Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Government giving grants to unemployed to get into Taxi business...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

So hair brained, theres fellas fighting just to fit onto the ranks in town at the moment......too many taxis as any dog in the street knows ....sigh.....

Government.....shower of stutterin gobsheens !!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Just wondering what our resident taxi drivers make of this development...

They'll probably start whining like spoilt children that they didn't get any free money.

And I'll laugh my ass off if they try saying that new taxi drivers are any less able to do exactly the same job to the same mediocre standard as they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Unbelieveable. Such retards. Possibly the worst idea I've ever heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭therewillbe

Another "Great" IDEA ! DOAH...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

One assumes that this will not be met with open arms by the good taxi folk of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I have a great business idea to start up a cat throwing contest in my local pub, I think it would catch on better than a Poker night, I wonder would they give me a grant to get off the ground??? :confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

is that not simply a blanket grant, and somebody is just stirring to say it applies specifically to taxis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

Darragh29 wrote: »
    Just wondering what our resident taxi drivers make of this development...

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/jobless--receiving-grants-to-become-taxi-drivers-1578862.html

I didn't know whether to laugh or cry when I read this, it sounds like the most hairbrained response to an unemployment problem I've ever heard.
    its being going on for quite some time in the form of the B.T.W scheme and has been highlighted by taxi drivers here on boards .
    the B.TW allowance allows the taxi operator to hold onto his FULL social welfare payments for year one and then on a sliding scale for the next three years [rent allowance ,medical card , clothing ,and every other ]
    plus they were giving grants to set up and an accountant for the first year .
    this stupid loophole has to be plugged . how would you feel if the person you work with was getting all these benefits .
    so people
    that taxi you get home tonight "think about it "
    are you paying on the double ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

is that not simply a blanket grant, and somebody is just stirring to say it applies specifically to taxis.

Blanket ban or not, the pure idea of giving someone a grant to get into the taxi industry when people who are already in it are spending hours on a rank just to get a 10 Euro fare and the government are talking a lot about upskilling the workforce, is just dumb...

Might actually be able to get a taxi home at night from town this Christmas. Good game.

glad to see that the penny has finally dropped with some people
    btw i did,nt click on the link before i posted .but it said everything that the GENUINE drivers have known for the last two or more years

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Might actually be able to get a taxi home at night from town this Christmas. Good game.
    typical response
    you might get that taxi BUT will you be taken on a ride that will cost way over what you should have paid .
    plus is the driver claiming your TAX back in social welfare
    off you trot and get "micky monk"
    f#ck what i pay im getting home :rolleyes:

you might get that taxi BUT will you be taken on a ride that will cost way over what you should have paid .

I remember years ago when then were queues down Dame Street and it could take an hour or more of queuing to get a taxi home around the Christmas season.
    Fecken taxi drivers had a business model protected by the limited numbers and guaranteed income.

Deregulation was the best thing in the interests of the public and finally the supply versus demand imbalance is see-sawing until it finds a natural sustainable balance. Deal with it, every other business does.

And I've love to know what your definition of a GENUINE driver is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

One who complains about deregulation, i'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

1) Fares have been increased to match petrol prices at their highest. Petrol prices are plummeting, taxi prices are the same.

2) Driving a taxi does not warrant a large income. In most countries it is a poorly paid job. It should be the same here.

3) Yes, if I walk into Dublin City now, I will see a queue of taxi's, but at peak times I will still find it difficult to get a taxi.

I think its a great idea. Larger taxi companies simialar to those you see in New York, Dubai etc should be encouraged. Taxis should be generic with a plastic barrier between the customer and the driver so the customer doesnt have to listen to the taxi drivers ****e.

In short, a taxi service should be cheap. To keep costs down the job should be given to the unskilled work force, prices should be increased and decreased according to inflation and the cost of fuel.

Any moron could drive a taxi, the only skill that was involved was knowing street addresses..... Now you can give a give a give a Garmin....

engrish? wrote: »
    To keep costs down the job should be given to the unskilled work force

Taxi drivers are already an unskilled work force.

