Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Day!

• 10-12-2008 1:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭

There's a bit of a debate going on in our house at the minute about Jesus' Birthday!

Personally i think it is the longest day of the year! It just drags! Sitting in the house all day, the other two lad agree with me but one suggests its grand just to sit by the fire for the evenin and relax.

Whats peoples thoughts?

Longest day of the year or Not?

And before smart arses start i realise the longest day of the year is in June.

Does Christmas Day drag on? 45 votes

Yeah - seems like an eternity
    0% 0 votes
    No - Fully enjoy the day!
    100% 45 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

It's possible that Jesus' birthday is actually in June.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

It's ok.

Boxing Day is the worst, when you're bored of Christmas but the universe hasn't returned to normal yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Best day of the year.

Presents in the morning, then start drinking and wait for the rest of the family to arrive, then eat dinner (nyom nyom nyom), then have a nap, then get up and continue drinking, then start playing cards and board games whilst drinking for the rest of the night. Then sleep.

Love it.

ed: I'm 20 by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

We usually stick around the house till dinner time then head to my granny's, Everyone else is there and its good craic, The day flies in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

wtf has Jebus got to do with Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Yep. The 21st.

Christmas day would be joint 4th shortest day of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

Dave! wrote: »
    Best day of the year.

Presents in the morning, then start drinking and wait for the rest of the family to arrive, then eat dinner (nyom nyom nyom), then have a nap, then get up and continue drinking, then start playing cards and board games whilst drinking for the rest of the night. Then sleep.

Love it.

Maybe its beacuse i dont have that type of christmas is why it drags on! Less Drinkin for me as my sibling are all younger than me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't know what part of it drags...

Get up close to noon, swop gifts with other half.
    Go to parents' house, have a huge fry-up.
    Open a beer, swop presents with family.
    Open another beer, watch TV/DVD/console/whaetver
    Have huge dinner with wine. Talk crap.
    Open a beer, get out a board game
    Open a crate of beer, get out the deck of cards and chips.
    Play Poker till 4am.

It flies for me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

It doesn't drag if you never get out of bed.

Reading everyone's posts i realise that people's ages have something to do with it. Should have mentioned this debate took part with 21 and 20 year olds, some of who are the eldest.

Its a different story when your in this position!

Even if you're 20/21, what's stopping you from staying in bed till noon and then getting up and cracking open a beer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

I love Christmas, giving presents, getting presents, drinking, chocolate and a huge meal! Happy times

seamus wrote: »
    Even if you're 20/21, what's stopping you from staying in bed till noon and then getting up and cracking open a beer?

Well mostly parents really! They insist i get up early with my younger brother and sisters, then there is mass aswell.

Plus i cant pissed like id want to!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Or staying in bed and cracking open a beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭copperfacegaz

It's ok.

Boxing Day is the worst, when you're bored of Christmas but the universe hasn't returned to normal yet.

would that be st stephen s day ??

It would be December 26th tbh.
    St Stephen and St Boxing can suck my left one.

Well mostly parents really! They insist i get up early with my younger brother and sisters, then there is mass aswell.

You're over 18. Man up and tell them to shove their mass up their arse.

If they do insist on bringing you, bring a six pack with you and every time you take a sip, make a point of loudly exclaiming, "Ahhhhhhhh", with a big smile on your face.

Your parents will never want to take you again and every single male in the church audience will be jealous of you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I won't even be leaving my room.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

aka Stephens's Day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Clicked the wrong one. :P
    Stephens day is worse.

You're over 18. Man up and tell them to shove their mass up their arse.

If they do insist on bringing you, bring a six pack with you and every time you take a sip, make a point of loudly exclaiming, "Ahhhhhhhh", with a big smile on your face.

Your parents will never want to take you again and every single male in the church audience will be jealous of you.

LMAO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭rvd156

It's a class day!!

Presents, Family, Mrs Browns boy's DVD and a whole load of beer....Great craic!!

Then off to the nightclub at 12.00 and watch people beat lumps out of eachother because everyone is so drunk from being on the beer all day!! It's my favourite day of the year!! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Cokehead Mother

Yeah it would. But of course you knew that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

how could you get bored on christmas??? :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

do you not have loads of chocolates and cakes to eat (this prety much ensures i can never get bored around christmas.....the sweets don't run out till around the 28th at which stage it starts gettin boring).

also alcohol?

are your family so boring that you can't spend one day with them?

