Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Religion in the Media

• 10-12-2008 6:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭

I don't see many programmes on religion on our TV screens. Would You Beleive seems to be the only one.

There are a lot of miracles happening within the Catholic Church including healings without scientific reason and the removal of addictions such as drugs, sex and alchoal. I often wondered why these are not documented on our TV channels as they provide great evidence for atheists and great hope for us sinners.

It would be great to see a programme that showed the miracles that are happening and the testimony of those people. I personally think it would make great viewing just like Ghost Stories etc. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I too would like to see more religious propaganda on the tele.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Gareth37 wrote: »
    I don't see many programmes on religion on our TV screens. Would You Beleive seems to be the only one.

There are a lot of miracles happening within the Catholic Church including healings without scientific reason and the removal of addictions such as drugs, sex and alchoal. I often wondered why these are not documented on our TV channels as they provide great evidence for atheists and great hope for us sinners.

It would be great to see a programme that showed the miracles that are happening and the testimony of those people. I personally think it would make great viewing just like Ghost Stories etc. :)

The Angelus is bad enough as it is thanks all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

There are a few religious tv stations, the God channel and EWTN are two right off the top of my head, I'm sure there are more too.

Think I'll stick with the Discovery channels myself though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

episode_03.jpg

• Moderators Posts: 51,922 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

The angelus is another.;)

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I don't see many programmes on religion on our TV screens......I personally think it would make great viewing just like Ghost Stories etc. :)

I agree, sometimes I like watching the odd supernatural program.

I suppose you agree that there should be more programs for Muslims, Jehovah's Witnesses and Scientologists also?

Maybe something like this instead:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Gareth37

Tago Mago wrote: »
    I suppose you agree that there should be more programs for Muslims, Jehovah's Witnesses and Scientologists also?

No, Ireland is 86% registered Catholic. I would prefer Catholic programming.

orestes wrote: »
    the God channel and EWTN are two right off the top of my head,

Yes, but in this country there are thousands of miracles and conversions. I would like to see an Irish program show these people and their testimony. People could make up their own minds as to their authenticity.

For example; I heard of one guy that was 2 weeks from death riddled with cancer. A healing priest went into the wrong ward by mistake and then the wrong room. The man was healed and the doctor could not explain it. Its a great story for TV. People should listen to these people and then make up their mind about how authentic the healings are. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

Taken from http://www.rte.ie/about/pdfs/programmeguidelines2008_eng.pdf

2. Tolerance of the diversity of beliefs people hold

I've no doubt you would prefer that, but unfortunately for you the other 14% are entitled to representative programming also, given that it is not only Catholics that pay a licence fee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

I think there should be no religious programming of any kind on state media, ie RTE or BBC. If someone wants to watch religious programs there's dedicated channels without tax payers money being used to fund one religion over another and cause division and hatred.

I would imagine if the census was to re-taken, with a stipulation that religion determines tv programming, that number could be a lot lower.

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    I think there should be no religious programming of any kind on state media, ie RTE or BBC. If someone wants to watch religious programs there's dedicated channels without tax payers money being used to fund one religion over another and cause division and hatred.

Exactly, religion or lack of it is a personal and private thing, so leave it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Yes, but in this country there are thousands of miracles and conversions. I would like to see an Irish program show these people and their testimony. People could make up their own minds as to their authenticity.

For example; I heard of one guy that was 2 weeks from death riddled with cancer. A healing priest went into the wrong ward by mistake and then the wrong room. The man was healed and the doctor could not explain it. Its a great story for TV. People should listen to these people and then make up their mind about how authentic the healings are. :)

Thousands? Can you provide me with an article or report on any of them? I'd be interested in reading up on them. Where did you get the info from yourself?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

So I'll tell my Church of Ireland sister in law that her religion doesn't matter when it comes to tv programmes, shall I? And of those 86%, how many do you really believe would watch more religious programming anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Given the low audience figures for religious programming on television it seems highly unlikely (OP aside) that there is much of a demand for more religious programming.

I'd be of the opinion that RTE would get rid of Would You Believe if they could.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

imo theres no place for religious nonsense on channels paid for by the license payer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

86% of ireland was baptised catholic

that doesnt make them catholic, just the children of catholic parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

There is no such thing as a miracle. They are called coincidences.
    As for a lack of religious programmes there is a reason why there is none on the TV. It is because they are crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Funniest story ever - great comic potential here. I think its hilarious god decides who should survive based on a mistake by a priest. Does this mean the guy the priest was supposed to go to did actually die. A bit of an unfair way to decide who should survive and who shouldn't. God: The Most Logical Being In The Universe it would not be called.

