Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PROP BET - POKER STORY

• 17-12-2008 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭

In light of Tony Strewelpeters superb short story...

Ok, we have a triathlon prop bet, I think we should start a literary prop bet. We have enough writers here who can drum up a short story., dark horse Tony (Strewelpeter) , the legendary El Stuntman , Hotspur, LL (bit of a writer) Kayroo (creative) and a few more. If you want to enter you put yer name forward.
    It should be great craic I'd say. Who cares really who wins apart from the monies...

50 quid a man, winner takes all, we get someone to be escrow, the stories are written and then the forum votes on them. The stories must be Poker related and the writers of each story should remain a mystery until the voting is finished. Votes are also hidden.....

Who will take this on ? who will take it upon themselves to be escrow, to accept entries and to create the poll.

Test Poll - Can you see the results 14 votes

Yes
    0%
    Meh
    100%
    AdMMMpgodkinKevIRLRoadSweeperHitchhiker's Guide to...jtsuitedOilBeefHooked2El StuntmanJP PokermenoscemoGrafterthechamp87Conbrorobinblinds 14 votes

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Hidden vote doohickies are not the norm. I believe CuLT had to manufacture the poll using the blood of a crimean hamster fish, and those are very rare and hard to source. I'm sure we can ask about it though, but I don't think he would want to get involved in creating polls for every Tom, Dick and Harry. Also, potentially a load of money being up for grabs could lead to vote rigging of some sort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,720 ✭✭✭El Stuntman

Meh
    my artistic sensibilities are offended by the idea of soiling my art with filthy lucre

my gambling sensibilities on the other hand...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

5starpool wrote: »
    Hidden vote doohickies are not the norm. I believe CuLT had to manufacture the poll using the blood of a crimean hamster fish, and those are very rare and hard to source. I'm sure we can ask about it though, but I don't think he would want to get involved in creating polls for every Tom, Dick and Harry. Also, potentially a load of money being up for grabs could lead to vote rigging of some sort.

ah, should be ok if you don't let Kelly enter

I can just imagine sickpuppys entry to this. Here is a possible sneak preview:

aND I TOLD te cnut THAT IF HE DID THAT I'd giv him a shoe up the hole. I NEVER SAW AFUKER AS FAT AS THAT FUKER FOLD so fsat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

BAH..ARSEBUSCUITS...

thought there would be some loooove for this...

I'm not saying there is no love for the idea, but there needs to be a bit of thought put into it I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Lao Lao

I'll give it a go. Agree that either the poll should either be hidden or entrants PM the escrow their story and only the escrow knows who wrote what, keeps the vote secret and no need to harm a crimean hamster fish which are apparently an endangered species

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

I found an apt place for you guys to compete.

http://www.fishpublishing.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Meh
    Sounds like you just want a bit of extra spending money this Christmas Willie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I can't figure out if this is a level or not, I thought almost all polls had the voters hidden

edit: oh you mean the numbers of votes for each story. in that case maybe someone could just collect them by PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Meh
    He's refering to the totals, so we wouldn't know how what story is in the lead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

How about a public vote where only poker forum posters with a certain post count and join date. Any vote cast by any one who doesnt meet the criteria there vote is disregarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

tipp86 wrote: »
    How about a public vote where only poker forum posters with a certain post count and join date. Any vote cast by any one who doesnt meet the criteria there vote is disregarded.

That will be a tough one to set the certain counts and date as some of us have been here a while but dont post loads and would still like to vote etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,725 ✭✭✭oleras

tipp86 wrote: »

Good idea, March 07 should be the cut off....:)

That will be a tough one to set the certain counts and date as some of us have been here a while but dont post loads and would still like to vote etc..

Well i think you would easily qualify any way! But i suppose it could be at whoever takes the jobs discretion. Really it would be just to avoid new accounts been set up or a lot of under 50 posts voting etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Meh
    Pretty easy. Set up a gmail email address for the purpose of the competition. People email in their selection and include their username.

The person running the comp can verify that the votes are genuine via this email box

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

Id be up for this, although I would almost certainly lose

AdMMM wrote: »
    Sounds like you just want a bit of extra spending money this Christmas Willie!

more like losing me spending monies but I reckon out of us all a cracker could emerge, I'm sure there are dark horse posters here who can write with as much aplomb as stunty & hotspur, in fact I know there are

Meh
    you need to set a few rules e.g.

1. must be somehow poker-related

2. certain number of words max (10,000?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

KevIRL wrote: »
    Pretty easy. Set up a gmail email address for the purpose of the competition. People email in their selection and include their username.