I'll just end up with a week of binging on chocolate playing x-box with my brother, can't wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I like the run up to Christmas Day, but I find it boring itself. My birthday is on Boxing Day/Stephen's Day, and that's usually boring too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Dave! wrote: »
    Best day of the year.

Love it.

ed: I'm 20 by the way

Remind me what forum you mod again?

Irony. It's like a leftover turkey sandwich, delicious! Nyom nyom :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

r3nu4l wrote: »

*drool*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Just to add, Christmas day has always been my favourite day of the year :) At 20, 21 it certainly never dragged. It was great, loads of beer, plenty of great TV, presents to give and get, great huge meal and chocolate. Yum yum!

Of course this year I won't be seeing any family as I'm staying in England again but I'll still be cooking up the big Christmas dinner with my wife and we'll have a great time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

r3nu4l wrote: »

Ahh, leave him alone.

/Lights up a smoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

At home it's a pretty crappy day involving the same thing every year.

This year however I'll be having breakfast down on the beach with the relatives. Have a few beers and a swim then back to mine for dinner. Give the ma and da a ring in the evening as they'll only be gettin up. Few more beers, movie, then bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

then there is mass aswell.

You could just go the night before. Thats what i do.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Tell them you are going out for the day to help in the soup kitchens. Then go to your mates kitchen and get souped up on beer, you didn't even break a commandment by lying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Zonda999 wrote: »
    You could just go the night before. Thats what i do.:D

Christams Eve night is for the pub and nothing else!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

burgess1 wrote: »
    It's possible that Jesus' birthday is actually in June.

Apparently true from what I've also read.
    Its all a con!

Examples:
    http://uk.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080719151556AALFzyW
    http://www.abetterhope.com/hope/birthday.html
    http://users.aristotle.net/~bhuie/birthday.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Frisbee wrote: »
    Christams Eve night is for the pub and nothing else!

Drunken midnight mass too. :pac:

Going to be 4 years running this Christmas. ^^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭FockRoysh

Depends on what you're doing I suppose..... we go round all the relatives houses so I always enjoy the craic and drink!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭LolaLuv

I love Christmas! It's a great time of the year, good for relaxing and eating and being optimistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

I love Christmas! I'm so excited about it. Plus, even though Santa has ignored me for the past 15 years, I've heard from a reliable source that all is forgiven and I'm getting presents this year!

I also love turkey and turkey naps and charades so I'm all set! It can go on as long as it likes!

*explodes with excitement*

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

burgess1 wrote: »
    aka Stephens's Day

Jaysus, this recession has gotten so bad they've named a day after it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

I don't get it :confused:

Anyway, back on task. Christmas. Fantastic.

Get obliterated the night before with mates, wake up around 12pm, get up about 2pm, crack a beer or 4, swap pressies with mes familes, another bakers dozen o beer, BIG DINNER, chocies and more beer, family watches TV/DVD, pass out.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Varkov wrote: »
    I don't get it :confused:

There was a thread on here a while ago where we gave the recession a name. Stephen was the clear winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Oh yeah I can't wait to watch The Great Escape.

It's day where it's good and annoying. Talking to family members you don't want to, waiting for them to leave....

I like getting pressies and giving them. The dinner is a bitch to make. My family is hosting it so it means I'll be cooking/cleaning/serving/getting drinks for everyone.

The younger kids will wake you up at 7am and you'll be cranky because it's a holiday and want a lie on.

There was a thread on here a while ago where we gave the recession a name. Stephen was the clear winner.

But my name's Stephen and I've more money than I know what to do with :(

Varkov wrote: »
    But my name's Stephen and I've more money than I know what to do with :(

Give it to me! Im broke!

No chance son, Im going to spend it on awesome things like video games. And crystal meth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Yep, this recession is a holy shame alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Rosedale6

Christmas day is the best day of the year. All the family together having fun. I'm really looking forward to it.

I believe it was Steve, it hates to be called Stephen.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I love Christmas! My brother and sister come home from England, we get presents and amazing food, what's not to love!