Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you give money to beggars?

• 26-11-2008 7:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭

If you do give them money, is it something you do regularly or just something you've done occasionally in the past?

btw i posted this because i was reading about child beggars in the news today.

Do you give money to beggars 151 votes

yes, regularly
    0% 0 votes
    the odd time
    3% 6 votes
    only if they look like they're doing it as a last resort and not part of a begging syndicate
    17% 27 votes
    not really, but i should
    9% 14 votes
    no
    5% 9 votes
    no, i give them atari jaguars instead
    62% 95 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

No, never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

No. I like to spend my money on frivolous things instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

No, I give them a sandwich or a cup of tea the odd time though (most of the beggars I have come across ask for money for a sandwich or food).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Yes, for sex.

10 euro bonus if she has no teeth

ummm nom nom nom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

I will if one of them ever puts money in the cup I hold out the car window every time one of them approach it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Ruu wrote: »
    No, I give them a sandwich or a cup of tea the odd time though.

Thats very kind Ruu, its very cold out on the street.

I pee on the Roma ones to warm them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Yes. I like to give them something so that I can say, "Look, its not goin to get yous on the property ladder,but it might get you a cuppa tea".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

snyper wrote: »
    Yes, for sex.

10 euro bonus if she has no teeth

ummm nom nom nom

dont mind them pimples on me arse, thats just me price list in braille

on topic, i do the odd time. especially if the beggar is old. i give money to that guy with the big beard on o connell street

Fizman wrote: »
    Yes. I like to give them something so that I can say, "Look, its not goin to get yous on the property ladder,but it might get you a cuppa tea".

it would in offaly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Only if the gimmick they are using is original or I can empathize with them. Some will never get a penny from me though...you know the one's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Alcoholic beggars, yes. Junkie beggars, no.

Allow me to explain.

Alcoholics are the result of a government sanctioned drug.
    Yes, they should seek help, ubt sometimes people are beyond help.
    Junkies are stupid people who decided to take a really addictive drug, so they deserve no compassion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭villager

no no no no no no no no never never just encourages the feckers

i would never give money to the beggars at the luas stop on stephens green. i was queing there last week and nearly every punter was giving the dude money. i would imagine by the end of the day he would have enough cash for the fitzwilliam hotel let alone a hostel

Terry wrote: »

Allow me to explain.

Junkies are stupid people who decided to take a really addictive drug, so they deserve no compassion.

do you ask them for a piss test before you hand over money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Used to give them 20%

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

I used to but never do anymore, because I don't know who's doing it for what reason, who is genuinely in need or just scamming. I would support a homeless organisation, but not individuals begging in the street.
    Also, if I see someone using a small child/infant for begging in town, I call the Leanbh section of the ISPCC, and let them know. It makes me sick to see that in particular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭PurpleBerry

No. Especially not after reading this article from Cracked.com. The list is entitled 5 Ways to Get Rich (Without a Single Discernible Skill)
    #1 Beggars
    Potential Income:
    $100,000 a year.

Sure, begging isn't anybody's cup of tea, and it's certainly nothing you'd want to brag about at your class reunion. But you know what will make you feel better? $300 a freaking day.

That's exactly how much panhandlers outside a Wal-Mart in Coos Bay, Oregon were making (as much as some workers inside the store made ... in a week). The police there looked into the panhandlers and found they were long-time residents, and even had homes. According to the chief, "This is just their chosen profession."

That's not just an isolated situation, either. One news story found a down-on-her-luck girl begging for money to "buy a bus ticket to get back home." They estimated her income from that gig was around $27,000 a year. By comparison, according to Careers-in-finance.com, the starting salary for a Credit Analyst with a Bachelor's Degree: $27,000.

It isn't as easy as it sounds, though. There is a helpful guide with many tips and tricks you'll need to know to become a successful beggar, such as:
    "Have something to put money in: a cup, a cap, a guitar case ... Empty it regularly so people--both customers and potential crooks--can't see how much you're bringing in."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

Irish beggars are just lazy junkies for the most part. Beggars in other parts of the world learn how to be entertaining or at least concoct a fascinating vauguely plausible story of how they ended up as a bum. Over here you just get some strung out skeletor moaning any chaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaannnge bud?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

i gave a bum 10 yoyo's on xmas eve!!! that was the only time iv ever given a homeless person money! felt sorry for the poor fella on the bridge!

Apparently 'professional' bums make a fortunate in some places, watched a documentary about them in london and they can earn upto 100-150 POUNDS a day...

