Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recording Studio Rates - the best?

• 10-12-2008 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭

Ive been ringing studios this morning getting rates for recording.

Does anyone know of or can reccomend a recording studio that can beat €200 for a full day? Its a solo singer.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,277 ✭✭✭DamagedTrax

pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭teamdresch

Post up the rates you were quoted for the good of the community.
    Only one I can think of is Elektra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Kila

Ive been ringing studios this morning getting rates for recording.

Does anyone know of or can reccomend a recording studio that can beat €200 for a full day? Its a solo singer.

Thanks.

Where are you getting those rates? I looked a while back and couldn't find anything that cheap, and I've been wanting to record for a while.

at the moment my rates are 150 for unsigned. (if someone is signed then we can chat about the project costs)

this is mainly because i dont have a live room but i have a fully treated mix room and i can accomodate vocals, guitars etc - just no drums unfortunatly. i'd usually take a band elsewhere for drums and after seeing michael in trackmix in action, next time the oppertunity arises, he'd be my first choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

Studio, their personnel and results are all variables. Make sure you know what you want and are comparing like for like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Peewee_lane

Kila wrote: »
    Where are you getting those rates? I looked a while back and couldn't find anything that cheap, and I've been wanting to record for a while.

Backlane Rec. Studio with Enda Roche - €200 per day

then I rang Click Recording out in Clane who are €300 per day.

Appletree in Trim, Meath - €25 per hour, 9-3pm.

Backlane Rec. Studio with Enda Roche - €200 per day

then I rang Click Recording out in Clane who are €300 per day.

Appletree in Trim, Meath - €25 per hour, 9-3pm.

I've never heard of any of these guys or am aware of their work - though that, of course doesn't mean they're not good - just they haven't appeared on the pro - radar .

appletree would be known, not sure who's out there though.

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    I've never heard of any of these guys or am aware of their work - though that, of course doesn't mean they're not good - just they haven't appeared on the pro - radar .

Well Paul, Im based out in Celbridge and I rang a music shop I get all my gear from in Maynooth and asked if they would reccomend studios in the area and they gave me the names of the above. Obviously friends of theirs or word of mouth, it was good though because I got through to a really nice guy who doesnt have a website and was very interested in what I wanted to do.

The rest (not the ones above) just spat out the rates and that was that.

Can you reccomend any Paul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭keltoms

try these! www.apstudios.net

keltoms wrote: »

:pac:they are a beautiful studio and lovely to work with but at (i think) 70/80 an hour slightly more than the OP was searchin for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭trackmixstudio

My rate is €350/day.
    Does that beat €200/day at the other places you mentioned?.
    I don't know the other studios mentioned so I can't comment on them.

My rate is €350/day.
    Does that beat €200/day at the other places you mentioned?.
    I don't know the other studios mentioned so I can't comment on them.

Euro 500 a day can often be MUCH better value overall than Euro 200 a day!

very true

Many thanks for all replies, I got my answer ;o)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭progsound

Euro 500 a day can often be MUCH better value overall than Euro 200 a day!

Agreed I would be more interested in a studios past work quality than their daily rates. In other words if they are putting out **** who cares how much they cost.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭fitz

Peewee, what kind of music are you looking to record? It's important not just to look at rates, but to look at where suits you and your music. Is it a band, solo artist, etc...
    Genre's important too...Mick at Trackmix would be a go-to guy for metal for example....

Give us a bit more info, we might be able to help in a more meaningful way.

Btw, good to see another Celbridge-head on this board.

progsound wrote: »
    Agreed I would be more interested in a studios past work quality than their daily rates. In other words if they are putting out **** who cares how much they cost.

yup

fitz wrote: »
    Peewee, what kind of music are you looking to record? It's important not just to look at rates, but to look at where suits you and your music. Is it a band, solo artist, etc...
    Genre's important too...Mick at Trackmix would be a go-to guy for metal for example....

Give us a bit more info, we might be able to help in a more meaningful way.

