Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new stupid irish laws

• 26-11-2008 11:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭

i love ireland but seriously whats with all the stupid laws brought in in the last few months.chatting to a polish lad i work with..lovely fella...asked him was he at the Ireland v Poland match last week and he said yeah match was great but had a bit of trouble with the guards after the game.

supposably a group of them bought their cans before the match and left it in their car as the stupid 10 o clock law would of stopped them from buying drink after.anyways they got the cans and where on their way to a party after celebrating the win.few of them cracked open a can while walking down the road to the party.

guards pull up and take all of their cans off them(40 cans!!!)and fines them each 50quid!wtf like!the lads wernt causing any hassle just going to a party and decided to have a can on the way.And the worst thing is this is actually the law they can take off all of anyones drink if their drinking in the street not just the open stuff all of it.ruined their night!and i would by bullin' too!

rants over.laws in this country are made by eejits!bunch of monkeys!roll on the non drinkers comments yay

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

If they'd just do something about all the scumbags drinking cans around Cork City I'd be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Isn't there a thread going about Christmas parties?
    I wonder where those cans will end up that they confiscated :D

Hey OP, if a bunch of winos stood outside your gaff drinking cans all day would you still be raging that you aren't supposed to be drinking in public?
    How about skangers drinking dutch gold in your local park?

The 10pm rule may be stupid but the drinking in public law should be better enforced.
    You know the Croke Park area, ever walk by the canal any lunchtime? Winos everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

THey need all the cans they can possibly get for their pre Christmas P.R. confiscated drinks Display. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

THey need all the cans they can possibly get for their pre Christmas P.R. confiscated drinks Display. :mad:

Coincidentally the PR stunt is in the same place as the Christmas Party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Stupid laws in Ireland, Yes plenty of them.
    But the law against drink in public, not stupid at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

So your point is: "people shouldn't be punished for breaking the law", right?

That's what they did, and that's what happened to them. Simple as.

I mean, all they had to do was not open the cans till they got there. And the drinking in public law isn't exactly a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

micmclo wrote: »
    The 10pm rule may be stupid but the drinking in public law should be better enforced.
    You know the Croke Park area, ever walk by the canal any lunchtime? Winos everywhere!

I think the Gardaí should confiscate drink from everyone and then give it to me for safekeeping. Here's a recent picture of me for all the ladies:

Pose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

oh no i am totally for drinking in public laws.but i think a fine and made throw the empty cans away is more than enough and there not kids there not knacker drinking in a park!but to take everyones cans off them all 40 of them is mad.if they were under 18 then definetly so but there adults and they wernt hanging around outside a shop throwing stuff at grannies they were on there way to a house to drink sensibly.im just saying if it was you how would you feel.whats next..after it gets dark everyone has to wear hi-vis jackets??wudnt surprise me if that was brought in next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

I don't think it's a stupid law at all.
    It is a very good one that should be enforced a lot more
    than it is.
    Now if we are talking "stupid", that would be the look how cool I am drinking in street git's who think they are above the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

Why should a group of lads be allowed walk down any street day or night drinking?

Hardly a stupid law if being a polish person or not.

If a group of scangers with hoods were walking down the street with a can in hand heading to a party I bet you would be the first to wonder why the Gardai do not stop them.

Gardai, not guards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭i_love_toast

Why should a group of lads be allowed walk down any street day or night drinking?

If a group of scangers with hoods were walking down the street with a can in hand heading to a party I bet you would be the first to wonder why the Gardai do not stop them.

Gardai, not guards!

oooh look at me im a goody toe shoes who pernounces his works correctly and who makes sure i abide by every law so that people look at me and say to themselves oooooh he's a respective citizen.wooo go crazy someday...jaywalk or something!see how it makes ya feel you mad thing you!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭pipsqueak

:)I like polish people, they are very mannerly!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

oooh look at me im a goody toe shoes who pernounces his works correctly

:D One born every minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

oooh look at me im a goody toe shoes who pernounces his works correctly and who makes sure i abide by every law so that people look at me and say to themselves oooooh he's a respective citizen.wooo go crazy someday...jaywalk or something!see how it makes ya feel you mad thing you!!

jaywalking isn't a crime in Ireland.
    I know because I started a thread over in the Legal forum a few months back

So you got a problem with jaywalking too? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

I didn't realise that they're allowed take the unopened ones. that's not very nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭brow_601

Gardai, not guards!

