Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open 2009 - Full Schedule of Events

• 09-12-2008 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭

paddypowerpoker.com today announces details of the full schedule for the upcoming Irish Open 2009 in Dublin, Ireland. In addition to the €3,200 + €300 Irish Open Main Event, the festival includes a 2-day €1,500 + €150 No Limit Holdem freezeout event and an ever-popular Pot Limit Omaha €300 + €30 rebuy tournament. Given the success of last year’s Ladies Event, this No Limit Holdem freezeout tournament makes a welcome return on Sunday, April 12th.

To bring the festival to a close, paddypowerpoker.com is proud to announce a No Limit Holdem Charity Event to benefit Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital, Crumlin, Dublin. This tournament will cost €300 + €30 to play, with paddypowerpoker.com donating the entire registration fee to charity, along with €100 from each player’s buy-in. With the help of everyone involved, it is hoped that this will raise in excess of €50,000 for the hospital.

Thursday 9th, Super Satellite, 6pm, 200 + 20

Friday 10th, Main Event, 4pm, 3200 + 300 (4 Day event)

Saturday 11th, Pot Limit Omaha (Rebuy), 6pm, 300 + 30 (2 day event)

Sunday 12th, Ladies Event, 3pm, 300 + 30 (2 day event)
    Sunday 12th, 1,500 Freezeout, 5pm, 1500 + 150 (2 day event)

Monday 13th, NLH Charity Event, 3pm, 300 + 30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭i didn't do it

Saturday 11th, Pot Limit Omaha (Rebuy), 6pm, 300 + 30 (2 day event)

Why are all the big Omaha tournys rebuys. i hate rebuy tournys, but it always seems to be a omaha rebuy tourny or a round of each tourny. When is someone going to have a omaha freezeout tourny with a structure and chip stack the same as a texas hold'em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Punter Bren

Noel where is the venue for this it might be up somewhere already and I missed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

NOTE THIS IS NOT THE OFFICIAL STRUCTURE
    Here is what I think the structure of the Irish open Main event should be. I believe players would really enjoy this structure, plenty of play but also not playing until silly o'clock in the morning.

Starting Stack: 15000
    Blind Times: 1hr
    Start Time: 2pm each day
    End Time: Before midnight every day except the final day which may run longer (although its unlikely)
    This structure was based on 1000people playing, since the cap is 800 it should be fine.

Day 1:
    25-50
    50-100
    Break 15min
    75-150
    100-200
    Dinner Break 1hr
    100-200-25
    150-300-25
    Break 15min
    200-400-50
    250-500-50

Day 2:
    300-600-75
    400-800-75
    Break 15min Chip Up
    500-1000-100
    600-1200-100
    Dinner Break 1hr
    800-1600-200
    1000-2000-200
    Break 15min
    1200-2400-300
    1500-3000-300

Day 3:
    2000-4000-400
    2500-5000-400
    Break 15min Chip Up
    3000-6000-500
    4000-8000-500
    Dinner Break 1hr Chip Up
    5000-10000-1000
    6000-12000-1000
    Break 15min
    8000-16000-2000
    10000-20000-2000

Day 4:
    12000-24000-3000
    15000-30000-3000
    Break 15min
    20000-40000-4000
    25000-50000-4000
    Dinner Break 1hr Chip Up
    30000-60000-5000
    40000-80000-5000
    Break 15min Chip up
    50000-100000-10000
    60000-120000-10000
    80000-160000-20000
    Break 15min Chip Up
    100000-200000-25000 Frozen

With 8 levels per day + 1.30hrs break finishing time should be 11.30, however allowing for the Irish syndrome of starting late + bagging the chips at the end everything should be finished before midnight.

The last day could run past Midnight however by the time the final level starts even with dead even chips both players will only have 37.5BB's left, and that's assuming 1000 players, if the cap is 800 the BB's each would be 30.

Thoughts?Comments?Suggestions?

Regards
    Ian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Noel where is the venue for this it might be up somewhere already and I missed it

citywest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Why are all the big Omaha tournys rebuys. i hate rebuy tournys, but it always seems to be a omaha rebuy tourny or a round of each tourny. When is someone going to have a omaha freezeout tourny with a structure and chip stack the same as a texas hold'em

At my Masters last year, I had a €250 PLO game with 10k stack and 30 Min Blinds. I'll be running it again this year if you can wait until May:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

This. the IPO game this year was great craic

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

JP Poker wrote: »
    At my Masters last year, I had a €250 PLO game with 10k stack and 30 Min Blinds. I'll be running it again this year if you can wait until May:D

I enjoyed being the first to exit it too :) Pity it didn't get more runners though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭RichardB2

Noel,
    You promised us the cash game rake at the Winter Festival would
    be transparent, notes on the dealer boxes etc, but it wasn't.
    What will the rake be this time?

