Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weed V Alcohol

• 24-11-2008 1:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭

Well it's a heated topic, one which we were debating over in the personal issues thread (didn't really belong there)

I want to know if you prefer alcohol or mary jane. Those of you who do not drink or smoke or only do one of the two, why is this? Are you health concious?

I know there is a "free the weed" thread around here somewhere, but I would like to see peoples opinions on the differance between alochol and weed.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Given the choice, I would prefer weed. However, the hassle of aquiring a dealer isn't worth it, imo, so I just stick to alcohol. Not that I drink that much anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

All I know is, the two together means great misery the next day... :(

Dudess wrote: »

Aw, that sucks. Here's a joint and a pint to help you forget about it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

For now i'll just post this:
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=fntiAF3OSts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Given the choice, I would prefer weed. However, the hassle of aquiring a dealer isn't worth it, imo, so I just stick to alcohol. Not that I drink that much anyway.

Well what if you were to get it legally, become a "drug tourist" go to amsterdam and smoke a few joints? I don't know what a dealer looks like. I would rather have a smoke than a drink. I went out lastnight, got drunk and today I am in a pretty bad way, not able to do much, eat and just tired as hell. Last week I was stoned, got up the next day and lived my life. Not a bother on me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Porn.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Porn.

Your MA!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Porn.

.....and weed??
    you read my mind ;)

Well what if you were to get it legally, become a "drug tourist" go to amsterdam and smoke a few joints?

Then I would smoke it more often than I do now, which is pretty much never. I haven't gone to Amsterdam (yet) because I just haven't gotten round to it, I will eventually I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Weed's good once in a while, find if ya do it regularly it becomes sh*t, though difficult not to smoke if you have any on ya.

Since going to college I've just been drinking because no one really does it here. Alcohol's more fun for going out and hanging out with new people.

Actually this one says it all:
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=vDG19y0MkJk

Good ol Bill Hicks at his most awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Dudess wrote: »

Do people really find this? I can hardly remember the last time I went out to a pub/club and didn't have a cheeky spliff in the smoking area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Why cant weed and alcohol just get along?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

TomCo wrote: »
    Why cant weed and alcohol just get along?

it takes a lot of love and nuturing, and a lot of sleepless nights, but eventually, after much perseverence, the two can live in perfect harmony.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

weed by a mile had me in absolute tatters last night and no hangover at all today AND i loved every minute of it

if i was in the same state with alcohol id be puking falling over etc etc and id be in bits today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I pick drink.

I absolutely hate smoking. i live with 5 smokers and I'm the only person on my street who doesnt smoke. My throat does be in bits. Hash is the same. Nicer smell, but still something I dont like. I wouldnt smoke it for the same reason I dont smoke cigarettes. Actually, and also coz having one legalised drug with bad effects is enough, let alone 3!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

The_B_Man wrote: »
    My throat does be in bits. Hash is the same. Nicer smell, but still something I dont like.

That'd be the tobacco then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

Drink. By miles. Used to a fair bit of weed, particularly last year but I haven't done it in ages for the simple reason that I way prefer alcohol. If you have a spliff or two it's a good buzz an' all but it makes you lazy as **** and therefore not in the mood for drinking. And that doesn't sit well with me. Drink all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Well, with a vaporiser the weed becomes the healthier option, but to be honest Ive just fallen out of love with it. alcohol just affects my judgement and my motor co-ordination, not my ability to keep a straight train of thought: when i used to get stoned my brain would go off in 12 different directions until the only thing I could do was lay down and wait for it to be over. Alcohol is the clear winner.

I suppose we all have differant experiences of them both. I know personally I become useless when I drink, yet I can actually do stuff when I am stoned.

When on the internet:

Drink = strange porn...

Weed = stand up comedians...

While working:

Drink = a lot of mistakes and very very sloppy...

Weed = wouldn't make so many mistakes and I can actually work somewhat...

While having sex:

Drink = it's clumbsy and not great, normally forgetting everything. Did I wear a condom?

Weed = hightens my feelings where it matters and it's not so messy.

How it affects your social ability:

Drink = fights and arguments, which are over nothing.

Weed = very chilled out, wouldn't harm a fly, get along with everyone.

Normally when I get stoned I have a good debate about stupid things, sitting in the same room or chair for a few hours enjoying the feeling. Never been sick from it, have been a bit lazy after if I had lots but normally I am fine. Never affects my judgement, I know my actions have concequences.

When I am drunk, I do stupid stuff, talk crap and can have a bit of an argument over nothing. End up places I can't remember getting to and make there doesn't seem to be any concequences for my actions. Makes me sick and is generally crap for me for the next day at least.

I am not preaching here, I am giving you MY personal opinion based on my own experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Weed makes me anxious, paranoid, edgy and very unsocial.