I don't see what hoods has to do with anything....

I don't think laws should be different for different people, but i definitely think the gardai should use some cop on. Drinking in public is banned because it can cause people to become rowdy and cause trouble, and thats the kind of behaviour the gardai should be looking out for. If theres a group of people cracking a can on the way to a party, so what? they're not causing trouble...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

'Bout time we started seeing a bit of action from the Gardaí.

Guess he won't do that again, huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

The law is stupid, because it treats all people as if they act like the lowest common denominator.

If 100,000 people go out on a Friday night and 100 cause some kind of problem, does it mean everyone should be punished.

They should of course have the powers to deal with idiots swiftly and severely, but treating everyone like a potential criminal is not the way.
    And this being Ireland, it means, the guards wont bother too much with winos because it will be just to much trouble in the long run.. and instead apply the law only to people who will respect it. So the problem will not be solved, but normal people will have less freedom.

This law also means for example that you could not have a glass of wine at a picnic, as you would be drinking in public. You could never have a beach party, or barbque in a public place, unless you restrict yourself to fizzy pop.

I also think the recent laws are badly thought out as, firstly they restricted pub opening hours to deal with public order offences.
    Again, this restricts the freedom of many, because of the actions of a few.
    Even morons can figure out they should go to the pub an hour earlier if they want to get just as drunk.

I am being governed by morons, who make laws, dictated by the acts of morons, and people who cant understand this are morons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

wow. just wow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

I've seen guards recently use this law to take drink off people who weren't drinking in the street. it seems mere suspicion alone is enough for the guards in this case, is this correct?

for the record, there's nothing wrong with drinking in public. it's HOW people drink in public that's the problem. stricter laws like this wont make a damn difference at the end of the day, it's the culture that causes the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

If I want to buy a six pack at 2 am, I should be allowed to. Just because others can't drink responsibly doesn't mean I should be punished. The Government are treating us like children. Plenty of people die on the roads, why not impose a 20 MPH speed limit!!?!! :mad:

When the local Fianna Fáil candidate comes around I'm going to give him an earful. Although I do agree that drinking in public should not be allowed. Do it in your house/the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I've seen guards recently use this law to take drink off people who weren't drinking in the street. it seems mere suspicion alone is enough for the guards in this case, is this correct?

for the record, there's nothing wrong with drinking in public. it's HOW people drink in public that's the problem. stricter laws like this wont make a damn difference at the end of the day, it's the culture that causes the problem.
    Got a problem with this?
    Go to the Garda ombudsman.

Anyone who says that it's nopt worth going to the ombudsman does not get the right to complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

Plenty of people die on the roads, why not impose a 20 MPH speed limit!!?!!
    You've never been to Waterford, have you?

The 4-lane roads are 40MPH though.......................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

i love ireland but seriously whats with all the stupid laws brought in in the last few months.chatting to a polish lad i work with..lovely fella...asked him was he at the Ireland v Poland match last week and he said yeah match was great but had a bit of trouble with the guards after the game.

supposably a group of them bought their cans before the match and left it in their car as the stupid 10 o clock law would of stopped them from buying drink after.anyways they got the cans and where on their way to a party after celebrating the win.few of them cracked open a can while walking down the road to the party.

guards pull up and take all of their cans off them(40 cans!!!)and fines them each 50quid!wtf like!the lads wernt causing any hassle just going to a party and decided to have a can on the way.And the worst thing is this is actually the law they can take off all of anyones drink if their drinking in the street not just the open stuff all of it.ruined their night!and i would by bullin' too!

rants over.laws in this country are made by eejits!bunch of monkeys!roll on the non drinkers comments yay

this isnt a new law by the way,has been around for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭McSandwich

I find myself wondering about that every day when walking along Eden quay. The boardwalk is always full of skangers enjoying their cans, and stronger stuff. I've never seen the Gardai do anything about it and am starting to think that maybe the boardwalk was secretly designed to be a creche for skangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wait...
    Polish people?

Fúck them. They are in Ireland now and have to obey Irish laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

How have you lasted this long, you're here nearly a year. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Terry wrote: »
    Got a problem with this?
    Go to the Garda ombudsman.

