Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chuggers - Friend or Foe?

• 28-11-2008 4:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭

So what are your thoughts on chuggers? Only I had a bad experience with a few. One time I was walking really fast down grafton st, and was in a major rush to get to a job interview, when one tried to stop me. Now (perhaps to my mistake) I up to this point thought they were hard-working, tireless souls and I told him I'm sorry but I'm in a major rush (politely).

Well. He roared down the street after me and crowed 'o you're so busy you can't even stop to talk to me'. If I wasn't in the rush I was I would have stopped and throttled him - I mean come on! Most people ignore them totally and I was trying to be nice by acknowledging him and apologising for not stopping!

This was the second time one of them has flung abuse after me coz I haven't stopped to give them my bank details. They now make my blood boil. :mad:

Any other thoughts, experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

My thoughts are this has all been done and most people despise the fuckers, me included.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Chuggers are the scum off the earth as they are being PAID to work for a charity.

Just tell them ur 17 and they'll leave you alone. it's illegal for them to take bank details from someone under 18 or something to that effect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 297 ✭✭oztots

A kick in the pants is what they all need. Especially if they get in your way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Enemy, maybe even nemesis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

Hard job, thankless job. But much needed... unlike the sigpo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Kimia wrote: »

I get all my experiences of chuggers from reading After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I don't think that they're class and that they do very important work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I reckon 2009 will see a major missing persons case involving one of these feckers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

So what are your thoughts on chuggers? Only I had a bad experience with a few. One time I was walking really fast down grafton st, and was in a major rush to get to a job interview, when one tried to stop me. Now (perhaps to my mistake) I up to this point thought they were hard-working, tireless souls and I told him I'm sorry but I'm in a major rush (politely).

Well. He roared down the street after me and crowed 'o you're so busy you can't even stop to talk to me'. If I wasn't in the rush I was I would have stopped and throttled him - I mean come on! Most people ignore them totally and I was trying to be nice by acknowledging him and apologising for not stopping!

This was the second time one of them has flung abuse after me coz I haven't stopped to give them my bank details. They now make my blood boil. :mad:

What you shouldve done was lay him out with a stronh right hook, call a few friends over, spitroasted him, poured a beer over his head before kicking him out of your house and then high 5'd stone cold steve austin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

What has Keith ever done on any of you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

6th wrote: »
    I reckon 2009 will see a major missing persons case involving one of these feckers.

Until people realise what he did for a living and then well, more important things to do like finding Mrs Quinns Cat and well you see it's em, stretched resources and er, well you know the score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

No problems with them. They do a really hard job, raise a s*itload of money for charity. Don't really see the problem with them. Oh, and keep in mind the next time you roar "get a real job" that they most likely earn more money than you!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Hate the feckers. I used to think they were doing a great service, all smiles and charitable etc. But after many weeks of being pestered by the same crowd and finding out that they were paid, I quickly changed my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Round 'em all up and donate them to medical research to give yourself a warm feeling inside.

Krieg wrote: »
    Hate the feckers. I used to think they were doing a great service, all smiles and charitable etc. But after many weeks of being pestered by the same crowd and finding out that they were paid, I quickly changed my opinion.

so what if they're paid? they do it full time. why shouldn't they be paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Well I know a couple of chuggers so maybe I'm a bit biased...or maybe just slightly better informed :D training and paying people to sign people up means the charities get much more donations than just having some dopey spa with a tin or a roll of raffle tickets volunteering every weekend. Also, the **** they get is unreal, they get paid decently, but they get paid to stand out in the cold being told to **** off for most of the day. Also, different charities have different types of chuggers. Some pay on commission, and hire people from recruiting companies like face to face. Some (like concern, which is the charity my friends chug for), pay on an hourly basis (though they do keep track of how many people you sign up and if you're **** at the job you'll get let go).

So, basically, some chuggers are literally my friends :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Can this new anti-begging law be stretched to cover these pricks charming people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

They are both fiends and foes. (I'm not a chugger)

My girlfriend used to be one though. Man was I ashamed.

Its ok though, she's a real person again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

MizzLolly wrote: »
    It's been done to death OP

So has YOUR MA, don't hear people giving out about her though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Wow thanks for that! Imagine, I had never heard of the 'search' option before now. *long sarcastic clap* :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 280 ✭✭Ziggurat

Walking down Kildare Street one day I ran into one. I'm not particularly tall and, while I was walking down the street with no one else around, she tips over to the side and tries to catch my eye. I mean, she leans her body sideways to look at me.

Needless to say I was pissed off. I suppose I should have said something, but then she'd probably give one of their bubbly laughs, pat me on the head and comment on how "cute" I am.
    Oh, how I hate them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

So has YOUR MA, don't hear people giving out about her though!

I got most of my venereal diseases off her, I'm not very pleased about it :mad:

hopalong85 wrote: »
    so what if they're paid? they do it full time. why shouldn't they be paid?