Thanks! :p

I got a call from another boardsie in the past hour and we talked about alot of different things and he gave me alot to go on. Ive decided to go with someone he reccomended, and I got alot straightened out headwise.

progsound wrote: »

I understand exactly where you're coming from guys but I dont have an impressive salary and Im going to have to go with what Ive got.

Totally understand where you're coming from, but if you give us more info, we might be able to suggest ways for you to get the results you want for less...
    You might be able to do certain things without going to a studio, and free up more of the budget to spend on doing the studio stuff in somewhere a little more expensive/high quality.

But if you've already decided, that's cool.
    Who're you going with out of interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Seziertisch

Definitely go on past work of the person/people you are going to work with. Also paying a bit more would definitely be worth it. Cheaper today is not necessarily cheaper in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,731 ✭✭✭11811

Definitely go on past work of the person/people you are going to work with. Also paying a bit more would definitely be worth it. Cheaper today is not necessarily cheaper in the long run.

Definitely, I f you can at all save up a little more, if you come out with a poor recording after a day, chances are you'll have to do it again, putting you more out of pocket. also if you get a few studio with similar rates, check em out, ask former clients about them if you can, listen to previous recordings. Some places may charge similar prices but there can be a world of difference in the end result. - this happened me, and the project ended up costing over twice what was expected, an expensive lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Dagon

I'm after booking with Thin Ice studios in the UK. The rate was:
    £200 per day for a non-signed band
    £300 per day for a signed band

Pretty nice of them to have a special rate for us unsigned bands :)

With the current sterling rate, that is great. Bear in mind that this studio have produced some of my favourite bands, such as the awesome Threshold (Karl from the band runs the studio), PowerQuest, etc. Also, platinum selling artists Dragonforce who were in the billboard top 20! So I know I'll be getting the exact sound I want, with a world class progressive rock / melodic metal producer...

I wouldn't go on one person's recommendation alone. Check out what you think of their work at the very least. Also, personality and vibe are important. You might go in somewhere (and this applies to more expensive places too), and find you don't like the person, can't warm to them, or don't feel comfortable in the place. Visit the place, have a chat with people.

Your music is extremely personal, and it's too much of a risk to put your time and effort into something which you don't get the best results out of because the person you're working with, or the surroundings you're in, don't bring out your best.

Get as much feedback from people about what it's been like to work there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭frobisher

It really depends on what you're trying to achieve and what your style is. Tell us more....

Sure, sorry for the delay in getting back.

I have a good collection of songs, perhaps 25-30, the rest I would say were the ones from the beginning I would not have carried forward. These are all mini-disked, recorded and with my ideas as they have developed over the course of the song noted.

I would like the drums to sound wooden, like a wooden cup sound as well as brushes, etc for the beat. Very soft.

The piano is the main instrument, but I want the producer/engineer to be able to throw down some guitar loops through a line 6 for the dreamy background effect, digital delay, etc, to create a harmonic sound. For the piano I want to be able to layer up a big sound. I know what I want, Ive been practising at hom with Sonar, recording through an audio interface, but it never sounds like it should recording wise, hence why Im going to a pro for a proper recording.

I like the effect of soft vibrato of the voice with cello, and I would be looking to add that in some way, either live or digitally?

The voice is crisp, very much to the front but I want to layer up harmonies and vocals, thats paramount.

I would hope that the producer can listen to the songs, pick the 3 (ep) or go with the 6 - 10 for an album and develop the sound with me. Really to pick up on something and say thats they way we should go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

if you want to do drums , then AP studios is the ONLY place to go

wooden or not ;-)

actually its the only place to go to get a sound that you can actually "see" like a picture painting .

Sure, sorry for the delay in getting back.

I have a good collection of songs, perhaps 25-30, the rest I would say were the ones from the beginning I would not have carried forward. These are all mini-disked, recorded and with my ideas as they have developed over the course of the song noted.

I would like the drums to sound wooden, like a wooden cup sound as well as brushes, etc for the beat. Very soft.

