Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitzwilliam Pokerfest Main Event Live Updates

• 29-11-2008 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭

60 runners.

Some chipcounts from the end of the third level:

Dominick Hever 21k
    Chris Cooke 37k
    Noel Hayes 21k
    Andrew Leonard Busto
    Oz 21k
    Albert ~40k
    Ollie Kelly 16k
    Rob Taylor 13k
    Ollie Boyce 10.5k
    Adam Fallon 20k
    Rory Reese-Brennan 15k
    Donal Norton 25k
    Dara O'Kearney 16k

Andrew Grimason Busto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

Prizepool and Payouts

60 entrants
    €60,000

1. 20,500
    2. 12,500
    3. 7,800
    4. 6,000
    5. 4,500
    6. 3,300
    7. 2,100
    8. 1,800
    9. 1,500

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I'm cheering for about half the field! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Lplated

Looking forward to the updates... good luck to all lucky enough to be playing.

Marq - slightly off topic, but is Monday's 75 tournie on at 8 or half 8?? (Must be my eyesight, couldn't see it on other thread). Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

ionapaul wrote: »
    I'm cheering for about half the field! :)

hehe

go horses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

kudos to Marq, Denise and all the Fitz staff on a great main event.

Btw No apologies to the student who I speechplayed into shipping 60 BBs over the line first hand of a sat with JJ when I had AA. I just hope it was a good life lesson for you!! ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,958 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

How's albert getting on?
    many left?

Ace2007 wrote: »
    How's albert getting on?
    many left?

He was holding very steady on 40k or so about 40 minutes ago.
    He looks very focussed and fresh. He should go deep Donal.

Some movements in the last 2 hours:
    Albert Kenny up to 45k
    Noel Hayes up from 37k to 60k,
    olly k + chubbs busto
    rory R B ~ 42k
    adam fallon ~ 28k
    olly B 7.5K
    5star 3k
    dara o k ~25k
    Chris C 52k
    norton 50k
    david hickson 17k
    dylan mc 14k
    oz 32k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭robinblinds

Ship the loot Noel.

Gold flaked muffins Monday morning!

the omaha tournament is on at 8.30

New chip counts.

We're down to 26 players here. blinds are 300/600 with a 50 ante. average stack is 33,333.

Dara O'Kearney 28k
    Albert Kenny 50k
    Donal Norton ~60k
    David McGreevy 13k
    David Hickon 18k
    Danny 9k
    Ronan Ryan 19k
    Noel over 80k and most likely chip leader
    Rory R-B ~60k
    Chris Cooke around 80k also
    Francis 65k
    Adam Fallon 18k
    Glen McCabe 50k
    Bill O'Keefe 13k

Recent casualties include Dominick Hever, Dylan McCabe and Rob Taylor. Rob went straight down to the cash game though and scooped the Bad Beat Jackpot. Some guys have all the luck.

Day 2 Seating and Chip Counts

17 players remain from 60 started.
    Average Stack 52,941

Table One
    1. Jim Halpin 33,900
    2. Oz Osborne 44,300
    3. Albert Kenny 58,800
    4. Kevin Fitzpatrick 43,200
    5. Paul Houley 57,700
    6. David McGreevy 23,900
    7. Anthony Dunne 107,700
    8. Christy Smith 14,900
    9. Donal Norton 68,700

Table Two
    1. Ronan Ryan 21,100
    2. Rory Reese-Brennan 114,500
    4. Bill O'Keefe 25,900
    5. Glen McCabe 55,600
    6. Tommy Watson 18,000
    7. Noel Hayes 54,000
    8. Francis McCormack 84,600
    9. Chris Cooke 78,400

Play Resumes at 4pm Sunday afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Go go go BCB!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Chris cooke deserves a decent score. (Rush?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Properly off topic but:

Marq, you back here for long? Getting in a bit of soccer on tuesday/friday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭aarymark

YULETIRED wrote: »
    r
    run good today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,958 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Good luck to all left(mainly just albert:D)
    any idea on numbers for the omaha game 2nite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

take it down Chris!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭doke

YULETIRED wrote: »

Running like God yesterday he was. Standard :D

Seriously though, if Ozzie doesn't take this down, I'm rooting for the Cookemeister.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 NO-EARLEY-BIRD

great work keep it up
    and dont forget the dealers....good job lads and lasses:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭William Money

just gone - played my exit hand very badly
    had an extremely frustrating day of mostly being card dead yesterday
    but managed to pick off enough chips to stay alive

excellent structured well run tourney

Looking forward to omaha tonight!!

some early action from the first level.

Bill O'Keefe doubled through Noel Hayes for 18k when his 88 held up against Noel's AJo.

Tommy Watson doubled through Rory Reese Brennan AIPF when his 66 beat AQ. An A-6-5 flop killed most of the tension.

Jim Halpin was our 17th place finisher. He lost most of his chips when he shoved a flush draw into David McCreevy's Top Pair Top Kicker and the rest to Donal Norton with 84 against A2.

Ronan Ryan was next out when his nines were no good against Glen McCabe's kings.

blinds are now 800/1600 with a 200 ante.

Chip counts to follow at the next break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭BIGMICKG

any updates? hows albert kenny doin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 571 ✭✭✭smoothcall

BIGMICKG wrote: »
    any updates? hows albert kenny doin?

how come ya didnt play mick?

smoothcall wrote: »
    how come ya didnt play mick?

busy last night unfortunately, missed the se 500 last week too :(

no joy urself. see u went out early. u playing the ipc in jan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Lplated

Originally Posted by Marq
    Saturday 29th November: Main Event €1000+75 Freezeout. 5pm

Sunday 30th November: €250+50+20 Omaha Scalps Freezeout 8pm
    Day Two Main Event 4pm

Monday 1st December: €75+5 Hold’em, 1 Rebuy/Add-on. Timeless
    Day Three Main Event 6pm (if needed)

Hey, anyone know what time Monday's event is starting, doesn't appear to be a time in the OP??

20.30 according to flyer I have.

Can someone please poke Marq with a stick for updates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭akkenny

gone in 14th played pretty well last night but never really got going today,card dead for first 2 hours and any raises in late position were snapped off or called and takin down post flop. as the blinds went up my bbs of course were reduced ended up been down to 10-11 bbs and shipped on bb with two limpers(limping surprisingly was happening a bit) to get called by aa and that was the last of me.

akkenny wrote: »
    gone in 14th played pretty well last night but never really got going today,card dead for first 2 hours and any raises in late position were snapped off or called and takin down post flop. as the blinds went up my bbs of course were reduced ended up been down to 10-11 bbs and shipped on bb with two limpers(limping surprisingly was happening a bit) to get called by aa and that was the last of me.

They just don't fold AA no matter what you show them Al!! :D;)

Good effort anyway, you were playing well last night but its important to get a bit of luck on the run in with blinds getting big.

Was BCB still in as you left?

ollyk1 wrote: »
    They just don't fold AA no matter what you show them Al!! :D;)

Good effort anyway, you were playing well last night but its important to get a bit of luck on the run in with blinds getting big.

Was BCB still in as you left?

ye he was but similar to me with 10-15 bb

BIGMICKG wrote: »
    no joy urself. see u went out early. u playing the ipc in jan?

nah ran into a set. prob shouldve folded tho. Not sure about IPC , see what im doin for new years. Hows the supernova comin along, will be a long december??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

bbuuuuuuuuurrrrrr too cold to head into the omaha.....

I iwsh i were more dedicated, anywayz da Arsenal just payed for my last two week festivities...van percie ya legend:D

updates there Marq ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭aarymark

chris cooke out aipf aa v kk he had the aa

akkenny wrote: »
    ye he was but similar to me with 10-15 bb

Unlucky Albert.