I understand that a paid chugger can bring more funds than one working voluntarily. But I don't think its really charity if one is getting paid for it. Yes you can easily argue that without people getting paid, few organization charity's would exist without income. I still don't think chuggers should be paid €9-10 an hour, it doesnt seem moral to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Will wrote: »
    Hard job, thankless job. But much needed... unlike the sigpo

I thought you said hand job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Wow thanks for that! Imagine, I had never heard of the 'search' option before now. *long sarcastic clap* :rolleyes:

Well, you've only posted 16 times. It's understandable.

*smiles*

It's not about them getting paid or not paid or whatever. It's about the fact that they think that they can abuse someone if they don't want to avail of the service they are providing.

If I worked in a dealership, trying to sell someone a car, and the customer says no thanks - do I turn around and abuse them? - 'FINE SO DON'T BUY THE CAR YOU W*NKER!'.

That's my problem with chuggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Can i just point out that once3 you give them your bank details they are alloweed to and do sell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I wonder is the chuggers only motive for taking up this employment for the benefit of the charity in question? I doubt very much it is. These jobs are practically thrown at anyone desperate enough to apply. I have been stuck for jobs before, but I really would have needed to be hard-up to apply for one of those jobs. Coming up to Christmas any busy street is like an assault course of dodge the chugger! :eek:

Is the best interest of the charity really the main objective? No, it's commission!

The last thing I want while walking down Shop Street or Grafton Street on lunch is to be launched upon by one or even more of these over-enthusiastic bunch who do their best to "charm" you and get your money.. Using lines like "Oh nice scarf", yuck. What makes them think they can harass you? Sometimes their methods are almost harassent because in my view, shouting at me or grabbing my arm to offer me a service is harassment.
    I will however donate to charities in my own time either online or through accredited agencies where I can see exactly where the money is going to be used.

Charity should be voluntary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Matt Holck

Krieg wrote: »

yeah
    how do they expect me respect their cause
    unless they are independently wealthy

get back to the fields and bring me the fruits of your labor

Matt Holck wrote: »
    yeah
    how do they expect me respect their cause
    unless they are independently wealthy

get back to the fields and bring me the fruits of your labor

sigh..
    Krieg wrote:
    I understand that a paid chugger can bring more funds than one working voluntarily. But I don't think its really charity if one is getting paid for it. Yes you can easily argue that without people getting paid, few organization charity's would exist without income. I still don't think chuggers should be paid €9-10 an hour, it doesn't seem moral to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I hate them all. I dont care for peoples opinions on this matter because they are pushy and arrogant pretending they care for the charity.

After battling my way past 5 of them on Cruises Street in Limerick I was impeded by the 6th of them with her stupid hand out and fake smile on her face. "Hi, Im Gemma". I told her that prostitution is illegal in this country.

She was none too impressed.

OR one that I use 99% of time(just not that 1%) is to tell them I am already paying by Direct Debit to two other charities. If they ask which ones, ask them does it matter which ones as long as I give to some charity. Always knocks them for six.

While Im at it. This Christmas I will do my shopping at 3am because I CAN pack my own bags and do not want your grubby little children from the GAA club 98miles up the road packing my vegetables with my cleaning stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

While Im at it. This Christmas I will do my shopping at 3am because I CAN pack my own bags and do not want your grubby little children from the GAA club 98miles up the road packing my vegetables with my cleaning stuff.

A personal gripe of mine. I ****ing hate them. Leave my food alone you dirty little pricks!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Arrgghhhh!! They never seem to understand the "raw meat not in with cooked meat" rule either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

No problems with them. They do a really hard job, raise a s*itload of money for charity. Don't really see the problem with them. Oh, and keep in mind the next time you roar "get a real job" that they most likely earn more money than you!:)
    You're one of them, aren't you?

Terry wrote: »
    You're one of them, aren't you?

I used to be. Will probably do it again this summer for a while before i travel. Good pay, good cause. win win situation really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

i knew a chugger a few yrs ago in sligo. She had long curly blonde hair and was french. Anyways as mush as she tried to get me to sign up i always had some excuse. I finally relented after a few weeks as she said it was her birthday and signed up but gave her the wrong a/c number. Problem solved. Or so i thought. You see snce then anytime i am accosted by one of these chuggers i always say that i signed up with the french girl, canadian girl etc as there is always one from france/canada or somewhere foreign. Last week i got stopped by a waving grinning goon in sligo and before he said anything to me i said that i signed up with the blonde french girl last week to which he replied "her" pointing to a blonde french clipboard holding chugger. Turns out it was my french friend from a few yrs ago. Made my excuses and ****ed of pronto.

My sister and her fiance have a good one that they use. They live in dublin and were sick of these chuggers so anymore when they see one preparing there charity assault either my sis or her fiance will start shouting and hit her/him across the face in front of the chugger. It looks so realistic that they usually just back of and my sis and her fiance walk of laughing. (its a pretend slap across face in case anyone was wondering about the freaky state of their relationship)

I will finish with this. I was talking to chugger team leader last christmas on the street and asked him what his plans were for new yrs. He said that he and his girlfriend were going to SouthAfrica on an all expenses paid holiday for two weeks which was his reward for bringing in so much money!!

