Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trinity Open Day

• 06-12-2008 1:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭

fonpokno wrote: »

Anyone going to trinity on wednesday?

Of course!

Dont get an official day off for it, which is a pain, but then again that means missing double RE so kinda a god thing :D

Kinda wanna go to alot of the talks, so i dunno how im gonna see everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

fonpokno wrote: »

Anyone going to trinity on wednesday?

Yes indeed!
    Anything to get out of a Wednesday at school...

Is there a summary/timetable of what's going on does anyone know? For talks and what not...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Niamh-17

Heading to Trinity - esp. to do the music mock entrance exam....just read about it on the open day timetable thing, anyone have any extra info as to what is about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭SarcasticFairy

Ugh, stupid TCD talks timetable! The Law talk is on at like 11/11:30, and then Law & Business isn't until 2ish. That's a whole lot of hanging around... :( Suppose we'll get lunch or something...

Having said that, I couldn't find any of the Arts talks (because it is getting late and so I am now half-blind) and I was like, why is it all sciences?! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭PurpleFistMixer

Time will fly. Go to Insomnia on Nassua street and get their hot chocolate. Om nom nom nom. So good.
    Actually, don't, I'll need that hot chocolate (yes they make 1 a day of course) when I fall out of my exam on wednesday.

Time will fly. Go to Insomnia on Nassua street and get their hot chocolate. Om nom nom nom. So good.
    Actually, don't, I'll need that hot chocolate (yes they make 1 a day of course) when I fall out of my exam on wednesday.

Nooo, Lemon on Dawson Street! Crepes for lunch?! Oh yes! Also do nice hot chocolate!

If I do end up in Trinity, I will actually die from crepe related injuries :o

I'd eat in Lemon all the time if I wasn't a penniless student. Insomnia is as far as I can indulge.
    (But yes their crepes are amazing. And waffles. Not to forget them.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

I'd eat in Lemon all the time if I wasn't a penniless student. Insomnia is as far as I can indulge.
    (But yes their crepes are amazing. And waffles. Not to forget them.)

I had my first crepe ever in there a few weeks ago, nothing short of amazing :)

Fad wrote: »
    I had my first crepe ever in there a few weeks ago, nothing short of amazing :)

Ah, you'll be addicted in no time.. then you'll move onto the waffles, and then you will be a lost cause, much like myself...

Soo excited for Wednesday now! I'm so having crepes for breakfast! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Oh wow, I'm totally gonna beg my friends to go there on wednesday morning for breakfast. Not that they'll need much persuading!

... I have never tried a crepe.
    Is there something wrong with me?

Will Trinners' Open Day be worth getting up in time for the 7.30 train? Oh God, I hope so..

bythewoods wrote: »
    ... I have never tried a crepe.
    Is there something wrong with me?

Will Trinners' Open Day be worth getting up in time for the 7.30 train? Oh God, I hope so..

Never tried a Lemon crepe, or just a crepe?! What happens on Pancake Tuesday then?!

7:30?! Where are you coming from? Oooh I can just about drag my still asleep ass to the train for 9:00... Couldn't be dealing with such early hours...

So who all is going tomorrow?

Moi, the school wont let us go until after 10, but I want to go to a lecture at half 9 so screw them.

Piste wrote: »
    Moi, the school wont let us go until after 10, but I want to go to a lecture at half 9 so screw them.

I'm assuming you're talking about the med lecture, bcause my friend wanted to go to it. AFAIK it's repeated later on sometime...

Having said that, it's kind of stupid they won't let you go early. We don't even have to go into school. Our CG teacher just said "Ehh, meet me around the front gate around 11. You don't have to wear uniform. Get this signed." Actually the soundest, most away with the fairies teacher you will meet! :D

Suits me fine, law talk is at half 11 (what's with the crappy repeatedness this year? They had them all about 4 times last year :()

Yeah I want to go to the med lecture but I don't think I can make the 12 one.

