Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A sad fact...

• 01-12-2008 2:50pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I've been a devout Nintendo fan since my first Gameboy back in 1990. Since then, I have bought every console and handheld.

Loking at this forum recently, you can see why my love affair with Nintendo has pretty much finished (apart from any new Mario/Zelda). I realised last night that I haven't turned on my Wii in months.

Where's the talk about the new games gone? Looking back at the threads this month, it's almost nothing but requests for Wii Fit and R4DS questions.

Is there ANYTHING worth buying in the upcoming months? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Podge2k7

Is there ANYTHING worth buying in the upcoming months?

Xbox 360 or PS3?????:p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Jokes aside, I do have both the 360 and the PS3 and there are so many killer games on the 360 now, its rediculous. I also bought Little Big Planet for the PS3 which is one of those incredibly original ideas Nintendo USED to come up with.

I'm hoping I hear something awesome coming for the machine or I'll probably sell it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

I have a wii and a Ps3 (and a dead xbox 360 :p)

My Wii is modded, My Ps3 is not (it cant be)

Even though games cost me infinitely more on my Ps3 I still havent turned on my wii in a couple of months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭Mr Bloat

I have a 360 and a good gaming pc, both of which see constant use. The Wii only gets turned on when my daughter wants to play her Disney Princess game. Other than that, it's a dust collector. Sad, really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

The Wii has failed me, I feel like such a chump for ever sticking up for Nintendo, only to be deserted in favour of casual gamers.
    An imported copy of Smash Bros was the last Wii game that I played, and that was released sback in March!

tman wrote: »
    The Wii has failed me, I feel like such a chump for ever sticking up for Nintendo, only to be deserted in favour of casual gamers.
    An imported copy of Smash Bros was the last Wii game that I played, and that was released sback in March!

I bought it and sold it pretty much straight away as it had absolutely nothing new in it. What's worse is that I *knew* in my heart that I was going to feel that way, and it dawned on me that I had bought it out of pure blind loyalty.

I'm wondering if Nintendo are putting any effort into their classic franchises now, when they know that rediculous games such as Wii Music are going to sell way more than the likes of Zelda.

Business is business, but I feel like all the fans that have stuck through Nintendos downturn are being trodden on like a bunch of goombas.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,413 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

It's an awful shame that nintendos development studios are all churning out appeal to the lowest common denominator guaranteed to sell garbage with none of them working on original IP or even on established IP. It was a sad day when THQ brought out de Blob, a game that was more nintendo than anything they had brought out. Even the great intelligent systems is concentrating on the DS. Then miyamoto brings out his first poor game with Wii music. Owning an N64 or Gamecube wasn't the best console experience but at least every so often we would get a classic nintendo game. At least there are a good few third party games that look excellent but it used to be the nintendo games we looked forward to. And nintendos decision to no localise Captain Rainbow is a disgrace!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Seeker

Im in the same boat as you FutureGuy. I've always considered myself an owning-all-systems Nintendo Fanboy. The SNES was my first console and the following generations my favourite consoles were the N64 and Gamecube in their respective generations (although xbox was close to the Gamecube for me).

Now the 360 is just dominating the current generation for me. I use it to watch DVD's , play music and obviously play games. It absolutely blows away the other 2 consoles by the amount of AAA third party games for it. The online service blows away the PSN. I used to play online FPS's only on the PC before. Now with Xbox live you dont have to look for full servers anymore as Live makes everything so easy. Its fast and fun. (Although I do prefer playing TF2 on PC)

The onlu 'big' games im looking forward are the Mario and Zelda games. IMO the Wii Mario Galaxy and Twilight Princess were better than Sunshine and Wind Waker. I feel "full up " with the Mario Kart series . I just get very little pleasure from the series anymore.

Also I think the 360 pad is the best general joypad ever made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,960 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

been thinking that my selling the wii

im a big fan of the Nintendo first party games

but no sign of any

thinking of jumping ship tbh

ill have to do some thinking

i hate all the casual gaming crap

is there any good games coming out early next yr?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

It's truly ironic that as an ex Sega fanboy as a child I now take absolutely no pleasure in the current state of Nintendo's console.

The problem with casual fans are that they are just that- casual. They make you lots of money in the short term. It's great and all that the Wii has done so well, but if they do not take care of their dedicated gamer fans, there may be trouble ahead when the wind turns sour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

I don't know about anyone else, but I've found every game I've played for the Wii to have an extremely short lifespan. I played sport for a little while and play for a little while, but things like Tiger Woods and Smash Bros didn't even last an hour.

Admittedly I didn't play twilight princess on it cos I have it for gamecube but everything I've played on the wii seems gimmicky and quickly boring.

keane2097 wrote: »
    I don't know about anyone else, but I've found every game I've played for the Wii to have an extremely short lifespan. I played sport for a little while and play for a little while, but things like Tiger Woods and Smash Bros didn't even last an hour.

