Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The cycling forum.

• 23-11-2008 7:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,332 ✭✭✭

Hello ,
    Just thought I'd post and say how much enjoyment and reading I get from the forum here.
    I'm not as serious about it myself ,but it's without doubt an inspiration for someone like myself getting back into it.

Thanks,
    Brian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭stopped_clock

I'd second that. Very helpful and educational too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

What, this motley crew of layabouts? Sure we're just gobby, opinionated sh*tehawks on here! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

+ a million

Have to say being on boards for about a year the cycling is an outstanding forum.

Regardless of knowledge, experience or cycling talent the forumites never talk down or dismiss "newbies". There is no bragging, always good humored and even the 'arguments' are only ever discussions

I had the pleasure to meet a few of the boardies on the SK tour and they are even sound in the real world....:D

Exhibit A from last week... Can't get much more helpful than this

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055418427

Long may it continue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Funkyzeit wrote: »
    + a million

Have to say being on boards for about a year the cycling is an outstanding forum.

Regardless of knowledge, experience or cycling talent the forumites never talk down or dismiss "newbies". There is no bragging, always good humored and even the 'arguments' are only ever discussions

I had the pleasure to meet a few of the boardies on the SK tour and they are even sound in the real world....:D

Exhibit A from last week... Can't get much more helpful than this

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055418427

Long may it continue...

You couldn't be more correct! Everyone really rushed to help me! Tiny even offered to come over and help me build the bike without even knowing me!

You are all great guys and hopefully in a few weeks i ll be strong enough to follow you at your spins :)

(Long may it continue...²)³!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

Yes, this forum is an excellent place - even though there's a mix of different enthusiasts and interests here. I think the combination of racing, building, commuting, repair etc threads means there is a lot of collective knowledge passed on to newbies, but in a positive manner, because nobody here was born with a cervelo attached to their feet. Except Blorg maybe.

I'm still waiting for a vicious, name calling, flame intensive thread that will divide us into two warring factions, out for each others blood, demanding separate forums from the mods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

flickerx wrote: »
    Yes, this forum is an excellent place - even though there's a mix of different enthusiasts and interests here. I think the combination of racing, building, commuting, repair etc threads means there is a lot of collective knowledge passed on to newbies, but in a positive manner, because nobody here was born with a cervelo attached to their feet. Except Blorg maybe.

I'm still waiting for a vicious, name calling, flame intensive thread that will divide us into two warring factions, out for each others blood, demanding separate forums from the mods.

That Spinning vs Mashing thread is driving a wedge through the community as we speak.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

I would have thought eurocyclist versus fred was more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

311 wrote: »
    Hello ,
    Just thought I'd post and say how much enjoyment and reading I get from the forum here.
    I'm not as serious about it myself ,but it's without doubt an inspiration for someone like myself getting back into it.

Thanks,
    Brian.
    I dunno. Be careful who you're hanging with. We're just a bunch of rule-breaking, tax dodging outlaws :rolleyes:

No one's started the good old 'Shimano vs Campagnolo' one yet :)

-oh, and as for not 'talking down' to newbies, well, it's either that:
    a. We were one once ourselves
    b. Us regulars get together and bitch about you on the super-secret, only open to special people private, newbie bashing board :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

No one's started the good old 'Shimano vs Campagnolo' one yet :)

Go Team Shimano!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Raam wrote: »
    Go Team Shimano!

Pfft clearly Team Shimpagnolo is the best.

b. Us regulars get together and bitch about you on the super-secret, only open to special people private, newbie bashing board :)

Jesus man, be quiet!

Awh crap, I'm gonna get kicked off the board... and just when I'd won that lovely '98 Festina Jersey on ebay....

Oh, and SRAM FTW :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭unionman

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    I would have thought eurocyclist versus fred was more likely.

Fixed v Road hasn't taken off I think becasue so many here are fixed commuters and road spinners.

But Road vs MTB is surely just waiting to happen. It's been too quiet for too long (as Homer Simpson would say about Canada). I think when blorg makes the announcement that he is moving over to MTB exclusively, the fissures will appear.

There'll be blood spilled on all your keyboards then. Don't say I didn't warn ye!:D

and just when I'd won that lovely '98 Festina Jersey on ebay....

How many have it now? 4?

I only know of Me, You and Tonto... who's the 4th?

I thought NiceOneTom said he had one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Who here wears a helmet?
    Is Lance Armstrong a doper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

unionman wrote: »
    Fixed v Road hasn't taken off I think becasue so many here are fixed commuters and road spinners.

But Road vs MTB is surely just waiting to happen. It's been too quiet for too long (as Homer Simpson would say about Canada). I think when blorg makes the announcement that he is moving over to MTB exclusively, the fissures will appear.

There'll be blood spilled on all your keyboards then. Don't say I didn't warn ye!:D

The multi-bike-discipline race mentioned previously could be a resolver. Road bike to somewhere, MTB to somwhere. Fixed could go in there too.

Verb wrote: »
    The multi-bike-discipline race mentioned previously could be a resolver. Road bike to somewhere, MTB to somwhere. Fixed could go in there too.

Hmmmm.... sounds too close to a triathlon for me....

@petethedrummer: on road bike yes, on commute no. Yes, LA doped :)

@raam: could be that he has one, and is keeping it a bit quiet... a closet Virenque maybe? I have to say though, that he has everyone trumped on the doping memorabilia -he just got a gerolsteiner TdF KOM hat from this year!

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I have to say though, that he has everyone trumped on the doping memorabilia -he just got a gerolsteiner TdF KOM hat from this year!

