Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone else think nell mcafferty is a ledge?

• 13-12-2008 12:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭

see her on the late late with her baps out:D

she seems pretty liberal and someone you'd like over for xmas dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Tits 0r gtf0!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

Tits? No! GTFO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Oh dear... she does my head in tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Inglorious

I'm not sure which is worse, her or the term "ledge".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Does anyone else find it amusing that people go on about how the Late Late show is irrelevant or a waste of money and nobody watches it and blah blah blah yet every Friday like clockwork there's a heap of threads here about everything that happens on it?

"RTÉ.... We've got the nation talking." Sounds about right.

P.S. Nell wrecks my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭omgiluvxmas

i hate the plank but i don't hide the fact that i would watch it with my parents on a friday night, well if i don't go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,764 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If tits were out on the late late, fair play to her. She's up there with the guy who verbally abused Pat live on air a few years ago. Figuratively speaking, of course.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

well it was a painting but very graphic...extremely graphic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

see her on the late late with her baps out:D

she seems pretty liberal and someone you'd like over for xmas dinner.

I prefer my trifle without a wrinkly old pair of tits in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Must be big boobs if they can act as a ledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,978 ✭✭✭445279.ie

javaboy wrote: »
    Does anyone else find it amusing that people go on about how the Late Late show is irrelevant or a waste of money and nobody watches it and blah blah blah yet every Friday like clockwork there's a heap of threads here about everything that happens on it?

Totally agree. If I'm in on a Friday I flick on to see who's on but usually catch up with what's on by coming onto AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

As in jump off, not jump on.

well it was a painting but very graphic...extremely graphic.

+1. Search for herald nell in Google and click on one of the Herald links to find it. It's NSFW but the bits are blacked out. I've seen the uncensored pic in the Irish Times. I was eating my breakfast at the time. Apparently I'm not entitled to compensation because I couldn't finish my breakfast roll. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Can't stand the fecker to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

javaboy wrote: »
    +1. Search for herald nell in Google and click on one of the Herald links to find it. It's NSFW but the bits are blacked out. I've seen the uncensored pic in the Irish Times. I was eating my breakfast at the time. Apparently I'm not entitled to compensation because I couldn't finish my breakfast roll. :mad:

Oh jesus christ why did I just do that?!? :mad:

I was eating a yoghurt and all, may as well dump it now :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

ledge (lebreve.gifj)n.
    1. A horizontal projection forming a narrow shelf on a wall.
    2. A cut or projection forming a shelf on a cliff or rock wall.
    3. An underwater ridge or rock shelf.
    4. A level of rock-bearing ore; a vein.

Sorry OP, based on the above 4 definitions I must disagree.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

No she just had a lot of starch in her bra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

She is a hell of a woman
    I have a lot of time for nell mcafferty and she did a lot of good work in changing this country for the better.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nell_McCafferty
    Nell McCafferty (born March 28, 1944) is an Irish journalist, playwright, civil rights campaigner, and feminist. In her journalistic work she has written for The Irish Press, The Irish Times, The Sunday Tribune and Hot Press and The Village Voice.

McCafferty was born in Derry to Hugh and Lily McCafferty, and spent her early years in the Bogside section of Derry — a neighbourhood on the outskirts of the city, which was home to the majority of its Catholic population. Although her family were not wealthy, she had a comfortable upbringing and entered Queen's University Belfast, where she took a degree in Arts.

After a brief spell as a substitute English teacher in Northern Ireland, McCafferty took up a post with The Irish Times. It was her career in journalism, commentating on Northern Irish life and Republican politics that brought her to public fame, and her outspoken attitudes on abortion, sexuality, feminism and contraception (in what was then a conservative nation) earned her a certain amount of notoriety. In over 30 years as a public commentator whose views on social change, the Irish identity and society are frequently sought, she is altogether one of Ireland's most familiar, most respected and most controversial journalists.

Utter legend.

http://www.threemonkeysonline.com/als/_nell_mccafferty.html
    She is critical of media who she feels have not covered the story well enough – not spelling out exactly what happened on that night in Maginnis’s pub in Belfast. She believes people need to know what happened to understand why this is a real watershed. “The community is deliberately out on the streets applauding these women. This is the hand of the community in the back of the IRA saying, 'Go now'. Once women sanction revolution, there's no stopping it”.

