollock will break through along with Cian Healy in the next 18 months.

My suprise selection would be Paul O'Donoghue, Leinster's academy scrum half, given Whittiker's age and Keane's ability i think the Leinster np. 9 jersey is there for O'Donoghue to take next season, he has the ability

of course O'Leary if he improves his passing will be immense.
    Sean O'Brien also has a great future ahead of him!

Simon Keogh also...however given the sheer abundance of back 3 players in the squad I don't see him getting a cap in the 6N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Can't get too excited about up and coming eager beaver back row forwards to be honest. Not that there's anything wrong with them and we need them but the Irish game lends itself to oversupply in that area. We're not exactly short of competent back row players.

What I really really want for Christmas is a promising fly half. We are so dependent on O'Gara it's past a joke. What happens if one of those horrid Scottish players tries to "choke" him again in Murrayfield? Who can we play at fly half? It's deeply worrying.

As for backs, what about Rob Kearney's brother. I hear he's supposed to be **** hot. And what happens to all these schools fly halves when they finish? surely one of them must be vaguely competent.

Oh and if we could get somebody, anybody, with half of the pace of Dennis Hickie we would be made up. Sadly, the paucity of fast twitch fibres in the Irish gene pool suggests a flyer like him is a once in a generation happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

What an odd question.

Also, the 6 nations isn't for another 2 1/2 months.
    You'd better tell Dec, Gert and Les they're wasting their time. They've got the squad in camp at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Sunset V wrote: »
    As a passive rugby fan, who is the outstanding young talent that I should be looking out for?
    +1 for Ryan. A future Ireland captain imo. Perhaps not the most exciting position for an armchair fan though.

Hard to beat Earls and Kearney for the fireworks atm. Mind you, BOD's flick over Staunton against wasps...

Pollock and sean obrien at leinster may be a surprise inclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

A year and a half from now I can see :

Earls starting regularly for Ireland
    Sean O'Brien starting for Ireland
    Pollock starting for Ireland
    Ferris starting regularly for Ireland
    Cave in the 22
    Ian humphries in 22 getting some game time
    Ryan on the fringes of the 22
    Ronan not near it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

SpAcEd OuT wrote: »
    A year and a half from now I can see :

Earls starting regularly for Ireland
    Sean O'Brien starting for Ireland
    Pollock starting for Ireland
    Ferris starting regularly for Ireland
    Cave in the 22
    Ian humphries in 22 getting some game time
    Ryan on the fringes of the 22
    Ronan not near it yet.
    i like your optimism for the talent to come thru...but how will pollack and o'brien both start?;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

RuggieBear wrote: »
    i like your optimism for the talent to come thru...but how will pollack and o'brien both start?;)

O'Brien is more of a 6 or an 8, imo. Pollock is closer to a 7.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

What I really really want for Christmas is a promising fly half. We are so dependent on O'Gara it's past a joke. What happens if one of those horrid Scottish players tries to "choke" him again in Murrayfield? Who can we play at fly half? It's deeply worrying.

Quite right we are screwed if we don't get proper cover for O'Gara. I haven't seen them play enough but Humphries Junior looks a very promising player for Ulster. He could well emerge as ROGs understudy over the next few years.

Apart from that Donncha Ryan and Rob Kearney along with Earls of course standout the most for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Quite right we are screwed if we don't get proper cover for O'Gara. I haven't seen them play enough but Humphries Junior looks a very promising player for Ulster. He could well emerge as ROGs understudy over the next few years.

Apart from that Donncha Ryan and Rob Kearney along with Earls of course standout the most for me.

Agreed Baby Humphs is starting to play very well and is getting a good run in a team who are improving as the season goes on and hopefully will continue to do so.The main worry is his kicking, both from hand and at goal.He needs to put a lot of work into this aspect of his game but he definitely has the talent.Also Darren Cave looks very good in the centre for Ulster and is only 21.Ferris and Pollock are both impressing in the back-row.Ryan Caldwell is a second-rower with a lot of ability but does have a temperament issue.

