Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heineken Cup Quarter Final Predictions

• 14-12-2008 10:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭

OK here goes for this year's predictions. Granted they are not that insightful with only two rounds to go but still, there's a lot up for grabs in most of the groups so here goes.

The way I see things panning out is that the group winners (and points totals) will be Harlequins (25), Cardiff (23) Bath (23) Leinster (21) Munster (21) and Ospreys (20). The two best runners up will be Toulouse and Gloucester. Cardiff and Leinster will outstrop Bath and Munster respectively by virtue of scoring more tries. So the match ups will be:

Harlequins v Gloucester

England's equvalent of fancy-dan city-type Ladyboys versus uncouth horny-handed working-class yokels from the provinces. It will take place somewhere big in London, a short drive up the M4 for the visiting hordes. Could go either way.

Cardiff v Toulouse

A reprise of the first ever final from 1996. Even though Cardiff will have home advantage, Toulouse will have too much in the tank for them. A French win.

Bath v Ospreys

The nearest thing to a local derby that a match between teams from two different countries can have. Both sides can spit at each other across the Bristol Channel. Ospreys to clinch a tight one.

Leinster v Munster

The match that everybody will want to see, apart maybe from the hypersensitive mods on this board who will not be able to stomach the repartee that will build up in advance of this opportunity for revenge for everything from the semi final of three years previously back to the Battle of Clontarf. Could be the Ladyboys' year.

Didn't Cromwell once speak glowingly of "..a righteous judgement of God on these barbarous wretches..."?

Don't know what made me think of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

ladyboys, are they not from another continent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Could be the Ladyboys' year.
    )

:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

don't know how you see toulouse as being runners up in the pool to be honest. don't think it will be bath that even makes it through, leicester have a much better chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

bleg wrote: »
    don't know how you see toulouse as being runners up in the pool to be honest. don't think it will be bath that even makes it through, leicester have a much better chance

Toulouse have to go to Bath. It would not be too outlandish to expect Bath to beat them, especially as they ran them very close (18-16) in France.

Leicester should get a handy five points from their last home game against Treviso, but then they have to play the Ospreys away on the last day. Ospreys have to play away against Perpignan, who are already out of it. I could see Ospreys winning both those matches. Which would leave Leicester on only 20 pts. Not enough to qualify.

All speculation at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

The match that everybody will want to see, apart maybe from the hypersensitive mods on this board who will not be able to stomach the repartee that will build up in advance of this opportunity for revenge for everything from the semi final of three years previously back to the Battle of Clontarf. Could be the Ladyboys' year.

Didn't Cromwell once speak glowingly of "..a righteous judgement of God on these barbarous wretches..."?

Off the meds again? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,322 ✭✭✭crisco10

As a Leinster fan, I would fear Munster. They are the team that are most likely to beat us and not underestimate us. I hope the draw doesnt work out like that (it almost inevitably won't!) lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

I think Leinster may be in serious trouble if the Castres performances are anything to go by. Wasps may pip them to top the group, (if they do their usual "oh its midseason, time to start playing some rugby" trick), and Toulouse will win their group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Nice write up Toom thanks for making the effort. I agree almost entirely with you pick and predictions. I think Bath will beat the Ospreys though.

Fot the last runner up spot Gloucester are favs to get it, they stand on 14pts but there last two games are Cardiff at home and Biarritz away, they'll need to win both.

Stade's on 11 pts ,last two games are Scarlets away and Ulster at home. 10 points there if they really want it.

Interesting as ever this year. A lot of the big teams are struggling. I know its december but if you were to pick a winner based purely on current form then it would have to come from Bath/Quins/Toulouse. Who would have thunk it :).

toomevara wrote: »
    I think Leinster may be in serious trouble if the Castres performances are anything to go by. Wasps may pip them to top the group, (if they do their usual "oh its midseason, time to start playing some rugby" trick), and Toulouse will win their group.

If Leinster can get a losing bonus point in Wasps, and prevent Wasps from getting a try bonus, they will only need to match whatever Wasps do away to Castres in their last home game against Edinburgh. Whatever about their other failings this year, the Leinster defence has been good having conceded only two tries (one of them a penalty try) and they are well capable of denying Wasps a bonus point while always threatening themselves.

They've scored 15 tries themselves, more than all the other teams in their group put together and a figure only matched elsewhere by teams in groups with Italian opposition.