If someone took a video of this and documented it all taking place and the priest going into the room and doing whateveer he did, also showing with interviews from doctors, proof that he had cancer before it took place, that he has no cancer now, and that no other obvious treatments were adminstered then it made for interesting programming. An interview with a priest and a couple of "Oh, I believe because it gives me hope" relatives is hardly compelling television. The only people who would watch are 'oul gullible biddies with rosemary beads, but there is already enough shite on the telly for them ahem, the Late Late Show for one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    That's not really fair or democratic. The state media should provide programming for everyone.

did you hear this from a friend of a friend? If that happened everyone would hear about it.

It is possible for cancer to go into remission for no apparent reason it does happen. I wouldn't discount the influence of a higher power when I don't know any better but that story is just fantasy if you can't back it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Zaph wrote: »
    So I'll tell my Church of Ireland sister in law that her religion doesn't matter when it comes to tv programmes, shall I?
    Not that C of I gets shows on the telly either...
    And of those 86%, how many do you really believe would watch more religious programming anyway?
    Well, there's the real reason. And a possible start to the debate on RTE's minority interest public broadcasting remit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

I want more programs about Horus The ancient egyptian sun god

You know the one; He is the lad who Jesus stories are a reworking of!
    Known as the lamb of God, born on the 25th of Dec etc
    This is a link to make it more palatable for believers ie. it doesnt just say that religon is all mucka:D;)
    http://www.near-death.com/experiences/origen046.html

For the non believer: :(
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNf-P_5u_Hw
    &
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qc-mrJf45Hg

Rebuke as hokem if you want but this is all ancient history which was supressed by Rome for... well for a fair long time:eek::eek::D

Or do you just want programs that say Jesus is great hurrah and anything we said was 100% real, that has since been disproved is actually a parable:o

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I often wondered why these are not documented on our TV channels as they provide great evidence for atheists.

Dude, you have about as much chance of converting atheists by showing them people talking about miracles as Richard Dawkins has of convincing you that your beliefs are a big load of bumfluff.

To clarify. No chance.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I think that should defintely be on the telly but possibly not for the same reason as you.

It's a classic sitcom scenario. Hell, you could film it as improv with Pat Shortt as Johnny Cancerorgans and Des Bishop as a streetwise priest, then blashpemously label it an Irish Curb Your Enthusiasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Robbo wrote: »
    I think that should defintely be on the telly but possibly not for the same reason as you.

It's a classic sitcom scenario. Hell, you could film it as improv with Pat Shortt as Johnny Cancerorgans and Des Bishop as a streetwise priest, then blashpemously label it an Irish Curb Your Enthusiasm.

Haha I can imagine Pat Shortt playing a different character talking to Des Bishop's priest: "Jaysus, what are ya at? ****s sake, sure your after gone into the wrong lads room, ya feckin ejit, what are ya at? Sure we don't care if he dies, its the other lad!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Religion in the media

Should be banned. Why does religion need to be public? I dont wanna watch it- It interferes with my life. We should have more Bugs Bunny. :(

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

We should have more Bugs Bunny. :(

I'm pretty sure Bugs bunny has had a far more positive impact on my life than Would You Believe ever has.

Bugs Bunny is a Scientologist.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

babestation with Nuns would be epic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Keep it on topic folks.... first and last warning.

Here is a nice article from the Neenagh Guardian 13th Oct 2007:
    http://www.nenaghguardian.ie/news/tipperary-miracle-features-in-new-padre-pio-book-1166071.html

A woman in a coma dying of cancer and seeing all her family around her as she was dying. Then woke up and no sign of the cancer.

Miracles are happening left, right and center but few are documented. There are many healing priests in this country. :)

That would be nice to hear on TV and all of us could judge whether the person is truthful or not and whether or not science could explain it.

It's not about whether the person is truthful or not, they honestly believe something because they want to, they completely disregard the logical explanations and stick to the more comforting version. It's not that there are no scientific explanations; just because Biddy would rather believe that Padre Pio cleared up her bad back doesn't mean he did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

RTÉ does provide programming across their schedule for religous worship. This is not The Irish Catholic Republic. Our constitiution provides for all types of worship and that is reflexed in RTÉ's religious programming.

Sunday Worship comes from a number of churches around the country.
    The Jewish Rabie sends a message out to the Irish jews every year on RTE ONE.
    And all religions have agreed that the minute before the news is respectful to all forms of worship.

http://www.rte.ie/tv/worship/

[disclaimer] I don't work for RTÉ [/disclaimer]

At the end of the day it's all to do with market share and ratings, if there was a big demand for this type of programming it would be on. They do bits like this on Nationwide from time to time.

All that said I did enjoy the "Miracles of Jesus" programme that was on the BBC last year, it was interesting to see what the miracles meant culturally at the time the bible was written. It was more of an anthropological study though than something telling you that this stuff all happened word for word.

I think a programme about trying to find out the actual science that's causing the "miracles" would be good, but one saying "look at me, I'm cured and I don't want to entertain that science might have a reason for this." would be useless.

