Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The elusive holy bacon grail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Brother's, I don't wanna freak ye out. But I have a strange stirring, In my pants!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

400°??? It would incinerate!
    Bless those Americans, they don't even put meat in their bacon!

It does look tasty though, nom nom nom. :D

(If anyone wants to try it, try 200°C..)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Does look good. I'd say it's fahrenheit, which would be around 200 celsius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

<drools>

it taunting me, especailly after the recent ban, got to try that one out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

Looks very tasty, but my high cholesterol might have something to say about eating all of it.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Steps 6 and 7 need to be changed to suit a brother.

Step 5: Roll

Step 6: Pick up whole

Step 7: Consume while the second one is busy in the oven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,960 ✭✭✭trout

Nice enough snack I suppose ... needs eggs and onions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Surely it should be battered and then deep fried?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

oh, sod the batered mars bar, i'll have that instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

I think that could make it the ultimate portable snack. Imagine being able to get one in a chipper late at night:eek: awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The thought of eating that makes me sick. I'd do it just for a pack of rashers though. I miss them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

Overheal wrote: »
    The thought of eating that makes me sick. I'd do it just for a pack of rashers though. I miss them.

Thumbs down overheal....seriously.

I'm going to try this out later tonight, let you all know how it works out. Although the rashers in that look longer than our own ones, does anyone know where you might ind extra long rashers? That are a bit more meaty than those pictured?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,365 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Never seen rashers that long, I'd say that's two overlapped in the middle. Cooking would melt the fat and probably fuse them together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

That is American bacon, you won't find that in Ireland. Barely any meat on it at all, mostly fat and always shrivels up so you are left with barely anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Ruu wrote: »
    That is American bacon, you won't find that in Ireland. Barely any meat on it at all, mostly fat and always shrivels up so you are left with barely anything.

Actually, correction Brother Ruu, while they are not American, they are available over here. I went down to the local Centra only yesterday to find me some rashers, and the only ones available were similar to those in the picture above. They were in a blue vacuum package, from Spain if I a remember correctly.

Certainly reminded me of US bacon, feck all meat on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

The only rashers I remember being able to get in Spain were Oscar Meier ones. Yank company I think. The bleedin rashers were so thin you could read the other side of the package through them. :mad:

Virtually no meat and they were feck all use. It's all a plot by the veggies IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

They are actually ideal when used as a constituent ingredient in something else, such as a breakfast burrito, or, as indicated in the original post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

I've seen them in butchers over here alright, If you want you can just get pork belly slices and slice them thin enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Surely its just streaky bacon?

yeaaaaaaaaaaah

*drools*

I made it with smoked back rashers, sliced them into smaller strips to make the weave and maximise on meatage, friggin delish lads!:D

Pics?

It made its way into my stomach too fast to take pics! Unless you want a pic of my tum and have xray vision?

LolaDub wrote: »
    It made its way into my stomach too fast to take pics!

In fairness, that's really as it should be.
    Unless you want a pic of my tum and have xray vision?

The old x-ray vision is on the blink at the moment so probably not much point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭LightningBolt

Straight to the Butchers in the morning to try that out, seriously. My mouth is drooling right now, I'll have to contend with Ben & Jerrys for now:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

A friend sent me this

Eliminates the need for ham at Xmas

Looks hideous, sure it tastes great.

Eliminates the need for a ham at Christmas? What sort of heresy is this? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

It made its way into my stomach too fast to take pics! Unless you want a pic of my tum and have xray vision?

interesting offer :D

Zaph wrote: »
    Eliminates the need for a ham at Christmas? What sort of heresy is this? :mad:

It means you only have to concentrate on cutting one thing at a time :)

While fulfilling your RDA of Bacon

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

That looks more like a bacon desert - could be nice after a bacon sandwich

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

I will be attempting this shortly.

With pics.

Its become my sole ambition to make this thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,774 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

As soon as I can find the right bacon, I'm making this too.

It already inspired me to try putting bacon into taco fries (did it yesterday), which went down well with the other 4 who ate them. It fortified my belief that bacon added to anything automatically makes it nicer

I had an English Exam yesterday and could barely concentrate with thought of the Bacon Roll, as with other posters as soon as I can find the bacon, I'm making one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

http://www.bbqaddicts.com/blog/recipes/bacon-explosion/
    A version of the above, with added meat and sauce, NOM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

inspired and full of bacon-lust i decided to rope a friend in to see whether the taste matches the pictures.

we went through two packets of ordinary denny's rashers, we used mature red cheddar for the centre filling.

after eating one of these each together with a liberal portion of boiled baby new potatoes in garlic butter with thai sweet chilli sauce i can reveal the following:

the bacon weave is surprisingly easy to do

care should be taken to spread the cheese uniformly as otherwise you end up with cheeseless ends - and what a travesty would THAT be?

plain bacon and cheese is quite insufficient - we intend to experiment with chopped spicy pickles, jalapeno peppers and perhaps red onions in the centre for texture's sake.

caution - you can feel your arteries harden after one of these; standing up was an arduous process not without discomfort.

A big thank you to the OP by the way - my friend is a hardcore bacon addict and is about to move to a muslim country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Ruu wrote: »

That's why we cook it by the pound !!

My nitrate deficiency is suddenly kicking into overdrive reading this thread !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

As soon as I can find the right bacon, I'm making this too.

It already inspired me to try putting bacon into taco fries (did it yesterday), which went down well with the other 4 who ate them. It fortified my belief that bacon added to anything automatically makes it nicer

I'm thinking if as I read that if bgrh ever decide to create a constitution that the phrase 'bacon, added to anything makes it nicer' would definitly appear in it somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

I know what Im going to have for breakfast now....

Im sitting in bed, looking at those photos and my stomach is growling for bacon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuugggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh drewls im going to mkae that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

ok quick update, been making these regularly and the best way to do it is to use:

two types of cheese,

white pudding dry fried with loads of pepper,

and chilli gherkins

adding all the above into the centre of the bacon lattice will ensure the result tastes like something that could well be enjoyed as a part of a balanced diet as opposed to a sweet sweet dose of cardiac self-abuse

the gherkins in particular add "green" to the dish, and it's well known that "green" things are full of fantastic health benefits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭S.L.F

caution - you can feel your arteries harden after one of these

I can feel my arteries harden just thinking about what I'll do in the morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

Ahh, I think I'l just have a salad.

/f'ucking legs it

Ahh, I think I'l just have a salad.

/f'ucking legs it

salad :confused:

GTFO

trout wrote: »
    salad :confused:

GTFO

I joke. I fuppin hate salad and would munch the sh'ite out of that bacon roll!

Ah ... that's better. Carry on.

trout wrote: »
    Ah ... that's better. Carry on.

Actually I dont know if I hate salad or not because I cant remember ever tasting it. Dont plan on trying it soon either!!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I have to say that I do like salad - it makes a Big Mac taste like a Big Mac!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Seraphicblue

Welcome to BGRH
    No Salad for 200 miles