True, and they should be recognised as such and paid accordingly.

typical response
    Yeah, because people(i.e. the people who USE taxis) are sick of taxi drivers and their ****.
    What? Why's that then? I didn't know the new taxis had different rates..
    plus is the driver claiming your TAX back in social welfare
    Ok...
    off you trot and get "micky monk"
    f#ck what i pay im getting home :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Taxi driver told me last night he's never seen Dublin so quiet at christmas. Don't see the point in this.

*awaits the nigerians scamming grants thread*

Yeah, they should use the money to educate and rehabilitate the existing taxi drivers first.

Maybe install bigger side and rear view mirrors to encourage them to look out for other road users.

judgeing from the response to this thread [usual "i hate taxi drivers brigade ,unskilled rabble ,blah ,blah blah ] heard it all before
    if i was to take this as a straw poll of the general public
    basically you could,nt give a flying f##k that this loophole exists and some taxi drivers are exploiting it out of YOUR pockets
    as long as ye can come out of the pub,nightclub and theres a taxi waiting by the door .

Taxi driver told me last night he's never seen Dublin so quiet at christmas. Don't see the point in this.

*awaits the nigerians scamming grants thread*
    there no scamming about it
    its a loophole thats being exploited [and seen as you brought it up ]
    why do you think alot of nigerians are getting into the business ;)

Taxi drivers have shown nothing but contempt for the public in the past.
    If they had their way the business would still be regulated with limited numbers of plates.

So don't come here crying that more taxi's are hitting the roads and trying to get sympathy by using the "they're stealing our tax money" argument.

How much of the public's tax money was handed out in vast amounts during the deregulation period ? €80k per plate ? I don't know, but it sure was a hell of a lot more than a measy €1k.

basically you could,nt give a flying f##k

almost right..... I do give a f##k.

I give a f##k that for a short journey I have to pay c€10.
    I give a f##k that to come home from town to Dun Laoghaire costs €25 - €30
    I give a f##k that there arent enough taxis when I need them.

I don't give a f##k about the concerns of taxi drivers. I'm sorry, I'm sure there are many with families to feed but so do I. I shouldnt have to pay as much to someone to bring me from a to b.

Anyway I'm repeating myself, I have already made my point above.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

Do taxi drivers get grants for carrying drugs/firearms around the city? prob look for it as well, wasters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

I have absolutely no empathy for Taxi Drivers.

They had it far too easy for far too long.

a GENUINE DRIVER is the guy/gal whos going to take you to your destination in a clean decent taxi and who knows where you are going without trying to rip the passenger off .
    as to complaining about deregulation let me just point out that theres over 17000 drivers out there who would,nt have got a taxi plate without dereg so whos complaining ??

engrish? wrote: »
    1) Fares have been increased to match petrol prices at their highest. Petrol prices are plummeting, taxi prices are the same.

2) Driving a taxi does not warrant a large income. In most countries it is a poorly paid job. It should be the same here.

3) Yes, if I walk into Dublin City now, I will see a queue of taxi's, but at peak times I will still find it difficult to get a taxi.

I think its a great idea. Larger taxi companies simialar to those you see in New York, Dubai etc should be encouraged. Taxis should be generic with a plastic barrier between the customer and the driver so the customer doesnt have to listen to the taxi drivers ****e.

In short, a taxi service should be cheap. To keep costs down the job should be given to the unskilled work force, prices should be increased and decreased according to inflation and the cost of fuel.

Any moron could drive a taxi, the only skill that was involved was knowing street addresses..... Now you can give a give a give a Garmin....

Brilliant!!!!!!

WAHOOOO all the i hate taxi drivers are coming out of the wood work now:D
    as ive said before "if yous feel such contempt for taxi driver then why do yous use them "? pardon the pun
    vote with your feet :D or better still use the bus
    wait to see what fare rises their going to come out with next year

a GENUINE DRIVER is the guy/gal whos going to take you to your destination in a clean decent taxi and who knows where you are going without trying to rip the passenger off .