I remain confident. But I think both Irish teams will qualify at the lower end and therefore there's a good chance they could meet in the quarters. Maybe even at Thomond!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

If Leinster can get a losing bonus point in Wasps, and prevent Wasps from getting a try bonus, they will only need to match whatever Wasps do away to Castres in their last home game against Edinburgh. Whatever about their other failings this year, the Leinster defence has been good having conceded only two tries (one of them a penalty try) and they are well capable of denying Wasps a bonus point while always threatening themselves.

Absolutely, Kurt McQuilkin should take a massive bow. His defence work has been immense. I worry for Leinster after the Castres matches. Morale seems low and they're not playing for each other. It's been really disappointing from a neutral's viewpoint.

I sincerely hope that they can get their heads together (because, imo, thats where the problem is). Get Leo back in there, give BOD a rest (he's only doing himself damage out there), get the like of Jennings back into some sort of form, give Elsom a smack on the noggin...start playing to their undoubted potential, so frustrating! Just like watching Leeds play RL up to 3-4 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

toomevara wrote: »
    Absolutely, Kurt McQuilkin should take a massive bow. His defence work has been immense. I worry for Leinster after the Castres matches. Morale seems low and they're not playing for each other. It's been really disappointing from a neutral's viewpoint.

I sincerely hope that they can get their heads together (because, imo, thats where the problem is). Get Leo back in there, give BOD a rest (he's only doing himself damage out there), get the like of Jennings back into some sort of form, give Elsom a smack on the noggin...start playing to their undoubted potential, so frustrating! Just like watching Leeds play RL up to 3-4 years ago.

Imagine what it's like when you're not neutral. :pac:

I thought after the Wasps game we'd given ourselves as strong a position as we could. The first Castres was hugely disappointing in that it took about 60 minutes to get going. I knew the second game would be tough, and yet, the first 20 or so minutes were all Leinster, and they looked frightening.

When they play to the best of their ability, Leinster currently look like one of the best teams in Europe. However, other than the Wasps game, that match against Edinburgh at the start in the ML there's been no sign of decent Leinster performances other than the odd spell of five or ten matches in a game. It's getting worrying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

I would worry big time about leinster, they are in the easiest group of the competition and they stil have a chance of losing it. I fancy wasps to win vs leinster. And also leinster vs edinburgh in the last match, edinburgh will be loving it, they will be well up for beating leinster ;)

I would fancy cadriff against toulouse, they are playing some great rugby and are a very formidable team, would tip them to go far as well as quins and obviously munster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,459 ✭✭✭twinytwo

OK here goes for this year's predictions. Granted they are not that insightful with only two rounds to go but still, there's a lot up for grabs in most of the groups so here goes.

The way I see things panning out is that the group winners (and points totals) will be Harlequins (25), Cardiff (23) Bath (23) Leinster (21) Munster (21) and Ospreys (20). The two best runners up will be Toulouse and Gloucester. Cardiff and Leinster will outstrop Bath and Munster respectively by virtue of scoring more tries. So the match ups will be:

Harlequins v Gloucester

England's equvalent of fancy-dan city-type Ladyboys versus uncouth horny-handed working-class yokels from the provinces. It will take place somewhere big in London, a short drive up the M4 for the visiting hordes. Could go either way.

Cardiff v Toulouse

A reprise of the first ever final from 1996. Even though Cardiff will have home advantage, Toulouse will have too much in the tank for them. A French win.

Bath v Ospreys

The nearest thing to a local derby that a match between teams from two different countries can have. Both sides can spit at each other across the Bristol Channel. Ospreys to clinch a tight one.

Leinster v Munster

Dude i wouldnt want them to meet at all that way if hell freezes over and munster dont win id prefer leinster to get it than another team... there are players on that team like drico who deserve a HC medal before they retire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

to be honest if those are the quarter-finalists then imo munster will repeat with perhaps only toulouse giving them trouble if the semi is in france.(or in the final on neutral ground)

admittedly i don't think munster are playing particularly well in the hc at the momewnt but they are a much better team than the one which won last year imo and should be applauded for attempting to play a full blown running game...they could have put 100 on leinster in the rds this season but for leinster's amazing tackling. If munster can click they coulkd blow any of those quarter finalists away....suppose they just have to get past montabaun and sale now.