However in one of our two main problem areas, front row, apart from Healy there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of talented players coming through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Shan75 wrote: »

However in one of our two main problem areas, front row, apart from Healy there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of talented players coming through.

There's three guys in Munster who could make it, imo. Dave and Tim Ryan (Tim started against the AB's) and Darragh Hurley. Hurley in particular could be an amazing player, or he could be the next Des Dillon, it's his call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Most exciting players coming through who aren't established in the Irish squad yet are imo Earls, O'Brien, Cave, Pollock & Caldwell.

Ulster really have some great young players, probably the better of the emerging talent from all provinces, amazing they haven't done better - especially if they held on to the likes of Best & Bowe and had the signings they've made also.

Although I think it's a bit too early for "The New Earls" - Earls is the new O'Driscoll, just like Fitzgerald and countless more before them. But Earls is going to be a massive player for Ireland and Munster in the future, no doubt about that, great player.

well in fairness a year and half from now means this would be a squad coming in for 2010 summer tests and AIs and 2011 6n and World cup so i reckon we'll be seeing big changes to the make up of the squad by that stage

SpAcEd OuT wrote: »
    well in fairness a year and half from now means this would be a squad coming in for 2010 summer tests and AIs and 2011 6n and World cup so i reckon we'll be seeing big changes to the make up of the squad by that stage

I'd agree with that. The squad needs a massive shake up and Eddies boys who failed in 07 need to start fighting for their places.

Was slightly disapointed with Kidneys selection over the 3 recent tests, but seeding and stuff was up for grabs, but I'm confident he'll take a chance on youth, hopefully in the 6N to get some of these young guys in. The next 2 six nations and all test matches over the next 2 years mean fu*k all - the only purpose they serve is to build a sqaud of new and old and fill it with depth.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

We must atone for for all the years we haven't had a traditional 7 in the team by playing two together. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Danger_Dave

Shaun O'Brien will not play for ireland until he cements the 6/7 jersey for Leinster. No if , buts or mabyes. Im sure he will by the end of the year . Doubt he'll make it for the 6 nations.

marco_polo wrote: »
    We must atone for for all the years we haven't had a traditional 7 in the team by playing two together. :)

haha come on guys I stated in my post they both would be starting for Ireland however unlike with Earls and Ferris I didn't say starting regularly i.e they won't be on the pitch at the same time!

[Jackass] wrote: »
    I'd agree with that. The squad needs a massive shake up and Eddies boys who failed in 07 need to start fighting for their places.

Was slightly disapointed with Kidneys selection over the 3 recent tests, but seeding and stuff was up for grabs, but I'm confident he'll take a chance on youth, hopefully in the 6N to get some of these young guys in. The next 2 six nations and all test matches over the next 2 years mean fu*k all - the only purpose they serve is to build a sqaud of new and old and fill it with depth.

I'm hoping he does because right now a lot of the younger players are playing far better than their more senior, experienced and respected players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

earls is the one to watch. dedicated young fella. great in defence and unreal for attack. donnacha ryan is top notch too, niall ronan is excellent, ian humphreys is coming along albeit inconsistently, id also watch out for kearney, fitzgerald toner and heaslip...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

Glad to see someone mention Devin Toner, he is starting to put in some good performances now. Could turn out to be one of the best young locks around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

There's three guys in Munster who could make it, imo. Dave and Tim Ryan (Tim started against the AB's) and Darragh Hurley. Hurley in particular could be an amazing player, or he could be the next Des Dillon, it's his call.

I wouldn't disagree with you here.Tim Ryan played very well against AB's and Hurley definitely looks talented.It's very early to be talking about Dave Ryan .The problem is it's hard to see either of the Ryans getting much meaningful game time in the next couple of years until The Bull retires and Horan officially takes over from Dowling on the wing;).Hurley should be getting good Magner's league experience alright and as you say it's up to push himself on or resign himself to playing in the AIL.