Admittedly I didn't play twilight princess on it cos I have it for gamecube but everything I've played on the wii seems gimmicky and quickly boring.

Super Mario Galaxy is a slice of fried gold. Best game I played last year. The only problem is that, you know that once you have finished it, you are looking at another 3-4 years before the next game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

my only satisfaction is that I didnt feel too bad when I got broken into on thursday night and my Wii was robbed because I hadnt turned it on since the night I got Super Smash Brothers Brawl.

Also I was lucky my HDMI cable was plugged into my PS3 as the thief seemed to think the 360 was broken as it was not hooked up to the TV and didnt take it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,413 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

is there any good games coming out early next yr?

There's some good games, none from nintendo. Sin and Punishment 2, Madworld, Fragile, Tales of Symphonia 2, No more heroes 2, that new vanillaware game Muramasa: The Demon Blade.

The thing about these though is that we'll be waiting a while for them and some will go the way of captain rainbow and not get localised. Fragile and Muramasa: The Demon Blade look amazing but both are good candidates for not ever getting localised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

tman wrote: »
    +1. I bought the Wii because of the controls and the relatively low price compared to the PS360. I expected alot of games, especially good 3rd party sports games,FPS's, RPG's to come out given the consoles popularity but its just gathering dust now. The only thing I'm looking forward to is PES 2009 and that's it. I feel like I've been scammed. Fortunately I have a high end gaming PC and there's so many great games out that literally don't have time to play them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

well is not that bad actually...just the western-tasted market is abit cold lately...maybe i mean 'adult' range games...last game was Trauma centre new blood,smash bros.turned it on last time for megaman9 :pac:almost 2 months ago...

i know they are some sonic games out,many children games,some Jap titles...(well,the localised version fecking takes ages)
    cause' wii is still gonna on sold-out crazy sales this xmas.nothing we can do about it.wii is a sad story for us gamer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭kyp_durron

The writing was pretty much on the wall since launch. I knew I would buy the first party games and little else. The downward spiral continues for Nintendo.

I might buy Megaman second hand, but there is nothing else I see that looks worth my money. One has to wonder where Nintendo will go from here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

hey lads only got nintendo a fewv weeks back......................can ye tell me what ye think a good score is for whack a mole? ive gotten 98 a few times, is this mega or have ye beaten this? and by much? thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

Only got my Wii in march this year and so have spent the year catching up on some simply fantastic titles, and as a result it has gotten good regular use. There ae still games that I want to play for it but simply don't have time, Metroid, Zack & Wiki and Paper Mario are the prime candidates.

There are more titles coming in Q1 and Q2 09 which look great, Sin and punishment 2, Fragile and Cursed Mountain look very cool.

I'd class myself as a "core" gamer, have been playing games for more than 20 years, really enjoy it but I dont spend massive amounts of money on it, only own one current system and there is plenty on Wii for me, thats not to say that I wouldn't like there to be more and some better development from 3rd parties and this has been a terrible 6 mths but I dont think things are quite as bad as some people are saying.

If you are a "Hardcore" gamer and you love playing one HiDef FPS after another and thats all you like, Well Wii isn't for you, in fairness, when was Nintendo ever about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

feel the awesomeness of nintendo,just the beginning of Xmas war whereas i dont think i am getting new game for wii this Xmas >_<

1228267318013.bmp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Only got my Wii in march this year and so have spent the year catching up on some simply fantastic titles, and as a result it has gotten good regular use. There ae still games that I want to play for it but simply don't have time, Metroid, Zack & Wiki and Paper Mario are the prime candidates.

There are more titles coming in Q1 and Q2 09 which look great, Sin and punishment 2, Fragile and Cursed Mountain look very cool.

I'd class myself as a "core" gamer, have been playing games for more than 20 years, really enjoy it but I dont spend massive amounts of money on it, only own one current system and there is plenty on Wii for me, thats not to say that I wouldn't like there to be more and some better development from 3rd parties and this has been a terrible 6 mths but I dont think things are quite as bad as some people are saying.

If you are a "Hardcore" gamer and you love playing one HiDef FPS after another and thats all you like, Well Wii isn't for you, in fairness, when was Nintendo ever about that?

I agree with everything here (except i have an xbox 360 too). This bit in bold is spot on.

I've had mine since launch, and since i don't get to spend as much time as some of the people on here playing (clearly), there's still quite enough to keep me going (tackling Smash Bros at the moment. Really enjoying it).

Having said that, the shelves in Wii section of Game/Gamestop do have a lot of crap on them. I mean a lot.

Would be nice if there was a couple more really interesting titles in the pipeline though. Anyone know when Project Zero is out here? The first one was pretty frickin creepy.

hey lads only got nintendo a fewv weeks back......................can ye tell me what ye think a good score is for whack a mole? ive gotten 98 a few times, is this mega or have ye beaten this? and by much? thanks

well , am i a genius or common as muck score

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Anyone know when Project Zero is out here? The first one was pretty frickin creepy.

