Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Terrorist attacks in Mumbai [merged]

• 26-11-2008 9:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭

Anyone having sky satelite look at channel 511. some live terrorist encounter hapenning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭slumped

Anyone having sky satelite look at channel 511. some live terrorist encounter hapenning

Can't see this station but CNN and Sky reporting a hostage situtaiton in Mumbai all evening.

I trust its the same thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

Anymore info too lazy to get the remote?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Its a Chinese news channel I imagine its the islamic nutters in Mumbai, India.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭Vain

slumped wrote: »
    Can't see this station but CNN and Sky reporting a hostage situtaiton in Mumbai all evening.

Just checked your right.

bet you'll get good last minute deals now to Bombay.....

Bad sh1t.

900 injured and probably more than 100 killed.

Seems feckin mad.

Ireland thought it had it bad in the 1970s and 1980s, but violence and terrorism has taken a much more extreme route lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

80 dead:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

slumped wrote: »

So we won't be able to contact Sky customer care this evening then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

im going for an indian later, i hope the resteraunt doesnt get attacked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

The tried to get the English Cricket teams bus but it was gone before the terrorists got there

callaway92 wrote: »
    The tried to get the English Cricket teams bus but it was gone before the terrorists got there

2 weeks too late....probably watchin Setanta Sports News..

bastardos have set fire to the hotel.....live on SKY 501

im going for an indian later, i hope the resteraunt doesnt get attacked

It won't be under cooked anyway. Ask for the korma bellboy....well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Yeah the fact that 80 people have been killed in the shootings that are still going on is a great opportunity to crack jokes.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

What number is it on with the dodgy box?

*please note (garda) i dont not have one. Just asking a general question.

Mark200 wrote: »
    Yeah the fact that 80 people have been killed in the shootings that are still going on is a great opportunity to crack jokes.....

who cracked a joke now...??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Seems a tad tastless even for AH.

Topical ones at that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Kiera wrote: »
    What number is it on with the dodgy box?

*please note (garda) i dont not have one. Just asking a general question.

Not sure what number but it's called "NDTV 24x7"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

i heard it was a bunch of disgruntled 3 customers who had it up to here with 3 customer care and travelled over to sort them out.

that or d/ELL staff from Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

Gunmen have opened fire at a number of sites in the Indian city of Mumbai (Bombay), killing at least 60 people and injuring about 200 more.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7751160.stm

That hotel is on fire now.How many hostages is there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭galwayguy22

Balls.

The title of that thread isn't exactly informative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Gunmen have opened fire at a number of sites in the Indian city of Mumbai (Bombay), killing at least 60 people and injuring about 200 more.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/south_asia/7751160.stm
    My local Indian restaurant recently changed ownership.
    They started off with the name Bombay, then went with Mumbai and finally comprimised with Bumbai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

dam you got in there before I!! Any chance it was the 3 head office in mumbai:D:P:confused:

Jesus this is really bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Said they were targeting people with British and US passports.
    Irish could have been easily caught up in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Jesus this is really bad.

Looks very bad all right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

From MSN News -
    Officials say at least 82 people have been killed, and at least 120 wounded, with an undetermined number of western hostages still being held.

Two Australians were among the 120 injured but their conditions were not life threatening, officials in Canberra said.

A previously unknown group calling itself the Deccan Mujahideen claimed responsibility for the attacks in emails to several media outlets, Indian media reported. (Read more about the group)

Mumbai police and gunmen were this afternoon still exchanging occasional gunfire at the Taj and Trident hotels, with an unknown number of hostages still held, top police official AN Roy said.

A raging fire and explosions struck the landmark Taj Mahal hotel shortly after midnight. Screams could be heard and black smoke billowed from the century-old edifice on Mumbai's waterfront.

The attackers specifically targeted Britons and Americans, witnesses said.

Early today, state home secretary Bipin Shrimali said four suspects had been killed in two incidents when they tried to flee in cars. Roy said two more gunmen were killed at the Taj Mahal. State Home Minister RR Patil said nine more were arrested.

Police said hostages were being held at the Taj Mahal and Oberoi hotels, two of the best-known upscale destinations in the crowded city.

Gunmen who burst into the Taj Mahal "were targeting foreigners. They kept shouting 'Who has US or UK passports?'" said Ashok Patel, a British citizen who fled from the hotel.

Authorities believe up to 15 foreigners are still being held hostage at the Taj Mahal hotel. The building's older wing has been ravaged by fire, but there is no blaze in its modern tower.

Officials at Bombay Hospital, speaking on condition of anonymity, said a Japanese man had died in hospital and nine Europeans had been admitted, three of them in critical condition with gunshots. All had come from the Taj Mahal, the officials said.

At least three top Indian police officers, including the chief of the anti-terror squad, were among those killed, said Roy.

Blood smeared the floor of the Chhatrapati Shivaji rail station, where attackers sprayed bullets into the crowded terminal.

Other gunmen attacked Leopold's restaurant, a landmark popular with foreigners, and the police headquarters in southern Mumbai, the area where most of the attacks took place.

The restaurant was riddled with bullet holes and there were blood on the floor and shoes left by fleeing customers.

Gunmen also attacked Cama and Albless Hospital and GT Hospital, though it was not immediately clear if anyone was killed.

A Briton who was dining at the Oberoi hotel told Sky News television that the gunmen who struck there singled out Britons and Americans.

Alex Chamberlain said a gunman ushered 30 or 40 people from the restaurant into a stairway and ordered everyone to put up their hands. He said the gunman spoke in Hindi or Urdu.

"They were talking about British and Americans specifically. There was an Italian guy, who, you know, they said: 'Where are you from?'" and he said he's from Italy and they said 'fine' and they left him alone.