The genetics one looks really cool too, "attack of the killer mutant virus"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

So who all is going tomorrow?

I'll be there along with most of my year (there's 150 of us). Will be there for 10:00 for the Science talk and will probably go to a few more Sciencey stuff afterwards. Then I'm sure there'll be loads of adventurous stuff to get up to in town ;)

And damn this thread is making me hungry.

Yeah I want to go to the med lecture but I don't think I can make the 12 one.

The genetics one looks really cool too, "attack of the killer mutant virus"

Attack of the killer mutant virus?! Sounds mildly frightening to me - the type of thing that would make you not eat something ever again...

We just get a note from the parents and tell the school to feck off :)

"Pharmacy: “Marvellous medicines from aphrodisiacs to zinc"

I need to go :pac:

I'll be there! ... At 9am looking depressed for a Linear Algebra exam. And then at 11 gorging myself on Insomnia. Nom nom nom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 KnockHoops

we have forced our school into giving us two unofficial days off so we could go to ucd and tcd as we said we werent turning up to class and they came back to us saying after consultation process blah blah more bull and said we werent pushed into this decision:D

I'll be there! ... At 9am looking depressed for a Linear Algebra exam. And then at 11 gorging myself on Insomnia. Nom nom nom.

Another chance to scare a mod :D

(If I do happen to see you, let alone recognise you, rest assured I Probably wont bother you :pac:

Yep, coming from the lovely, far away land of Waterford.

I've gotten used to getting up early.. I get a 7.30 bus every morning to get into school on time.
    *shudders*

Just back from the open day now, I have to say I was pretty disappointed. All the health sciences talks were in a lecture theatre right beside all the science talks so that park of the Hamilton was really packed. I didn't get into either Medicine talk despite being 20 minutes early for both, and when they said they were adding on an extra one at 3 I was pretty disappointed cos I have piano at 4.15.

So yeah, pretty badly run and disorganised day, UCD's was way better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

Yeah the talks were rammed really closely together. Shame you didn't get into the medicine lecture.

I was only in for the dentistry talks and stuff, the dentist wasn't there for the 10 o clock one at all but the 12.30 one was good. The Hamilton building was just mad though. It's like that every year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭littlneutralone

Warning...that's fitting. Disorganisation is the epitome of medicine in Trinity. (I believe that was the opening line of the talk)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Fringe

Back now. The science talks were alright. Was going to go to the Maths one but just skipped that because of the terrible schedule and delays and went for some Burger King and then went home instead. Got some free stuff too. There wasn't a lot. Me and my friend went to every building to all the stands and there was only like 1 free pen per building. Wanted to get the Midwifery/Nursing key light thing too but I didn't want to be pestered about becoming a midwife.

Also really wanted to swipe those cool squishy things at the microbiology stand. They lit up and just looked so cool!

Fringe wrote: »
    Me and my friend went to every building to all the stands and there was only like 1 free pen per building. Wanted to get the Midwifery/Nursing key light thing too but I didn't want to be pestered about becoming a midwife.

I got a mug from them, no pestering on why I should become a Midwife I just asked for one :D

It wasnt amazingly well organised, and there probably should have been a 5 minute gap between each lecture, as it takes nearly that long to get from say the arts block and into a lecture hall in the Hamilton.

Thought it wasnt too bad though, wanna do science there now, Med tlk wasnt up to much tbh, so that has kinda put me off.

When it comes to real lectures, they give you 10/15 minutes to get from place to place. I guess they just assumed not too many people would be interested in stuff in both the Arts block and the Science end (which is silly, of course).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

That was a terribly organised open day.
    Couldn't get into the law,medicine or dentistry.A whole load of dossers there.
    I found the atmosphere in the place to be very up their own holes,for want of a better word.Didn't like it at all at all.Trinity has been scratched out of my cao anyway.
    Could anyone tell me what the opening day in ucd was like.Missed it

GA361 wrote: »

There were dossers in Radio Therapy, but then she gave out to them :D

But in fairness I got into every talk I wanted to get into :S

The amount of people giving out about South Dublin Accents was unreal, and there was me thinking to myself "Then WHY ARE YOU AT THE OPEN DAY OF A UNIVERSITY ON THE SOUTHSIDE!" Hiss

:( Didn't get into the law talk! There was about 100 other people (no exaggeration) that didn't get in either, despite also being early. Pretty disappointed about that...