Women and rebellion is something McCafferty knows a lot about. Having grown up in Derry, she was at the centre of Northern Ireland's civil rights movement for equal votes, homes and jobs for Catholics. McCafferty was there on Bloody Sunday in 1972, when British soldiers shot dead 14 marchers in Derry. She also campaigned on behalf of republican women in jail. She moved to Dublin in 1970, and as a journalist opened many people’s eyes to what was happening to the most vulnerable in Irish society when she wrote about the children’s courts. She soon became part of a small but vociferous group of women who started the campaign for equality and women’s rights. She went on the famous contraceptive train – a group of Irish women went to Belfast, stocked up with condoms, pills (which, she reveals in her book, were actually aspirin, but customs never knew that) and other illegal articles and brought them back to Dublin. Here they were met by police and waiting media. Yes, it is true: 30 years ago, contraceptives were still illegal in the Republic. Pints were another thing women could not have – and so the same women went in to a famous pub in Dublin’s city centre, ordered 40 brandies, waited for them to served, then ordered a pint. The barman refused, and they in turn never paid for the brandies.

well it turns out shes a lesbian and has a history of partaking in civil rights campaigns in ireland so my assumption was right.

hey thaedydal, my mum was just saying that...people like her are only good for this country of ours. brilliant moment was when joe duffy went on talking about how back then in the 80's were the bad times and she was like 'eh no..that was then this is now''

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Ledgebian!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Half the time I hear her on the radio she seems drunk to me.

She made a total fool of herself on Questions and Answers a while back. While she has accomplished a lot, I feel she has a tendancy to spout off about things that she really has no real knowledge of.

Whatever about her being a "ledge", she is getting a bit overexposed at the moment and is grating on people as a result.

Some say she often turns up on television completely pissed.

If you are going to be stuck in fúcking donnybrook studios with all those rte tossers sure why wouldn't you fill up on the free booze in the greenroom,
    after all that is what everyone's 160euro tv lience is paying for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Thaedydal wrote: »
    She is a hell of a woman
    I have a lot of time for nell mcafferty and she did a lot of good work in changing this country for the better.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nell_McCafferty

Utter legend.

http://www.threemonkeysonline.com/als/_nell_mccafferty.html

You're celebrating a woman who claimed aspirin were the pill for the sake of controversy? Didn't she give those aspirin out to women afterwards?

that makes her funny.

You're celebrating a woman who claimed aspirin were the pill for the sake of controversy? Didn't she give those aspirin out to women afterwards?

No she didn't.

The pill was illegal here, it was a protest, condoms were illegal as well.
    She worked and lobbied with others including former presedent mary robinson who was also on the contraception train to make contraception legal and advailble to not just married couples.

The law was changed in 1984 which is not that long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

Tits on the late late!!!!!
    Ratings must be gettin low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭dresden8

There is a tendency in Irish politics to dance around the issue and be polite.

Sometimes concensus is a terrible thing.

If somebody is talking sh1te, Nell seems to be the only one who will tell them they're talking sh1te.

As for the baps, gravity is keeping the wrinkles out.

dresden8 wrote: »

If somebody is talking sh1te, Nell seems to be the only one who will tell them they're talking sh1te.

Thats Nell :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭HouseHippo

There is a tendency in Irish politics to dance around the issue and be polite.

Sometimes concensus is a terrible thing.

In the words of Andrew maxwell...
    Its all winks and hearsay

Whatever about her being a "ledge", she is getting a bit overexposed at the moment and is grating on people as a result.

That's an understatement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'm sure she was quite bright in her heyday, but now she just talks for the sake of hearing words, and feels she must have an opinion on everything no matter how ignorant she is about the issue.

Every time I hear her on the radio (which is alot, especially Newstalk) I cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭dardevle

let she who is without sin cast the first stone!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

cant be arsed reading back through all this ****e, but can someone explain what the hell a "ledge" is? kthxbi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭Inglorious

Orange69 wrote: »
    cant be arsed reading back through all this ****e, but can someone explain what the hell a "ledge" is? kthxbi

It means "legend" in some sort of primitive dialect.

a legend...duh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

I don't like her, but thankfully I never meet her, never have met with her and don't live with her, so I can't complain.

why do we even bother complaining about the late late show. Just stop watching it.

whose complaining? i enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Television forum - every friday night, saturday morning.... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

What's there to like about a loudmouthed ****tard who just shouts down people who don't agree with her? Not to mention that whole feminism thing, which is just automatic entry to the blackbook in any case...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I file her beside Eamon McCann and other elderly radicals of the time usually. I have a genuine historical respect for them but usually turn the page / switch channels pretty sharpish when I encounter them these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Nell's incoherent ramblings usually have me rushing for the remote control to switch over. Nice pubes though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

Oh jesus christ why did I just do that?!? :mad:

I was eating a yoghurt and all, may as well dump it now :mad:

sounds like someone's making excuses for some white stains ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭useful_contacts

No:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

Shes an obnoxious, ignorant, northern gob****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

shockwave wrote: »

And what series of articles of hers have you read?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

weve been seeing a tad too much of nell ( YIZ KNOW NATHIN ) mccafferty lately for my liking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

shockwave wrote: »

What does her being "northern" have to do with anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Her frikken obnoxious buzzsaw of a droning accent is a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Didn't she give those aspirin out to women afterwards?

No she didn't.

Have huge respect for her and other women who took part in those protests. I'm ashamed of how backwards our country was and those women had a hand in bringing about change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 TradMick84

in fairness, takes bravery when your that age to show off your bits.... however i had enough of her nakedness ten seconds in... Is the late late gone very liberal..?? couldn see that in gaybo's time.. as in Nell's minge on his programme..