Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motors Meet

• 23-11-2008 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭

After our hugely successful first Motors meet back in August,
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055315418&highlight=motors+meet

Where four out of the i don't know how many turned up, i was wondering would anyone have any interest in meeting up some Sunday before Christmas.

We met the last time in Roslare which was more or less central, had a bit of grub, good chat and made for home. Food was good here, and plenty of parking space.

Any interest?

Do you like cheese 14 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 14 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

After our hugely successful first Motors meet back in August,
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055315418&highlight=motors+meet

Where four out of the i don't know how many turned up, i was wondering would anyone have any interest in meeting up some Sunday before Christmas.

We met the last time in Roslare Roscrea which was more or less central, had a bit of grub, good chat and made for home. Food was good here, and plenty of parking space.

Any interest?
    Fixed

Not before Christmas for me Feckin exams.
    Hows 7/8 Feb?

The list from last time

1.Ninty9er
    2.ClioV6 (106gti)
    3.Draffodx (UKDM Integra Type R)
    4.Mayshine (S2000)
    5.Neuromancer (E39)

6.Limerick-man (mk4 golf)
    7.s14driftking(podge s13 silvia)
    8. E92(93 E34 520i), provisionally at least unless something turns up I shall grace ye with my presence
    9. Volvoboy Teach ya all with me 1.6 Liam Byrne engine toyota
    10 thesoulfulldude (mk3 golf) id make any1 feel good about there car
    11. R.O.R (Accord 2.0i VTEC Sport) - or whatever fancy BMW I can wangle
    12. AudiChris (Miscellaneous Audi)
    13. Marcus.Aurelius Mazda 626 for now maybe Lexus if its back from being on loan!
    14. Alexmcred (mk5 golf GT sport)
    15. Max_Damage (The K10 if it's finished by then, otherwise TBA).
    16. Fey! ('98 BMW e39 520i)
    17. Hungryjoey (06 Seat Leon)
    18. maybe.. What_car (07 Honda Accord Type S or 08 Landcruiser v8)

19. Andrewf20 (E36). If I can make it. I work shift so that may clash.

+
    crosstownk
    colm_mcm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

ninty9er wrote: »
    Fixed

Not before Christmas for me Feckin exams.
    Hows 7/8 Feb?

Have you no Jan? Lol

I was thinking before hand because all our money might be gone, and the country may have collapsed before hand lol:D

Have you no Jan? Lol

I was thinking before hand because all our money might be gone, and the country may have collapsed before hand lol:D

I have an 8,000 word final year project due the 26th and it's the mother's birthday at the weekend.

On the plus side I'll be due in excess of €700 taxback :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

How about hosting it in the pale?

Volvoboy wrote: »
    How about hosting it in the pale?

Crash and booze provided by VB and crosstownk:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Screw the Pale. The best motoring roads in Ireland are in Kerry.

Ill go, dates permitting!

Right so, we'll get a list first. Then i'll start a new group and we can go from there then. Add your name to the list.

This is provisional.

1. Limerick-man
    2. Ninty9er
    3. Ned78

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

I'd go if it was nearer the pale as well!

Edit: Stupid post lol

Right so, we'll get a list first. Then i'll start a new group and we can go from there then. Add your name to the list.

This is provisional.

1. Limerick-man
    2. Ninty9er
    3. Ned78

Don't you mean dates permitting :D

Lol which ever suits. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭robbie99

I'm on for it as well. Don't mind when or where, the longer the drive the better!

Why not add a poll (make it multi choice) for rough dates and locations?

Gimme idea's lol and i'll throw them up.

Two options for (central) locations could be Portlaoise and Athlone. Any good roads around these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

....We met the last time in Roslare which was more or less central..

..er, central to what, exactly ? Pembrokshire and Fishguard residents ?? Or, maybe, a large fish of some kind ?
    How about, oh, I dunno, central ON THE FRICKIN' island ????? ;)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭mthd

I'm in if its somewhere with good roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

mthd wrote: »
    I'm in if its somewhere with good roads

...Brittany, it is then. :D

Hey - at least it's central to..........Rosslare ! :p:p

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Roscrea again??

galwaytt wrote: »
    ..er, central to what, exactly ? Pembrokshire and Fishguard residents ?? Or, maybe, a large fish of some kind ?
    How about, oh, I dunno, central ON THE FRICKIN' island ????? ;)

Lol i meant Roscrea:D

Not exactly central but how about meet up at the giant's causway or thereabouts. A good excuse to take in the Antrim coast road without gatso van worries.

robbie99 wrote: »
    Not exactly central but how about meet up at the giant's causway or thereabouts. A good excuse to take in the Antrim coast road without gatso van worries.

