Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*Why are men so useless on the phone?*

• 10-12-2008 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭

Just had a call from a girl on behalf of her boyfriend wanting to know if there were any jobs going where I work.

Have had a few of these actually - women ringing "on behalf" of their son/brother/boyfriend.

Why can't men talk themselves?
    Is the telephone a scary thing to them?

Tell you what, no "man" who got his girlfriend to ring up enquiring about a job on his behalf would be hired by me!
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

My sister cannot and will not speak to strangers on the phone.

I think a lot of lads aren't arsed looking for jobs so their other half or mum or whoever does it for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

They don't want the job, the missus or mother wants them out of the house though. & women like talking more than men anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

way to generalize :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

My mate's like this.
    If we're going anywhere that you have to book like booking a tee time or asking have they a product in he refuses to ring.
    He won't talk to strangers on the phone.
    But when your on the phone to him he won't shut up. The amount of times you get stuck in like a half hour call with him when he rang you to ask what time you were going out or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

maybe they're too busy doing yer ma to call themselves...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Do women think that putting asterisks on each end of the title of a shit thread will generate more interest in said thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

My mates gf finds him his jobs he does nothing ....

i dont mind talkin on the phone.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

There's a woman in my work that could have called you because from the sound of her conversations on the phone to her bf, he sounds like he can't scratch his @rse without asking for help.
    One day she was telling him how he shouldn't ring in sick since he had just got into the new minimum wage job. She was telling him to give it time and then do it. He didn't last long anyway and he's still unemployed.

Did you get your one's name that time, I bet it was her.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

OP, going by your logic, I could ask "why do women make gender-based generalisations?" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Unlike women, we don't have time to develop a phone manner because we use it for basic, informational purposes. As opposed to taking 16 hours to say I'm on the bus; see you tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Ill have you know that i am a guy and i work part time in administration so am on the phone quite a bit...:D but i know what you mean I often get mens wives calling in saying that there husband cant work because they have the flu...I suppose some men are like that but dont you be tarring us all with the same brush:mad::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

Its not that men are useless on the phone. We are just lazy. Why make a phone call yourself when you can get a woman to do it for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

*Why are men so useless on the phone?*

Because we can't stare at your chest over the phone.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

ozzyoh wrote: »
    Have had a few of these actually - women ringing "on behalf" of their son/brother/boyfriend.
    Women always on the phone it is terrible i agree

Women dont like when we do that!

no but the woman attached to end of it usually is, especially when you try and seperate her from it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

poisonated wrote: »
    Ill have you know that i am a guy and i work part time in administration so am on the phone quite a bit...:D but i know what you mean I often get mens wives calling in saying that there husband cant work because they have the flu...I suppose some men are like that but dont you be tarring us all with the same brush:mad::D

Lol - OK, I guess that was a bit of a sweeping generalisation I made there - I should have said "why are ALOT of men useless on the phone" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭ZygOte

sounds like interfering mammy syndrome to me, if i were a trained brain surgeon and out of work she would probably call the local pub to see if i could get a job pulling pints. "a job is a job....."

on the other hand if he is too feckin lazy to try and get a job for himself, what the hell is she doing trying to find him a job, she should be packin her bags and leaving his sorry ass.

p.s no dispect to bar men, you rock! its a bloody hard job.

noblestee wrote: »
    Do women think that putting asterisks on each end of the title of a shit thread will generate more interest in said thread?

Not really...I just think it looks prettier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

Lol - OK, I guess that was a bit of a sweeping generalisation I made there - I should have said "why are ALOT of men useless on the phone" :D

Then we'd ask why you're hiring people if you don't know that alot isn't a word :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

No you should have said, "Why are a couple of men whose wives called in so useless on the phone? Even thought i have never met said men and have no knowledge of why their wives called..."

Maybe both the guys are mute.. ya i went there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭bush Baby

Phones are evil. Not to be used unless absolutely neccessary!

I wonder are the women calling from home - they really should be at work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

I should have said "why are ALOT of men useless on the phone" :D

What's alot? Do you mean a lot? or allot?

jdivision wrote: »
    What's alot? Do you mean a lot? or allot?

The first one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Just had a call from a girl on behalf of her boyfriend wanting to know if there were any jobs going where I work.

Tell you what, no "man" who got his girlfriend to ring up enquiring about a job on his behalf would be hired by me!

