Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

There are still nice people in the world!

• 09-12-2008 1:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭

I was surveying a very large house the on the weekend that has been converted into bed-sits with communal bathrooms. The property is used as temporary emergency housing for homeless people who have not been allocated a council house yet. I had to measure up the building in order to submit a planning application to legalise the use of the property. It was one of three properties I was measuring up that day for a private client.

When I had finished my work I went to ring my client to let her know that I was done. It was then I found I had lost my phone. I could have dropped it in any of the rooms in any of the houses. The 3 properties where very far from on and other and I would not have been able to gain access to search the rooms. I tried ringing the phone but got no answer.

I have had the phone for over a year and it has all my numbers on it which I haven’t taken down elsewhere, it also has a lot of photos as it has a very good camera on it that I use often.

Today (3 days after I lost it) my friend e-mailed me to let me know a man had contacted her to say he had my phone! She had a number for me to ring. He was the nephew of a man living in the emergency accommodation that had found my phone in his room and given it to him. He had been ringing through my phone book to try and locate me.

The phone is pretty expensive and the gentleman in question could not be very well off given his accommodation situation so I am very grateful that he has gone to the effort to find me a complete stranger and return it to me.

I have to admit that I did not expect to get my phone back given where I dropped it, and now that this man has done this for me I feel ashamed of myself for thinking that way.

It just makes me happy to know that there are some good people left in the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Bless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

And did you reward his genoristy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I did my good deed last week...

I was driving from Sligo => Galway. I had just landed in Tuam when I heard on the radio that one of these organisations who organise presents for children in poor countries had loads of surplus presents in Castlebar, but had to get them to Galway that night as they were being shipped off - There was no way to get the presents from Castlebar => Galway. Thought 'feck it', rang the radio and told them I was on my way - What a cnut of a diversion that was. I'd come down to Tuam, had to go up and accross to Castlebar, and then back down to Galway with a van full of shoeboxes with small toys in it.

Fcukit, that's my good deed for XMas done, apart from the swim for charity on XMas day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

This is such a welcome change from the usual "Look how society is crumbling" threads.

Thanks! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

And did you reward his genoristy?

I have to collect it after work but I think I will yea. I’m a bit short on cash at the moment though how much do you recon I should give?

JohnCleary wrote: »
    I did my good deed last week...

I was driving from Sligo => Galway. I had just landed in Tuam when I heard on the radio that one of these organisations who organise presents for children in poor countries had loads of surplus presents in Castlebar, but had to get them to Galway that night as they were being shipped off - There was no way to get the presents from Castlebar => Galway. Thought 'feck it', rang the radio and told them I was on my way - What a cnut of a diversion that was. I'd come down to Tuam, had to go up and accross to Castlebar, and then back down to Galway with a van full of shoeboxes with small toys in it.

Fcukit, that's my good deed for XMas done, apart from the swim for charity on XMas day
    Santa?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

Doc wrote: »
    I was surveying a very large house the on the weekend that has been converted into bed-sits with communal bathrooms. The property is used as temporary emergency housing for homeless people who have not been allocated a council house yet. I had to measure up the building in order to submit a planning application to legalise the use of the property. It was one of three properties I was measuring up that day for a private client.

When I had finished my work I went to ring my client to let her know that I was done. It was then I found I had lost my phone. I could have dropped it in any of the rooms in any of the houses. The 3 properties where very far from on and other and I would not have been able to gain access to search the rooms. I tried ringing the phone but got no answer.

I have had the phone for over a year and it has all my numbers on it which I haven’t taken down elsewhere, it also has a lot of photos as it has a very good camera on it that I use often.

Today (3 days after I lost it) my friend e-mailed me to let me know a man had contacted her to say he had my phone! She had a number for me to ring. He was the nephew of a man living in the emergency accommodation that had found my phone in his room and given it to him. He had been ringing through my phone book to try and locate me.

The phone is pretty expensive and the gentleman in question could not be very well off given his accommodation situation so I am very grateful that he has gone to the effort to find me a complete stranger and return it to me.

I have to admit that I did not expect to get my phone back given where I dropped it, and now that this man has done this for me I feel ashamed of myself for thinking that way.

It just makes me happy to know that there are some good people left in the world.

shoulda rewarded him atleast.... if id the slightest inglination that it belonged to a tight arse i'd ebay the mo-fo :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I have to collect it after work but I think I will yea. I’m a bit short on cash at the moment though how much do you recon I should give?

Shouldn't you find out how many people he called in Australia first?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Roadend

100 euro, at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Santa?

