Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On a lighter note...

• 01-12-2008 3:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭

As it can get a little heated around these parts from time to time, I was thinking that it might be nice to find out a little more about one another beyond our (dis)belief in God. Tim Robbins did a similar thread a number of months back, and it was interesting to see other sides to people personalities.

I'll get the ball rolling.

I'm extremely interested in music. In terms of indulgence, music has probably been the single biggest financial outlay of my life. Whereas other passions have often fallen by the wayside, my interest in music has become more intense over the years.

I love food. When I was in my early 20, I was a 9 1/2 stone weakling. At 30, I'm now a 11 1/2 stone weakling. This is entirely due to overindulgence of food. I'm going to have to start working on the guns and the rest.

There is nothing quite like reading a good book - whatever the subject matter. Don't know if other people are the same, but I often go through phases of binging on books and then not really reading anything for months on end.

I really enjoy science fiction (ALWAYS a hit with the ladies) in all it's forms. I'm particularly enjoying Heroes at the moment and I'm looking forward to Battlestar Galactica starting up again (the overt theistic overtones in these shows are an aside to my enjoyment).

I'll always make time for a good documentary. The subject matter doesn't matter.

So what about everybody else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,686 ✭✭✭✭PDN

Most regular posters know I am a pastor of a local church, bishop over a network of churches, and teach a lot of seminars.

I'm a keen Arsenal fan and also a season ticket holder at Drogheda United (so not much to cheer about this year. :( )

I like to get out on my motorcycle when possible, but that turns out to be not very often.

My job means a lot of time in airport lounges or on planes, so I get to read loads - mainly history.

I play tenor sax and like to listen to jazz & blues music. I also record all the Law & Order, CSI, and House episodes on my Sky+ box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭BrianCalgary

I live in Calgary. Outside of teaching Sunday School I am a soccer fanatic and enjoy nothing more than coaching.

I support Man U and have done since 1965. Derry City is my RoI team and Udinese in Italy.

Happily married 23 years and have three teenage children. One will no longer be a teen soon and is due to be married in August.

I do yearly trips to work with local churches in conducting soccer camps as community outreaches.

I enjoy good light fiction that I can read easily and get lost in and any other good piece of non-fiction on any topic that I find interesting at the time.

My gretaest joys are watching th ekids that I coach and teach grow and have success both in sport and particularly in life.

If anyone is ever in this part of the world I'd love to meet for a good cup of Tim Hortons cofee. In fact I'll even buy. :)

a good cup of Tim Hortons coffee.

Sorry Brian, having visited Tim Horton's I believe the above quote to be an oxymoron. ;)

PDN wrote: »
    Sorry Brian, having visited Tim Horton's I believe the above quote to be an oxymoron. ;)

This deserves a whole new thread now. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭djeddy

As it can get a little heated around these parts from time to time, I was thinking that it might be nice to find out a little more about one another beyond our (dis)belief in God. Tim Robbins did a similar thread a number of months back, and it was interesting to see other sides to people personalities.

I'll get the ball rolling.

I'm extremely interested in music. In terms of indulgence, music has probably been the single biggest financial outlay of my life. Whereas other passions have often fallen by the wayside, my interest in music has become more intense over the years.

I love food. When I was in my early 20, I was a 9 1/2 stone weakling. At 30, I'm now a 11 1/2 stone weakling. This is entirely due to overindulgence of food. I'm going to have to start working on the guns and the rest.

There is nothing quite like reading a good book - whatever the subject matter. Don't know if other people are the same, but I often go through phases of binging on books and then not really reading anything for months on end.

I really enjoy science fiction (ALWAYS a hit with the ladies) in all it's forms. I'm particularly enjoying Heroes at the moment and I'm looking forward to Battlestar Galactica starting up again (the overt theistic overtones in these shows are an aside to my enjoyment).

I'll always make time for a good documentary. The subject matter doesn't matter.

So what about everybody else?