Shan75 wrote: »
    I wouldn't disagree with you here.Tim Ryan played very well against AB's and Hurley definitely looks talented.It's very early to be talking about Dave Ryan .The problem is it's hard to see either of the Ryans getting much meaningful game time in the next couple of years until The Bull retires and Horan officially takes over from Dowling on the wing;).Hurley should be getting good Magner's league experience alright and as you say it's up to push himself on or resign himself to playing in the AIL.

surely they'd benefit from a loan spell at connacht to get some meaningful game time?
    Although i have heard Horan is considering retirement cause he hasnt been given an opportunity to fill Hickie's void...he's gonna start training for the next olympics....100m's...use his pace where it will be appreciated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

You'd better tell Dec, Gert and Les they're wasting their time. They've got the squad in camp at the moment.

Did I say the Irish squad shouldn't be training?

Simon Keogh also...however given the sheer abundance of back 3 players in the squad I don't see him getting a cap in the 6N

Seeing as he's nearly 30 I'd hardly say he's one for the future.

sm.org wrote: »
    Seeing as he's nearly 30 I'd hardly say he's one for the future.

Stranger things have happened! e.g. Andy Powell

Although I agree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭boredatwork82

The players mentioned are all potentials. Ferris is unbeleivable, and have my doubts about earls. Hasn't been electric in the big games. Hopefully I am wrong and he will grow into it.

On a note looking for promising young players, Go down to your local AIL div 1 club some saturday for a game, and you might spot some class acts.
    Over the years I saw some young playing second row for shannon...I think his name was John Hayes or something.
    A few months back Tony Buckly and Donnacha Ryan were playing for Shannon also. There is a young guy playing for buccs and connacht called John O'Brien, a very good winger who is still under 20.

There is lots of them, I can only name a few as I don't get to attend, as I coach a team myself which clashs with those matchs.

If you want to find the next big things, watch the AIL. Some very good matchs too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Sundy

The players mentioned are all potentials. Ferris is unbeleivable, and have my doubts about earls. Hasn't been electric in the big games. Hopefully I am wrong and he will grow into it.

On a note looking for promising young players, Go down to your local AIL div 1 club some saturday for a game, and you might spot some class acts.
    Over the years I saw some young playing second row for shannon...I think his name was John Hayes or something.
    A few months back Tony Buckly and Donnacha Ryan were playing for Shannon also. There is a young guy playing for buccs and connacht called John O'Brien, a very good winger who is still under 20.

There is lots of them, I can only name a few as I don't get to attend, as I coach a team myself which clashs with those matchs.

If you want to find the next big things, watch the AIL. Some very good matchs too.
    Some great players in the AIL and most of it is great to watch as well.
    Funny about buckley is that i remember seeing him come on for shannon a few years ago and he was shocking, over weight, slow, lazy and got destroy in the scrum by an clontarf front row which was getting a good kicking up until then. It amazing when a player gets his arse in gear and trains properly how much of a difference it can make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Sundy wrote: »
    Some great players in the AIL and most of it is great to watch as well.
    Funny about buckley is that i remember seeing him come on for shannon a few years ago and he was shocking, over weight, slow, lazy and got destroy in the scrum by an clontarf front row which was getting a good kicking up until then. It amazing when a player gets his arse in gear and trains properly how much of a difference it can make

i saw buckley in the ail finals day a few years back and thought he was very lazy...arriving last to rucks and then leaning on them. But he is o much beteer now it is a testement to his coaches/his changed attitude.

I think the ail can be a little misleading...mossie lawlor looks like a god in the ail and i've seen him win matches almost singlehandedly at that level but he always struck me as being a decent to average provincial player...perhaps it was a pace issue. he's quick enough at AIL but not quite at ML/HC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

I think the ail can be a little misleading...mossie lawlor looks like a god in the ail and i've seen him win matches almost singlehandedly at that level but he always struck me as being a decent to average provincial player...perhaps it was a pace issue. he's quick enough at AIL but not quite at ML/HC

Agree. Mossie looks amazing at AIL.

check out Michael Keating at Clontarf....just out of school scoring try's for fun.