There was so many people there... I went last year, and it was busy but much more organised, I found. Each talk was repeated a couple of times, which in the case of law, it was needed. There's always huge demand. Didn't understand it only being on once tbh.

I went on a campus tour, the SU one, and the guy doing it was pretty funny, and he gave us Haribo to follow him around, so that was alright! I never got the stuck up vibe though... I did in UCD, I felt I was being surveyed and talked about the whole time, they're aren't even subtle with their bitching! :( Wasn't impressed with UCD at all....

Liked Trinity, but was quite annoyed about the crappiness of the talks... Did however have crepes for breakfast! Nyom nyom nyom... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,169 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Pfft, Northersiders own Dublin :) My friend was raging that he forgot about this morning when I asked him how come he wasn't at Trinity!

There were dossers in Radio Therapy, but then she gave out to them :D

But in fairness I got into every talk I wanted to get into :S

The amount of people giving out about South Dublin Accents was unreal, and there was me thinking to myself "Then WHY ARE YOU AT THE OPEN DAY OF A UNIVERSITY ON THE SOUTHSIDE!" Hiss

What talks were you going for? Loads of people were complaining about how they couldn't get into lectures!

I was one of the ones laughing at the culchie accents... oh they shouldn't speak so loud, it's too funny. Didn't hear any anti-south-Dublin complaints though, and to be fair, it's barely on the south side... Usually things in town are just counted as town from what I've seen! The amount of girls who looked like they'd rolled around in make-up was unreal though, much worse than in UCD surprisingly enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I think it took me 30 mins to get downstairs in the hamilton building... Jesus H...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Randomness

I found the atmosphere in the place to be very up their own holes,for want of a better word.Didn't like it at all at all.Trinity has been scratched out of my cao anyway.
    Could anyone tell me what the opening day in ucd was like.Missed it

Sorry to hear that you didn't get more out of the open day. If it's any help I couldn't make it to the TCD open day two years ago but I'm here now in second year and having a ball. I wouldn't dwell too much on a good or bad open day tbh.

For what it's worth Trinity is a great college to go to and I couldn't imagine going anywhere else. You may come across a minority who are "up their own holes" as you say yourself, but in fairness they are in the minority, there are people like that in every college and finally there are always gonna be people like that in life generally.

If you want to find out more about a particular course start a thread on the TCD forum, a very friendly, helpful bunch of people. Or email the course director etc. IMO the best way to find out about a course is to ask someone who does it though.

The amount of girls who looked like they'd rolled around in make-up was unreal though, much worse than in UCD surprisingly enough!

I noticed that as well. In fact I was in the queue in the loo and next thing about 10 girls came in with orange faces. I couldn't get over it tbh. It's not like that on a daily basis just so ya know (they must have been your fellow open day attendees).

Randomness wrote: »
    I noticed that as well. In fact I was in the queue in the loo and next thing about 10 girls came in with orange faces. I couldn't get over it tbh. It's not like that on a daily basis just so ya know (they must have been your fellow open day attendees).

Most of them were really... that or actual students just decided to carry around prospectus' for the day :D It wouldn't put me off the college, just because some people can't put on their make-up... It was just an observation, as last year, it definately wasn't that bad! :D

I guess they just assumed not too many people would be interested in stuff in both the Arts block and the Science end (which is silly, of course).