I don't know. Why are women so silly as to do things for lazy men?:pac:

Also, what industry do you work in. I might need a job soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Hahah I'm like this, I hate talking on the phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 233 ✭✭cmcsoft

I'd say cos women are simply better at talking and usually the fellas that need their gfs/mothers to do that also depend on them to wash their clothes feed them etc etc.......they're just lazy....can't say all fellas like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Thats pretty sad, you'd have to be pretty sad to get your mum or girlfriend to ring and ask for a job on your behalf...

What is the person hiring supposed to think? Oh I think I'll give this fella the job as his mum sounds really nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'd say a lot of the calls are made without the fellas knowing though, i cant imagine anyone actually wanting/needing a job getting the mother or girlfriend to ring for them.
    Not a big fan of phones either, much prefer dealing with people face to face,

I'd say a lot of the calls are made without the fellas knowing though, i cant imagine anyone actually wanting/needing a job getting the mother or girlfriend to ring for them.

Not a big fan of phones either, much prefer dealing with people face to face,

My mam rang up this place last summer and told them i'd be really interested in working for them (even though i had told her already i wasn't getting a job that summer). so they ring me back a few weeks later and i basically have to tell them i don't actually want to work for them.

grrrrrr :mad:. I think the real question is why do women try and push men into doing things they don't want to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SpookyDoll

I dont think its that they are "useless" -I would more say concise.

I dread certain women friends of mine ringing simply to "chat" -if you want to talk its much easier to do in person.

Its too hard to concentrate on a conversation thats longer than a few minutes (3 or 4) on the phone as your mind wanders and you feel bored and trapped.

Since working in a call centre many years back I view talking on the phone as "work" and something to be avoided at almost all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

vinylmesh wrote: »
    grrrrrr :mad:. I think the real question is why do women try and push men into doing things they don't want to.

A lot of them like to have a project and if you're a fella who is near them when they get this idea you're it.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I think the real question is why do women try and push men into doing things they don't want to.

Because nothing on earth can compete with the power of a womans ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,960 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

yea, just a *bit*, maybe you should use something like this *"Why are some people useless on the phone"*... ;)

It's just not nice to make a generalisation... :P

I am sure that most of these fellas don't even know the conversation on the phone is taking place. That is more annoying. The woman thinking they know what's best for their man ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Do you run a gay sex chatline service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Why are most women useless when it comes to:
    • Driving
    • Knowledge of sport
    • Cooking
    • Working in high pressure jobs
    • Giving good head
    • DIY or basic home improvements
    and countless other things ...

/Ends generalization

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Women talk more on the phone because they're sh1t at heavy breathing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

And why is that the boyfriend's fault?

I find there's quite a few womens who think they're queen of the phone. I remember being over at a friends house not so long ago, and I went to order Pizza for us. So when I was trying to make the order, this lad's girlfriend started piping up and giving me criticism along the lines of "You know the address? You know what we want?" and other things that I couldn't make out because the girl was too thick to know that you don't talk at someone when they're on the phone. No amount of hand signals would make her sit down and shut up, so I told the pizza place to hold on while I turned around and gave her a right big shush. What does she do? Outstretches her hand and says "Look, just give it here, I'll do it." I'm not handing over my phone, so I leave the room at a last ditch attempt to order the pizza, and she follows me out! At that point I just told her to **** off. Got the order done, but she was in a sour mood and wouldn't speak to me for the rest of the night. Telling her she was acting like a 3 year old probably didn't help either.

That wouldn't be only time a girl has pestered me while I was trying to make a phonecall either. Why do some girls do this? Maybe they need to feel important, that their lives will have more meaning if they can lord it over the phone, maybe they're arrogant and think it's their way or the highway, maybe they're just bitches? Who knows? But it's god damned ****ing annoying as hell, and I'd say the girl in question who called up 'on behalf' of her boyfriend, is just being a busybody.

Typical girl thread, always blaming the lads, especially when it's probably a girl's fault. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

dont bother me ringing people up looking for info or booking stuff. Whats the point in having a phone if ya cant use it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I hate talking on phones. Much prefer the face to face approach. I'd never ask someone to call looking for a job on my behalf. I have no problem doing that myself, however I remember one time when I was looking for work and my sister had heard of a place hiring and told me to ring them. I told her I'd drop a CV into them the next day, and she asked me why I wouldn't just call them at that time, to which I replied couldn't be arsed. So, thinking she knew best, she proceeded to dial the number of the company, shoved the receiver in my face and told me to ask about the job. At this point I left the room - refusing to let her win. I heard her talking to the company and asking for a job on my behalf - at this point I went back into the room and disconnected the call, before she gave them my name or something.
    I actually got the job in that place, but on my own terms.
    Victory for me - but I think the story proves, that women try to control men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Freewheeling Ed

Ha.. I just heard on the radio "Moncrieff" , that Carol Vordaman, mother forged her signature and sent in the application for her (not on the phone) but stills someones Mum.. "interfering"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Who really gives a flying f uck?