A few drinks on the other hand makes me the opposite so I guess alcohol wins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭AFC_1903

If I had to choose, then weed.

As for mixing the two?

I have good nights with both, but I try to avoid smoking when drunk as it hits me like a tonne of bricks. By comparison, I do not suffer adversely when I drink when stoned. I merely drink less. No idea why the order affects things as it does, but it does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I pick drink.

I absolutely hate smoking. i live with 5 smokers and I'm the only person on my street who doesnt smoke. My throat does be in bits. Hash is the same. Nicer smell, but still something I dont like. I wouldnt smoke it for the same reason I dont smoke cigarettes. Actually, and also coz having one legalised drug with bad effects is enough, let alone 3!

The drink wins hands down. Ban all forms of smoking. Forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I suppose we all have differant experiences of them both. I know personally I become useless when I drink, yet I can actually do stuff when I am stoned.

When on the internet:

Drink = strange porn...

Weed = stand up comedians...

While working:

Drink = a lot of mistakes and very very sloppy...

Weed = wouldn't make so many mistakes and I can actually work somewhat...

While having sex:

Drink = it's clumbsy and not great, normally forgetting everything. Did I wear a condom?

Weed = hightens my feelings where it matters and it's not so messy.

How it affects your social ability:

Drink = fights and arguments, which are over nothing.

Weed = very chilled out, wouldn't harm a fly, get along with everyone.

Normally when I get stoned I have a good debate about stupid things, sitting in the same room or chair for a few hours enjoying the feeling. Never been sick from it, have been a bit lazy after if I had lots but normally I am fine. Never affects my judgement, I know my actions have concequences.

When I am drunk, I do stupid stuff, talk crap and can have a bit of an argument over nothing. End up places I can't remember getting to and make there doesn't seem to be any concequences for my actions. Makes me sick and is generally crap for me for the next day at least.

I am not preaching here, I am giving you MY personal opinion based on my own experiences.

So which one makes you lick mens faces?

Keep quiet you... Actually the drink makes me do that. I wouldn't do something so stupid if I was stoned :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭Spunge

You dont have to smoke weed to get stoned, you can eat, put it in tea, but its a lot more intense i found. :eek:

Weed makes me just want to be alone and do lazy things like tv or games, alcohol makes me want to chat and go out. So, for me each has their appropriate time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

There both totally diffearnt, Im off smoke about 3 weeks now and I feel great, smoking hash and weed makes alot of people paranoid and unsocialable. Im 22 now and after smoking that dirt for 7 years has really taken its toll. People in this thread who are saying it makes you friendly,carefree and get along with everyone are speaking bullsh*t.

I think its okay if you smoke it in moderation like at house parties etc. Id prefer a few pints for sure.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

I'd have to choose drink

Alcohol and night swimming it's a winning combination

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Weed should be packaged, regulated, taxed, and sold like alcohol. I won't smoke it, cause I hate smoking in general, and want to keep my lungs healthy. But I see it no more harmful than alcohol, when taken in moderation, and I like a pint or a glass of wine every now and then, so what's all the fuss about weed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

caffeine= 0.4
    alcohol = 1
    weed= 1.8
    weed + caffeine= 1.8 (no synergy between the 2)
    alcohol + caffeine = 2 (so much better than either drug on it's own).

alcohol + caffeine + weed = 2.5 **** yeah :p!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

I prefer alcohol purely on the energy you get from it. Ever have a night where you have some drinks and are hyper chatting to people and having fun. You never get that from weed. Saying that some good mellow chronic and music/film/chat is wicked. Still booze for me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

alcohol > weed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭jim o doom

vinylmesh wrote: »
    caffeine= 0.4
    alcohol = 1
    weed= 1.8
    weed + caffeine= 1.8 (no synergy between the 2)
    alcohol + caffeine = 2 (so much better than either drug on it's own).

alcohol + caffeine + weed = 2.5 **** yeah :p!

LOL I agree wholeheartedly. Whiskey + coke gives you alchol & caffeine, then retreat to the beergarden for cheeky bowlage and stupid grins all night long! :) I prefer Weed on a daily basis & alcohol at the weekends. I like having a social drink & even though you do be totally fooked for a day or two after, I still love the mad booze sessions that go on for hours with madness taking place & hazy memories being all you have at the end of it. I also love combining the two; my favourite way to relax (I only do this once every few months) is to flake in a roasting hot bath with a glass of nice brandy & a pipe or bong of decent green with some good reggae blasting out. Just melt in the bath until it gets cold, then have a shower, and bail out to the telly for much non-movement :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

But I see it no more harmful than alcohol, when taken in moderation...
    Most people who smoke chuff usually don't stop at one but sit around all day or night smoking and staring into space having convoluted conversations which they think are really enlightened but to someone listening who is not stoned is absolute drivel.

