Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Bike for the mountains

• 17-12-2008 1:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭

I'm planning to do the Wicklow 200 and hopefully a race in the alps in the summer and have just over a grand to spend on a nem bike.

Given the sterling situation, Wiggle would appear to be a good place to shop, but whish bike would suit.

I've read lots of reviews, all of which are positve and just can't make up my mind.

Thanks in advance,

eoin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭barrabus

how much you got roughly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭hungry4k

barrabus wrote: »
    how much you got roughly?

Thanks just over €1000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

The Focus Cayo 2008 is possibly best bang for the buck, but only available in XS, so unless you've ducks disease you're out of luck. The '09 is a lower spec (105 vs Ultegra on the '08), and is more expensive at 1150.

The best value at the moment are Planet X's unbuilt SL Pro Carbon. You have to put it together yourself, but for 1010euro you get a great carbon frame, and mostly Dura Ace components. A steal at that price!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

hungry4k wrote: »

I'm planning to do the Wicklow 200 and hopefully a race in the alps in the summer and have just over a grand to spend on a nem bike.

Given the sterling situation, Wiggle would appear to be a good place to shop, but whish bike would suit.

I've read lots of reviews, all of which are positve and just can't make up my mind.

Thanks in advance,

eoin

Hey if you're not totally set on buying new then I'm selling my Surly Cross Check over on adverts.ie

http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=84930

Open to offers on that price too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭hungry4k

thanks for replys.

ye i wanted the 2008 cayo but i need 54 cm which is sold out!

the planet x looks good but not as customer friendly.
    is the 2009 cayo a lot worse than 2008 and what about the kiron scandium

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

The Focus Cayo 2008 is possibly best bang for the buck, but only available in XS, so unless you've ducks disease you're out of luck. The '09 is a lower spec (105 vs Ultegra on the '08), and is more expensive at 1150.

The best value at the moment are Planet X's unbuilt SL Pro Carbon. You have to put it together yourself, but for 1010euro you get a great carbon frame, and mostly Dura Ace components. A steal at that price!

I recently built one of these for a friend.

The shifters and front and rech mech are Dura Ace - thats it.

Brakes are cheepo crap. BB and cranks are entry level. Wheels are also very entry level.

Realistically €1000 does not get you a race bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭NeilMcEoigheann

i have a trek 1.5 2008 and it ripped in the alps 15000 metres of climbing comfort in a week it was class.2997815266_e60447d7c7_b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

i have a trek 1.5 2008 and it ripped in the alps 15000 metres of climbing comfort in a week it was class.

I wish to nominate NeilMcEoigheann for the Boards Award in the Fred categorie :pac:

This post was left by the automated FredWatch boards replying machine.
    ---

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

tunney wrote: »
    Realistically €1000 does not get you a race bike.
    Gets you something you will do the W200 on though and certainly something you can start racing on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I wish to nominate NeilMcEoigheann for the Boards Award in the Fred categorie :pac:

---

Oh er, what clinched it?

---
    wait what is this you speak of, i won a magic kit in college today,
    but seriously fred?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

wait what is this you speak of, i won a magic kit in college today,
    but seriously fred?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fred_(bicycling)

hey thats a bit unfair. i cycle everyday. i ride both road and mtb. and while i don't race i cycle purely for enjoyment, the reason i don't race is it clashed with my running which i compete at international level, an adverage week for me covers 200+ km, and i don't have the most expensive kit, infact i bought most of my stuff in sale or second hand.
    and if its a culture and understanding of bike i recently restored and painted and now regularly ride my new bike, oh well maybe i'll see some of you guys out on your bikes and we'll talk fred....

hey thats a bit unfair. i cycle everyday. i ride both road and mtb. and while i don't race i cycle purely for enjoyment, the reason i don't race is it clashed with my running which i compete at international level, an adverage week for me covers 200+ km, and i don't have the most expensive kit, infact i bought most of my stuff in sale or second hand.
    and if its a culture and understanding of bike i recently restored and painted and now regularly ride my new bike, oh well maybe i'll see some of you guys out on your bikes and we'll talk fred....

We're all freds on here mate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Have you a bike at the moment? If so (or if your not planning on training over next few weeks) you may be aswell off waiting and getting a 08/07 cheaper in the new year. Wiggle are good alright but check out CRC and Evans (I got a great deal on my 06 Bianchi from Evans in 07)

Ps - Fred or no Fred Neil I'm mad jealous of that pic...looks fab

cheers it was a great trip. and the reason for the outburst was that i really hate what i have now learned is called "being a fred" aka rich guys on expensive bikes they don't deserve. its just one of the things that annoys me so much dunno why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

cheers it was a great trip. and the reason for the outburst was that i really hate what i have now learned is called "being a fred" aka rich guys on expensive bikes they don't deserve. its just one of the things that annoys me so much dunno why.

deserve?