Ho Ho Ho

... Green Giant :D

Woah woah woah.... you haven't got your phone yet?

Aren't your celebrations a little premature?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Shouldn't you find out how many people he called in Australia first?

Come on don’t wreck my new found faith in mankind for me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I would have said about 50 Euro.

He should be rewarded, but there's no point going over the top in giving him money just because he didn't steal it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

I either lost or had my wallet stolen a year or so ago. When i reported it to the guards it had been handed in about 5 minutes previous. No cash, but all the cards and personal stuff were still in it. A pensioner watched the guy throw it away, and left his name and address when handing it in.

I worte to him and sent him €20. Was the least i could do. Have that wallet over 12 years now, it's priceless to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Yeah 50 - think of the value of the numbers rather than the phone. would mean a lot to a chap like him towards Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

pat yourself on the back ireland i have been around many countrys in the world ,and i have to say the irish are the most honest people ,and certainly the most warm and friendly nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I'd have gone for €100 if you can afford it yourself, given the nature of where it is the person concerned is living, but €50 is perfectly fine too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    I'd have gone for €100 if you can afford it yourself, given the nature of where it is the person concerned is living, but €50 is perfectly fine too.

give half of what you have in yer wallet.

always give something, regardless of value, as a sign of respect, not givign anything other then a thank you seems like a real kick of dirt in yer face...

getz wrote: »
    pat yourself on the back ireland i have been around many countrys in the world ,and i have to say the irish are the most honest people ,and certainly the most warm and friendly nation.

Congratulations, you've just won a year's supply of wholesome Irish rashers. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

give him money,he goes to woodies and spends it all on meths, ends up dead.

You'll never forgive yourself.

give him a bottle of wine, at least he can't kill himself on that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

I lost my purse once with about €200 in it. I went into the local shop and saw a photo and a Found notice. Sure enough there was my purse and a hand written note from a child to say that he had left it in the shop for me and here was his address and phone number.

I put the slip in my purse and was going home to ring him when my bag was stolen. So I couldnt ring the child, I had no way to contact him and when I went back to the shop, the guys behind the counter didnt remember the kid or know who he was.

Poor kid. So, if you handed in a purse about 6 years ago to the Spar in Clontarf and wrote a note with your name and address and phone number on it - Im so sorry. :( I would have rewarded you for being such a good kid.

Aw well, I prayed for you loads since so I guess we could be even.

Deepsense wrote: »
    I lost my purse once with about €200 in it. I went into the local shop and saw a photo and a Found notice.

I put the slip in my purse and was going home to ring him when my bag was stolen. So I couldnt ring the child

you're just a little bit careless aren't you?

I lost my purse once with about €200 in it. I went into the local shop and saw a photo and a Found notice. Sure enough there was my purse and a hand written note from a child to say that he had left it in the shop for me and here was his address and phone number.

I put the slip in my purse and was going home to ring him when my bag was stolen. So I couldnt ring the child, I had no way to contact him and when I went back to the shop, the guys behind the counter didnt remember the kid or know who he was.

Poor kid. So, if you handed in a purse about 6 years ago to the Spar in Clontarf and wrote a note with your name and address and phone number on it - Im so sorry. :( I would have rewarded you for being such a good kid.

Aw well, I prayed for you loads since so I guess we could be even.

He has probably become so bitter and twisted after getting no thanks that he's turned to a life of crime and will probably burgle your house when he eventually tracks you down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭NewFrockTuesday

you're just a little bit careless aren't you?

Not as a rule I must say. Youre just a little bit funny.
    He has probably become so bitter and twisted after getting no thanks that he's turned to a life of crime and will probably burgle your house when he eventually tracks you down

I know.

Hed be 13 now.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

I left my new iPhone in a taxi (it fell out of my pocket and I was too busy yapping to the driver to check after me after I got out). When I got in I rang it (thankfully I was sober or I wouldn't have noticed till the morning) and when the guy figured out how to answer it, he brought it back to me and wouldn't accept a reward. I swear I welled up, I've come to expect people to be rubbish.

People are so cynical these days that someone stopped to thank me for picking up after my dog on a walk. I felt embarrassed cause I was just doing what I was supposed to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ah the ol' find a lost phone, ring around to find out who it is, get them to meet you somewhere, kill them and then rob their house, ruse. Oldest trick in the book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭omgiluvxmas

i helped an indian couple on the bus the other day, and the women was so thankful. its weird how just a little deed can bring people joy.

i helped an indian couple on the bus the other day, and the women was so thankful.
    Reeeally? How "thankful" was she? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

ejmaztec wrote: »
    He has probably become so bitter and twisted after getting no thanks that he's turned to a life of crime and will probably burgle your house when he eventually tracks you down.