Oh and no more use of the term ladyboys please...it's obviously very derogatory and it is not permitted on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

I know its early days but here are my quarter-final rankings:

1. Harlequins
    2. Toulouse
    3. Ospreys
    4. Leinster
    5. Cardiff Blues
    6. Munster

7. Bath
    8. Gloucester

I think we all know how it works, 1st vs. 8th - 2nd vs. 7th and so on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭jprender

This is how i see it finishing up:-

1. Cardiff (27pts)
    2. Harlequins (26pts)
    3. Leicester (24pts)
    4. Bath (24pts)
    5. Munster (21pts)
    6. Leinster (20pts)
    7. Toulouse (22pts)
    8. Stade (20pts)

1 to beat 8
    7 to beat 2
    3 to beat 6
    5 to beat 4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

jprender wrote: »
    This is how i see it finishing up:-

1. Cardiff (27pts)
    2. Harlequins (26pts)
    3. Leicester (24pts)
    4. Bath (24pts)
    5. Munster (21pts)
    6. Leinster (20pts)
    7. Toulouse (22pts)
    8. Stade (20pts)

1 to beat 8
    7 to beat 2
    3 to beat 6
    5 to beat 4

thats pretty much exactly how I'd predict it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

at this stage in the season i reckon the teams on form currently will fizzle out by March, the likes of Munster, Stade & toulouse who are winning but not playing to full potential will step up a gear in the spring...maybe even Leinster!
    As a Leinster Man, i'd fear a quarter final against Munster, with Nick Williams & Dennis Leamy to be added to their pack plus in Horan the top try scoring winger in the competition they're the team to beat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

RuggieBear wrote: »
    they could have put 100 on leinster in the rds this season but for leinster's amazing tackling.

That's the most ridiculos comment for 2 reasons:

1/ ANY team could put ANY score on another team.....if it wasn't for the other teams defence. And if you're talking possesion it was very even.
    2/ Munster scored 2 trys in 8 minutes at the end. One from a loose pass and one from a bad kick iirc, both with Leinster trying to force the game.

If Contepomi had slotted 3 of his 4 very kickable penalties that day it would have been 9 - 6 Leinster (again iirc) with 8 or 9 minutes to play, and it wouldn't be unheard of that we could have done the same thing we did to them in the RDS last year and play in their half and let them run at us (to little sucsess). Leinster CERTAINLY wouldn't have been playing the loose open game they did to allow Munster in.

Munster didn't really threatin the Leinster line until the second half, so I think 100 is a bit much. It amazes me how deceptive that scoreline is and people forget the time line. For those of you who don't think that was an extremely close game could be in for a surprise if they meet again.

Leinster played Munster off the park in 2006 in the RDS and we all saw the semi.

I would love a Leinster Munster game in this years HC :cool:

Leinster were shocking v Castres though, so just getting there will be tough. But 6 points from our last 2 games will see us top the group with a home quarter, so it's not all doom and gloom.

perhaps i'm more of a pessimist J. and don't remember the positives but besides the first 10 or so minutes and contepomi missing those kicks it was basically non stop tackling from leinster and often last ditch stuff too.

hope you're version of the match is more accurate tbh...lol:)

perhaps i'm more of a pessimist J. and don't remember the positives but besides the first 10 or so minutes and contepomi missing those kicks it was basically non stop tackling from leinster and often last ditch stuff too.

hope you're version of the match is more accurate tbh...lol:)

:) Well that's the thing, most people were at the match and didn't see much of it back again, but to be honest, nothing would make me happier than if there was a reply in the HEC and Munster went in thinking they were 18 points better. Because anyone knows that's not the case. So you can see how scores can be deceptive. Munster +18 - the bookies wouldn't even give you that.

Plus to say Munster were on top for 70 minutes is insane, if you watch it back, we didn't even have a defensive line out in our own 22 in the entire first half, yet spent roughly 10 - 15 mins in the Munster half / 22 in possesion.

It's too easy to forget these things, but nothing would make me happier than if the Munster team believed the same tripe talked here by Munster fans, because over state that win, and under estimate Leinster to that extent, and prices will be paid.