Hi Amigos

I am in to music nite life country life keep fit etc

Adios eddy :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I'll pitch in from the "other" camp... ;)

Mid 30's self employed consultant / trainer and have been running my own business for 6 years now. Two kids, happily married, etc :)

Hobbies outside my one man crusade to save the world from religion are classic cars (I have owned a 1968 Mercedes Saloon, 1974 Porsche 911, 1964 Jaguar MK II and currently a 1968 Lotus Elan). And yes they all break down with varying degrees of regularity! Also a football fan (although I follow the proper team, Liverpool) and I suppose I would be considered quite sporty nowadays (which is a major change from school). I train in Tang Soo Do and I also run the occasional marathon (3:11 in Dublin last time). Love reading as well - I tend to keep two or three books on teh go at the same time so it's currently "Spies for hire" (an examination of the outsourcing of teh US Intelligence services), "Speeches that shook the world" and Sonia O'Sullivans autobiography. Like modern literature, current affairs and history books.

(Wait is this some kind of christian dating website??? if so then I like Pina Coladas and walks on teh beach in teh rain...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭Goduznt Xzst

Have to agree with PDN. Tim Horton's does not do good coffee. However nothing hits the spot better after a good few, white knuckle, hours on the yellowhead or through Rogers Pass with black ice warnings and crosswinds, then a nice Chili Bowl (pity they discontinued the bread bowl :() and a poppy seed bagel with herbs and garlic cream cheese... followed by a half dozen dutchie timbits *yum*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

(Wait is this some kind of christian dating website??? if so then I like Pina Coladas and walks on teh beach in teh rain...)

Yeah, and you all sound dreamy!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

Mid 30's self employed consultant / trainer and have been running my own business for 6 years now. Two kids, happily married, etc :)

Hobbies outside my one man crusade to save the world from religion are classic cars (I have owned a 1968 Mercedes Saloon, 1974 Porsche 911, 1964 Jaguar MK II and currently a 1968 Lotus Elan). And yes they all break down with varying degrees of regularity! Also a football fan (although I follow the proper team, Liverpool) and I suppose I would be considered quite sporty nowadays (which is a major change from school). I train in Tang Soo Do and I also run the occasional marathon (3:11 in Dublin last time). Love reading as well - I tend to keep two or three books on teh go at the same time so it's currently "Spies for hire" (an examination of the outsourcing of teh US Intelligence services), "Speeches that shook the world" and Sonia O'Sullivans autobiography. Like modern literature, current affairs and history books.

I thought Fanny Craddock was a woman! I take it I was wrong, going by the guns statement?

Good man amadeus that was v.interesting, i might give some info about myself sometime, but Im too busy arguing on the atheist board at the minute :)

Have to agree with PDN. Tim Horton's does not do good coffee. *

*Brian shakes his head*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Well if heretics are welcome as well........:)

I'm a student studying history and computer science in UCD. Thankfully in my final year, because I don't like my course at all :) I also work part-time in a well known dvd rental chain (rhymes with Sextravision). Career-wise I'm hoping to join the fire service, or failing that, the Gardaí. If neither of those work out, then I'm fooked :)

I quite enjoy music... Have been playing guitar for 7 years, can play a bit of piano (just bought a new one, so shall be learning properly now!), as well as some ukulele. Some time in the future maybe I'll take a shot at the sax and violin.

I'm also quite interested in politics and current/world affairs, so like to keep up to date with what's happening.

Aaaand I like (watching :o) sports too. I'm a Man United fan, but have also been getting into rugby lately. I also follow the UFC (mixed martial arts), and will hopefully be going to see it in Dublin in January! I'll watch most sports including golf, tennis, snooker, F1, etc. Having said that, I didn't watch even one event in the Olympics :)

Besides that I have really itchy feet and since secondary school my friend and I have been planning to go travelling as soon as we're through with college! The date of departure is roughly January 2010 (so about a year :)), at which point we will head to Australia for at least a year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭LolaDub

Thats some good taste in cars!!!

I'm 25, help out in the sacristy of the church i attend, Catholic, single mum to a 2 year old, work part time and i enjoy cars but can't exactly drive. I'm more of a lurker than a poster in this forum though!

I thought Fanny Craddock was a woman! I take it I was wrong, going by the guns statement?

Last time I checked I was a man :pac:. Must change my user name one of these days.

LolaDub wrote: »
    I'm more of a lurker than a poster in this forum though!

Welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭The Mad Hatter

Last time I checked I was a man :pac:. Must change my user name one of these days.

Yeah, I think I made that mistake when I first came on here too.

I am a mid-twenties piano teacher/composer (sigh, well I try)/pianist.

Mostly I spend my time listening to/playing music, reading (I'm into scifi/fantasy and highbrow literature :confused:) and...er...that's about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

I'm a keen Arsenal fan
    I support Man U

PDN > BrianCalgary :P

Me my main pastimes are palaeontology (that's dinosaurs etc.), Transformers, films and watching football (guess which team is my fave ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

Hmmm...lemme see now...

I'm a mom of three kids, working part time in an Art Gallery. I play guitar and sing in church and anywhere else I get the chance! I normally like jogging but due to ill health haven't been able to do that for a while, so am reduced to walking which I also love...
    I absolutely adore baking (used to make and ice wedding cakes, but gave it up due to lack of time...) I also like reading and crosswords.
    Currently involved in school panto playing the baddie and loving it!! I like nights out in pubs with live music.

That's kinda the bones of me ...

Oh and Fanny- a little aside here on your name;my married name was Craddock and because I love baking so much I was nick named Fanny Craddock. (I s'psoe though given I'm separated I'm not really Fanny Craddock anymore... :rolleyes:

What??!?!? Two Fanny Craddocks?!!?!? :eek:

Galvasean wrote: »

Eh well not really - I'm technically an ex Fanny Craddock (note the two d's,) whilst the one true 'Boards' Fanny is spelt with just one D hence making him the genuine article :D And whatever about baking bread, we both are advocates of 'breaking bread' in Jesus name... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭kelly1

Good idea FC, about time we had a thread without all the silly bickering! :)

I live in a rural area in south Kildare in a self-built house on 3/4 of an acre with my good wife and 3 children.

I enjoy gardening, hill walking, cycling (used to be into racing), chess, guitar playing (love a good trad session). I read quite a lot of non-fiction, mostly Catholic/Christian, philosophy, science etc. I'm good with my hands (DIY, wood-working etc). Also a big music fan (jazz, classical, 70s rock/prog and Irish trad)

As regards work, my background is in electronic engineering but ended up in IT/computers (programming, networks, security, databases). I currently work as a DBA. I'm fortunate in that I can work from home 3 days a week and my commute on the other 2 days is 45mins.

I'm also a member of the Lay Dominicans which I quite enjoy.

God bless and nite, nite! :)

Noel.

There can be only one Highlander, I mean 'Cradock'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭condra

I'm 28. I live in Dublin.

Apart from having some health problems, I live a fairly quiet, average sort of life. I have a dog and I live with my parents because I'm poor.

I used to love drinking, smoking, and sex, but I tend to do them a lot less these days.

I like snooker, poker, music, and tv.

I used to be a keen myrmecologist (ant enthusiast) that fell by the wayside. I used to keep Lasius Niger, and at one point I also had Murmica Rubra.
    I've been meaning to get a good formicarium together some time, but I'll have to find space for it where my nieces can't get at it. I also would like one that had indoor and outdoor sections. I will probably get Lasius Niger again, the common black garden ant is very successful for a reason. They are very hardy, talented diggers, and even build structures like bridges when needed.

oh and internet porn. I like that too.

My favourite colour is cherry red. yarn_E300_cherry_red2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

Quite a few musicians among us, thats good to see, we'd have a right good session if we got together. Piano, sax, guitar, I play drums and sing. Gift!

As for me? I'm 28. I'll be happily married for 5 years in febuary. No wee-uns as yet. Sound engineer by qualification. Musician and songwriter by passions of my heart and an IT contractor when the music don't pay the bills, which is pretty much all the time:):( Play Guitar and Drums, and also produce and record on my Pro-Tools rig. Singing's my main forté though. Love The Band, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Ray Charles, Pink Floyd, Bob Dylan, Stevie Wonder. All the greats really.

Big into my football. Play regular 5-a-side, gave up club football thanks to immobile centebacks deciding my knees were fair game for kickin. Used to follow Man U, but grew out of all that:pac: Now just love watchin good football, and seeing irish lads do well.