I've more doper jerseys than the rest of you put together.

el tonto wrote: »
    I've more doper jerseys than the rest of you put together.

You're what's wrong with the peloton. You doping supporter, you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭flickerx

Who here wears a helmet?
    Is Lance Armstrong a doper?

I saw a cyclist break a red light the other day - I wish cyclists would have more respect for the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

I saw a cyclist break a red light the other day

That was probably me. I respect the road just not the lights :D

Wasnt there a hoohaa about a bet on climbing so-and-so road couldn't be done on a standard chainset sitting in the saddle?

Hungrycol wrote: »
    That was probably me. I respect the road just not the lights :D

Wasnt there a hoohaa about a bet on climbing so-and-so road couldn't be done on a standard chainset sitting in the saddle?

Yeah, that never happened unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭Gavin

Where was that again ? We need more of these exciting challenges. Times to get up climbs etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

I think I've got the Jersey and jacket, what's it look like ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

oh that's emtys hill. we've been up it a few times now at this stage. anyone ever do it seated in a standard?

kenmc wrote: »
    oh that's emtys hill. we've been up it a few times now at this stage. anyone ever do it seated in a standard?

Never been up it, period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I did it on the fixie 46-16. Was not seated and it really hurt. I have done it in 39-24, seated. Doesn't mean I'd choose it though :D

@Raam- you have been up it, remember, coming up from Powerscourt Waterfall, turn right and up the hill, then you guys went left at the top back through Enniskerry. You disappeared off up it into the distance as I recall.

This is the second half of the hill, which is the half Membrane was apparently banging on about.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

That was one of the most hilarious threads we had it on here. It's funny to see everyone argue about it in the pre-Boards spin days. If it were now, we'd all be down there on Saturday racing up the hill.

Few points now that I've been up it:

1. It hardly illustrates the inadequacy of a 39 tooth inner ring for riding in Wicklow. It's more like going purposely out of your way to find the steepest little stretch of boreen in the county. You could do the Wicklow 200, all the other randonees and any road race in Wicklow and not come across a hill like that.

2. It's so short that standing even all the way up isn't going to have much of a detrimental effect.

3. On parts of it you're probably better off staying seated since (as I discovered) you risk losing traction on the back wheel while standing.

blorg wrote: »
    @Raam- you have been up it, remember, coming up from Powerscourt Waterfall, turn right and up the hill, then you guys went left at the top back through Enniskerry. You disappeared off up it into the distance as I recall.

This is the second half of the hill, which is the half Membrane was apparently banging on about.

Oh, that was it? That's a nice one. I thought he was talking about somewhere else.

Junior wrote: »
    I think I've got the Jersey and jacket, what's it look like ?

Uhm, it says Festina on it :)

0700708_TourdeFrance_virenque.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

I think I've got the earlier one so, it's full blue ..

Like this one?
    10d0_1.JPG

If so, it's the 2000ish version -for proper druggie effect, it needs to have the white, and peugeot as a sponsor, not specialized :)

This site is pretty good for dating jerseys. It's all in French, but not that hard fo find your way around.

http://www.memoire-du-cyclisme.net/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Lumen wrote: »
    Scary thread!

And I notice the OP hasn't been back on since. :eek:

I'm guessing someone accepted the challenge, lost but took him/her out of it on the way back down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

i have the 95 festina jersey. good enough as far as i'm concerned :P i'm claiming total victory and maximum win with the gerolsteiner KOM hat. tonto it's not about the number of doping implicated jerseys you own (though your collection is impressive, no doubt). after all, it's hardly difficult to find doping related jerseys in the peleton. it would be more of a challenge to find any other kind tbh. it's about the flagrant ridiculousness of the item and the person wearing it. i'm tempted to start putting on weight just to underline my point...

yes this forum is a lovely place, full of lovely people, giving lovely advice. and frankly i'm feckin sick of it. come back kona! all is forgiven! tackleberry - you show potential, but you'll have to try harder. someone, please, be less lovely!! this forum has become a bloody love in (you know who you are, beardies!) with almost no flaming, acrimony, shit stirring, macho posturing, or anonymous patronising abuse. this is still the internet isn't it. so wtf is going on????

niceonetom wrote: »
    i'm tempted to start putting on weight just to underline my point...

or give it to someone who has the weight already.... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Get lost everyone, this places stinks! Who likes to cycle anyway .... it's not even a sport ... !!!!!

playgrnd_trikes.jpg
    from left to right:

Caroline_ie, Blorg, TinyExplosions, Niceonetom, el tonto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

em... your helmet is on backwards. :D

i have the 95 festina jersey.

Laurent Brochard wannabe?

Brochard,%20Laurent%202.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

em... your helmet is on backwards. :D
    You boys keeps staring at me ... stoooopppp!!!!!!! Go bother el tonto ... Mister Tom 'Ooohh look at me I can track stand on my tricycle' ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭MCOS

Lumen wrote: »
    Scary thread!

Jaysus, I'll have to take a few days off work to read that thread... a bit heavy compared to the fun element I've experienced of this Forum so far :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 liamds

anyone interested in getting a small group of social cyclists together in Raheny. What I have in mind are short runs of about twenty miles or so ?

Liam

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Liam, you're not supposed to drag up old threads - it's against the rules of the charter.
    The best thing would be to start a new thread.

Welcome to Boards by the way.:)

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

1-Gold.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 liamds

Hermy wrote: »
    Liam, you're not supposed to drag up old threads - it's against the rules of the charter.
    The best thing would be to start a new thread.

Welcome to Boards by the way.:)
    Sorry about that ( re Cycling Group Raheny ) I tried to post a new thread/ group but since I am a new member the system rejected me.

Liam