That's how the joker got started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭EL_Loco

as soon as you're in the situation where you feel the need to keep something like that which you find then you know you're fooked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Smart Bug

There are still nice people in the world![/quote]

No there aren't. He's probably put pictures of his cock on your phone.

Not as a rule I must say. Youre just a little bit funny.

And you're just a little bit touchy.

It is so ****ing easy to help people, it really pisses me off when I see people struggling and no one helps them. You see it on planes a lot, a woman with a baby trying to lift a bag into the overhead locker and everyone behind them tutting and getting impatient rather than actually helping, or an old dear struggling to packi her bag at the supermarket while the cashier is there filing her nails and everyone in the queue just huffs.

Pay it forward guys, pay it forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

topper75 wrote: »
    think of the value of the numbers rather than the phone
    www.zyb.com

Never lose your contacts again and make it easy to transfer them to a new phone

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

That reminds me. A couple of weeks back, I found a phone outside abrakebabra in Cork city. I rang the guy's mum the next day and she was very grateful, but didn't seem to want to make it very easy for him to collect his phone. She wouldn't let me go to the effort of dropping it over to the Garda station. We eventually agreed that I could leave it in my local shop and he'd come down for it.

I left it in with his name on it and enquired the next day to see if he'd been in. The guy in the shop said the phone was still there and I forgot about it since. I wonder if he's been in. If not: HEY GUY, YOUR PHONE'S STILL THERE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Hed be 13 now.

Wait a few years until he'd be around 18.

Start a nationwide appeal to find out who he is and where he's living.

Go over to his house and ride him.

No good deed should go unrewarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

When I was Hitchhiking through west cork, I lost my phone in the first car that picked me and my buddy up. They were a Galway couple who were on holidays in Cork. Down by Inchydoney. They were sound out. They rang my Mam, and mailed the phone back to my house!!!! I was soooo delighted but I didn't have a number or address to thank them or send them some reinbursement!!!!!

So, My Galway Girl and Guy. THANK YOU!!! Legendary People

On the same trip. When we were on our way home from the trip, we caught a lift from a guy in Galway all the way back to Limerick. He was from Cork. We were broke, Hungry, thirsty and without food!!! He gave us a Roast Beef sandwich that his daughter had made before he left galway, A Lift to limerick city, and €20 to get more food!!!! We had nothing of value on us so my buddy gave him his St. Christopher medal as a sign of gratitude!!!

Soundest man I have ever met.

These 2 stories and more from my trips have restored my faith in Humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭marti101

AH these stories warm the cockles of your heart.When i was in town couple of weeks aga and it was pissing rain.I had my hood up waiting for the bus and this chinese irl comes over and puts her umbrella over my head,so we shared till the bus came.I thought theres still nice people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

Yesterday in a carpark €20 sliped from my pocket. I haven't noticed that, but one chap did and brought it to my attention. Not much but still an example of honesty. Thanks to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

I was coming home from town a few months ago now, and got off the bus near the Merrion Centre. This was at about 2 or 3 in the morning, so I wasn't entirely sober. Anyway, as I was walking home, some random French bloke asked me if he was anywhere near Ranelagh. Told him he was nowhere near Ranelagh, he was fairly worried then, because he'd gotten the wrong bus and had no money left. Ended up hailing a taxi and giving him a tenner. Drunken generosity is expensive. :P

Oh and I bought a Spanish couple Dart tickets a couple of weeks ago because I was late and they couldn't understand the machine, so they got out of my way to let me through. One good turn deserves another and all that. :pac:

What's that Yeats line about unremembered little acts of kindness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Don't necessarily agree with giving the guy cash. I'd find it a bit insulting, someone offering cash. I don't help people to get a bleedin reward, I do it to help them. (although a smile and thanks is nice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭giggsy664

Maybe get him a yummy breakfast roll (non contaminated obviously), or something christmassy. You could give him a card with a few bob inside!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    www.zyb.com

Never lose your contacts again and make it easy to transfer them to a new phone

Thanks for that wonderful tip, that website just DELETED ALL MY NUMBERS.

Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

Bring back the death penalty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭pingu_girl

A few months ago I found a phone on the ground while walking to work. I rang "mam" in the phone book to say I had found the phone and whoever owned it could collect it in the shop I was working in .

