Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We're now €7.9bn in the red...

• 02-12-2008 5:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭

Public finances in the red by €7.9bn...

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhididididid/

How the fu*k can a country go from being €1.5bn Euro in the black to €7.9bn in the red within 12 months!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Économiste Monétaire

That's what happens when you avoid the inevitable need to balance your budget over the business cycle. The general government budget was, generally, only balanced during unsustainable boom periods, i.e. 5-6%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

Darragh29 wrote: »

How the fu*k can a country go from being €1.5bn Euro in the black to €7.9bn in the red within 12 months!?!?!

Fcukin' **** claiming child benefit abroad and dole money ,which is money not put back into our economy =collapse to many fcukin' economic spongers with the irish legal system and the EU on their side!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

That's what happens when you avoid the inevitable need to balance your budget over the business cycle. The general government budget was, generally, only balanced during unsustainable boom periods, i.e. 5-6%.
    No, that's what happens when Mary Harney was born with hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

oh f*** i've done it again:o

<< runs away to catch the next ferry to england>>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

Government expense accounts? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

is that all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

kleefarr wrote: »
    Government expense accounts? :rolleyes:

it was a hair cut not an island she bought

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

If ye were to put €7.9bn in 50 Euro notes onto pallets and like Look at €7.9bn, what would it look like, I mean how many pallets would you have???

Mary Harneys food bill for the year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭iPlop

rarnes1 wrote: »

Id say her growler eats most of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,744 ✭✭✭kleefarr

ntlbell wrote: »
    it was a hair cut not an island she bought

lol I know, I meant the Government in general, not just darling Mary. ;)

Id say her growler eats most of it

Id say she even eats her own growler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

I've tried googling:

"a pallet of 50 Euro notes", but it looks like this hasn't been done before!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

The thread's gone from being 7.9bn in the red to Mary Harney eating her own skip. Lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

If ye were to put €7.9bn in 50 Euro notes onto pallets and like Look at €7.9bn, what would it look like, I mean how many pallets would you have???
    Eight, with a billion on each pallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

seriously.

There's not a red blooded male on boards who given the chance (and no one was going to find out) who won't throw a bone into mary.

I'd say she's lethal in the sack.

by lethal i don't mean she might roll over and kill ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

The govenment obviously rang someone mistakenly from their pocket..

Hate when that happens :(

I think we can safely say that the Pay Partnership deal is out the window, as is The GAA Player grant scheme, and Aer Lingus will shortly be switching to a lovely blue shade of shamrock.

Dun laoire wrote: »
    The thread's gone from being 7.9bn in the red to Mary Harney eating her own skip. Lovely

Mary Harney eats out of a skip? Thats shocking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Économiste Monétaire

If you wanted to use one pallet (say, an average pallet being 1200 x 1000 mm in dimensions), it would be approx 164.5 meters high, in 50 Euro notes with paper depth of 1/10mm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Fcukin' **** claiming child benefit abroad and dole money ,which is money not put back into our economy =collapse to many fcukin' economic spongers with the irish legal system and the EU on their side!!!

By Jove I think you've cracked it!

Get this man to the Dail quickly - he's the country's only hope!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Get this man to the Dail quickly - he's the country's only hope!

He's there already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

even when it was the bears I knew it was the immigants!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

If you wanted to use one pallet (say, an average pallet being 1200 x 1000 mm in dimensions), it would be approx 164.5 meters high, in 50 Euro notes with paper depth of 1/10mm.

so 100 pallets each 1.64 m high
    so 100 palletts

that sounds like nothing.... is that like 2000 per person or somethin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Then lighting it on fire! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

it's stephen's fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Well just to name a few reasons off the top of my head...

...by paying massive wages for the Dail, not including state pensions. For every four years you serve, you get one!
    ...by too many weekly junket trips - far, far too many of them.
    ...by allowing too much money to be quickly sent out of the country by parents claiming child allowance for all their kids, kids who are not even living in the country. Look at all the money transfer shops/services that have sprung up in the last 5 years alone!
    ...by still useless renting of property to store even more useless electronic voting machines.
    ...by handing out absolutely massive payoffs given out when we sack one of the few bigwigs exposed for his/her flagrant incompetency/misdeeds.
    ...by continuing to prop up Air Lingus - any other private company and they would have been ordered to stop trading a long time ago as a lost cause!
    ...by propping up the banks while their managing directors and managers still drive around in their Merc's and wine and dine the T.D's at expensive dinners.
    ...By cocking-up with national and international investments - not to mention the latest pension fiasco.
    ...by paying for useless expensive statues, street spires, Liffey Millennium clocks (we got great value in that one!).
    ...by allowing the extreme rich to escape not paying their tax and stashing their money afar.
    ...by paying 100 million plus each year for advisor's that so far have advised us into the present financial condition - great job lads! (I'm being ironic here :mad: )
    ...by holding expensive tribunals and not actually going after the money from those responsible!

long story short...
    ...by not holding to account on a day to day basis, the actual people we elected!