The piano is the main instrument, but I want the producer/engineer to be able to throw down some guitar loops through a line 6 for the dreamy background effect, digital delay, etc, to create a harmonic sound. For the piano I want to be able to layer up a big sound. I know what I want, Ive been practising at hom with Sonar, recording through an audio interface, but it never sounds like it should recording wise, hence why Im going to a pro for a proper recording.

I like the effect of soft vibrato of the voice with cello, and I would be looking to add that in some way, either live or digitally?

The voice is crisp, very much to the front but I want to layer up harmonies and vocals, thats paramount.

I would hope that the producer can listen to the songs, pick the 3 (ep) or go with the 6 - 10 for an album and develop the sound with me. Really to pick up on something and say thats they way we should go.

Interesting - I'd suggest a a prerequisite is a real piano then. A couple of rooms I know with a piano are Westland ( a Baldwin) and Cauldron ( a Yamaha C7)

If , as I understand, the sound is an 'organic' one and electric Joanna will stand out of place. Similarly 'synth' versions of cellos will scream false at you in a sparse track.

Are we talking Lanois ish type tones dark and warm ?

DaDumTish wrote: »
    if you want to do drums , then AP studios is the ONLY place to go

One mans opinion as distinct from fact I'd wager ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Great to get this kind of info.
    Going from what you've said, I don't think picking a studio is the next step.
    A studio isn't really going to produce for you. You're paying for them their facilities and for them to record (and possibly mix) the songs.

I think your first step should be to get someone on-board to produce. Get the songs arranged with the producer before even thinking about a studio. Then figure out what way each element is going to get done for the project.

I'd agree with Brewer, a live piano would be best. If you have a nice piano yourself, location recording might be a possibility for the piano parts.

The best thing to do if you want cello is to arrange the parts then find a cellist who'll just come in to tweak them and for the recording of them.
    Drums could be done the same way, come up with the lines, then get someone in to finalise them/play them for the recording. Alternatively, depending on the tracks, you might get away with high quality samples.

Drop me a PM with a link to some mp3's if you like...I'm in Celbridge too, so I might be able to give you a hand...

jtsuited wrote: »

Slowly but surely taking over the world.

A studio isn't really going to produce for you. You're paying for them their facilities and for them to record (and possibly mix) the songs.

I think your first step should be to get someone on-board to produce. Get the songs arranged with the producer before even thinking about a studio. Then figure out what way each element is going to get done for the project.

Surely these more often than not are the same guy these days Fitz? (producer/studio owner) But I take your point.

I think could end up in trouble if you book a studio assuming that the engineer is going to be the one who decides what drum sound to go for, or whether the song needs that second guitar part...
    In yourself and Joe's case, this'd certainly be the way it's done I think. You guys are a production team that have a studio, it's pretty clear that you guys deliver the production side of things as well as just the recording.

But if I booked Westland, or Grouse Lodge or wherever in the morning and was expecting the engineer, who didn't know me from Adam and had never heard the songs, to be making production calls when I said "what do you think I should do with this arrangement?"....I would expect to be disappointed by the response/results. Add on asking him to play a guitar line or too off the cuff....I think we all know what'd happen.
    If the studio is gonna play the producer role, they need to have agreed that's what they're doing, and providing as part of their service.

It's a big lesson I learned this year. Everyone needs to be 100% clear on who's doing what, and what's expected of them. This is vital and needs to be done before going in to start tracking.

If , as I understand, the sound is an 'organic' one and electric Joanna will stand out of place. Similarly 'synth' versions of cellos will scream false at you in a sparse track.

Are we talking Lanois ish type tones dark and warm ?

I was thinking organic exactly, I havnt any experience with the synths, thats for that Paul.

I think your first step should be to get someone on-board to produce. Get the songs arranged with the producer before even thinking about a studio. Then figure out what way each element is going to get done for the project....

Nail on the head here. Exactly what Im looking for.
    I'd agree with Brewer, a live piano would be best. If you have a nice piano yourself, location recording might be a possibility for the piano parts....

Im so nervous about this, I only feel safe with my casio tuned down to Ab, and I know from playing pianos in bar that some can sound sh*te. I think because I know my digi keys sound so well, thats the only one I want. Last night I did note though that I was willing to try a roland if it was available.

