Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snyper for ladies lounge mod.. Aka 'snyper save the kids' Offichul ssf appeal thread

• 12-12-2008 9:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭

Ok, its like this, the head vaginas in the ladies lounge in association with supreme overloard DeVore have agreed that if 1000 is donated to the santa strike force, donations marked 'snyper for ll', i will be a moderator of the ladies lounge for 1 epic week.

im donating 100 euro to get the ball rolling today.

closing date for donations is 17th december.

help snyper help the kids
    Post edited by Shield on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I donated to this during the last thread but didn't mark it "snyper for ll". I mentioned your name in it alright though, and that it was for your mod-thingy-fund, hope it'll be counted anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

snyper wrote: »
    the head vaginas in the ladies lounge
    Would that make you the little pussy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

It will be counted unfortunately, anything with snypers name attached will go towards the final total.

Think we should rename him for his week stint, if he raises the dosh! Plus one of us is vaginaless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Would it not be funnier if Snyper were made mod of the Clearisil and hormones forum or is that just asking for too much trouble?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Would it not be funnier if Snyper were made mod of the Clearisil and hormones forum or is that just asking for too much trouble?

Please think of the children!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

How much would it cost to make Snyper an Admin for the week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Gandalf23

... or maybe make him "Community Relations Manager" for the week!!! We could look at it as an extended interview ... (Snyper is out of work at the moment and I'm assuming he'd be interested?)

Now that I'd pay for!!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Whats the paypal address?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Click on this button

[ssf].[/ssf]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Sully wrote: »
    Whats the paypal address?

See here for instructions. :)

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Ill contribute if he waxes his legs as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Already put in 50 with your name attached.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

Zaph wrote: »
    Please think of the children!

That is what I was thinking

Surely the younglings should be made aware of the dangers that wait them in the big bad world

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Zaph wrote: »
    Click on this button

[ssf].[/ssf]

Consider it done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

Gandalf23 wrote: »
    How much would it cost to make Snyper an Admin for the week?

How much would it cose for a new forum ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

so.......as I understand it, you can't ban anyone and you don't have access to the mod forum....so.....what's the point? (apart from raising a grand for the SSF)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

You just answered your own question, teebs.

Snyper, a ton here, when I get a chance to send it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

tbh wrote: »
    so.......as I understand it, you can't ban anyone and you don't have access to the mod forum....so.....what's the point? (apart from raising a grand for the SSF)

makin children happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

no better man, snyper :) I'll throw in a few quid when I get home.

You just answered your own question, teebs.

Snyper, a ton here, when I get a chance to send it.

fair play to ya moneybags :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

makin children happy

Irony, thy name is snyper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

Who said he can't ban anyone, if someone deserves a ban he can ban them, he, like any other mod can't ban for sh1ts and giggles!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,664 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I threw in 50 yesterday with a further 50 to follow next week :)

Sure tis only a bit of Christmas fun anyway.

Jules wrote: »
    Who said he can't ban anyone, if someone deserves a ban he can ban them, he, like any other mod can't ban for sh1ts and giggles!

i now have an erection. Mmtanx

Irony, thy name is snyper.

Hence the idea was born

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

If anyone has sent in money before they can PM me and give me the details and I'll add it to the snyper fund.

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

I'll d0nate my xb0x 360 {NTSC-US}+ extra access0ry stuff t0 this cause. I was selling it but w0uld like t0 see this happen. :) I reck0n abut 200 y0y0 f0r it w0uld be a fair valuati0n. Dev0re, if y0u dr0p me a PM I'll arrange dr0p 0ff 0r c0llecti0n.

Stupid butt0n t0 the left 0f P is br0ken!!! :mad:

I don't think he's accepting second hand stuff. I suppose though an auction or adverts ad might get the cash for it ?

First p0st, last item. Alth0ugh it c0uld've changed by n0w.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Kinetic^ wrote: »
    Stupid butt0n t0 the left 0f P is br0ken!!! :mad:

Oh.

What's the grand total for this running at atm?

Right, ive finally deposited my donation of 10,000 cents to the ssf fund!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Fair play. I applaud you. Seriously.

Let the games begin :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

This stinks of personal gain in the name of charity. Honestly snyper joking aside are you doing this for SSF or for yourself? I have given already and will be giving more to SSF but I won't be supporting you. Sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I wonder what your avatar will be if you end up modding the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Onkle wrote: »
    This stinks of personal gain in the name of charity. Honestly snyper joking aside are you doing this for SSF or for yourself? I have given already and will be giving more to SSF but I won't be supporting you. Sorry

This will prompt people to donate who might not have bothered otherwise (that's what happened in my case anyway). In return, he'll be made the imaginary boss of an imaginary room for a week. It hardly reeks of personal gain.

cornbb wrote: »
    This will prompt people to donate who might not have bothered otherwise (that's what happened in my case anyway). In return, he'll be made the imaginary boss of an imaginary room for a week. It hardly reeks of personal gain.

thank you.

i thought it was fairly fcukin obvious myself, but heh, we cant all be smart.
    How donating 100 euro to charity and trying to get others to donate is for 'my personal gain' baffles me.

i suggest onkle, that you, rather than knocking me devise a fundraising effort of your own.. It would be time better spent

Gordon wrote: »
    I wonder what your avatar will be if you end up modding the place.

vagina master, or master of the vaginas will do fine thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

vagina master, or master of the vaginas will do fine thanks

You know, you aren't making any friends doing that.

But there are plenty of others things that Snyper could have done, instead of imposing himself on tLL and putting tLL mods and the admins in an awkward position where they would look like complete sh!ts if they didn't allow it.