The mother starting shouting at me for waking her so early it was about 10am. Then came into the shop hours later with a pig ignorant head on her, asked for the phone and left without saying thanks. I would of hoped the phone off her head only for the fear of being fired.

Never again.

50 euro and a thank you is more than enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

not a face full of kindness but a few weeks ago mid suffering a manflu I got a call form the Blood donor clinic. I've donated about 11 times but since I moved out of Dublin I've been unable to do so. They do send me the txt the odd time and I promise myself I'll find out where I can donate locally.

Anyhow I thought they were calling to see if I fell off the face of the planet or something but no they were calling me to get me to donate within the next few days as I and only 11 more people in the country were an exact match for a young girl in temple street hospital with lukemia who was having a series of operations and they needed blood.

so I said feck it I'll come up to Dublin as there was no donation place nearby but as soon as I hung up the phone I remembered i was on Meds for the manflu. I was nearly crying and so annoyed with myself.

I rang back to apoligies to them and say that I couldnt come up but they said dont worry about it etc. however I was told to be on stand by or donate as much as possible because of the make up of my blood??? i was like WTF but hey its my civic duty to donate blood now also I only started to donate as I was bored one day on a day off years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

This time last year I was driving to college for only the 2nd time. As I came around a corner some souped up car was overtaking coming against me. I had no choice but to go into the ditch and was completely freaking out. All the cars behind me just drove on past, except for one guy. He pulled my car out of the ditch, offered to bring me the rest of the way to my destination (about 20 minutes) and would collect me the next day and bring me back out to my car. I declined because I knew if I didn't get back in the car then I never would, but the fact that he stopped and offered made all the difference. I also forgot to get his name because I was so upset and felt really bad about it.

not a face full of kindness but a few weeks ago mid suffering a manflu I got a call form the Blood donor clinic. I've donated about 11 times but since I moved out of Dublin I've been unable to do so. They do send me the txt the odd time and I promise myself I'll find out where I can donate locally.

Anyhow I thought they were calling to see if I fell off the face of the planet or something but no they were calling me to get me to donate within the next few days as I and only 11 more people in the country were an exact match for a young girl in temple street hospital with lukemia who was having a series of operations and they needed blood.

so I said feck it I'll come up to Dublin as there was no donation place nearby but as soon as I hung up the phone I remembered i was on Meds for the manflu. I was nearly crying and so annoyed with myself.

I rang back to apoligies to them and say that I couldnt come up but they said dont worry about it etc. however I was told to be on stand by or donate as much as possible because of the make up of my blood??? i was like WTF but hey its my civic duty to donate blood now also I only started to donate as I was bored one day on a day off years ago.
    OOooohhh, well laadedaa mr. fancy blood. :pac:

Why is everyone suggesting €50? That's a good bit of money for a bit of human decency. Whatever happened to thank you and the promise of a pint being reward enough?

Bring em for a pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I bought a belt for my Dad the other day but it was too big so he asked me to get two more holes cut, so popped into the shoemaker in Douglas Court in Cork, took about 2 seconds to do and I thought it was going to be something crazy price, paid 8 quid to get a button put back on my jeans the other week.

He gave it back and said thrown some money in the charity box there, so I gave whatever change was in my pocket think it was a fiver or something sound fella.

Havent come across anything other than that in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Punchy07

Its good to know they're are nice people left after what I saw sunday night:mad:Was in subway with the friends when a guy comes in,goes to the counter and orders and as he's taking his money out 50 euro falls out of his pocket,which he doesn't notice.So my friend goes over and picks it up and gives it back.The guy was very grateful,thanked him over and over again.

So the guy sits down and in comes another guy who was english and absolutely hammered from the drink,me and my buddies get a great kick off him watching him trying to order his food.Eventually the girl behind the counter just gave him some random sandwich after 5 minutes of confusion

So he too goes off and finds a seat,puts his wallet on the table and starts eating.5 minutes later he gets up and stumbles out again.So me and my friends are talking when I realise the man had left his wallet behind,but Ive bad eyesight so asked my friends first to make sure it was indeed a wallet.

At this point the guy whos 50 euro we returned looks in the same direction we're looking and also sees the wallet.He immediately gets up,goes over,picks up the wallet and heads to the bathroom.Comes back out with a fistful of cash,hands the wallet to a staff member saying" a guy left this here,there was no money in it,just cards".The staff member thanks him,he grabs his bag and heads off,leaving his food behind him:mad:

It ticked us off knowing he could have been 50 euro down but instead ended up leaving with god only knows how much.Definately not the nice grateful man we thought he was at the start of the night!