Drop me a PM with a link to some mp3's if you like...I'm in Celbridge too, so I might be able to give you a hand...
    Thank you so much for the offer. Your advice is really helpful and after the christmas rush when I start the serious work I will be more than happy to have your opinion on board.
    First we have to take over Lucan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

+1... we're probably all neighbours...
    ... if you heard drums being played until 10pm last night, then you probably live close to me :D

I think could end up in trouble if you book a studio assuming that the engineer is going to be the one who decides what drum sound to go for, or whether the song needs that second guitar part...
    In yourself and Joe's case, this'd certainly be the way it's done I think. You guys are a production team that have a studio, it's pretty clear that you guys deliver the production side of things as well as just the recording.
    QUOTE]

The two guys Im thinking of going with have both offered to meet for a coffee pre recording and production. I am really happy with this.

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    ... if you heard drums being played until 10pm last night, then you probably live close to me :D

www.myspace.com/highheeledkeys

Tis me, dont mind the ****ty recordings. :o Its a brutal page, sometimes the player doesnt even appear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

ZV Yoda wrote: »

you as well?

ffs, we may as well be down the feckin castletown inn.

No problem at all, I've just finished recording my own album and it was a manic experience, so I'd welcome the chance to look at something new and fresh....

What's the Casio you refer to? Do you have a digitial piano?
    Again, if you do, and it has a midi out, using that and high quality samples might give good results....not as good as a well miced and recorded Steinway obviously, but it's all options to investigate...the important thing is that you're comfortable with what you're doing. If you're not a happy bunny, it'll translate to the recording.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,672 ✭✭✭seannash

i can only imagine how daunting it must be to go into a studio for thr first time.:eek:
    id be ****ting it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

jtsuited wrote: »
    you as well?

ffs, we may as well be down the feckin castletown inn.

He he... that's gas... I work in Leixlip, so I could be there in 10 mins... mine's a Guinness... now, how did we get from Music Production to BGRH?

<Hums theme tune from the Twilight Zone>

Casio Px 310, I really like it, above the rest I tried 2 years ago, it has the proper spring and bounce in the hammer action I need because I play very heavy. I love the clarity in its tone too.

seannash wrote: »
    i can only imagine how daunting it must be to go into a studio for thr first time.:eek:
    id be ****ting it.:D

Ive already been in a studio to do a jingle for a production company im with, a few years ago on two occassions to record demos when I was 16 and 18.
    This however, means the world to me, so by putting money down on it, the project means alot to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 madlaf

We also charge €25 an hr and I guarantee our equipment list is better than other people offering to record at the same rate. Check out our website:
    www.milkbloodstudios.com

madlaf wrote: »
    We also charge €25 an hr and I guarantee our equipment list is better than other people offering to record at the same rate. Check out our website:
    www.milkbloodstudios.com

There's nothing about the Studio Personnel on Website. Why is that?

Much more important than gear alone in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Seziertisch

There's nothing about the Studio Personnel on Website. Why is that?

Much more important than gear alone in my opinion.

Ye've a nice bit of kit there alright, but who are ye lads?

more importantly what has your output been? i see no client list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 madlaf

Sorry I only just uploaded my website yesterday and my studio was only opened a little over a month ago so I don't really have a client list for this studio but I worked in brigton for the last 3 years at a company called Brigton electric.

I've engineered and assisted on many sessions at Brighton electric over the last few years. I have tape oped for big acts like The GO! team, The Kooks and Foals just to name a few if people are after names. I only opened Milkblood Studios a couple of months ago. This month I've been recording The Mes and The Civilians with their albums to be released in the new year and when I'm finished they'll be on the client list.

I didn't mean to offend anybody on this forum but a lot of studios that advertise for €25 an hr or €200 a day don't generally have very good equipment and I'm sure Paul Brewer would back me up on this. I was just trying to point out that my equipment and services were decent value for money. Sorry to all fellow posters for any harm caused.