There's a reason why Munster have such a good record against Leinster, and the players will be the first to admit it, although the fans will say it's because Leinster are ladyboys, but no team respects Leinster more or fears losing to Leinster more than Munster do. Teams that have under estimated Leinster over the years have been put to the sword in a clinical fashion, Munster have always shown Leinster the respect to come into the games 100% firing on all cilendors, without fail, Munster have never backed down. They've won some, they've lost some, but the only memory is 2006 for both sets of fans cause it was the big one (Leinster v Biaritz in cardiff 2006 btw?...no contest Leinster - but it never happened so doesn't matter - Munster won the cup in Lansdowne Road)

Leinster need to learn that respect to all opposition, because the main difference is not talent or ability or will to win, it's that Leinster go into games expected to win and don't. Munster (even still) go into games expected to lose (against much weaker opposition. i.e. Clermont - don't make me laugh) and either lose in the most heroic fashion imaginable that if only Michael Collins was there to see it, but win in the most spectacular fashion - where as Leinster win with 30 points and are slammed for slipping up and lose by 3 and are a disgrace - media quotes - don't belive the hype people - Leinster v Munster Quarter final?

Bring it on. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

:DDon't usually post here but have a look every once in a while. I will say from the start that i'm a true red Munster fan now living back in Limerick after living in the dirty auld capital for ten years. Anyhoo...
    [Jackass] wrote: »
    :) Well that's the thing, most people were at the match and didn't see much of it back again, but to be honest, nothing would make me happier than if there was a reply in the HEC and Munster went in thinking they were 18 points better. Because anyone knows that's not the case. So you can see how scores can be deceptive. Munster +18 - the bookies wouldn't even give you that.

I think anyone who thinks Munster are 18+ ponits better than Leinster on any day are delusional. Everyone knows that that score was flattering and not representative of the teams or the game. Leinster were poor in fairness but that isn't what Leinster are. I remember being devestated when Leinster beating us last year but they deserved it and this time we deserved it. It's all swings and roundabouts.
    :) Plus to say Munster were on top for 70 minutes is insane, if you watch it back, we didn't even have a defensive line out in our own 22 in the entire first half, yet spent roughly 10 - 15 mins in the Munster half / 22 in possesion.

As the old saying goes; it doesn't matter how much you have the ball, it's what you do with it...Munster have won so many games by having very little of the ball but making it count when they do. I was not happy at all with last weeks game. They should have put it away a lot earlier but in true Munster style they want to give me f-ing heart failure. Thats the joy of supporting them.

It's too easy to forget these things, but nothing would make me worry more than if the Munster team believed the same tripe talked by Munster some fans about Leinster.
    :) There's a reason why Munster have such a good record against Leinster, and the players will be the first to admit it, although the fans will say it's because Leinster are ladyboys, but no team respects Leinster more or fears losing to Leinster more than Munster do. Teams that have under estimated Leinster over the years have been put to the sword in a clinical fashion, Munster have always shown Leinster the respect to come into the games 100% firing on all cilendors, without fail, Munster have never backed down. They've won some, they've lost some, but the only memory is 2006 for both sets of fans cause it was the big one (Leinster v Biaritz in cardiff 2006 btw?...no contest Leinster - but it never happened so doesn't matter - Munster won the cup in Lansdowne Road).
    I like the ladyboys and turnip muncher thing. It gives me great amusement. As long as it's not done in malice and all in good fun I see nothing wrong with it. I'm a proud turnip muncher. As long as it's taken in good fun I see nothing wrong with it. After all, what would us Paddies be if we couldn't rip the ****e out of each other. It's when cousin fondlers and nancyboys get anal it becomes the problem. Anyhoo, back to rugger...

As for underestimating Leinster...I certainly do not. I watched them beat us twice last year and once when I traveled a few hours just to wath the game in the RDS in Spain. Was good fun watching it with mostly Leinster fans and the banter was great. Anyway, of course the big games are going to matter most especially when they are quarter finals. I managed to get a ticket for that game and it was thanks to my boss who was a true blue Leinster fan and I cannot thank him enough for it. It will never be the same winning a fairly inconsequential game in a league as winning a European cup quarter final. It just won't.

Plus I don't think Munster won the cup in Lansdowne. Leinster were poor that day. Contepomi was shocking and Leinster didn't play the way they should have. I was genuinely very worried that day (as I am every time Munster play Leinster) but i think the better team won.

I also think it's a big diservice to say that Biarritz had nothing to do with the final. I think it's pretty presumtive to think that Leinster would have beaten them in the final and won the HC but its all speculative now so it doesn't matter.