February I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Don't know what everyone is on about really, I'm still playing Wii most nights of the week.

Nope, don't have a 360 or PS3 but I do have a Dreamcast, Mega Drive, SNES, GB, GBColour, GBA, DS, DS Lite, VirtualBoy, Gamecube, N64 and a few older ones.

What am I still playing on Wii?

Mainly Call of Duty: World at War online (best game on the Wii imo) and then bouts of Online Bomberman, Balance Board Tetris, Space Invaders Get Even (fantastic fun), PES2008, Guitar Hero 3 and SSX Blur (yup, even now I keep going back just to chill out on the slopes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

+1. I bought the Wii because of the controls and the relatively low price compared to the PS360. I expected alot of games, especially good 3rd party sports games,FPS's, RPG's to come out given the consoles popularity but its just gathering dust now. The only thing I'm looking forward to is PES 2009 and that's it. I feel like I've been scammed. Fortunately I have a high end gaming PC and there's so many great games out that literally don't have time to play them all.

Yes but what a game to look forward to! Pro Evo 2008 is the absolute best footy game ever i think. I am disappointed in the third party output on the Wii a little. I thought by now after Pro Evo demonstrating how it can be done that we'd be seeing some great sports games at least (i have yet to play tiger woods 09 though).

Call of Duty is pretty good. Online is great, very smooth and its a pretty decent service with experience and extra weapons and game types the more you play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭valleyoftheunos

smokingman wrote: »
    Don't know what everyone is on about really, I'm still playing Wii most nights of the week.

Nope, don't have a 360 or PS3 but I do have a Dreamcast, Mega Drive, SNES, GB, GBColour, GBA, DS, DS Lite, VirtualBoy, Gamecube, N64 and a few older ones.

What am I still playing on Wii?

Mainly Call of Duty: World at War online (best game on the Wii imo) and then bouts of Online Bomberman, Balance Board Tetris, Space Invaders Get Even (fantastic fun), PES2008, Guitar Hero 3 and SSX Blur (yup, even now I keep going back just to chill out on the slopes).

off topic but how is Guitar hero 3 on the wii?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

off topic but how is Guitar hero 3 on the wii?

It's pretty good, I haven't played any other console version but I'll be getting the new World tour one which is regarded as the best version on all three consoles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Chumpski wrote: »
    Yes but what a game to look forward to! Pro Evo 2008 is the absolute best footy game ever i think.
    Yeah PES 2009 should be epic. Can't wait. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

I still have paper mario and boom blox to complete, never mind metriod prime 2 from the GC...

Still hasn't been played in months tho, not even wii fit has had a look in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I have the Wii and PS3, much prefer the PS3.

Still, been looking for Wii fit for the wife and it seems to be sold out everywhere i have looked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

FutureGuy wrote: »
    I've been a devout Nintendo fan since my first Gameboy back in 1990. Since then, I have bought every console and handheld.

Loking at this forum recently, you can see why my love affair with Nintendo has pretty much finished (apart from any new Mario/Zelda). I realised last night that I haven't turned on my Wii in months.

Where's the talk about the new games gone? Looking back at the threads this month, it's almost nothing but requests for Wii Fit and R4DS questions.

Is there ANYTHING worth buying in the upcoming months? :(
    Agreed, got the wii on its launch and since then have bought 2 games.

No interest in it what so ever and haven't turned it on in months.
    Goes to show success doesn't mean anything for quality as the gamecube in my opinion was amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,285 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Happy Birthday Wii...out two years today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

1huge1 wrote: »
    got the wii on its launch and since then have bought 2 games.
    You have bought 2 games in 2 years which games released since launch did you not like? Top of my head, Legend of Zelda: Twilight princess, Super Mario Galaxy, Super Paper Mario, Zack and Wiki, Mario Kart Wii, Okami, Boom Blox, Super Smash Brother Brawl, Resident Evil 4, No More Heroes, Call of Duty 4. Look I can understand not liking the lineup but what else did you expect from Nintendo, Halo 3? (If the answer to that was yes I think you picked the wrong console)

Look if I had bought something 2 years ago and had bought nothing for it that was integral to its very existence I'd have sold it by now. At least bitch and moan if you had picked up all the great games and were finished with them.

I am enjoying my Wii I don't spend 10 hours a day on it (I have a life) but I have had great fun with it (surprisingly what Nintendo were aiming for) and really enjoy the quirky, different titles. Yes there is loads of bollocks but come on like the PS3 and 360 are immune to that.

anyone ?????????????????????? i might be in the wrong thread but gimme a braek was only as simple question. ta

• Closed Accounts Posts: 988 ✭✭✭IsThatSo?

anyone ?????????????????????? i might be in the wrong thread but gimme a braek was only as simple question. ta

maybe start a thread and ask? its possible that nobody that replied to this thread has played that game, I haven't :)