Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE viewers raise hell over Late Late 'Satanic' show

• 24-11-2008 11:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

From indo

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rte-viewers-raise-hell-over-late-late-satanic-show-1550830.html
    RTE has received a "significant number" of complaints after an appearance by the dance troupe, the Satanic Sluts, on Friday's 'Late Late Show'.

The group shot to fame recently following the infamous telephone call made by BBC stars Jonathan Ross and Russell Brand to the actor Andrew Sachs.

Mr Sach's granddaughter, Georgina Baillie, was the focus of lewd messages left on his answerphone by the pair, and later broadcast on BBC Radio.

Ms Baillie is also a performer with the Satanic Sluts and, after an interview with Pat Kenny in which she spoke of her disgust at the prank call, took part in a risque performance entitled the 'Robot Routine'.

"I'm looking forward to this ... I think," Mr Kenny said, introducing the performance.

It is understood that Ms Ballie agreed to talk on the show provided that her group also got to perform.

"There have been a significant number of complaints," an RTE spokesman said yesterday. "The information office would have been open until 11 yesterday and was taking complaints."

Controversy

The spokesman declined to reveal the exact number of complaints. Perhaps predicting that the performance would generate some mild controversy, Mr Kenny ended the segment on Friday night by saying, "Sure you would see more in a Marks and Spencer's lingerie ad".

No doubt Mary from Castlebar will have made her views known.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Roll on Liveline. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

And nobody complained about crazy angel lady the week before?

HYPOCRISY!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Hmn when is the Late Late repeated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭bmcgrath

Joe Duffy will be busy today....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Were they any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

Yawn - Pat who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭flo8s967qjh0nd

I've no problem with the content of the 'act', but the quality was something dreadful.
    We should really be complaining about the fact that they chose to broadcast such an awful interview and 'performance' at all. Sheer drivel and idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭timbel

Were they any good?

Absolute crap.
    Kind of stuff you'd see on a podium at a dance club (eg. spirit..), except they couldn't dance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Kintarō Hattori

The LLS is repeated tonight at 00.35 hrs

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭gubby

I missed the late late but heard that Pat tore up the tickets someone from cork won in the competition!! Good on you Pat. if people dont want the prize they should not enter the competition. It always drives me mad when people who win prizes on those shows and they sound totally unimpressed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

There was definalty some purple chalk dust in the air.. teasing goth girls and pat tearing up tickets, a woman not plussed at winning ten grand.. i dont know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

/writes to the Daily Mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Were they any good?

Nope. And might i add, none were decent lookin, and none had savage figures either...
    Complaints should be ablout not having savage looking almost naked women on the late late dancing ;).. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Galvasean wrote: »
    And nobody complained about crazy angel lady the week before?

HYPOCRISY!!!!

Did crazy angel lady publicly expose her fat folds while mimicking intercourse with a large silver alien surrounded by barb wire?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭cosgrove80

Babybing wrote: »
    Did crazy angel lady publicly expose her fat folds while mimicking intercourse with a large silver alien surrounded by barb wire?

I think they're saving that for the Toy Show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Full_Circle

cosgrove80 wrote: »
    I think they're saving that for the Toy Show.

Classic :D

Clearly this was just done to cause a stir as its not the kinda thing thats up Pats alley at all (make what puns of that as you will). But if they'd really wanted to create some controversy, they could have had the group on, then bring on the surprise guests of Brand and Ross :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

So will the Plank get the sack if there's enough complaints about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Not a hope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Liveline are in serious mode today, no chance of this being discussed.

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

as others have said, I wouldn't have minded half as much if:
    1) they weren't chubby
    2) they weren't wrecked
    3) they could dance
    4) they were any good
    5) they weren't wrecked

That said it was the late late show - so you have to expect shite.
    I missed the ripping up the ticket. Any chance that's on youtube? Would love to see it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Zulu wrote: »
    1) they weren't chubby
    2) they weren't wrecked
    3) they could dance
    4) they were any good
    5) they weren't wrecked

I missed the ripping up the ticket. Any chance that's on youtube? Would love to see it.

The whole show normally goes up on the RTE website the next week sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Zulu wrote: »
    1) they weren't chubby
    2) they weren't wrecked
    3) they could dance
    4) they were any good
    5) they weren't wrecked

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Cheers!

[edit] thanks a million 120 minutes! Priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,330 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Didn't see the interview (I can't stand Pat Kenny so I don't watch (and I'm normally a t football anyway…) ) but caught the "performance". It was one of the bizarrest things I've seen on Irish TV. 3 girls with no rhythm prancing about in goth-y lingerie in front of a latex clad gimp, and then putting fke blood on their mouths. I had to sit through just for Kenny's reaction "So there they are, the Satanic (noticeable pause as he shifts in seat) sluts - sure you'd see more in a Marks & spencer lingerie ad"

Worth catching for the cringe factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Dodge wrote: »
    prancing about in goth-y lingerie in front of a latex clad gimp, and then putting fke blood on their mouths.