Here is a nice article from the Neenagh Guardian today actually, a bit of a coincidence but there we go:
    http://www.nenaghguardian.ie/news/tipperary-miracle-features-in-new-padre-pio-book-1166071.html

A woman in a coma dying of cancer and seeing all her family around her as she was dying. Then woke up and no sign of the cancer.

Miracles are happening left, right and center but few are documented. There are many healing priests in this country. :)

Your link doesn't work, 'webpage cannot be found'

Also, RTE broadcasts a mass every Sunday morning, or have they stopped that service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

Here is a nice article from the Neenagh Guardian today actually, a bit of a coincidence but there we go:

all religions claim to have miracles but the only one that is out in the street helping all people no matter what religion they are, is the sally army-to the down and out they are the most important,not the priest /vicar /muller or monk- its the salvation army who tries to save-and often dose

Works for me.

Biddy would rather believe that Padre Pio cleared up her bad back doesn't mean he did

Cancer? Not a bad back?

She was in a coma from cancer and it disappeared without scientific intervention. How could you be in a coma with a bad back? :confused:

Cancer? Not a bad back?

She was in a coma from cancer and it disappeared without scientific intervention. How could you be in a coma with a bad back? :confused:

I don't care if it was piles; Padre Pio didn't cure it anyway, that's for sure.

I'd welcome a show where these 'miracles', which have scientific and logical explanations that are usually ignored by illogical people like you

I don't care if it was piles; Padre Pio didn't cure it anyway, that's for sure.

I'd welcome a show where these 'miracles', which have scientific and logical explanations that are usually ignored by illogical people like you

Im actually a very pestimistic and logical person. I was a terrible sinner for many years. Society is not all that it seems you know.

Also, Im not saying that all miracles are true but it would be nice to hear the testimony of people and decide. I find the topic interesting and maybe good TV viewing if enough people were to come forward. :)

Im actually a very pestimistic and logical person. I was a terrible sinner for many years. Society is not all that it seems you know.

Also, Im not saying that all miracles are true but it would be nice to hear the testimony of people and decide. I find the topic interesting and maybe good TV viewing if enough people were to come forward. :)

So would you be in favour of a completely impartial dissection of events classed as miracles and the possible scientific and logical explanations thereof? As opposed to a religious agenda with untruths presented as facts? If you are, then I would agree with you.

http://dsc.discovery.com/fansites/mythbusters/mythbusters.html

Sorry.... :)

I totally forgot to finish that sentence.. it doesn't make much sense as it is.. :pac:

I think I meant to add
    ,are dissected.

Love Mythbusters

So would you be in favour of a completely impartial dissection of events classed as miracles and the possible scientific and logical explanations thereof? As opposed to a religious agenda with untruths presented as facts? If you are, then I would agree with you.

Yes, we must try to understand everything, both the scientific odds of the cure and the odds of it being supernatural. :)

There is a priest that travels the world with Padre Pio's glove and its strike rate is very very high. The miracle that I mentioned in the first post was performed with this glove.

Have a read of this story, it seems to be the word of a normal man, not words twisted:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/lifestyle/padre-pio-files-my-pregnant-wife-was-clinically-brain-dead-then-we-brought-in-padre-pios-glove-13489128.html

I would love to see these documented on TV, you can say what you want but they are certainly worth considering! People don't make up rubbish like this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I don't know if you can support your arguement with Mythbusters!!!! I will now back up everything I say with a Wikipedia quote :)

But lets not move off the topic which is about religous programming on TV.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Bugs Bunny is a Scientologist.
    Damn it, I hate it when I find out someone cool is a down with Xenu. This is nearly as bad as finding out about Beck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Im still holding out for Bugs Bunny... ;)

Anyway - back to point. Why have Miracles and all that on TV... Just look outside.
    (location depending): Trees, supplying oxygen to make us breathe. Rain to make stuff grow, Stuff growing for us to eat... Actual real live miracles.... enjoy them (regardless of whoever created them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

People don't make up rubbish like this!

Hahaha!

What are the viewing figures for Nationwide, Would you Believe et al? If they were high enough I'm sure RTE would start more.

How about an all inclusive one hour show for religious issues per week. It could be on after the Late Late. Basically you could text in a question about life, a current issue which science has not yet been able to explain, a "my brother's friend's uncle's dry cleaner saw an image of Mary in the washing up liquid" type story and the answer given always is "God did it". Would that suffice?

toiletduck wrote: »
    Hahaha!

What are the viewing figures for Nationwide, Would you Believe et al? If they were high enough I'm sure RTE would start more.

How about an all inclusive one hour show for religious issues per week. It could be on after the Late Late. Basically you could text in a question about life, a current issue which science has not yet been able to explain, a "my brother's friend's uncle's dry cleaner saw an image of Mary in the washing up liquid" type story and the answer given always is "God did it". Would that suffice?

The Truth is always the best, you can muddle your way through life without the Truth but its a mistake to do so. :)