I'm an extremely slow reader (its been said that I've a form of lisdexia:)), so I'm very pinickety about the books I read.

Love travelling, lived in Australia and London for a few years and now I'm back in the bosom of my native Atha Cliath.

Sums me up I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,026 ✭✭✭kelly1

JimiTime wrote: »
    ...Pink Floyd...
    My favourite band! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Asiaprod

Nice idea Fanny.
    Well, about me. I am a freelance IT Consultant on the process and compliance side of the business, and a Buddhist. Used to follow Liverpool when I lived in Dublin, now a fan of Sumo. Went to my first Basho last year and was amazed to find most of the audience were Japanese ladies guzzling bottles of wine like crazy. Obviously, married to a Japanese and have one daughter just turned 14 yrs. The wife is a singer (a real one with 5 albums), which play right into my own passion for...guitars (I love them). I play Blues and Jazz and the collection currently stands at 3 electric, 3 acoustic and I bass The 2nd passion is early Church history, in particular, literature and archeology. Also read Science Fiction novels and am a big fan of Heinlein, hence the signature.
    The final passion...Boards.ie of course.

Oops, forgot my biggest passion, I love to cook...I hate the washing up part.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Some pretty cool dudes around the place fair play :)

I am 28, currently working as an IT consultant for a large faceless corporation. Living in Diblin with the missus of over a decade (in sin ;)). Big sports fan, Munster Rugby , Liverpool in the soccer although not as much as I used to, and I also follow the banner hurlers for their usually short summers nowadays:(. More of a watcher than a doer sports wise these days although I have been trying to do a bit more running recently, and I recently gave softball a lash.

I love movies especially 70s classics and have a large DVD collection. Music wise I gravitate towards the louder end of the spectrum, but I also enjoy traditional Irish songs and have been known to knock out a ledgendary Willie Mc Bride on the Guitar after a few pints.

I am also a keen reader especially interested in Science and History. I am currently reading a book on Chaos Theory by James Glick, and have lined up 'How the Mind Works' by Steven Pinker next.

Oh and I am heading off to NZ and Oz for a few months after Christmas so I will be reading them on the beach while sipping a beer. So long losers :D

My favorite color is blue. No, wait ... Yellow. ......... Aaaaaaaaagh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Apart from arguing about God on Boards.ie ...

I'm 19, and I'm a student at NUI Maynooth studying Politics, Philosophy and Computer Science in first year. Love it so far, and it's been a good environment to make new friends :)

I have an interest in politics quite majorly, but I find Irish politics to be incredibly boring and petty (FF vs FG squabbling doesn't really interest me at all). Main areas of interest would be Middle Eastern conflicts (particularly the Israel / Palestine conflict, Iraq war etc). I tend to be a bit controversial at times due to being quite an ardent pacifist (most notably when discussing Irish revolutionaries).

I've always been into computers, and I probably will be in the next few years if I keep up with the Computer Science (which is likely :)). If there is anyone discussing about some new gadget, it's going to be me.

As for music, my last.fm page really is more comprehensive than I ever could be:
    http://last.fm/user/jakkass

Unlike some of the rest of you, I don't really follow football that much except really in international games and stuff like the World Cup, that is unless one of you can drill an interest into me :p

I play drums and sing. Gift!

Drums eh? You luckly sod- If ever I have the money, drums (and a motorbike :p ) are top of my shopping list...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

Splendour wrote: »
    Drums eh? You luckly sod- If ever I have the money, drums (and a motorbike :p ) are top of my shopping list...

With drums its more about the space and the neighbours rather than the money:) I've often seen people giving away old kits. No point in getting it though if your walls are like paper and you live in a terraced house:)

Quite a few musicians among us, thats good to see, we'd have a right good session if we got together. Piano, sax, guitar, I play drums and sing. Gift!

Yeah, of course you'd have to be prepared to play with a heathen, though.

By which I mean I don't like Pink Floyd.

Jakkass wrote: »
    As for music, my last.fm page really is more comprehensive than I ever could be:
    http://last.fm/user/jakkass

Bon Jovi! Explain yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

Good thread. I can certainly see the merit in this.