The vast majority of Irish people are genuine, there's genuine shop assistants, genuine doctors, genuine teachers.

Since you are emphasizing "GENUINE DRIVERS", that seems to imply that the majority of taxi drivers are robbing scumbags with filthy cars ?
    let me just point out that theres over 17000 drivers out there who would,nt have got a taxi plate without dereg so whos complaining ??

Which one are you ?

a) The pre-deregulation driver, who got huge compensation even though you are basically self-employed and took a business risk.

b) A deregulated driver who got in, and is now whining bitterly cos other people also got in and the government didn't close the door behind you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The day came when there are too many taxis. Who'd have thunk it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭hottstuff

Oh the poor ol' taxi driver.
    When did it all go wrong.

I think this is a great idea, even though i don't use them at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

So the government is encouraging people to work.

Where's the problem?

That vast majority of Irish people are genuine, there's genuine shop assistants, genuine doctors, genuine teachers.

Since you are emphasizing "GENUINE DRIVERS", that seems to imply that the majority of them are robbing scumbags with filthy cars ?
    theres alot of drivers who are robbing scumbags and whos fault is it?
    this government for not having proper vetting of protental new entrants to the business

Which one are you ?

a) The pre-deregulation driver, who got huge compensation even though you are basically self-employed and took a business risk.

b) A deregulated driver who got in, and is now whining bitterly cos other people also got in and the government didn't close the door behind you ?
    as far as i know the only people who got compensation were the guys who had paid 80k up for their plate and [id have to root it out ]but the max paid in compensation was around 12k
    so not the hugh amounts that you say
    as to the post dereg drivers
    it would have been a right fool who thought that by buying a taxi plate post dereg that the door was going to be closed and a nice little cartel could be formed all over again .
    this thread started by the op pointing to an artical in the indo that a loophole was being exploited and that the irish tax payer was footing the bill .but the usual happened
    "i hate taxi drivers
    "unskilled scum "
    "blah fu##in blah"
    its eight years ago that dereg happened and the whole thing has been fubared by this government
    can yous not get it into your heads that the majority of drivers out there want to provide a decent service
    dont know why im even trying here :(

hottstuff wrote: »
    Oh the poor ol' taxi driver.
    When did it all go wrong.

I think this is a great idea, even though i don't use them at all.
    so you dont use taxis
    but you are still paying some taxi drivers weekly social welfare

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Well it'll keep the ****ers in breakfast rolls for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

So the government is encouraging people to work.

Where's the problem?

Exactly.
    The back to work scheme has been in existence for well over a decade. I know a few people who availed of it to get off the dole and into gainful employment, where they remained. It encouraged employers to take them on too as they had reduced PRSI contributions and other benefits. It's inaccurate to say that people keep their full payments...IIRC it was 75% for the first year, then 50, then 25. These were people that probably would have languished on the dole for those 3 years, and probably more, anyhow...instead they were in employment and paying tax (allowance was exempt)...how is this a bad thing?
    As for taxis, as others have mentioned if the supply is oversaturated then it will level off...seems to me like those already in the industry are whining about the added competition. Why should your "industry" be protected? No-one elses' is (unless you're a public service employee :p )

oh and just to get back to the topic of this thread .
    did yous know that after the four years of social welfare runs out
    johnny the taxi driver changes the name on the taxi plate [usually to another family member whos getting in on the loophole ] goes back to the social and tells them that the taxi biz did,nt work out
    signs back on and works the taxi at night

can yous not get it into your heads that the majority of drivers out there want to provide a decent service

Really ?
    So how many of them will be working on christmas day or New Years Eve?
    did yous know that after the four years of social welfare runs out
    johnny the taxi driver changes the name on the taxi plate [usually to another family member whos getting in on the loophole ] goes back to the social and tells them that the taxi biz did,nt work out
    signs back on and works the taxi at night

So the €1000 grant should really be ploughed into social welfare and tax inspectors then ?