Sean_K wrote: »
    deserve?

Need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Mmmmm looks like the Fred radar needs calibrated again!!!

appologies ... just that, the trek and CSC kit ... sorry :(
    I have a trek as well ... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

You need to get your outside pedal down, to 6 oclock, then you can transfer more weight through the bike, lowering your centre of gravity and getting you around those bends much tighter
    (sorry, couldn't resist. lovely pic though)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

.."being a fred" aka rich guys on expensive bikes they don't deserve.

Them's posers. Fredishness is something else entirely.

its ok, i love you guys really.
    also sorry to hunger4k for distorting his question.
    eh trek because i like their mix of nice frame and nice componentry with reasonable price tag. CSC top because we (me and my training buddy) were bullied by some aussies into supporting a cycling team while staying in bourg de oisans and our regular tops were getting really minging. also they did quite well in this years tour.
    i was pedalling through that corner

its ok, i love you guys really.

It can be tough around here sometimes. Watch out for that Tiny Explosions fella, he's the worst.

and wait till the euro police come knocking... 2 water bottles (different colours), black socks, black (?) shoes, wheel reflectors... what else are they likely to spot I wonder?

kenmc wrote: »
    and wait till the euro police come knocking... 2 water bottles (different colours), black socks, black (?) shoes, wheel reflectors... what else are they likely to spot I wonder?
    I can't quite make out but I will wager that Neil has one of those plastic disc yokes between the cassette and the wheel (sorry Neil :D) Where was the photo taken out of interest?

Raam wrote: »
    It can be tough around here sometimes. Watch out for that Tiny Explosions fella, he's the worst.

It's all for your own good... teaching you to have a thick skin :)

Fred or not, he does have nice legs...

blorg wrote: »
    I can't quite make out but I will wager that Neil has one of those plastic disc yokes between the cassette and the wheel (sorry Neil :D) Where was the photo taken out of interest?

A pie plate :) I don't think there is one there. Might be a visor on the helmet though ;)

We're all freds on here mate :)

Speak for yourself!

Not quite the definition of a fred.......well there are two definitions.

I think in this case its more a violation of euro rules than fredness.

kenmc wrote: »

1) Reflectors on wheels
    2) Bottles don't match
    3) Team jersey (unless you ride for CSC??)
    4) Helmet doesn't match gear
    5) Applying the brakes on a descent
    6) Not picked a fast line through the corner
    7) Generic black shorts
    8) In the small ring on a descent
    9) Black socks
    10) A Trek
    11) Absence of shades
    12) Improper pedal position for cornering

hey the euro police can make accusations if they can catch me. (52min up the alp) eh the reflectors are gone. the location: leave le bourg-d'oisans heading south east along the valley floor at the first major junction take a right towards la berarde follow the road uphill passing through le bourg-d'arud 3km further on there are a series of switch backs, the picture was taken on the way back from la berarde. there isn't a plastic dish thing.
    1) Reflectors on wheels --- there gone now
    2) Bottles don't match --- red is for energy drink white is for pure water, i don't like the taste of old high5
    3) Team jersey (unless you ride for CSC??) clearly i ride for csc. no i just liked their last years jearsy plus my normal ones were stinky
    4) Helmet doesn't match gear --- mountain biking one has been replaced now
    5) Applying the brakes on a descent --- hey the better you can break the faster you can go
    6) Not picked a fast line through the corner --- really?
    7) Generic black shorts --- they were out of psychedelic
    8) In the small ring on a descent --- spinning out anyway waiting for climb to come
    9) Black socks --- ever left your wardrobe for a month?
    10) A Trek --- i like them
    11) Absence of shades --- don't like them
    12) Improper pedal position for cornering--- i was pedalling through the corner

happy now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭emty

You know,the guy posted a cool photo which was pretty much in the contex of the thread.Some of the above replies have been a bit....sad.I know who's company I would rather go for a spin with.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Are we hazing noobs now?

el tonto wrote: »
    Are we hazing noobs now?
    I read it more as a 'now you're in the gang you're fair game for slagging'. Especially when Tiny took a liking to his legs :D

Although admittedly it was a bit one sided. Still, he defended well :)

If my opening salvo of the Euro police was the cause of such antagonism, I apologize wholeheartedly, although my oft-expressed euro-skepticism should have been a very obvious giveaway as to the nature of the post to those who've been around longer.

Speak for yourself!