The person running the comp can verify that the votes are genuine via this email box

wouldn't this be three times as complicated and about half as effective as collecting them by PM?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

Meh
    I'll do this for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Go vote and see if I've got it... hopefully the results will be hidden apart from Poker mods and the thread starter... apparently

If it worked the results should become visible in 2 days time when the poll is set to close

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

Meh
    just collect them by PM, post them numbered 1 to x. and vote.

So just to be clear the only people that should be able to see the current votes are Yuletired (thread starter), the Poker mods and admins (I presume smods as well, but it doesn't say anything about them).

Amirite??

I didn't know that was a general option now in polls. Cheers Ste. Looks like the crimean hamster fish population will be able to replenish in peace.

Apparently so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭HIVeindhoven

I'll do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭spoofingjam

nicnicnic wrote: »
    ah, should be ok if you don't let Kelly enter

LOL.....nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

i'd be on for it - ez $$ imo you shower of illiterate fuks

Ste05 wrote: »
    So just to be clear the only people that should be able to see the current votes are Yuletired (thread starter), the Poker mods and admins (I presume smods as well, but it doesn't say anything about them).

Amirite??

hey I don't need to see anything, I just wanna be in it for the craic.

whoever takes ownership sees all plus mods Im presuming.....I wuz just throwing the idea up there. Stwelpeter was the inspiration..
    feel free to develop the idea. i hope it takes off as it has potential to be a classic.....

10k words is a little too much imo......5k max, they iz called short stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭The Snapper

I vote for yuletired.

So what, online booker is rigged :eek:

10k words think ive something like that for after christmas in college that will never be done never mind this . Best of luck anyone who does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Meh
    Id be up for this, although I would almost certainly lose

i'm in this camp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

yeah i wouldnt mind doing this im not worried about losing as i have a need to find activities that utilise the time i should be spending doing my thesis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

Meh
    you need to set a few rules e.g.

1. must be somehow poker-related

2. certain number of words max (10,000?)

If we get 10k words per person then we'd have the guts of a good book with about 10 entrants.

We should aim to get 30 entrants and then select the best 15 - and then we publish it as an Irish poker book [as per the BBV thread discussion today]. That would mean we'd have to all focus our stories on the Irish poker scene in some manner.

How excellent would that be?!

It is, btw, ridiculously easy to get a book published if there is some hint of a captive audience, so that shouldn't be a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

do stories need to be fact or fiction or can they be a little of both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Sure fire way to get Johnny Hughes back spamming boards imo :)

I would enjoy reading some such stuff. 10k seems like a few thousand too many without getting a degree at the end of it, maybe have a generous min-max range, also I would hate to think that someone would not do it because €50 was a bit too much since the money is an excuse to do it rather than its raison d'etre.

I thought the boards photography book was an excellent idea and it got me thinking about how there is probably sufficient expertise / talent in various areas on boards for further publishing. Not that I think poker fiction from us lot counts, but certainly a poker book might be feasible, all we would need would be the spirit of Flipper's follow through :)

I'm up for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I'd look forward to reading the entries. Should be good craic but i agree with Hotspur about the €50. This would put a lot of people off i'd imagine becuse why would someone like myself pay €50 to compete against Hotspur, LL, Stunty etc when i might aswel just rip it up and throw it in the bin.

$30 double up IMO...if you get 12 entries, the top 6 get $60 just for a little interest but not to make money the overriding factor in who chooses to write a piece.

Just for reference, my 5k post was 4660 words long so for anyone that read it, it will give a rough idea of how long a 5000 word story is.

So is anyone gonna run this thing??

Looks like we don't have to many volunteers. I was himming and hawing about entering, but I know I probably won't get around to it, so if y'all want I'll run it.

If we were to set a time limit, people could PM me their entries by that date and then on that day I'd post any that have arrived (without accreditation), and run a hidden public Poll (like this one, so we can see who voted for who, in the event of any calls of shenanigans), anyone that misses the date would forfeit their bet.

I could act as escrow if needed too, but as I'm currently already acting as escrow on the STT prop bet, maybe it'd be better to wait until after that completes or if someone else wants to take the escrow job to have 2 indo people involved.

Might as well try and see if this could be a runner cos it'd be great to see it get off the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

I don't think the bet should be a big issue in this. I'd be inclined to put a few quid in the pot just to make it interesting but if we get 20 peeps at $30 a head it would be acceptable. The main thing would be beating the rest of you fools!!

Whatever way its decided to go I'm in.

Thanks to Ste for volunteering to run the show.