Simple - and thats only scratching the surface so far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

biggins, i doubt all that stuff was enough to even wipe out the 1.5b surplus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

it's stephen's fault.

No it isn't, an older boy told me to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

There was a sale on obviously.

We bought very necessary stuff like voting machines, the odd extra hair doo, had the loo's redone. Hired a few usless people so we always have someone to blame if the sh1t hits the fan..and tribunals dont grow on trees you know.

Next year i promise to be much better.

biggins, i doubt all that stuff was enough to even wipe out the 1.5b surplus.

Sadly, your probably right. Like I added, we have only begun to scratch the surface of bad spending, investing and electing. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

rarnes1 wrote: »

don't be silly

we all know Mary Harney runs on heavy fuel oil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

The country is fecked.

Global recession + that kind of debt + 300,000 vacant houses = time to emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Does this mean that our economy is no longer " The Envy Of Europe /World?"::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Serves us right for voting no to lisbon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

€7.9b. OP, that is a pittance. What's our GDP? What's our GNP?

Shock value, or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

So the govt get figures wrong again, what was the ****ing point of the early budget? another **** up,dare say we will have to have a mini Budget early to mid nxt year.

Yeah. Probably in March or April.

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    Serves us right for voting no to lisbon.

LOL I didn't see that one coming! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

88.71 pallets- so 1 or 2 warehouses maybe.

Thats if you:
    1) take the thickness of a 50 euro note as 0.1mm (not sure the exact width of it, but it's definitely in the region of 0.1mm- the dollar is 0.1mm so adjust as necessary).
    2) use typical euro pallets
    and
    3) stack each one 2 metres high.

Yeah, i'm bored.

tech77 wrote: »
    88.71 pallets- so 1 or 2 warehouses maybe.

Thats if you:
    1) take the thickness of a 50 euro note as 0.1mm (not sure the exact width of it, but it's definitely in the region of 0.1mm- the dollar is 0.1mm so adjust as necessary).
    2) use typical euro pallets
    and
    3) stack each one 2 metres high.

Yeah, i'm bored.

Me too.

Here's a million to start with: http://cache.virtualtourist.com/2686288-ONE_MILLION_DOLLARS_CASH-Las_Vegas.jpg

Then a Euro billion (1.4 Billion Dollars): http://www.la.indymedia.org/uploads/2005/02/1point4_billion_cash.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Perhaps too many people followed your ingenious "I'm grand" campaign? ;)

Actually that pallet-stacking thing reminds me of Rich Hall's brilliant joke about Bill Gates wealth.
    If Bill gates took all his money and shoved it under his mattress, it would take him 18 minutes to hit the ground!
    Now, if you account for all the compound interest that is accumulating on his fortune, and add that to the pile, then in theory Bill Gates would continue to fall, and never hit the ground.

Apparently, this means that Bill Gates is richer than Gravity!

Yeah, yeah /tumbleweed...
    ^just to defuse the inevitable multitude of tumbleweed responses :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

I am now so glad Fine Gael didn't get into power in the last election. Delighted to see these morons in the Fianna Fail rightfully take the blame for years and years of incompetency and corruption.

Biggins wrote: »

Man, that's what a billion looks like... :)

Ardent wrote: »
    I am now so glad Fine Gael didn't get into power in the last election. Delighted to see these morons in the Fianna Fail rightfully take the blame for years and years of incompetency and corruption.
    So you'll be voting for the other morons at the next election?

tech77 wrote: »
    Actually that pallet-stacking thing reminds me of Rich Hall's brilliant joke about Bill Gates wealth.
    If Bill gates took all his money and shoved it under his mattress, it would take him 18 minutes to hit the ground!
    Now, if you account for all the compound interest that is accumulating on his fortune, and add that to the pile, then in theory Bill Gates would continue to fall, and never hit the ground.

Apparently, this means that Bill Gates is richer than Gravity!

Yeah, yeah /tumbleweed...
    ^just to defuse the inevitable multitude of tumbleweed responses :rolleyes:

LOL I read somewhere that if Bill Gates dropped a tenner, by the time he bent down to pick it up again, he would have been better off leaving it where it fell.
    He would have made twice as much anyway in interest (in the same time period) with his wealth!

As for our debt, I also blame the wife, I knew she could over spend but I never really knew just how much!
    Sorry folks, I'll try and get her to pay it back. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

Terry wrote: »
    So you'll be voting for the other morons at the next election?

Are you trying to imply that the other crowd would be just as bad? Do you honestly think that's even possible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

There isnt really a recession lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Biggins wrote: »
    LOL I read somewhere that if Bill Gates dropped a tenner, by the time he bent down to pick it up again, he would have been better off leaving it where it fell.
    He would have made twice as much anyway in interest (in the same time period) with his wealth!

Does he stop earning interest while picking up notes? :confused: Wouldn't he be a tenner better off for having picked it up?