I have seen first hand how it dramatically changes peoples personalities. Sure alcohol can turn people into obnoxious and sometimes violent morons but it doesn't usually bring on severe psychosis or schizophrenia in the way that sess does which can have long term implications for mental health

All this weed is harmless rhetoric is completely misinformed. The evidence is in that it certainly isn't the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭meboloxitis

dSTAR wrote: »
    Most people who smoke chuff usually don't stop at one but sit around all day or night smoking and staring into space having convoluted conversations which they think are really enlightened but to someone listening who is not stoned is absolute drivel.

I have seen first hand how it dramatically changes peoples personalities. Sure alcohol can turn people into obnoxious and sometimes violent morons but it doesn't usually bring on severe psychosis or schizophrenia in the way that sess does which can have long term implications for mental health

All this weed is harmless rhetoric is completely misinformed. The evidence is in that it certainly isn't the case.

I have to completly disagree with you...

I think you will find that with alcohol abuse you see severe psychosis not to mention violent behaviour. Ever walk through town on a Fri/Sat night?
    All you will see is drunken gob****es fighting & puking all over the streets! Then we should also mention the facts that the A&E & Police Stations are packed every weekend with alcohol related issues!!

Personally I have never seen anybody fighting, puking or crying in the corner after a spliff! (I've had a few in my time)

I guess it all depends on what & who you smoke with! The hash in this country is absolutely disgusting compared to holland.

If this country had any cop on they would regulate weed in Ireland like they do in Holland and make the millions in tax revenue each year that we so desperately need!

I personally find it funny how people can judge others for smoking weed and then go and enjoy their "legal" drugs be it alcohol, cigarettes or pills.

Do you not think it's time we were left to make our own decisions! If people want to smoke weed, they will smoke weed!
    Might as well regulate it! This way we separate the hard core drugs from the softer, create jobs (coffeshops) millions in tax revenue & tourism....

Not in my lifetime though :(

Are you saying the conversations of the drunk are anything other than pointless drivel? what an inane comparison you have just made. Have you actually had a conversation with a drunk person when you were sober? Cue them standing far too close to you, spitting on you as they talk (inadvertently), breathing noxious alcohol breath on you.Also that's fairly off topic - the OP just want's peoples preferences, this isn't a "should weed be legal" thread, it's a "which do you prefer" thread. You stated neither although its obvious alcohol is your choice. Severe psychosis & schizophrenia? the only people I know who have suffered from that had it from birth, bar the fellow I know of who managed to damage himself with LSD. I don't know of a single person who suffered any adverse reaction to marijuana & I have a fairly wide circle of waster friends. Of course my mates do not evidence provide, but neither does your pointless reactionary rant against marijuana. Any medical info I have seen says that "marijuana CAN cause psychosis but in the VAST MAJORITY of users it practically never does". That reads CAN but DOESN'T. Try backing up your ridiculous claims with some sort of evidence eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Well I think it's time this whole alcohol weed thing was settled once and for all. And this thread is the place for it to happen.

If we really crack at it lads and make some really good points I think we'll have some definite answers by lunch time.

(Or we could just bicker back and forth based on personal experience anecdotal evidence and contradictory research reports and the inevitable links to Bill Hicks on Youtube :rolleyes:)

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Well I think it's time this whole alcohol weed thing was settled once and for all. And this thread is the place for it to happen.

If we really crack at it lads and make some really good points I think we'll have some definite answers by lunch time.

(Or we could just bicker back and forth based on personal experience anecdotal evidence and contradictory research reports and the inevitable links to Bill Hicks on Youtube :rolleyes:)

seconded. Although this thread really is just about peoples preferences and makes no queries with regards to legality or anything else. For the record I prefer the weed but I think the two have their place and combined they sure knock u out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭exiot

Nothing better than sparking up a spliff at the end of the day in front of the telly, though good weed is hard to come by where I live, the soapbar is ridiculously bad that I would never buy any of it ever again.

Most of my mates would be big drinkers though, as would myself I suppose so we go out on a very regular basis but I would rather stay in and get stoned but hardly any of them would be up for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

exiot wrote: »
    Nothing better than sparking up a spliff at the end of the day in front of the telly, though good weed is hard to come by where I live, the soapbar is ridiculously bad that I would never buy any of it ever again.