I'm in my late 20's and I am a postgrad researcher in cellular and molecular biology, currently trying to finish up my doctorate but getting sidetracked by the evils of internet messageboards. For a few years, I taught undergraduate biology labs, but with my time running short, I've had to quit that. I love writing and maintain a (rather irregularly updated) science blog which I pimp in my signature line. Ideally I'd one day make a living out of writing, though I reckon I'd have to learn to be a much faster writer in order to do that. I'm also quite into reading pretty much anything from Orwell and Amis to Asimov and Banks. Musically my tastes are pretty wide. I'll listen to Shostakovich, Bic Runga, Kate Walsh, Nirvana, Muse and Nine Inch Nails in a single sitting. I have numerous Guns 'n Roses albums and hate all of them. I used to play guitar and bass in a band, but was never silly enough to assume I was very good at either.

Back when I had the time and money (student life is still tough for postgraduates), I used to play a lot of poker. Although I've never been a big winner, I can happily say that the only poker game I've ever paid for was the first one, the rest have been paid for by my accumulated winnings, which I will surely soon have to cash in to buy food with. In the days of money, I also loved to travel and have managed to cover a fair chunk of Europe over my life to date. Despite this, I have only left the EU once, when visiting Croatia several years ago. I have an amateurish interest in graphic design and have occasionally done small jobs for local musicians designing logos and cover art- none of which has yet managed to get on any shop shelf, anywhere, at all. I also love video games, movies and television, the more complex and thoughtful the better (in general). Though I'll often be caught watching really dumb action films or playing video games in which stuff explodes 30 times a second.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

So many musicians! All we need now is Robin turning up with his organ. :pac:

I'm a 34yr old web developer, married, um, 4+ years - and recent father of one beautiful information sponge! Like --amadeus--, I love my old cars (current is a '72 Merc SL). Play soccer twice a week*, and was also a golfer before weekends became family time. Photography and reading (SciFi) fill any 'gaps'. ;) Oh and someday I will finish my novel!

* Keeps me sub-12 stone, Fanny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

I'm 23, in the early days of a software research masters and at weekends work in a bar (postgrads need more funding :pac: ). I'm a news-junkie, sci-fi fan and keen reader. Haven't travelled as much as I'd like to at all, when this gig is up I reckon I'll move onto different shores for a few years.

I hope your novel is based on a tough uncompromising cop hell-bent on taking down corruption inside Internal Affairs in the most violent mean possible. All set in space of course.

You should call it 'Tour De Force'.

P.S. What's with all the musicians and scifi fans?

Its the internet!

I'm glad i've a thread i can post in here. I've got the fear about posting in Christianity and that i'll get ponced on, but i've braved after hours so i'm almost here!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I hope your novel is based on a tough uncompromising cop hell-bent on taking down corruption inside Internal Affairs in the most violent mean possible. All set in space of course.
    No but dammit I wish it were!

btw when I said sub-12 stone that should really have said 13...
    12 stone is sooooo 2004.

LolaDub wrote: »
    Its the internet!

I'm glad i've a thread i can post in here. I've got the fear about posting in Christianity and that i'll get ponced on, but i've braved after hours so i'm almost here!!

Get her everybody! She's new. Generally you will find people are quite nice around these parts. Don't fret.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,980 ✭✭✭wolfsbane

Hi, guys.
    I'm almost 59, married with two married kids and one still at home with us. I work nights as a Professional Driver with Royal Mail.

My wife and I are members of Lurgan Baptist. I used to be a missionary from the church to the prisons in N.I., but that ended when most of my 'flock' were released following the Belfast Agreement in 1998. I continue in my own time with the project we started with the Christian prisoners, sending Bibles and Christian books to needy churches in Africa.

I'm trying not to be envious of all the musical ability here. I love music, but never managed to read or play - I tried on a small electric organ, but maybe not long enough. I also have a poor singing voice. So I consider myself musically disabled. But that will be changed in heaven.:)

I appreciate any good voice, but strangely enough my favourite artist is Dylan.:D

I'm into some C&W like Cash, but can't stand the Irish brand (no offence meant). I'm a sucker for sentimental ballads of the American Civil War period - Stephen Foster, etc. In that connection I also realised a love for fiddle music - Jay Unger's haunting 'Ashoken Farewell' was the theme tune for Ken Burns' PBS production, The Civil War

I cut my reading teeth on Sci-Fi, but haven't touched it for many years, with the exception of Frank Herbert's Dune series. For relaxation I would be more into a good murder/mystery or Alexander McCall Smith's charming works.