Allow me to explain.

Most "junkies" are alcoholics too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

When I see someone I believe is need, then yeah. It's usually a dead giveaway if they are located in 'hotspots' e.g. the bridges, atms etc.

There was a bloke tonight on the way home who was in a doorway, and looked down on his luck, so I gave him something.

It's really a sickening thing, and something I would truly despair at the though of having to endure. I know you'll never have a eutopia, but in this fcuking counrty, with all the wealth that was generated, it is a disgrace to see people sleeping out rough, in near to freezing conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

I never understood begging in front of ATMs, if someone's going to an ATM it usually means they've no cash on them, and seeing as the smallest amount of money you can get from an ATM is a tenner do beggars really think people are just going to slip them a tenner?

Mr.S wrote: »
    was sitting beside one of thoes guys who asks for the change from the machine, and some old one gave him a 5 note, quick as a flash he takes out a wallet and puts it in there, and there was a big wad of cash.

He must make millions

id have taken back my money... With interest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I used to when I was a kid, not knowing wtf I was doing. But if any of you guys see me begging on the streets I expect you to give me your money, not all of it but some of it... ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Piste wrote: »
    I never understood begging in front of ATMs, if someone's going to an ATM it usually means they've no cash on them, and seeing as the smallest amount of money you can get from an ATM is a tenner do beggars really think people are just going to slip them a tenner?

I haven't seen an ATM giving out a tenner in about ten years. It's not worth the effort for a bank to put 10 euro notes in their atms, especially in Dublin where an ATM might be empty on a monday morning ;)

some of the ulster bank atm's still give out tenners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hogzy wrote: »
    i gave a bum 10 yoyo's on xmas eve!!! that was the only time iv ever given a homeless person money! felt sorry for the poor fella on the bridge!

Apparently 'professional' bums make a fortunate in some places, watched a documentary about them in london and they can earn upto 100-150 POUNDS a day...

How else would they pay for first class travel and manicures?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

.........not anymore.....hawhawhawhaw. Oh me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

Never

snyper wrote: »
    do you ask them for a piss test before you hand over money?
    Most junkies have sunken cheeks and bulging eyes.

Alcoholics are usually drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Most junkies have sunken cheeks and bulging eyes.

Alcoholics are usually drunk.

And both are self inflicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

some of the ulster bank atm's still give out tenners.

Most BOI ATMs have the option but they never have any in them. At least ulster's machines say it on the screen when they've run out of a note.
    Caoimhín wrote: »
    Thats very kind Ruu, its very cold out on the street.

I pee on the Roma ones to warm them up.

Caoimhín

+1000km

^^^

----Line----

sdonn_1 wrote: »
    Caoimhín

+1000km

^^^

----Line----

Art was never my strong point, but you get the jist. :)

No, i have no idea what you are on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

"yes, thanking you please..very much, thanking you pleaseeee"

Bite me.

My head is wrecked after a day in town, and im already being raped by the parking fees, Tesco, and Dunnes.... and you expect more for sitting on your arse looking all hard done by?

On the bright side, coulda been worse...she coulda been singing.

stepbar wrote: »
    And both are self inflicted.
    As I said, one is government sponsored and the other is highly addictive to anyone who uses it (generally talking about heroin here as it tends to be the drug mostly used by the homeless).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭joewicklow

I cant understand why I should have to give 2 euro to a Romanian who has about 4 grand worth of gold teeth in their mouth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

As I said, one is government sponsored and the other is highly addictive to anyone who uses it (generally talking about heroin here as it tends to be the drug mostly used by the homeless).

Yep and both are self inflicted. Nobody forces a bottle of bud down anyones neck. The "Government sponsored" argument doesn't wash and it certainly doesn't justify begging.

joewicklow wrote: »
    I cant understand why I should have to give 2 euro to a Romanian who has about 4 grand worth of gold teeth in their mouth!

have you ever seen the romanian woman who sits out at the back of blackrock shopping centre? she has a gob like jaws out of the bond movies. she has been there for years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

so? can people not make mistakes. in fairness people get told a lot of lies about drugs. If they've done loads of other drugs before and nothing has ever happened then maybe the government are lying about heroin aswell?

bear in mind homosexuality was illegal in 1994, so you can't expect people to blindly accept and obey all laws, especially for crimes that don't directly harm others.

people make mistakes. they shouldn't recieve further punishment for their mistakes.

btw, most heroin users are not homeless beggars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I don't do it regularly but have done on occasion, particularly in the winter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Nope never have and never will. I wouldn't want to give the bastards anything towards a new Audi...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

No and I am glad I don't. There used to be the same old white bum that would sit outside the local shop so I would have to walk by him. One day he got so pished that I never gave him money he called me white trash!!:mad: He was quite intimidating.

jane86 wrote: »
    No and I am glad I don't. There used to be the same old white bum that would sit outside the local shop so I would have to walk by him. One day he got so pished that I never gave him money he called me white trash!!:mad: He was quite intimidating.