Simon Crawford wins game for fun at AIL level but never made it with Leinster

As far as I know he's now plying his trade with the worlds greatest AIL superstar at Wasps.

On the other hand there are plenty of uncut diamonds in the AIL that the Enlish clubs are quick to spot, Mike Ross and Johne Murphy spring to mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

sm.org wrote: »
    As far as I know he's now plying his trade with the worlds greatest AIL superstar at Wasps.

On the other hand there are plenty of uncut diamonds in the AIL that the Enlish clubs are quick to spot, Mike Ross and Johne Murphy spring to mind.

Your chance to see the new Earls:
    Ireland under 20s v. Leinster Dev. side (Donnybrook, Monday afternoon, according to this article in Sindo).

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/struggling-in-a-mans-world-1582472.html

btw, interesting article about rugby development.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Your chance to see the new Earls:
    Ireland under 20s v. Leinster Dev. side (Donnybrook, Monday afternoon, according to this article in Sindo).

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/struggling-in-a-mans-world-1582472.html

btw, interesting article about rugby development.

Aye was reading it this morning and i think Clarke hit the nail on the head with regards to the current skill level and experience. Seemed like a decent guy who if given more powers could at least attempt to sort the Irish setup from being a unskilled lot into at least equal to the other home nations in a couple of years before taking it one level further. Still as i said in the Italian thread that it ll all come to nothing if the ML does continue threw the international window.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Strange one for ye lads.. was in the barber's saturday afternoon and he had RTÉ 1 on, Con something or other was presenting a sports show, he was interviewing John O'Shea from the charity Goal, he was saying he thinks Luke Fitz should be the man in waiting for the number 10 jersey as Rog couldn't pass to save his life. Now leaving out the Rog part of the equation - Fitz at 10 - can he kick ? has he played there before ? or was O'Shea on too much saturday afternoon egg nog ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Junior wrote: »
    Strange one for ye lads.. was in the barber's saturday afternoon and he had RTÉ 1 on, Con something or other was presenting a sports show, he was interviewing John O'Shea from the charity Goal, he was saying he thinks Luke Fitz should be the man in waiting for the number 10 jersey as Rog couldn't pass to save his life. Now leaving out the Rog part of the equation - Fitz at 10 - can he kick ? has he played there before ? or was O'Shea on too much saturday afternoon egg nog ?

Judging by his passing during the home game against Castre he needs to work more on his passing as he had feet for hands for that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,967 ✭✭✭✭phog

Junior wrote: »

The last prediction I heard from O'Shea was that Wexford would win the 2008 All Irleand football final, so I wouldn't take much stock on his views BUT if Fitz is the man to take over then I've no bother, my view is if there's a better player out there for a position then he should be in that position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

There a line up for the squad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭John_C

Luke is still very young. Let him find his feet at 12 for a season before moving him again.

If they persist with him at 12,then the skillset should be translatable to 10 with some success.

Personally I would be in favour as any other 10's we have look like they will be ok,but he could be a very very good player.

I would prefer a talented 12 playing 10,than an ordinary 10.Luke McAlister is an example.

Fitzgerald can't play 10.

The problem with a lot of these players is their versatility, they never get to cement a position. Luke should be an out and out wing imo (or even a 13 - one or the other - but not a 12). Kearney an out and out FB. Earls an out and out Centre. But they keep filling gaps in teams and it's not helping imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Who going to kick our conversaions with Fitz at 12? Sticking him at 10 would be an awful decision.

Kearney and odriscoll can kick,im sure a few others can aswell.

In the junior world cup when paddy wallace played 10,Bod kicked all the conversions.Why is it with ireland we think the 10 always has to kick.

How do you know it would be awful if you havent seen him play there?