Maybe go over every taxi drivers accounts ?
    Check that they declared all tips as taxable income... reduce their allowance on vehicle depreciation etc ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭hotshots85

LONG LIVE THE REAL TAXI DRIVERS !!!

BURN THE SCUM ONES

ARRRRIIBBBAA AAARRRIIBBBAAA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭hottstuff

so you dont use taxis
    but you are still paying some taxi drivers weekly social welfare

What do you suggest , give up work and sit in my car all day long complaining?

Really ?
    So how many of them will be working on christmas day or New Years Eve?

So the €1000 grant should really be ploughed into social welfare and tax inspectors then ?

Maybe go over every taxi drivers accounts ?
    Check that they declared all tips as taxable income... reduce their allowance on vehicle depreciation etc ?
    well i for one will be working new years eve .the only day/night im off over the christmas is christmas day
    but according to some i should be sitting outside their front door at their beck and call and charge then 2e down to the mates

ahh i was waiting for that old chestnut "yous taxi drivers dont pay the right tax yada yada yada ":D whats this 1000e grant thing?
    and yes you are right
    there should be more social welfare /tax inspectors

hotshots85 wrote: »

BURN THE SCUM ONES

bit harsh man

hottstuff wrote: »
    What do you suggest , give up work and sit in my car all day long complaining?
    plus sign up to the B.T.W loophole. get your social
    dont pay any tax
    taxi driving is,nt work its a piece of piss
    what are you doing in that job of yours ??
    join us taxi drivers
    its money for old rope :D

:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(:(

hotshots85 wrote: »

BURN THE SCUM ONES

bloody mexicans :D

You my friend are a racist... I will have none of that in the AH ...

Two week ban from today. Sorry to do it over christams but can't stand for remarks against our mexican brethran.

See you in two weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

I remember years ago when then were queues down Dame Street and it could take an hour or more of queuing to get a taxi home around the Christmas season.
    Fecken taxi drivers had a business model protected by the limited numbers and guaranteed income.

Deregulation was the best thing in the interests of the public and finally the supply versus demand imbalance is see-sawing until it finds a natural sustainable balance. Deal with it, every other business does.

Ah jeeze Granda and what did you do in the war....

Every thread about taxis someone comes in and says before dereg it took me x hours to get a taxi, well listen and listen good, dereg happened and for the most part was a good idea, but if it had been handled properly would not see the taxi industry ( and it is an industry ) in such a mess as it is now. Many of the taxi drivers on the roads now are post dereg drivers and are suffering the mess foisted on them by a shortsighted government that wanted a quick fix to the lack of public transport infrastructure, the situation is not sustainable and your petty misgivings and moans about queuing in the cold back in 1996/7 or whenever are old hat and about as much use in a qualified debate as a one legged man in an ass kicking contest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭Spook_ie

So seeing as I'm mainly in favour of deregulation, but with qualified exceptions, does that make me a non genuine taxi driver?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

I'm a taxi driver, and i like my job i paid in excess of 10K to get into the business (not complaining stating a fact) i dont moan about the job because its what i choose to do, yes there are the undesireable elements to the job, people getting sick, doing drugs and mating on my back seats. But its all par of the course.

People who get into my taxi get respect as soon as they get into my cab till they get out, you give respect and you get it. Some people get in and think they own your sole and that i'm the monkey and thier the organ grinder.

To those who have had a bad experence in taxi's or by taxi drivers, can you hand on heart say you've never had a bad experence by, bus drivers, waiting staff??

Everybody has thier story to tell, and to those who have had a bad taxi journey, call the Gardai or Taxi Regulators office.

But when your gibbering drunk and cant see let talk and a taxi driver brings you home, then the next your calling him every name under the sun a scumbag f**king w****r c**t dirtbag for having to wait 5 mins to get a taxi get out and look in the mirror, coz you are a hippocrite, suits ya to put them down every minuite and then wanting thier services the next.

It dont work like that. I love my job even if i have to drive some arseholes around funny i think theres a few on here. Funny life eh?:)