Everyone refuse to buy or sell hash and insist on weed only- problem solved!

yeah sure you'll have to go without sometimes, but that shouldn't be a problem- unless you're addicted :D!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

drinking is far far far worse for you then taking marijuana in any form including smoking

i can almost guarantee that the percentage of people who fall into psychosis as a result of weed is less than the percentage of people who fall into alcoholism and far far less than the people who get pissed drunk and do something stupid that hurts them and others every weekend

alcohol is fine i drink iv nothing against it but besides the fact you have to know a dealer to get some weed is the far superior drug

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭meboloxitis

Weed for me please :D

Alcohol is a lot more harmful and addictive than weed. For fact.
    You don't see weed related crimes and incidents while the cop stations and hospitals are filled with Alcohol related crimes and incidents.

Also weed doesn't have many serious health effects. While Alcohol is the primary cause of Liver cirrhosis which is one of the primary cause of deaths in this country. Alcohol also increases the risk of breast cancer in women.
    BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of over 0.35% can lead to coma and a BAC of 0.5% can cause death. Just recently I read about a guy who drank 1.5l of Vodka in 20mins and died cause of it.
    Alcohol is large concentrations is a depressant. While the first few drinks might make you feel euphoric, tt will make you depressed after having a good few drinks.
    And you see a lot more people suffering from Alcoholism (many in denial) than you see people suffering from addiction to weed.

So Alcohol is much worse a drug than weed. But in the words of Bill Hicks Weed and those other untaxed drugs are the bad drugs, Nicotine and Alcohol are good drugs, coincidentally the taxed drugs!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Most people who smoke chuff usually don't stop at one but sit around all day or night smoking
    Well, I guess I've haven't met "most people," just people who use it in moderation. Do you have a link supporting your statement that "most people" do not exercise moderation?

I am not into recreational drugs like weed, but do have a pint or a glass of wine on occasion.
    Sure alcohol can turn people into obnoxious and sometimes violent morons
    I'm temporarily in America attending university, and I worry more about drunk drivers than people who smoke weed. They kill people by the thousands every year in the US. Alcohol-related deaths in 2004 were 16,694!

Source: http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0908129.html

How many weed smokers have killed people? Numbers? Link?
    Plus...

"Risks of excessive drinking
    Though moderate alcohol use seems to have some health benefits, anything more than moderate drinking can negate any potential benefits. Be cautious because excessive alcohol consumption can lead to serious health problems, including:
    • Cancer of the pancreas, mouth, pharynx, larynx, esophagus and liver, as well as breast cancer
    • Pancreatitis, especially in people with high levels of triglycerides in their blood
    • Sudden death in people with cardiovascular disease
    • Heart muscle damage (alcoholic cardiomyopathy) leading to heart failure
    • Stroke
    • High blood pressure
    • Cirrhosis of the liver
    • Miscarriage
    • Fetal alcohol syndrome in an unborn child, including impaired growth and nervous system development
    • Injuries due to impaired motor skills
    • Suicide"
    Source: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/alcohol/SC00024

Alcohol is a lot more harmful and addictive than weed. For fact.
    You don't see weed related crimes and incidents while the cop stations and hospitals are filled with Alcohol related crimes and incidents.

Also weed doesn't have many serious health effects. While Alcohol is the primary cause of Liver cirrhosis which is one of the primary cause of deaths in this country. Alcohol also increases the risk of breast cancer in women.
    BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of over 0.35% can lead to coma and a BAC of 0.5% can cause death. Just recently I read about a guy who drank 1.5l of Vodka in 20mins and died cause of it.
    Alcohol is large concentrations is a depressant. While the first few drinks might make you feel euphoric, tt will make you depressed after having a good few drinks.
    And you see a lot more people suffering from Alcoholism (many in denial) than you see people suffering from addiction to weed.

So Alcohol is much worse a drug than weed. But in the words of Bill Hicks Weed and those other untaxed drugs are the bad drugs, Nicotine and Alcohol are good drugs, coincidentally the taxed drugs!

I think you missed the point of my post.

what was the point of your post then?

Its okay to drink your drug cuz its culture (and taxed) while its not okay to smoke it?

what was the point of your post then?

Its okay to drink your drug cuz its culture (and taxed) while its not okay to smoke it?

Did you even read my post? I think you'll find that I expressed no opinion about booze or weed.

You said you wanted to settle the discussion for once and all by putting down some good points.
    I (and a lot more posters) put down some really good points.

You can't argue alcohol being better than weed in any way. Alcohol is much much worse than weed. Thats a fact.
    What more do we need to discuss about it?

I'm not a supporter of weed but neither am i a hypocritical alcohol supporter.

So again, what more do we need to discuss about it?

When is your sarcasm detector coming back from the shop?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Going out into the streets and shooting someone dead for no reason is no different than buying drugs from a dealer from what we're seeing in the news.

Its a stupid debate tho. Alcohol and hash have feck all in common bar the fact both can make you look like a complete tosser.

Besides, we need to look the future. Do you smoke grass in space or do you smoke astroturf?