3k to 10k on the number of words front imo. Lets not limit the creativity!

In terms of the book once we have the short stories sorted we can get a separate poem comp going and then we'll have a nice book ready to go.

We could even stick in a few photoshop offerings!! If nothing else it would be a lol finished product!! :D

Meh
    I'm in, what are the final ground rules?

as far as I'm aware so far we have:

(a) 3k min words, 10k max (almost a novella!)

(b) must be poker-related (does it have to be Irish poker?)

(c)must be completed by some date or other (I'd suggest end Jan just to keep some momentum in this thing - anyone that can't knock out 10k words by then is in trouble anyway)

(d) some monies involved ($30, €50 mentioned). Personally I'd like to see the winnah donate theirs to the charity of their choice.

(e) some kind of a poll to choose winners, voting limited to poker forumites of reasonable standing

The only other thing I'd say is that it might be an idea to set up a blog to post the stories on. Mainly because you can't say fcuk, sh!t or c@nt on Boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

The only other thing I'd say is that it might be an idea to set up a blog to post the stories on. Mainly because you can't say fcuk, sh!t or c@nt on Boards!

"Hey Pa, I fcuking shot the cant in the face"

easy...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ocallagh

If this gets more than 5 entrants it won't work. Anything over that and we'd need some seriously dedicated judges to dish out the votes. If for example we got 20 entrants people will just pick their favourite 2 or 3 posters and decide from them

I think a better way to judge it is by asking people to sign up for judging. Each judge reads 3 or 4 which are assigned to the judge in such a way that all storied are distributed evenly. The judge then awards a score out of 10 for the stories assigned to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

hotspur wrote: »
    Sure fire way to get Johnny Hughes back spamming boards imo :)

I would enjoy reading some such stuff. 10k seems like a few thousand too many without getting a degree at the end of it, maybe have a generous min-max range, also I would hate to think that someone would not do it because €50 was a bit too much since the money is an excuse to do it rather than its raison d'etre.

I thought the boards photography book was an excellent idea and it got me thinking about how there is probably sufficient expertise / talent in various areas on boards for further publishing. Not that I think poker fiction from us lot counts, but certainly a poker book might be feasible, all we would need would be the spirit of Flipper's follow through :)

I'm up for this.

Hotspur for Taoiseach.

I'm loving this idea. A boards poker book would easily sell a minimum of a couple of hundred copies with the right efforts.

Suggest that anybody who wants to, pledges to the "prize pool" though rather than requiring all competitors to ante up. I pledge €50.

Not without stipulations though - the winner has to donate at least half to their chosen charity.

Also, if the competition went as well as I imagine it could - then perhaps a book could be looked into - therefore all contributors would have to give up any rights to any royalties - because I think they should go to charity too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Conbro wrote: »
    I'll do this for the craic
    Write about Walter Mitty? There is no way you will ever complete this you are deluding your self.

ocallagh wrote: »
    If this gets more than 5 entrants it won't work. Anything over that and we'd need some seriously dedicated judges to dish out the votes. If for example we got 20 entrants people will just pick their favourite 2 or 3 posters and decide from them

I think a better way to judge it is by asking people to sign up for judging. Each judge reads 3 or 4 which are assigned to the judge in such a way that all storied are distributed evenly. The judge then awards a score out of 10 for the stories assigned to them
    The people wouldn't see who wrote each piece though so it would be up to them to decide who/what to read.
    +1 on the judges though, I'd do that. I won't be entering.

Stories would be anonymous until after voting finished. I'd hope we could rely on some sort of honour system preventing people from skewing the voting, and anyone caught would be disqualified imo. The more money is a factor the more likely this is to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

Stuntman's already written the best poker short story ever on his now sadly defunct blog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

+1 on the judges though, I'd do that. I won't be entering.

+1 to judge here too. Not sure what the required qualifications are though.
    Stories would be anonymous until after voting finished. I'd hope we could rely on some sort of honour system preventing people from skewing the voting, and anyone caught would be disqualified imo. The more money is a factor the more likely this is to happen.

Perhaps all winnings to the winners chosen charity?
    doke wrote: »
    Stuntman's already written the best poker short story ever on his now sadly defunct blog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Hawk Eye

Stories would be anonymous until after voting finished.

I think most regulars here would be able to spot the author quickly though with some of the unique writing styles. For example Yuletired will have 3 dots after every sentence and hotspur will start throwing around words I've never seen or heard of.
    I really like this idea though, wont be entering myself but it'd be great to have a collection of short stories from some of the protagonists of this forum.