No wonder then Kenny said "I'm looking forward to this".

He always struck me as a per ... man of unusual interests. We all know what goes on outside the doors of that Dalkey home of his but who knows what goes on behind them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

My God, I might just watch the Late Late Show.

The Satanic Sluts have achieved what Jesus himself could not.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Barbara Heavey, from Cork city, yesterday described Mr Kenny's actions as ungracious but Mr Kenny has questioned why she entered the competition if she didn't want to attend the popular annual event.

Ms Heavey said she entered out of "boredom" and had no interest in watching children play with toys for two hours, and added that she has no children of her own. She also said that she didn't see the presenter rip up the tickets as she had turned off the television to prevent an echo on the line.

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The ironic thing is they were on at the same time that the Jonathan Ross show should have been on.
    Another irony is that thanks to all the idiots in England complaining about Ross and Brand, they've helped put strippers onto primetime tv. She's getting her exposure for her Satanic Sluts, Andrew Sachs has got a part in Coronation St, everyones a winner except people watching the Late Late show because Jonathan Ross isn't on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

My God, I might just watch the Late Late Show.

The Satanic Sluts have achieved what Jesus himself could not.
    It was awesome Jill. The one Friday night I regretted not staying in and watching it. But I caught the interesting clips on YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

She did say that he could raffle them just as he tore up the tickets.
    I think Pat was a bit pms that night, his hasty reactions were regrettable & childish.
    Altho that lady was a bit of a twit for her behaviour. She let down the people of Cork. :(

Meh, I don't feel left down. It's nothing to do with where she's from...

No, Dudess, he's right. Make sure and sort your shop out down there.

Don't let this happen again. :mad:

She let down the people of Cork.

Not really. It's nothing we haven't already come to expect from Corkonians.

No, Dudess, he's right. Make sure and sort your shop out down there.

Don't let this happen again. :mad:
    Pigman II wrote: »
    It's nothing we haven't already come to expect from Corkonians.
    Oh it's true, it's true. I'm so ashamed... :(

/hangs head

Damn right.

We'd come down and sort it out for you, if it didn't mean 323723783 million hours in a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Damn right.

We'd come down and sort it out for you, if it didn't mean 323723783 million hours in a car.
    Still a few hours shorter than driving the M50 then.

Ooooh, road-pwned!

You'd get to stop at Urlingford though, which has Josephine's Restaurant - a legendary institution!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭ben bedlam

That woman who won the prize on the Late Late is an ignorant pig. Fair play she had no interest in going to the show, but surely she could have given the tickets to someone who had. The least she could have been was a little polite and dignified winning. After tearing the tickets, Kenny should have moved onto the next caller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Bill-e wrote: »
    She did say that he could raffle them just as he tore up the tickets.

It's not like he can get hold of another two tickets from anywhere..... oh wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

I wonder is there any chance of our politicians bringing this up in the Dail and then forcing RTE's hand into making a complaint ?

Anyone ?
    Eh ?
    No ?

Not surprised!
    /sarcasm
    *rolly eyes smiley*

They'll have to deal with the complaints over "Colin and JimJims Home Run" first. That show features two overweight narcissistic gobsh1tes talking blathering crap whilst wasting public money in the process ..... so its already within the field of expertise of those at Dail Eireann.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

It was a nice gesture to see Pat tear up the tickets. It was the closest to calling her a gobsheen he could have on air.

The Toy show is the most popular late late show of the year and demand for tickets is always massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,693 ✭✭✭Jack Sheehan

QiTZl3Ea4e.jpg

faceman wrote: »
    It was a nice gesture to see Pat tear up the tickets. It was the closest to calling her a gobsheen he could have on air.

The Toy show is the most popular late late show of the year and demand for tickets is always massive.

I'd rather stick knitting needles in my eyes than go to the Toy show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,443 ✭✭✭Red Sleeping Beauty

QiTZl3Ea4e.jpg

Win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

QiTZl3Ea4e.jpg

That's brilliant! We should all do some more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭Phototoxin

I'd rather stick knitting needles in my eyes than go to the Toy show

you noob!!! Gaybo used to make you wet in the audience... *pauses for dramatic effect*

..but you got free TOYS !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I thought the funniest bit was at the start when Pat pronounced it as 'Satanic slots'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 sudharao85

i THINK IS NONSENSE, ITS NOT THE 1950'S, RELAX, nobodys little james or mary is gonna be out there on the street reciting satanic cureses or whodoo, and by the way andrew sach's granddaughter, since getting an apology and what im sure will be greater future financial compensation from the BBC and numerous PR/Tabloid sources has also been adorning every "mens interest" magazine for the past fortnight, Im sure she was very very upset by the publicity this affair has caused her and her family, roll on the next 15 minutes of fame sucker.:rolleyes:
    mike65 wrote: »
    From indo

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/rte-viewers-raise-hell-over-late-late-satanic-show-1550830.html

No doubt Mary from Castlebar will have made her views known.

Mike