Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Schools Senior Cup

• 04-12-2008 3:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21 supasoumi

Just wanna get everybodys predictions for this years cup and how pre seasons are going results etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

Belvo are going to win.

no 'Nure are going to win.

No 'Rock bet both in a friendly 10 weeks ago, Rock for the cup.

No it must be Mary's they have X players from last year returning.

No it's finally Michaels turn to win.

No, it's going to be the dark horses Kilkenny/Roscrea/Bray/Monkstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

Belvo are going to win.

+1 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

cue the horde of ex-cbc pupils on this forum claiming this year they will definitely win it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭loadabollocks

CBC rugby...lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Belvo are going to win.

Michaels already won, not as big a deal anymore. ^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

cue the horde of ex-cbc pupils on this forum claiming this year they will definitely win it.....

Who would these be then? The only ex CBC pupil who said they would definately win is gone from here.

Dunno who will win tbh, Rock are supposed to be good though. I think someone is a previous thread like this a while back said Nure were good, of course you never know with the likes of Marys or CWC who always come good come cup time.

themont85 wrote: »
    Who would these be then? The only ex CBC pupil who said they would definately win is gone from here.

I was only really half joking I just remember last season there was a strong element of ex cbc posters on this forum thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

Nure should win it, them or rock.

Mont85, how are things?

You are the man who said cbc would win and ultimately everything you said failed miserably.
    You are also the coach of cbc, or were last year.

Bunty?

only1stevo wrote: »
    Mont85, how are things?

You are the man who said cbc would win and ultimately everything you said failed miserably.
    You are also the coach of cbc, or were last year.

Yes yes im the coach of CBC:rolleyes:, ive used that nickname for yonks for an entirely unrelated reason. I coached for a club last year but gave up this year as im leaving the country fairly soon. Nice to see you rear your head once again for a schools rugby thread, enjoy life lurking till one is posted? Oh yeah you said before i said that CBC would win, once again you are wrong

I got one prediction wrong last year, but i didn't say CBC 'would win', more like they had a good chance. Did 'everything' I said fail miserably, no, because i said Belvo would win and guess what they did. I followed the teams fairly close last year cos i knew of quite a few of the players from underage and of course cos I knew CBC had a decent team. I don't know why you keep bringing it up tbh, I have my posts from last year to show your talking nonsense. There were ex CBC people and indeed people from other schools who were OTT with CBC would 'definately win', I wasn't one of them.

As i already said I don't have a clue about this year, I'm guessing CBC will be average at best. I only know what some dude posted a few weeks back about Rock and Nure.
    Bunty?

What?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

only1stevo: if i see you goad another poster like that again you'll be banned. discuss the topic.

im entitled to lurk.

Im just not bothered getting into arguments that will never end and are oh so repetitive

im entitled to lurk.

Im just not bothered getting into arguments that will never end and are oh so repetitive

No worries if you can't find an answer to what I just replied to your post which really struck me as someone trying to start an argument. You did the same thing in the last schools rugby thread and I pointed out how you were wrong. Just get over it man, it was last year ffs. You said before to me you were in Terenure, well seeing as some have suggested they could win the cup, I wish you luck in trying to win it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Lomu

From what ive heard newbridge are strong with 2 ireland U18s and also nure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

blackrock should pose more of a threat than the last few years, its their juniors from 3 years ago.
    roscrea should also go far, theyve lost verrry few matches so far and have one of the best coaches in the country.only know that as i graduated there last year, dunno about the other schools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 supasoumi

not so sure about blackrock not sure if they have progressed since junior cup...that was a long time ago...anyone have the draw in full? cant seem to get it on the net yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Lomu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭ian.f

supasoumi wrote: »
    not so sure about blackrock not sure if they have progressed since junior cup...that was a long time ago...anyone have the draw in full? cant seem to get it on the net yet

I agree, I know a few lads playing for the seniors of a certain rugby school who claim rock have barely grown at all over the last 3 years and sizewise they just can't hack it the same way they used to

CBC vs Blackrock, well im fairly certain CBC won't be getting by the first round then...

The Draw is and has been for the last 2/3 years rigged. Leinster Branch have clearly taken advantage of the business side of the senior cup and ensure the big 6 with their large supporting contingent qualify for the latter stages of the cup. I dont really care but its so true.

Now with the draw:

Belvo vs Gerards -Belvo win
    King's Hos vs Zaga -Zaga
    Qualifier 3 vs Michaels - Michaels
    CBC vs Rock -CBC... not.