Most of my reading, other than theology, is historical/political. I'm finishing a bio of Stalin at the moment. I like to examine the possible causes of wars and the thinking that determines their conduct.

Christian Theology is my main love - learning more about God and His will. Together with daily Bible reading, I have usually a few books on the go. At the moment:
    Decision Making and the Will of God, Friesen & Maxon; Steps for Guidance, Masters; a few papers and journals like Evangelical Times, Sword & Trowel; Spiritual Counterfeits Project; online discussion groups like Sound of Grace and this forum.

I watch some of the documentaries on Sky - though I do so with a skeptical eye, as I've found some presenters were wildly inaccurate as they aimed for sensation rather than truth. I found that in subjects I know enough about to realise it, so I am sure it applies to the rest.

Favourite entertainment: Lost, Heroes, any of the Jane Austin material.

Extreme dislikes: Strictly Come Dancing, X-Factor, soaps, soccer/cricket/rugby/GAA.

In fact, I am in a mental blank as to how anyone enjoys watching (as distinct for playing) any of those sports. It sounds as exciting as fishing, or sitting in a traffic jam.

But each to his own. :D

Thanks wolfsbane. I am also musically inept. Can't sing, can't play.

Yet gifted at coaching and how someone can't enjoy football has always been something I don't understand.

And GAA, I went to my first ever GAA this past summer, The Connaught Final, I'm sold.

wolfsbane wrote: »
    I cut my reading teeth on Sci-Fi, but haven't touched it for many years, with the exception of Frank Herbert's Dune series.

I sense a discussion coming up on spiceworms in the Creationism thread! :pac:

In fact, I am in a mental blank as to how anyone enjoys watching (as distinct for playing) any of those sports. It sounds as exciting as fishing, or sitting in a traffic jam.

By all-powerful Atheismo, there's something we can agree on!

(Though I've never been particularly keen on playing sports either...)

*starts trouble*

I mock your hobbies and pastimes.

Get her everybody! She's new.

*runs*

By all-powerful Atheismo, there's something we can agree on!

(Though I've never been particularly keen on playing sports either...)

We have common ground. I can't stand to watch sports on TV. They bore me and they make me feel like I should be doing something. Probably not doing sports mind you. Swimming is the only sport I've ever been good at.

Probably not doing sports mind you. Swimming is the only sport I've ever been good at.

Common misconception - you don't need to be *good* at sports to do them, IMO. As long as you enjoy them, that's the main thing

Common misconception - you don't need to be *good* at sports to do them, IMO.

Robbie Keane, is that you?

Common misconception - you don't need to be *good* at sports to do them, IMO. As long as you enjoy them, that's the main thing

Being rubbish at team sports usually means that they're not much fun. It also means the team tend to prefer you go away. I do enjoy swimming though.

Robbie Keane, is that you?

Harsh!

AH - lots of sports that you can do without involving a team. I was always last to be picked at school but I love sports and training now and it is great for both mental and physical health. Indeed, might I suggest a visit to the (very stylish, friendly and not at all elitist) marathon / triathlon forum , for example, to see how friendly and inclusive sport can be!

And I'm to my own now. Burnley -v- Arsenal is about to kick off so the internet connection is going off immed.............

AH - lots of sports that you can do without involving a team. I was always last to be picked at school but I love sports and training now and it is great for both mental and physical health. Indeed, might I suggest a visit to the (very stylish, friendly and not at all elitist) marathon / triathlon forum , for example, to see how friendly and inclusive sport can be!

I don't know quite why, but this annoys me more than Christian proselytising... I am an irrational sort really.

Ah I know you mean well, but I've got plenty of sporty, non-elitist and inclusive friends who've failed to convert me. It's not that I don't see the point of it all, it's just that the list of stuff I'd rather do is huge.