RichardB2 wrote: »
    Noel,

Did I really? I am tempted to say that I will give you free entry to the IO2009 if you can show me where I said this? I wont go that far but I will give you free entry to a online super sat if u show me where i promised what you have said above.

I dont have rake schedule for IO09, id guess it will be the same as 09, hourly charge requests will be accomodated, the only change next easter will be that the laminated pieces of paper will be on both sides of the trays.

Did I really? I am tempted to say that I will give you free entry to the IO2009 if you can show me where I said this? I wont go that far but I will give you free entry to a online super sat if u show me where i promised what you have said above.

I dont have rake schedule for IO09, id guess it will be the same as 09, hourly charge requests will be accomodated, the only change next easter will be that the laminated pieces of paper will be on both sides of the trays.

Just for the craic I checked a couple of threads on this. Very careful, very young and very clever man :)

5starpool wrote: »
    Just for the craic I checked a couple of threads on this. Very careful, very young and very clever man :)

now Dom, at this stage you should know better than to be wasting your time. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭RichardB2

Original question from another re: cash rake at (then) upcoming IWP.
    mikser wrote: »
    This was nothing short of disgraceful at Easter - will there be manners on it this time.

It should be transparent and reasonably (!) competitive.

I have heard so many people complain about this at Easter - it is a really bad reflection on PPP too, even if they subcontracted.

Mikser

Your response to him.
    Mikser,

Feel free to elaborate further on your initial point.

At Easter ever delaer tray had a laminated piece of paper attached specifying the table rate. this was also displayed next to the cash game area desk. How much more transparent do you want?

Can you also on what you mean by saying will there be manners on it?

My follow through after IWP.
    Couldn't see any evidence of laminated pieces of paper on any of the dealer trays
    or do I mean "ever Delaer" tray out at City West.
    Care to make a "mannerly" comment Noel?

Your take on what I had to say.
    have you went and posted under your wrong boards acc?

i will enquire and respond in due course.

No doubt your enquiries are still ongoing all these months later,
    there again a helpful response is about as likely
    as those phantom laminates on the dealer trays outlining the rake!!!

Bring on the sarcastic ( what's your problem )
    or better still the pedantic ( never promised anything ) drivel. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Noel,

Didnt know you played cash games?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 PatRabbite4life

5starpool wrote: »

How does this deserve a smily face?

When someone advertises a tourny here you guys insist they must follow the charter. i.e. clearly detail the struture of a tourny and if there's cash games, the rake they will be charging.

This thread has neither and BCB is gloating that fact.

Why are you so harsh on smaller tournys in reagrds to this rule but not PPP.

Ive seen you guys threaten to close a thread about a tourny to celebrate Fintan Gavin results, as they didnt follow the charter yet this thread remains OK????

Double standards FTW.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

bohsman wrote: »
    Didnt know you played cash games?

You stay out of this! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭craigb

anybody on here playing the stage 1 sat on ppp right now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Wolves

Seriously though if the WSOP are looking into getting rid of rebuy events because it allows big names and sponsored players to buy their way into a big stack why not the IO as well?

Even if it was increased to a 400/500 buy in freezeout or double chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

craigb wrote: »
    anybody on here playing the stage 1 sat on ppp right now?

Just played it there now, first bit of online poker in over a year.....Got a seat for Sunday so looking forward to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

has the structure been preapproved by nicnic. it doesnt look like it

Nick please insert a level to avoid us having to go all in with no cards at any stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭i didn't do it

How does this deserve a smily face?

When someone advertises a tourny here you guys insist they must follow the charter. i.e. clearly detail the struture of a tourny and if there's cash games, the rake they will be charging.

This thread has neither and BCB is gloating that fact.

Why are you so harsh on smaller tournys in reagrds to this rule but not PPP.

Ive seen you guys threaten to close a thread about a tourny to celebrate Fintan Gavin results, as they didnt follow the charter yet this thread remains OK????