Nure vs Castleknock -Nure
    Clongowes vs Newbridge- Cwc
    Qualifier 1 vs Marys -Marys
    Qualifier 4 vs Qualifier 2 -?

Q-finals:
    Belvo vs Zaga-Belvo
    Michaels vs Rock-Rock

Nure vs cwc -Nure
    Marys vs Qualifier-Marys

Semi-finals:
    Rock vs Belvo- Rock
    Marys vs Nure- Nure

Final
    Rock vs Nure- Nure

This^^^^

terenure belvo first round last year springs to mind...dont know how that was rigged...

The Draw is and has been for the last 2/3 years rigged. Leinster Branch have clearly taken advantage of the business side of the senior cup and ensure the big 6 with their large supporting contingent qualify for the latter stages of the cup. I dont really care but its so true.

Now with the draw:

Belvo vs Gerards -Belvo win
    King's Hos vs Zaga -Zaga
    Qualifier 3 vs Michaels - Michaels
    CBC vs Rock -CBC... not.

Nure vs Castleknock -Nure
    Clongowes vs Newbridge- Cwc
    Qualifier 1 vs Marys -Marys
    Qualifier 4 vs Qualifier 2 -?

Q-finals:
    Belvo vs Zaga-Belvo
    Michaels vs Rock-Rock

Nure vs cwc -Nure
    Marys vs Qualifier-Marys

Semi-finals:
    Rock vs Belvo- Rock
    Marys vs Nure- Nure

Final
    Rock vs Nure- Nure

This^^^^

I thought the draw was done in public? It always seems fair enough to me. Also i think that the 'large support' thing isn't always true. For instance when Kilkenny were in the semis they probably got more support than the likes of Marys because it is far more unusual for them to be that far.

It is done in public but I just think its getting very fishy at this stage.
    Yes but how often are Kilkenny going to beat Rock?
    Not very often atall, I probably am wrong and It really doesnt effect me or piss me off but at this stage its becoming fairly obvious.

Ye, ok im wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Mary's got an easy ride to the semis , maybe the draw organiser is from Mary's (joke :p)

actually just read the link -

Jonathan Sexton (ex St. Mary’s College) made the draw - he must have lucky fingers :-)

thebaz wrote: »
    Mary's got an easy ride to the semis , maybe the draw organiser is from Mary's (joke :p)

actually just read the link -

Jonathan Sexton (ex St. Mary’s College) made the draw - he must have lucky fingers :-)

I reckon any team other than Belvo were going to be an easy ride for Marys after they dismantled that CBC side if Marys played in the final like they did up until it they would have been easy winners it was an excellent side.

Easy draw for the big schools anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭crisco10

What are Zaga like this year? Havent heard much talk and for the past few years, they always seem to be thrown into the hat as having the potential for a run..

crisco10 wrote: »
    What are Zaga like this year? Havent heard much talk and for the past few years, they always seem to be thrown into the hat as having the potential for a run..

I know they have a few speedy backs returning from last year but unlike last year nothing of note in the pack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Anyone see the Vinnie Murray draw? Andrews V Pres Bray then the winner faces Kilkenny. I don't know what Andrews or Pres are like but Kilkenny aren't at their best this year tbh. Considering all 3 got to the cup last year it just seems like a mouth-watering prospect :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 RoscoBosco93

Don't be surprised if Newbridge beat Clongowes. Newbridge are unbeaten in the league and have two players on the Ireland U18 squad and from what I've heard Clongowes aren't great this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭quirkster

ya newbridge are quite strong from what ive heard.

vinnie murray should be a cracker. roscrea VS high school = massive grudge match to kick things off

the two met 3 times last year, in the vinnie murray (where roscrea knocked them out of joining the c league), the plate final, and the league final with roscrea winning each of the other 2 times.

if roscrea meet andrews, theres another cracker in store as roscrea knocked them out of the 1st round of the c cup last year.

if they meet kilkenny, it will be yet another cracker as killkenny have denied roscrea passage to the quarter finals of the c cup 3 times in the last 4 years, and roscrea would only relish the prospect of stopping them joining the c cup, providing they get that far

When will paddypower have a market priced up for this. I'm having a substantial bet on Marys as I've heard some amazing reports from their players this year. They think Rock are hype and Terenure pose the only real challenge

ian.f wrote: »
    When will paddypower have a market priced up for this. I'm having a substantial bet on Marys as I've heard some amazing reports from their players this year. They think Rock are hype and Terenure pose the only real challenge

interesting just wondering where you heard this? been getting a few vibes coming out of rock myself that dont seem positve to say the least. Would like to have a few quid on the cup myself I think my money would be on clongowes though to be honest. Think they should be a nice price and if they have a few people from last year back to go with the top players from their outstanding js team from last year i think they should be great value. Anyone have any word on them? and any1 know when prices are out? id love to know and see what the bookies make of the cup.