Lol, for those travelling that far to it, it would be hard to make time to stay and talk, and eat etc. etc. Also i'd say alot of people would pull out becuase they couldn't be arsed driving that far. I think Roscrea was a good spot. We'll keep exact location to the private group.

We'll keep exact location to the private group.

I'll set up another one so and people can pm me for an invite like last time?

http://social.boards.ie/group/motors-meets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

ninety ninty can you giver me access ?

How about blessington lakes/glendalough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I'll go - Roscrea was handy the last time but I've no problem travelling elsewhere.

I'll set up another one so and people can pm me for an invite like last time?

http://social.boards.ie/group/motors-meets

Er... How do you use that site lol:P Make me a member or a mod there or whatever if you can.:D

crosstownk wrote: »
    I'll go - Roscrea was handy the last time but I've no problem travelling elsewhere.

Easy said when your not paying for petrol:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,188 ✭✭✭✭L1011

date/time permitting I'll go, actually have a car worth doing it in now too :D

1. Limerick-man
    2. Ninty9er
    3. Ned78
    4. Robbie99
    5. SteveC
    6. mthd
    7. tossy
    8. crosstownk
    9. MYOB

That's the list so far. I'm going to add a poll for Before/ Christmas. We'll knock out bit by bit. If you really have no intention in going please don't put your name down, we had so many last time and no1 turned up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

1. Limerick-man
    2. Ninty9er
    3. Ned78
    4. Robbie99
    5. SteveC
    6. mthd
    7. tossy
    8. crosstownk
    9. MYOB
    10. Onkle

Could I get access to the social group please?

I don't mind where it is. Would like somewhere with nice twisty roads
    And this side of christmas too. We could always do it again in Feb/March

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭alexmcred

1. Limerick-man
    2. Ninty9er
    3. Ned78
    4. Robbie99
    5. SteveC
    6. mthd
    7. tossy
    8. crosstownk
    9. MYOB
    10. Onkle
    11. alexmcred

Could I get access to the social group please?
    Ninty9er your pms don't seem to be working or you have blocked me:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

Kerry FTW!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I'd be interested if it was after Christmas!

That website is sh1te, email addresses are needed to invite people, do really annoying.

Maybe someone else, not looking at anyone in particular **ahem Gary** would set up a social group.

Done and done.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/group.php?groupid=100

Some one check if they can read it before joining, shouldn't be able to.

Can view but its invite-only

MYOB wrote: »
    Can view but its invite-only

Can you the contents. Any one who wants in send a pm. I'll add the few that have posted here.

Drop us an invite there. Can't see it, only members.

Done and done. Try keep and further talk of it to the group. Added a good few there, anyone who i didn't let me know.

I'm in, oddly enough I got a 'barred' message (like the one you get trying to get in to Soccer with no access) straight away but on a reload its grand.

Bump.

The socail group doesn't send out a notification for new posts so make sure to check it every so often!!:D

B

u

m

p

This thread definitely needs some pit babes* to promote this awesome event in motoring history...

44152_2.jpg

Anyone who doesn't attend will be missing out on something awesome....

*babes may not actually turn up

SteveC wrote: »

*Neither may boardsies:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

SteveC wrote: »
    This thread definitely needs some pit babes* to promote this awesome event in motoring history...

44152_2.jpg

Anyone who doesn't attend will be missing out on something awesome....

In the event that babes turn up on a regular basis - can we meet once a week - PLEASE!!!!!

1. Limerick-man
    2. Ninty9er
    3. Ned78
    4. Robbie99
    5. SteveC
    6. mthd
    7. tossy
    8. crosstownk
    9. MYOB
    10. Onkle
    11. alexmcred
    12. Audrey Handsome Camp

I would like to try to make it to a meet anyway lads. PM sent!

crosstownk wrote: »
    In the event that babes turn up on a regular basis - can we meet once a week - PLEASE!!!!!

I'm free Tues and Thurs every week:P haha

hehe, my plan is working...

muhahahaha

I'ts amazing what a bit of skirt can do for the petrolheads!! :D

TTT

B
    u
    m
    p