You're just saying that cos you got rid of your sidi's :)

hey the euro police can make accusations if they can catch me. (52min up the alp) eh the reflectors are gone. the location: leave le bourg-d'oisans heading south east along the valley floor at the first major junction take a right towards la berarde follow the road uphill passing through le bourg-d'arud 3km further on there are a series of switch backs, the picture was taken on the way back from la berarde.

Ah! The infamous 'road that Caroline_ie and Niceonetom took when everyone else turned left towards the Galibier (personally, I think they were scared!)

52 mins up Alpe D'Huez, or some other one? cos if it's up D'Huez then much respect and chapeau!

emty wrote: »
    You know,the guy posted a cool photo which was pretty much in the contex of the thread.Some of the above replies have been a bit....sad.I know who's company I would rather go for a spin with.
    el tonto wrote:
    Are we hazing noobs now?

It's an initiation rite. We all have to get it at some point.

52 minutes up Alpe d'Huez is very impressive, that is almost at the bottom of the range done in the Tour.

I am going to have to call on both "applying the brakes" and "pedalling through a corner" though :D

@emty- I don't think anyone is being entirely serious.

blorg wrote: »
    52 minutes up Alpe d'Huez is very impressive, that is almost at the bottom of the range done in the Tour.

Beats your time doesn't it.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

Freddery aside, to reiterate one of the OP's questions: does anyone here have a Kiron Scandium or know anyone who does? If so, what do you/they think?

I love the sound of it from the review in Cycling Plus. Specifically, I love the sound of the sound of it:

"On smooth surfaces, a wonderful hum emanates from the bike at speed, while small ripples and bigger impacts produce a taut 'ping' akin to a steel drum; this may not be any use at a Mardi Gras parade, but it's a constant reminder of how you're in possession of a small piece of metallurgical magic."

I mean, buying a bike in part for the noise it makes has to be the oddest (or maybe the Freddest?) thing ever. But I'm intrigued...

Freddery aside, to reiterate one of the OP's questions: does anyone here have a Kiron Scandium or know anyone who does? If so, what do you/they think?

I know someone with the Kiron. I'll try get some feedback. So far I know that he likes it.

Edit: sorry, he didn't actually get it in the end, my bad.

emty wrote: »

Jesus, relax, in all in good spirits. Read a good whack of the other (non-motoring) threads on the board, the euro-fred thing is an outgoing joke.

You're just saying that cos you got rid of your sidi's :)

Team replica shoes - jeesssh who buys wears them?? :) So no euro :)

I love the sound of it from the review in Cycling Plus. Specifically, I love the sound of the sound of it:

"On smooth surfaces, a wonderful hum emanates from the bike at speed, while small ripples and bigger impacts produce a taut 'ping' akin to a steel drum; this may not be any use at a Mardi Gras parade, but it's a constant reminder of how you're in possession of a small piece of metallurgical magic."

I mean, buying a bike in part for the noise it makes has to be the oddest (or maybe the Freddest?) thing ever. But I'm intrigued...

A friend recently bought one and likes it alot.

Team replica shoes - jeesssh who buys wears them?? :) So no euro :)

In my defense, I got them because I'm on an anti-euro ticket... want to break as many rules as possible, so wear as many different items of team kit that I can.... kinda like the Veritas, or UK of Euro :)

Next boards spin: everyone mix their team kit!

On Topic:

You'll see a whole range of bikes on the W200, a lot worth less than €1,000. Alps is a step up though and will put more demands on the bike. Are you really racing there OP, or is it a sportif?

Planet X looks like a good deal. Brakes aren't expensive, even good ones, so it wouldn't be a big deal to swap them out.

I like the look of the Kiron too. Easton components seem to have a good rep and the groupset is very solid.

Off topic:

3117161139_c871fe52ac.jpg?v=0

You'll see a whole range of bikes on the W200, a lot worth less than €1,000. Alps is a step up though and will put more demands on the bike. Are you really racing there OP, or is it a sportif?

Indeed, we had boardsies do the 200 on MTB's, Flat Bar Road Bikes, lower end Road Bikes, and big expensive Williers :)

I was in the alps on my Aluminium Focus Variado Expert, and niconetom was on a alu Cube, and afaik that's what we'll both be using for the Marmotte, so mad expensive isn't always necessary!
    Planet X looks like a good deal. Brakes aren't expensive, even good ones, so it wouldn't be a big deal to swap them out.

I like the look of the Kiron too. Easton components seem to have a good rep and the groupset is very solid.

The brakes are updated from the old build, and get pretty good reviews online it seems.

The Kiron confuses me a llittle -why slap a Dura Ace front mech on? Just seems an odd upgrade to me!