Ian.f, tell me more about this Mary's side. I wouldnt be undermining Rock for sure!
    Supasoumi, wouldnt be placing anymoney on Clongowes if I were you, they have a few good backs but don't seem to be up for it based on what I have heard.

I will be putting a couple of quid on Rock to win and Mary's Each way.

Marys are always worth a bet

why?

Because they consistantly have better odds than Rock/Belvo/Micheals/Terenure yet always seems to do very well.

ah rite stevo...mite go 4 marys so its always pretty hard to judge clongowes preseason allrite. Think it will we just ew on marys for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 jediyoda

lads, i was going to keep this to myself but you all seem to want to make a bit of cash!

i will be having A MAXIMUM bet on marys, as in as much money as i can find,borrow, steal!

the only more certain thing than marys for the senior cup is that christmas will be on the 25th december

and by the way this is coming from an ex rock pupil who has seen rock play every game this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Sparky14

jediyoda wrote: »
    lads, i was going to keep this to myself but you all seem to want to make a bit of cash!

i will be having A MAXIMUM bet on marys, as in as much money as i can find,borrow, steal!

the only more certain thing than marys for the senior cup is that christmas will be on the 25th december

and by the way this is coming from an ex rock pupil who has seen rock play every game this year

LOL what a ridiculous post, dead certs only exist in Junior Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Sparky14 wrote: »
    LOL what a ridiculous post, dead certs only exist in Junior Cup.

They dont even exist in the Junior cup

jediyoda wrote: »

So i take it you were there for the rock-marys match this year? Marys lost by more than a coupple...

does anyone else find these new users registering and biging up marys whilst putting down rock to be very suspect?

Hope thats not refering to me. The only new user on this thread is jediyoda as far as I can see and even though I agree with him in principle he is an absolute tool

I had a few drinks in me when i posted about marys, i was planning on keepng my bets quiet

So i take it you were there for the rock-marys match this year? Marys lost by more than a coupple...

if only you knew what i knew my friend

i hope its not referring to me seen as how i was a user of boards before you??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I won't be asking you again, have some cop on while posting on this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

jediyoda wrote:
    if only you knew what i knew my friend
    Well I do think you should fill us in. I'm beginning to get tired of posters who have incredibly little substance to their posts but insist on posting on how their opinions are better, so I really would like to know what your view is here. As opposed to just "Marys will win".

Amz wrote: »
    I won't be asking you again, have some cop on while posting on this forum.

I just find it odd seeing as Marys have done nothing in preseason to warrant this.

its a valid opinion

I just find it odd seeing as Marys have done nothing in preseason to warrant this.

its a valid opinion

I have to agree, i think threads like this have a huge effect on betting for the Cup and people saying stuff like 'you dont know what i do' is wrong.

Have to agree with you for once:eek:
    Tell us what we dont know about mary's jediyoda, because i know your talking through your arse.
    Although if his bigging up marys means rocks odds will be bigger, I might be a rich man come 17th of march.
    Still though, This is for discussion not idiotic posts like jediyoda's.

I was talkin to another guy whos been involved for terenure this year and according to him, everyones lost a game and no-one at the moment is standing out from the pack.
    Some results he mentioned:
    Nure beat Rock, Rock beat Belvo, Marys beat Clongowes, then lost to them the following week, Michaels beat Marys, CBC beat michaels(unsure??),Nure beat marys.
    He also said newbridge have a great chance of beating clongowes and that newbridge will prove a very tough stumbling block in the quarters.

yeah this really is pretty open...would love to hear these words of wisdom about marys tho. Would have thought the senior cup market would be fairly small stakes for a bit of fun though. Is there people planning on betting big on it?

supasoumi wrote: »
    yeah this really is pretty open...would love to hear these words of wisdom about marys tho. Would have thought the senior cup market would be fairly small stakes for a bit of fun though. Is there people planning on betting big on it?

Last year there was a certain parent from a certain school who after seeing his son's school sweep aside a big school in the quarters put something like 20,000euros on them to win the cup only for them to be knocked out in the next round