Charity my arse!!!

giddy up

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Good pay, good cause.
    How exactly is being paid to harass random people in the streets a good cause?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I hate chuggers more than words can say...

Best I could find. There are other silly ones on You Tube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I didn't mind them........until they started doing home visits

Had MSIreland around during the week. I'm sure they do fantastic work but eh, I'm not contributing at the moment.
    Had a few other charities around too

I don't mind local kids going around, sure I did it myself. But not paid collectors and sure I can't verify their ID card and they've no distinctive jackets like they do on the street so who can say they are geniune? Just say no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Ye could always use a variation of the jerry seinfeld ruse and ask for their phone number to call them when you aren't busy. When they refuse you ask them is it because you don't like being interrupted during your personal/private time and when they say yes tell them now they know how you f**kin feel.

micmclo wrote: »
    I didn't mind them........until they started doing home visits

How about arty farty people with their paintings asking for sponsorship. They start off telling you they just want your opinion and then ask for money in the end.

I am calling the mobile numbers of the clothes collecting people at between 2am-3am if a number is on it.

"Why are you calling so early?". I then say "Why do you call to my house so early?" They hang up of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭deleriumtremens

I hate the cnuts because they give off this air of "oh, im such a nice person, we have to help all these people in need, blah blah.." whereas I know that, in reality, all animals are inherently selfish. This truth is only reinforced by the fact that they get paid for it! In my opinion they come across like its obvious that they're doing it for nothing...they should tell everybody that they're getting paid for what they're doing before they begin their conversation about the cause for which they are looking for donations....then we'll see how many people are willing to give to charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

What has Keith ever done on any of you?

He played pop for me.
    Some (like concern, which is the charity my friends chug for), pay on an hourly basis (though they do keep track of how many people you sign up and if you're **** at the job you'll get let go).

That's charitable.

stevenmu wrote: »
    How exactly is being paid to harass random people in the streets a good cause?

hehe. it's a good cause because it's a super way of raising money for really worthwhile charities. commendable thing to do tbh. harassed you say. sigh. if somebody saying "hi do you have a minute?" is what you consider harassment then you mustn't have many problems imo.

No hopalong - god it's like you guys are brainwashed or something!

It's not the 'Hi do you have a minute?' that bothers us. It's when you say 'No I'm afraid I don't have a minute', and then they change and start going on about how selfish you are and how awful a person you must be because you don't want to give to their charity.

To be honest, chuggers put me off charities. I have done fasts, and I always buy a daffodil, sticker, etc, but it's the relentless pushiness that puts me off, and now I feel I couldn't be bothered with any of them if this is their tactic.

Seriously though - do they make you do intensive sales training and then when it's done you come out with that bull above? It's always the same - you try and give them an honest answer - 'NO I am not giving you my bank details' - and they just answer back with a (obviously rehearsed and learned) answer, or in my case - abuse! They should be fired!!! AND you all sound the same by the way. Mindless drones feeding the mothership. It's like a cult nowadays.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Back before I got my anti-chugger chip installed I was stopped in Galway by one and I decided to hear what he had to say. He said he was representing the SomethingI'mNotGoingtosaybutstartswithH Centre, so I asked him what they do and he proceeded to tell me this.

"We take in all the drunks and alcos, stop them beating their wives and kids, clean them up in a big washing machine and send them back out to their familes, all better."

That may not be it word for word but there is no exaggeration.

I did a bit of a look up about the charity and they have no premisis in Galway or even in Ireland! (at least they hadn't at the time) but were a registered charity here paying muppets like yer man to extract funds out of passers-by. I have seen the same charity collecting outside of shops and even packing groceries in a supermarket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Are chuggers even a problem now? I know when they first appeared on the scene a few years back they could be pretty insistent and even aggresive, following people and what-not, but now they just accept a nod of the head and move on to someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

While I think the ''OMG Chuggers are the Devil'' attitude is just ignorant, I do think what the OP experienced should be reported. These workers are not, under any circumstances, allowed make a member of the public feel guilty. Again, this is where the difference between agency workers and direct employees is an issue from what I've read here.

To the OP, definately, if you really feel this strongly, ring up the Charity involved and make a formal complaint. All threads like this one do is krap all over charity and gives ingnorance a leg to stand on. I disagree with how you're going about this but I do understand why you're annoyed. That worker should not have opened his mouth to you.

To be honest, half the time I think the rubbish posted in threads like this one is just an excuse to try make yourselves feel better. I had two God awful experiences with 'chuggers' myself. Again, they were from some agency AFAIK, working for a kids charity here in Ireland. Two men were on either side of me insisting that they would escort me to the bank to get my details. They were absolutely wrong to do this and they can be punished severely for such behaviour.

I have signed up to charities since. Why? Because I genuinely care about the cause they speak of. Yeah, I've had two bad experiences but I'm sound enough to think independantly on the matter and have spoken to more of these guys since. I'm very proud to be associated to the charities I support.

When you go into a Sony shop and meet a dog ignorant sales assistant, you don't vow to never buy from Sony again. You either report the employee or have a bitch about it to your OH or whatever.

Let's not fool ourselves now.

OP, if you feel so strongly, report it.