But they're supposed to make the decision Irish or Science on my behalf by me attending lectures and whichever impresses me more :)

FAO Sarcastic Fairy: I went to Med, Science, Pharmacy, Radiation Therapy, biggish med ones, got into them all no hassle *shrugs*

That was just me being a wee bit nosey! :D But my god you got yourself around! I went to 3, one of which was so my friend wouldn't be one her own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭straight_As

Just back from the open day now, I have to say I was pretty disappointed. All the health sciences talks were in a lecture theatre right beside all the science talks so that park of the Hamilton was really packed. I didn't get into either Medicine talk despite being 20 minutes early for both, and when they said they were adding on an extra one at 3 I was pretty disappointed cos I have piano at 4.15.

That's really unlucky. I went into the 9.30 talk at twenty past with no problems and there were definitely seats there until half/twenty five to.

That really sucks.

The economics lecture, well the hour and twenty minutes that I stayed, was really entertaining, so much better than the TSM talk. And Dave MacWilliams is my new hero! What a man!

Yeah the place was packed out today... after my exam my class wandered towards the Pav and jaysus the number of people around the Arts Block... (Pav was empty though, which is probably a good sign). They really should have anticipated the numbers and planned talks accordingly tbh.

That was just me being a wee bit nosey! :D But my god you got yourself around! I went to 3, one of which was so my friend wouldn't be one her own!

9 15 till about 2 40 :D

Met some people I knew who are from the country, and were like im gonna go to like 2 talks then go shopping :P
    Yeah the place was packed out today... after my exam my class wandered towards the Pav and jaysus the number of people around the Arts Block... (Pav was empty though, which is probably a good sign). They really should have anticipated the numbers and planned talks accordingly tbh.

It was packed (Arts Block), TBH id say the Pav would be ridiculously careful with so many potential underagers on campus, also it doesnt look like a pub/bar.

Saw a ridiculous amount of people going straight from TCD to pubs on Nassau St :D

It was packed (Arts Block), TBH id say the Pav would be ridiculously careful with so many potential underagers on campus, also it doesnt look like a pub/bar.

Saw a ridiculous amount of people going straight from TCD to pubs on Nassau St :D
    Well, the Pav serves hot food (it looks delicious! ... I am too cheap to get anything but chips), you can't buy alcohol without a trinity ID though, and they say whether or not you're underage.

Anyway, this is digressing madly... *backs into shadows*
    Oh and I second the "don't get a bad impression of TCD off the open day" sentiment. Certainly in my course, if anyone is full of themself they're in a tiny minority. Most people are perfectly sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭fonpokno

How come you didn't get into dentistry? The lecture theatre was only about half full for both of the dentistry talks. At least 4 whole empty rows at the front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭GA361

There was a whoal load of people crowded around the door when we arrived and so assumed it was full.Obviously we misread the situation.

Anyway, this is digressing madly... *backs into shadows*
    Oh and I second the "don't get a bad impression of TCD off the open day" sentiment. Certainly in my course, if anyone is full of themself they're in a tiny minority. Most people are perfectly sound.

I enjoyed it, thats all that matters to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

I enjoyed the open day. Lovely campus, seem like decent people. Went to 2 talks, Comp. Science and Comp. Science and linguistics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

I enjoyed it. The physics professor started throwing out packets of m&m's. Alas I was too far down the back to get any:(. He was a bit odd. I've never heard a man talk about packing with such enthusiasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

I enjoyed it too, got to everything I wanted to, only had to queue for the Science one at 12:00 for a while but that didn't bother me. I didn't really learn a whole lot about the actual courses at the lectures though, like the Physics fella just talked about packing, the Geology guy was just on about the universe and I can't remember what the biochemistry lady was on about, wasn't very interesting. I guess they're just trying to give you a sample lecture as opposed to course info.

Thought it was a much better open day that the UCD one (well the one last year), which was horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

I enjoyed it.

Dave mcwilliams is a complete ledgend as anyone who attended the lecture can attest to!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭lou91

So, what did everyone think?

Loved it! Gave me a bit of much-needed motivation to study through the holidays. AND a free bookmark. You wouldn't get that at UCD... :D