:) Leinster need to learn that respect to all opposition, because the main difference is not talent or ability or will to win, it's that Leinster go into games expected to win and don't. Munster (even still) go into games expected to lose (against much weaker opposition. i.e. Clermont - don't make me laugh) and either lose in the most heroic fashion imaginable that if only Michael Collins was there to see it, but win in the most spectacular fashion - where as Leinster win with 30 points and are slammed for slipping up and lose by 3 and are a disgrace - media quotes - don't belive the hype people - Leinster v Munster Quarter final?).
    Sorry, I think your post until now was fairly reasonable. I don't think anyone expects Leinster to win all the time and Munstrer to lose. If thats the excuse that Leinster have for underachieving then it's bloody piss poor. Determining your outcomes by predictions and expectations is just rediculous. Forgive me if I've picked this up wrong but I've had a bit to drink. All this heroism and ****e is just a deflection. What matters is what happens on the pitch.
    :) Bring it on. :cool:

Indeed. Munster - Leinster final......may the best team in RED win...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Leinster need to learn that respect to all opposition, because the main difference is not talent or ability or will to win, it's that Leinster go into games expected to win and don't. Munster (even still) go into games expected to lose (against much weaker opposition. i.e. Clermont - don't make me laugh) and either lose in the most heroic fashion imaginable that if only Michael Collins was there to see it, but win in the most spectacular fashion - where as Leinster win with 30 points and are slammed for slipping up and lose by 3 and are a disgrace - media quotes - don't belive the hype people - Leinster v Munster Quarter final?

You obviously have no idea what your talking about if you dont recognise that Clermont are one of the top top teams in Europe :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭jprender

I'm not sure though, do you think Clermont could beat the French powerhouse that is Castres ? :D :rolleyes:

Anyway, Munster vs Leinster is not gonna happen this year.
    See my predictions for the reason why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

jesus christ lads he was saying that calling Clermont weak is a joke he was actually paying you a compliment and you jprender decided to bring provincial crap into it. I am wondering if I will continue posting in this forum with all this goading going on by Munster fans towards Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I hope for this forums sake that both Leinster and Munster are absolutely hammered in the knock outs and thus a period of calm may descend on this board we're men in blue and red may live side by side without declaring their hatred for one Ronan O'Gara and one Brian O'Driscoll. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭RichTea

I'd hate it if my beloved Munster were to come up against Leinster. It's not that I'd fear them a lot(Leinster would have as much to fear from Munster). I couldn't bear it if we lost.

Same as 2006 only a bit worse. Now there seems to be a far more noticable bitter relationship between certain elements of the fans on both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

SpAcEd OuT wrote: »
    jesus christ lads he was saying that calling Clermont weak is a joke he was actually paying you a compliment and you jprender decided to bring provincial crap into it. I am wondering if I will continue posting in this forum with all this goading going on by Munster fans towards Leinster.

???????????????????

That in itself amounts to about as one sided comment as I have seen here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

Stev_o wrote: »
    I hope for this forums sake that both Leinster and Munster are absolutely hammered in the knock outs and thus a period of calm may descend on this board we're men in blue and red may live side by side without declaring their hatred for one Ronan O'Gara and one Brian O'Driscoll. :P

Be brave f the begrudgers! Not every Munster and Leinster fan hates eachother, no point in letting the a-holes ruin it for the rest of us.

As it happens I watched the Munster game last weekend in a well known South Side Dublin (posh) pub and I think all bar one person (who was sitting next to me thankfully, as he added to my enjoyment no end) was shouting for Munster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

crisco10 wrote: »
    As a Leinster fan, I would fear Munster. They are the team that are most likely to beat us and not underestimate us. I hope the draw doesnt work out like that (it almost inevitably won't!) lol

Would we not be the team most likely to beat them thou?
    The French teams don't take it that seriously unless at home...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

RichTea wrote: »
    I'd hate it if my beloved Munster were to come up against Leinster. It's not that I'd fear them a lot(Leinster would have as much to fear from Munster). I couldn't bear it if we lost.

Same as 2006 only a bit worse. Now there seems to be a far more noticable bitter relationship between certain elements of the fans on both sides.

Munster would wipe the floor with Leinster. If Leinster cant beat Castres, how the hell are they going to cope with this Munster team???