"And I thought fine, they're going to shoot me if they ask me anything - and thank God they didn't."

Chamberlain managed to slip away as the patrons were forced to walk up stairs, but he thought much of the group was being held hostage.

Early today, several European lawmakers were among people who barricaded themselves inside the Taj.

"I was in the main lobby and there was all of a sudden a lot of firing outside," said Sajjad Karim, part of a delegation of European lawmakers visiting Mumbai ahead of a European Union-India summit.

As he turned to get away, "all of a sudden another gunmen appeared in front of us, carrying machine gun-type weapons. And he just started firing at us... I just turned and ran in the opposite direction," he said via mobile phone.

Hours later, Karim remained holed up in a hotel restaurant, unsure if it was safe to come out.

Unbelievable stuff. I'd say it was scary as hell being the guy with the British accent waiting to be spoken to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭KingLoser

I work with some people in India (Delhi), it's just going on 11am over there and they're completely shook up about this. They think it has the potential to completely destabilise the whole country.

Fúcked up...

Looks like an attempt to deter foreign businesses from setting up call-centres etc by destabalising the country.

Islamist terrorists (if it is them, still not proven) want to make westerners feel unsafe everywhere! Hopefuly the Indians will be able to contain these groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭ASTRACLUB

Its on channel 511 on sky box, NDTV24X7 is one of the main english news channel in India.
    News came that the terrorist were well prepared and came in boat from Karachi (Pakistan), still not a clear on which group did it but by looking at planing and executing, sources are saying that it is Al Qaida operation,
    Indian govt is making a high official meeting with British Inteligence and US on hotline, they might be planing strikes on terrorist camps running in Pakistan...
    India has to retaliate to answer these terrorist that they cant attack westners in India..

Bad news 100+ killed including some brave ATS, heared that ATS (Anti terrorist Squad), NSG (National Security gards), Black Cat Comondo, Navy fighters, army and other layer of military doing joint operations, they are taking time to save hostages and trying best to save each and every hostage, still some Brits and Isrealies stucked as hostage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I always thought India was somewhat peaceful, as regards to terrorists. I didn't think I would ever see such an attack take place there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I always thought India was somewhat peaceful, as regards to terrorists. I didn't think I would ever see such an attack take place there.

India deals with terrorism on a frequent basis, we're only paying attention now because they've targeted westerners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Mob violence and "terrorism" by Muslims, Hindus and Christians on each other. Also violence between Hindu castes. Then theres one or two sepratist groups. As has been pointed out, you hear of this because they've come after Westerners and its in the capital.

Oh I am not denying the fact that it happens, I just never hear of it and I have this image of India, you know? It's poxy how nations only intervene when "westerners" are attacked. I hate that crap.

I hope there isn't going to be another "invasion" of some country because of this, namely pakistan. I don't know too much about the politics of it all, but it stinks and makes me edgey :(

Oh I am not denying the fact that it happens, I just never hear of it and I have this image of India, you know? It's poxy how nations only intervene when "westerners" are attacked. I hate that crap.

I hope there isn't going to be another "invasion" of some country because of this, namely pakistan. I don't know too much about the politics of it all, but it stinks and makes me edgey :(

Unlike other countries that were invaded for no real reason, pakistan actually has WMD's.

Don't expect the US (or anyone, really) to invade in the name of truth, freedom and starbucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

India would be a great place now for a super cheap holiday, The Yanks are particularly paranoid when it comes to canceling holidays during terror strikes. They would assume that Bombay was the whole of India.

Myself and the ex booked a two week trip to Egypt 1 week before 9/11. It happened and we were advised by family and friends not to go, we went two weeks later and had a ball. Cheap excursions, no queing, accommodation bumped up to 1st class with so many cancellations, tour operators were cutting each others troths for business.

Unlike other countries that were invaded for no real reason, pakistan actually has WMD's.

Don't expect the US (or anyone, really) to invade in the name of truth, freedom and starbucks.

True, so having WMD's will actually help keep your country safe? God forbid we ever find an arseload of oil underneath out wee island :)

See, tihs is probably a result of the recent American bombing campaign by the yanks in Pakistan.

As for the British being targetted, that would be because they are a part of the coalition of the willing. They were screwed the minute Bush and Blair touched willies.
    You would think they would have learned that killing lots of innocent people only garners more support for terrorists, what with all the crap they had to put up with from the IRA.

FFS, they had only just reached a settlement with those ****ers and then they go and piss off another bunch of lunatics.

True, so having WMD's will actually help keep your country safe? God forbid we ever find an arseload of oil underneath out wee island :)
    There's enough oil and gas off the West coast to keep this country going for the next 60 years. The government sold most of the contracts though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭gillyfromlyre

Terry wrote: »
    My local Indian restaurant recently changed ownership.
    They started off with the name Bombay, then went with Mumbai and finally comprimised with Bumbai.

God you are hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

There probably an Indian group, so I don't see how anyone could pin this on Pakistan, who are far to busy in there tribal region, to organise this sort of thing. There name even refers to a area in India (the Deccan), which I don't think is in Pakistan as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BattlingCheese

God you are hilarious
    Thanks. Did you laugh for long?

You'll be grand. Just don't lose your passport. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Well that solves your problem then. Don't bother with the vaccination, you'll be dead long before any illness gets you! ;)

Seriously though, I assume your work has cancelled the trip?

i don't think you can get vaccinated against being shot or exploded.

Mumbai will probably be the safest place in the world for a few weeks after this mess is cleaned up.
    I wouldn't be worried.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Trainin in the replacement?

Don't worry. For the first while you're adjusting, you'll probably be safely on the crapper while anything goes on.