Do you live in south central LA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

very very rarely, and only if i have loose change/they look genuine (which im sure ive often got wrong!)

romanian woman in malahide is obnoxious if ya dont give her money-hissing an spitting at ya, shouting things the lot. im only there for work, leave me alone!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭jane86

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Do you live in south central LA?

No, why south central LA?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭Melange

When I had first arrived in Dublin a few years ago I sporadically gave a little money to beggars. I simply wasn't used to the sight of them on city streets, and they did provoke my sympathy. But now? Never. It's funny how living in a big city for a while can harden the soul.

Oh, and the experience of working in an off-license didn't help either. They regularly came in to exchange their change for notes. One emptied his impressive stash of coins on the counter.

"That's quite an amount", I said.

"Ya must be joking. Quiet night.", he answered.

It still came to just over 100 euro. Not bad for a day sitting on your arsé!

Money which was all inevitably spent on booze and drugs. There's no way in hell I want to contribute to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

Piste wrote: »

They wouldn't be there if they didn't. The odds aren't bad either. If ten people a day gave a tenner it's not a bad wage for sitting on your arse.
    Azureus wrote: »
    romanian woman in malahide is obnoxious if ya dont give her money-hissing an spitting at ya, shouting things the lot. im only there for work, leave me alone!!

Spitting is physical assault.A belt into the fcuking mouth is the order of the day there...maybe a kick into the jaw when she hits the concrete too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

I hate the one's outside Heuston Station, every day without fail the same few people, and they have to shame in letting everyone know what they are up to. They actually say quite audibly, "You's go over to that station(Ticket purchasing machine) over theres and get some f#*king money and I'll stay at this one" I never give to them.

But when in Cork city with the family on Saturdays there is always the same fella on the bridge near the College of Commerce on Morrisons Quay, wrapped as warm as he can be, with a Jack Russell on his lap(whom he also has warmly wrapped) that we ALWAYS give €2-€3. I do this as I have seen that when people that give him food/tea, he shares it with his little companion! This included a tin of dog food of which he ate some himself!

Without trying to sound racist, but I prefer to give to Irish before the Romanians, not because I am racist, but because I have seen the children of these Romanians being treated terribly by their mothers who force their children to play accordians in the freezing cold, while they sit indoors in McDonalds drinking tea and coffee.

And I swear on my own life I have seen children come into McDonalds with the money they have "earned" and hand it to their mothers, who go to the tills and buy 1 Twisty fries(which were €1) and on hamburger (also €1) and share them out among 2 children aged between 7-9, not exactly a substancial meal. Also at the counter they have the change turned into notes and place what appeared to be approx €50 in notes into their pocket WITH a wad of other €20 and €50 notes. I'm sorry but they deserve to be cast away in dumps for how they treat their children!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭reverandkenjami

Never have and never will!! Why should i give my hard earned money to someone sitting in the corner with a cup!! Rather give to a charity

stepbar wrote: »
    Yep and both are self inflicted. Nobody forces a bottle of bud down anyones neck. The "Government sponsored" argument doesn't wash and it certainly doesn't justify begging.
    vinylmesh wrote: »
    so? can people not make mistakes. in fairness people get told a lot of lies about drugs. If they've done loads of other drugs before and nothing has ever happened then maybe the government are lying about heroin aswell?

bear in mind homosexuality was illegal in 1994, so you can't expect people to blindly accept and obey all laws, especially for crimes that don't directly harm others.

people make mistakes. they shouldn't recieve further punishment for their mistakes.

btw, most heroin users are not homeless beggars.

I'll answer both with the one reply.
    Alcohol is the most prevalent drug in this society.
    It is introduced to most of us at a young age and is regarder as relatively harmless.
    Our nation, for the most part, socialise around pubs.

On the other hand, most people learn from an early age that heroin is highly addictive and quite dangerous.

Also, I never claimed that all homeless people are heroin addicts or that all heroin addicts are homeless.