And what really made me think this was when I saw a comment by snyper somewhere (I forget where) saying that 'i want this modship more than head from.....' That to me makes the whole thing look like it's for personal gain. I'm sure people would have donated to see snyper do something else.

i suggest onkle, that you, rather than knocking me devise a fundraising effort of your own.. It would be time better spent

I have put my hands very deeply into my own pockets for SSF. I will also be donating a lot of my own time to a different charity over christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Galvasean wrote: »

He's not making friends, he's making money. If he was all nicey then it wouldnt be worth paying to see him mod tLL.

Onkle wrote: »
    I have put my hands very deeply into my own pockets for SSF. I will also be donating a lot of my own time to a different charity over christmas

good for you.

im pretty confident the target wont be acheived but i do know that there has being a fair few quid donated to this already.

there is and has never been pressure on any staff member of boards to agree to this, the comment you refer to was made purely to try and raise interest.

ive given my donation, as i know others have. Im happy with that alone.

ive no interest in the slightest of being a mod of the ll and or any other forum on boards, the 'modship' in my eyes on this was simply a change of fonts on my username for a week.

sorry for being snappy in my previous post. Ive a splitting migrane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

good for you.

im pretty confident the target wont be acheived but i do know that there has being a fair few quid donated to this already.

there is and has never been pressure on any staff member of boards to agree to this, the comment you refer to was made purely to try and raise interest.

ive given my donation, as i know others have. Im happy with that alone.

ive no interest in the slightest of being a mod of the ll and or any other forum on boards, the 'modship' in my eyes on this was simply a change of fonts on my username for a week.

sorry for being snappy in my previous post. Ive a splitting migrane

No pressure ? really can't say I agree there.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055442050
    g'em wrote:
    ftr, I'm not, and I feel I'm being railroaded into this. snyper, you might be trying to raise support and live up to your 'public persona' but I would have thought it wise to be particularly attentive to those who you need support from most: the Mods. It would have been nice to have received even one PM from you to discuss this in more detail before you suggested it. There's four Mods on this forum, one of us need not necessarily speaking the mind of us all and to the best of my knowledge there's only one of us who you've been speaking to.

It was only two weeks ago that we have a very long and very detailed thread from some of the very prominent members of the forum complaining that there was too much sleazing going on and yet now we're being forced into this?

I'm all for SSF, I think it's an amazing cause, but holding us to ransom in the name of charidee is a bit low.

snyper, the ball's in your court. Prove me wrong.

Oh and one other thing: you aren't, never will be, and never could be, the overlord of any woman in here.

\sits back and waits for accusations of sense of humour failure.

\gets ready to remind accusers of where they are.

Seem you have only been talking with ONE of the mods there.
    Just becasue a person proposes a forum and is then made mod of that forum and is one of the longest serving mods there does not mean the 'own'
    the forum or can call the shots on the place.

Those of us that are mods are entrusted by the Admins to support the community of posters in the forum not ride roughshod over them or not consider asking them in the first place.

Thaedydal wrote: »
    No pressure ? really can't say I agree there.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055442050

Seem you have only been talking with ONE of the mods there.
    Just becasue a person proposes a forum and is then made mod of that forum and is one of the longest serving mods there does not mean the 'own'
    the forum or can call the shots on the place.

Those of us that are mods are entrusted by the Admins to support the community of posters in the forum not ride roughshod over them or not consider asking them in the first place.

i was given the 'ok' by a mod before i started this second thread. I assumed it was discussed internally.

i proposed the idea, from where i stood it was up to the ll to decide to accept the idea or not. Not very complicated really.

next time, i wont bother my bollocks. Its clearly easier.

I didn't mean to open a can of worms. Sorry

I'd say next time do something where the priority is the charity not your ego or personal gain

I really don't see the point in you getting snooty about this.

You proposed this idea in public and rallied support for it without first approaching the Mods of the forum or any of the Admins.

I initially gave it a tentative thumbs up (I felt I'd little choice tbh) but have since withdrawn my support largely due to how you've conducted yourself here.

You keep promising over and over that you will be a Mod only in name and not in actions. Frankly the actions you've displayed here are the absolute antithesis of what tLL stands for - it ceases being a joke when you cause more work for other people who have to clean up your mess.

Like I said in the thread that Thaed quoted from above, I left the ball in your court, I gave you the opportunity to PM me and you never did. Were you aware that we've had some huge issues with tLL readers and posters regarding sleaze levels in there? And can you see how your 'jokes', well-intended or otherwise could really cause us some major headaches?

I absolutely applaud and commend your intention to raise charity but this was a very poorly thought out and executed idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

I couldn't put it better myself. Neither can I help feeling that some people are taking this too bloody seriously. It's a big wide world out there people, open the door and breathe deep.
    Sabotage wrote: »
    He's not making friends, he's making money. If he was all nicey then it wouldnt be worth paying to see him mod tLL.

Indeed. As well as the fact that an element of humour is at play, particularly in this festive season. If that's emotional blackmail I don't give a fig.
    Galvasean wrote: »

How about Master of the Sandy Vaginas?

The shit surrounding all this is making me wonder why he's bothering at all.

I couldn't put it better myself. Neither can I help feeling that some people are taking this too bloody seriously. It's a big wide world out there people, open the door and breathe deep.
    Tell that to the people who report misogynistic posts in tLL. Tell that to the people who wrote the charter of the forum. And I presume you're directing that at me, one of the people who has to deal with the quite real problems and upset that gets caused in this imaginary room in our imaginary world? Sorry Roundy, but tLL was created specifically as a forum for women to feel comfortable and safe on boards.ie and I can't in good conscience support anything that directly defies that.
    How about Master of the Sandy Vaginas?
    Charming. Come on Roundy, is that kind of crap really necessary?