Double standards FTW.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Xiang Xiang

now Dom, at this stage you should know better than to be wasting your time. :pac:

yeah you should have known better

when BigCity makes a prop bet he usually has the edge on you and this is precisely how he starts his prop bets, goading

as usual his manner is such that you are tempted into these bets and then fall foul of his smartalecness and cunning

surprised at you, falling for that

consider the rep, consider the player before calling a bet, is he likely to push with nuthin? or has he got you by the shorts

Xiang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Xiang Xiang

+ another 1, hear hear

of course the other smaller operators probably dont buy the space in the corner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭mistabutta

+ another 1, hear hear

of course the other smaller operators probably dont buy the space in the corner

but it seems this forum is all about who has the must post counts and who people know

i've seem many a small organiser put up their tournament schedule to only be shot down with a warning of the thread being deleted etc cause they're not following the forum charter then all of a sudden a well tourney organiser and boards poster puts up his schedule and nothing is said about it at all

a fcuking disgrace imo.. the mods really have to get their act together on this forum.. pretty corrupt compared to other forums on here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Hi Hitler!!

no but seriously something has to be done.. maybe it's the fact that so many of the mods will meet/actually know posters due to tournaments/casinos etc that they are afraid to get flamed in person or something but i remember a while back some guy put up a post wishing some poster good luck in his new car dealership business and it was locked cause it had nothing to do with poker...fair enough.. then someone put up a thread congratulating some guy for having a kid and nothing was done.. it equally has absolutely nothing to do with poker but it was still left up.. something has to be done.. complete favoritism being shown.. it's so stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

I'll be home for this one..[most likely..]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

I've only just noticed this storm a brewing now.

Firstly - BCB can you update the thread with the various points covered in the rules please, as is usual I'll give you till tomorrow to do this or the thread will be deleted.

Secondly, I didnt recieve any reported posts related to this thread. Lads there are a $hitload of posts on the 5 poker forums and we dont get to read them all, if you use the report post button for something you think is amiss it really helps

Thirdly - mistabutta lol. This comment might have to go into my sig
    a fcuking disgrace imo.. the mods really have to get their act together on this forum.. pretty corrupt compared to other forums on here

structures are not finalised yet, i will post them up once they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

structures are not finalised yet, i will post them up once they are.

Can we have rake amounts aswell!!!

well yeah, i can ask for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

mistabutta wrote: »
    yeah sure they are making a fortune from back-handers, I heard Ste05 was only elected a mod because one of his parents paid money to get Fianna Fail in.
    valor wrote: »
    I'll be home for this one..[most likely..]
    Not be skint after the wedding?

yeah sure they are making a fortune from back-handers, I heard Ste05 was only elected a mod because one of his parents paid money to get Fianna Fail in.

wow.. hilarious.. how long did it take you to think of that one.. retard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Grafter

WOW.. HILARIOUS.. HOW LONG DID IT TAKE YOU TO THINK OF THAT ONE.. RETARD

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

^^^^^^

wp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Grafter wrote:
    FYP

clapping.gif

wow.. hilarious.. how long did it take you to think of that one.. retard

Banned for a week. If you can't keep it civil or useful, don't post it.

Edit: Back on topic now please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 RedCow

The Red Cow Moran Hotel are offering Early booking rates of just €79.00 per room during the Irish Open. It is only a 5 minute Drive from the tournament. You can book online at www.moranhotels.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Friday 10th, Main Event, 4pm, 3200 + 300 (4 Day event)

Noel,

Is this still starting at 4 or has it been changed to a 2 o clock kick off? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

2pm - defo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Lady Di

Could you post the starting stack and structure for the Charity event when you get a chance please? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

What,s the rake on the cash table's b4 i travel up today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

DAMO72 wrote: »

didn't you know thats a secret, not to be revealed until you arrive at the cash desk (according to BCB)

It's also a fcking disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

kakak1 wrote: »
    didn't you know thats a secret, not to be revealed until you arrive at the cash desk (according to BCB)

It's also a fcking disgrace

True, but didn't stop there being 30+ cash tables last night with waiting lists I was informed :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

tm2204 wrote: »
    True, but didn't stop there being 30+ cash tables last night with waiting lists I was informed :eek:

That doesn't make it right that they advertise their tournament on Boards but yet won't provide details of cash rake.

Can't understand why the mods are allowing this I thought there was meant to be full transparency when using boards as a forum to advertise your events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭tm2204

kakak1 wrote: »
    That doesn't make it right that they advertise their tournament on Boards but yet won't provide details of cash rake.

Can't understand why the mods are allowing this I thought there was meant to be full transparency when using boards as a forum to advertise your events.

I agree 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭DAMO72

What's the big deal with not posting the rake . Why is it a big secret

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

DAMO72 wrote: »

Hey Damo,

I will be working at the IO this weekend.

Had a look at the rake yesterday,

SNG's
    €50 & €5
    €100 & €10
    €200 & €20 ?
    €500 & €30?
    €1000 & €50

Think the cash rake was
    €14 pp/ph for €100 game

and

€20 pp/ph for €1000 game

hope this helps.

If you want to ring me I'll be back in city west from 1pm and easy to contact before 2pm, my number is 087 6448132

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭bigbadpat

I am all for full transparency when using the Boards Poker threads but most of the Poker threads that advertise tournaments are not completely transparent.