SpAcEd OuT wrote: »
    if you have a problem with a post report it. don't drag a thread off topic again

last warning for you.

back on topic people.

Coming back on topic: What are the chances of NO French teams in the quarter finals? Quite high after Toulouse's screw up against Glasgow today. Now they have to hope the Dragons do them a huge facour against Bath or else they will have to go to Bath and win to be in with a chance. Tall order.

Stade will need to get 10 points from their last two AND hope that Harlequins fail to beat Llanelli at home. A fantasy?

All other French teams are mathematically out.

Would that be a first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,532 ✭✭✭✭phog

Coming back on topic: What are the chances of NO French teams in the quarter finals? Quite high after Toulouse's screw up against Glasgow today. Now they have to hope the Dragons do them a huge facour against Bath or else they will have to go to Bath and win to be in with a chance. Tall order.

Stade will need to get 10 points from their last two AND hope that Harlequins fail to beat Llanelli at home. A fantasy?

All other French teams are mathematically out.

Would that be a first?

Stade Francais will surely go through, won't they? Playing Scarlets tomorrow but Scarlets are poor at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

same old...

You watch Munster expecting...

You watch Leinster hoping...

Give a thought to Ulster... some serious talent there - and actually performing... Ferris, Cave, Humphries etc etc.

DK must have a real headache at the moment, if he want's to pick our 6N team on form he's going to have to break eggs. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

phog wrote: »
    Stade Francais will surely go through, won't they? Playing Scarlets tomorrow but Scarlets are poor at the moment.

16-5 to the Scarlets at half time mind you.

stade are out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭ironingbored

Cardiff down to 14 men have just scored a try and conv to go 16-12 ahead. Great spectacle.

As it stands coming into the final round of games:

1/ Cardiff
    2/ Leicester
    3/ Bath
    4/ Munster
    5/ Harlequins
    6/ Leinster
    7/ Tolouse
    8/ Wasps

Quarter Final:
    Cardiff v Wasps
    Leicester v Tolouse
    Bath v Leinster
    Munster v Harlequins

I think at this stage Leinster and Munster would both take that!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'd be pretty happy with that tbh. As long as we avoid Munster I don't think we will be in too bad a shape. Assuming Leinster stop playing like ****e that is.

Anyone know if there are any highlight shows on tonight that'll have the games from today and/or yesterday?

8pm sky sports extra

planet rugby predicts
    Cardiff Blues v Wasps
    Bath v Ospreys
    Munster v Harlequins
    Leicester v Leinster

Don't have Sky, sadly. Shoite.

Wonder if it'd be streamed :-)

bleg wrote: »

planet rugby predicts
    Cardiff Blues v Wasps
    Bath v Ospreys
    Munster v Harlequins
    Leicester v Leinster

Jaysus i don't think i could face going back to that midland ****hole again.

no french teams...weird!

well it's planet rugby...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭ironingbored

no french teams...weird!

The French will still probably win the 6N though.

Jaysus i don't think i could face going back to that midland ****hole again.

Don't worry Ruggie. Snickers Man predicts the Q final line up will be:

Cardiff v Leicester
    Bath v Wasps
    Munster v Ospreys
    Leinster v Harlequins

...having said which, there is actually a not impossible scenario in which Clermont Auvergne could make it despite finishing runner up in probably the toughest group.

If Leicester win away to Ospreys (not entirely out of the question) and Clermont get a bonus point victory away to Sale (tough but with Sale mathematically out already, not impossible) and if Toulouse fail to get any match points away to Bath then the lineup could be

Cardiff v Clermont
    Leicester v Wasps
    Bath v Harlequins
    Munster v Leinster

Less likely than the above prediction but not outlandish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭curts82

Munster have secured a home draw havent they? I'd love Lenister! OR wasps, who ever tops that group

curts82 wrote: »
    Munster have secured a home draw havent they?

Not at all. They've secured first place in their group and therefore a guaranteed q final place. But there's no certainty that they'll beat Montauban away from home in their last game.

Even if they do and fail to get a bonus point (and they've only got one winning bonus point so far) they could still lose out on a home Q final if Harlequins win with a bonus point at home to Llanelli, Cardiff and Bath win at home against Calvisano and Toulouse respectively and Leicester win their top of the table clash away to Ospreys.

I've only gone by what are likely outcomes. But who predicted Glasgow would win in Toulouse?