Just about all your opinions are worthless.

dSTAR wrote: »
    Why are most women useless when it comes to:
    • Driving
    • Knowledge of sport
    • Cooking
    • Working in high pressure jobs
    • Giving good head
    • DIY or basic home improvements
    and countless other things ...

/Ends generalization

it sounds like you're trying to imply men are better at it...

GHEY!

it sounds like you're trying to imply men are better...

GHEY!
    Jesus titty christ. How absolutly retarded are you at being unable to understand basic English? How and where does the post imply men are better in any way?

If anything you must be a gigantic faggit for having that thought come to your head first. Might as well top yourself.

Jesus titty christ. How absolutly retarded are you at being unable to understand basic English? How and where does the post imply men are better in any way?

he states that women are useless at giving head, as if he's had men do it better for him.

pretty simple to understand really. I added in the words *at it* for you "special" folk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,308 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Is it because their husbands are actually away working in Poland and only return once a month to collect the dole?

he states that women are useless at giving head, as if he's had men do it better for him.

pretty simple to understand really. I added in the words *at it* for you "special" folk.
    No. You are wrong and retarded. It is implying they are bad at giving good head, you don;t have to have had a guy blow your load to know if you are getting good head or not. Although I am sure the 14 year old girls and boys you have blowing you around the back of the bike shed at school all feel the same to you.

Go back to school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

pretty simple to understand really.

No, he states that women are useless at giving head, as if he's had bad head from women. Or do you think that if you were given a bad blow job, you wouldn't be able to tell?

He clearly states that ALL women give bad head.

Now, the only way he could know that the blow jobs he's been getting were sub-standard, is if he's gotten better one's off people who weren't women.

Otherwise he'd just assume that what he's been getting is as good as blow jobs get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

From the amount of time you boys are talking about getting blow jobs, I would wager that ye aren't getting a whole lot of them at the moment.

Some men are useless on the phone. Some women are too, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

And why is that the boyfriend's fault?

I find there's quite a few womens who think they're queen of the phone. I remember being over at a friends house not so long ago, and I went to order Pizza for us. So when I was trying to make the order, this lad's girlfriend started piping up and giving me criticism along the lines of "You know the address? You know what we want?" and other things that I couldn't make out because the girl was too thick to know that you don't talk at someone when they're on the phone. No amount of hand signals would make her sit down and shut up, so I told the pizza place to hold on while I turned around and gave her a right big shush. What does she do? Outstretches her hand and says "Look, just give it here, I'll do it." I'm not handing over my phone, so I leave the room at a last ditch attempt to order the pizza, and she follows me out! At that point I just told her to **** off. Got the order done, but she was in a sour mood and wouldn't speak to me for the rest of the night. Telling her she was acting like a 3 year old probably didn't help either.

That wouldn't be only time a girl has pestered me while I was trying to make a phonecall either. Why do some girls do this? Maybe they need to feel important, that their lives will have more meaning if they can lord it over the phone, maybe they're arrogant and think it's their way or the highway, maybe they're just bitches? Who knows? But it's god damned ****ing annoying as hell, and I'd say the girl in question who called up 'on behalf' of her boyfriend, is just being a busybody.

Typical girl thread, always blaming the lads, especially when it's probably a girl's fault. :p

my wife will not call anyone for anything unless its her mother or me. If i am calling for a take away she will talk away to me while im placing the order like the girl above and when I do shove the phone in her face and tell her to do it she quitens down. sometimes i'll make a mistake in the order only because she is blabbering away beside me and I get the head ate off me after when it her order i mess up, when its my order messed up its a laugh to her and im stupid.

other times when its really important and I'm in work she will ring me and then ask me to call on her bahalf, the worst was booking to doctors for our baby injections she rings me and reminds me to ring the doctors bloody hell.

so i now delibertly put everything on hold and use delaying tactics and you know what she will pester me until i make the phone call. it even extends to emails.