Anyone who says that it's nopt worth going to the ombudsman does not get the right to complain.

Christ, what got your nipples in a twist? Did i say i had a problem with it? No. I asked a question; do the guards have the right to confiscate on suspicion alone?

some people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 razda07

im gonna take this argument a little further and get off the topic about drinkin in public.

wtf is de story with the safe pass? a 100 euro to be told common sense? wer coes this 100 euro go to? everyone who does these kinds of 'training' days will agree its pure bull**** but yet everyone accepts that thwy have to be done? why?

and de 10 o clock law is ridiculous, people will drink anyway its just makin it annoying.

nd why is government tax so high on drink nd smokes? i dont smoke but who de **** are they to tell us how to live our lives? people get stresse from a hard days work, dey want a release, dey want something to take theyre mind off things, they have a smoke nd a pint. wat is wrong wit dat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Could they not wait til they got to the house? Walking the streets drinking cans is a little bit scanger.

razda07 wrote: »
    im gonna take this argument a little further and get off the topic about drinkin in public.

wtf is de story with the safe pass? a 100 euro to be told common sense? wer coes this 100 euro go to? everyone who does these kinds of 'training' days will agree its pure bull**** but yet everyone accepts that thwy have to be done? why?

and de 10 o clock law is ridiculous, people will drink anyway its just makin it annoying.

nd why is government tax so high on drink nd smokes? i dont smoke but who de **** are they to tell us how to live our lives? people get stresse from a hard days work, dey want a release, dey want something to take theyre mind off things, they have a smoke nd a pint. wat is wrong wit dat?

I'm sorry but I couldn't read that for the sea of text speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

If you need a smoke or a pint to have a "release" or to relax then ya have no need to be worrying about tax, ya have more serious problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

brow_601 wrote: »
    If theres a group of people cracking a can on the way to a party, so what? they're not causing trouble...

So by what your saying, its ok for me to carry around a loaded gun once I dont cause any trouble

School bell rings in about 6 hours and 20 minuets.
    Make sure you attend now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭bealbocht

d3mon24 wrote: »
    So by what your saying, its ok for me to carry around a loaded gun once I dont cause any trouble

Yes, but only when you are at home or in the pub, but not travelling in between.

School bell rings in about 6 hours and 20 minuets.
    Make sure you attend now.

maybe u should take that into account because your obviously to immateur to give a reply back to my post but only give a stupid attempt on an insult

ClioV6 wrote: »
    If you need a smoke or a pint to have a "release" or to relax then ya have no need to be worrying about tax, ya have more serious problems!

nd wat serious problems would these be? having a drink or a fag is normal. again i dont smoke nd barely drink, but i still recognise de fact that its normal nd tax will not prevent it from happenin it just makes it annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

And. "nd" isn't a word. Are you being charged by the vowel or something?

maybe u should take that into account because your obviously to immateur to give a reply back to my post but only give a stupid attempt on an insult

6 hours and 15 minuets..tick tock...

nd wat serious problems would these be? having a drink or a fag is normal. again i dont smoke nd barely drink, but i still recognise de fact that its normal nd tax will not prevent it from happenin it just makes it annoying

Seriously , you're teacher will be looking for you.

And. "nd" isn't a word. Are you being charged by the vowel or something?

ND so wat if ND isnt a word? u still understood it didnt u? are u so dumb dat u cant read shortened version of text?

Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a toatl mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.

ND so wat if ND isnt a word? u still understood it didnt u? are u so dumb dat u cant read shortened version of text?

Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a toatl mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae the huamn mnid deos not raed ervey lteter by istlef, but the wrod as a wlohe.

you think you're smart don't you?

yes

yes

you think wrong.

Did you know I'm physic?

That's asking razda to think.:eek:
    yes
    See.:rolleyes:
    you think wrong.
    Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

I had crap for dnnier. I dnot nomrally lkie fsih but it was a vrey ncie crap.

Ok, so you've established that standards aren't important to you, only doing the bare minimum, and you don't care about how you appear to others. You're like a grammatical slob, dirty sweat pants and mustard stains down your t-shirt. :pac:

u think that but i couldnt care less. maybe u should use this forum to pass your view on the matter in question (new stupid irish laws) rather than grammar. heres a tip create your own forum on grammar and see how many people give a ****.

i couldnt care less.

That's self-evident. ;)