Oz still in?

doke wrote: »
    Unlucky Albert.

Oz still in?

ye when i left oz was doin ok with 40bb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

aarymark wrote: »
    chris cooke out aipf aa v kk he had the aa

Unlucky Chris, i was really rooting for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭ozpoker

I was out in 7th. Did a 9BB jam w/ATC in the SB and ran into AQ.

One really interesting hand against Paul Houley. He limps in the hijack, Anthony limps on the button, SB limps and I check in the BB w/K6. I lead for 2/3 pot on a Q62 flop, and both Paul and Anthony call. I'm pretty much done with the hand except the turn is a K. I bet 40% of my stack and Paul calls again, Anthony folds. I'm not sure what he has at this point unless it's some super slow played set. The River is a 6 to fill me up, so I jam and Paul shrugs his shoulders and calls w/ KQ. I talked to a couple of people at the break and no one puts him on KQ there. I got lucky to hit a 6, because I'm definitely committed to the hand.

Well done to Mark and the rest of the staff at the Fitz. Between the 1/2 price sats on Saturday and the brilliant structure, I really had a great time.

Well done Oz. Looks like any time either of us push into the blinds the BB is destined to have AQ (my exit hand too, and also from Bruce main event, and tonight's GJP deepstack sat).

Congrats on another decent cash: great consistency.

Also, well done to all the Fitz staff, as ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

Rees still in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭Wolves

This isn't fully up to date.

Final 3 were: Paul Houley / Rory Reese / Tommy Watson

That was over an hour ago though.

Rees is the lowest in chippys. Turned down a deal too i believe.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Any pics of those dudes that aren't Rory? Want to see if any of them were at my table at any point.

Deal done.

Reese 14800
    Tom Watson 13000
    Paul HaNley 12000

I had lots of reports throughout the day ready to go up, but never got the chance to do it. I'll put together a full report at some point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Marq wrote: »
    Deal done.

Reese 14800
    Tom Watson 13000
    Paul HaNley 12000

I had lots of reports throughout the day ready to go up, but never got the chance to do it. I'll put together a full report at some point

well done lads, Tommy was short stacked early and came out the right side of 2 races v me and Rees to stay alive. He picked his spots well.

Having shared a table with Rees all weekend it makes me realise how much more I need to improve as a poker player. He was a class apart to all other player i sat with this weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭DPablo

well done lads, Tommy was short stacked early and came out the right side of 2 races v me and Rees to stay alive. He picked his spots well.

Having shared a table with Rees all weekend it makes me realise how much more I need to improve as a poker player. He was a class apart to all other player i sat with this weekend.

Agreed, Rory was a tough adversary and was hard to take chips from.
    When down to three, he changed gears and was raising a lot.
    I had him on the ropes at one stage with about 420k of the 900k in play against his ~140k but he fought back and took down a big pot against me when I had J10 on an AA10xx board and I made a poor call on the river, (even though getting 3-1) against his AQ.:mad:
    Was happy enough to take 12k for a €100 spin up from the Sat. game.
    Thanks to Marq and all the Fitz crew for a great tournie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Well done Paul...

20 hours later, I still feel vomit....!....AA vs KK ...c170K pot....Jeesus....I'd get through 3 tourney's with that amount of chips....!!!..(somebody steal that Jumper off Glen..)

Well done to Marq, Denise and all at Fitz...Great tournament....

Also top marks for giving away the few quid in the Sats....!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Russh wrote: »
    Well done Paul...

20 hours later, I still feel vomit....!....AA vs KK ...c170K pot....Jeesus....I'd get through 3 tourney's with that amount of chips....!!!..(somebody steal that Jumper off Glen..)

LOL I will win €50 then! I knew you;d bust with AA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭DPablo

Russh wrote: »
    Well done Paul...

Sick beat Chris, genuinely gutted for you,
    Nothing you could do about it,
    Next time maybe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭RockRory

Sweet result Paul,
    Well deserved :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Well done Reese