Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Throw the book at this lad

• 21-11-2008 5:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭

Absolute scumbag got "life" which probably means about 8 years but still so glad he got the book thrown at him.

Man jailed for life for murder of Google employee
    Print Print
    Email+ Email+
    Share Share
    21/11/2008 - 16:11:34
    A 22-year-old man has been jailed for life by the Central Criminal Court for the murder of a Google employee.

Dane Pearse stabbed 26 year-old Mark Spellman in the street following a confrontation and was found guilty of murder by a jury of six men and six women following an eight-day trial.

Members of the jury wept as Mr Justice Paul Carney imposed the mandatory sentence. He heard that Pearse, of Londonbridge Drive, Irishtown, Dublin, had six previous offences for public order, criminal damage and drugs offences.

Mr Spellman's sister, Emma, read a statement to the court on behalf of her family. She said Mark had always been a smiling, caring, happy and amazing person who would do anything for anyone. She said he had had high hopes and ambitions and was her inspiration.

Diarmaid McGuinness SC, defending, read a letter of apology from Pearse in which he accepted responsibility for causing Mr Spellman's death. He said words could not describe how sorry he was and he would gladly change places with the deceased.

Detective Sergeant Barry Walsh agreed with Mr McGuinness that Pearse, a father of one, had attempted suicide following the killing and had to be stopped from injuring himself at the top of a building in October last year.

Pearse denied murdering Mr Spellman, from Dalkey, at Londonbridge Road, Irishtown on August 4, 2007. The jury spent just over two and a half hours deliberating before convicting him.

It had heard that Mr Spellman and two male friends were walking home after a work night out when Mr Spellman became involved with the accused who was heading home from the pub with his girlfriend. A confrontation took place and Pearse ran into his house and armed himself with a knife and baton as Mr Spellman continued his walk home.

Evidence was given that Pearse then ran around a corner waving the weapons and attacked Mr Spellman who was fatally stabbed in the chest and abdomen. Pearse told gardaí that he had meant only to frighten the deceased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

He said words could not describe how sorry he was and he would gladly change places with the deceased.

I guess he'll gladly take his life sentence now and won't ever appeal or look for parole or a reduced sentence.
    As if! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Why is there so much emphasis in that article on the fact that the victim worked for Google?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I think we should give generational sentences for these crimes, say 1000 years. When the miscreant dies, successive next-of-kin go to jail until the sentence is completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭anti-venom

You're probably right, 8 - 10 years maybe. Doesn't sound much like justice for taking a life but at least the cnut is behind bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

00112984 wrote: »
    Why is there so much emphasis in that article on the fact that the victim worked for Google?

Yeah i've always thought that too, they seemed to have mentioned it in every peice i've read about it. It doesn't make sense.

The media are emphasizing that he had a 'good job' to amplify outrage emphasize the terrible loss. The garden-variety scobe-on-scobe stabbings just don't get the rabble going, or shift as many units.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Throwing books at him probably won't accomplish much, you'd be better off sticking him in jail for the rest of his life.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Throwing books at him probably won't accomplish much, you'd be better off sticking him in jail for the rest of his life.

Some of them books have real pointy edges though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Atomic papercut, anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

We really need to sort out prison terms for killings.

This is the 2nd killing in Dublin 4 in a couple of years. Another happened in Ringsend. I know both the guys that committed the murders/manslaughter (same thing for me) and know a lot about what happened in both incidents (also know well the 1st young guy that was murdered).

tbh, both are similar. Both guys went back to their houses after a row and got a knife. In both cases the victim didn't run away from the person with the knife so they had a tussle and in the end stabbed.

One got 8 years, one got 25.

To be honest I think the 8 year sentence the fairer. It's not going to mean we'll have more murders. People aren't going to start carrying knives around with them because they know if they kill in a row they'll only have to stay in a cell for 8 years. I just know that both these guys don't even need a prison sentence to knock sense into them.

Stabbing someone, a stranger, during a drunken fight is nothing compared to some of the murders people go down for. Most of the people that go down for murder deserve their 25 years, if not a lot more (sick people, people that will never learn and people that might commit again). This case is no different to the dozens of manslaughter sentences people have gone down for though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

eirebhoy wrote: »

This is the 2nd killing in Dublin 4 in a couple of years. Another happened in Ringsend. I know both the guys that committed the murders/manslaughter (same thing for me) and know a lot about what happened in both incidents.

tbh, both are similar. Both guys went back to their houses after a row and got a knife. In both cases the victim didn't run away from the person with the knife so they had a tussle and in the end stabbed.

To be honest I think the 8 year sentence the fairer. It's not going to mean we'll have more murders. People aren't going to start carrying knives around with them because they know if they kill in a row they'll only have to stay in a cell for 8 years. I just know that both these guys don't even need a prison sentence to knock sense into them.

Stabbing someone, a stranger, during a drunken fight is nothing compared to some of the murders people go down for. Most of the people that go down for murder deserve their 25 years, if not a lot more (sick people, people that will never learn and people that might commit again). This case is no different to the dozens of manslaughter sentences people have gone down for though.

third if you include the one in Ballsbridge involving the 17 year old. Coincidently enough same story as the other 2 the offender went back to the house to get a knife and stabbed the victim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Straight up murder.

Punishment should fit the crime: Death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭R.D. aka MR.D

When i hear stories like this I always think that this man will be able to walk around the park and have a pint and do everything else involved in a normal life when he is still in his 40's but the victim won't ever be 40.

third if you include the one in Ballsbridge involving the 17 year old. Coincidently enough same story as the other 2 the offender went back to the house to get a knife and stabbed the victim
    And he was convicted of manslaughter too.

I think the big difference here is that Dane Pearse had quite a few arrests on his record. He was a thug and scumbag growing up but there was also hundreds of other thugs and scumbags in Ringsend and Pearse at 15, 16, 17 and most of them grow out of it when they start drinking in pubs. He had a trade. He was with his girlfriend that night in the pub and their child was being minded.

I just don't see why he should get 25 years while the other 2 get a 1/3 of that. I genuinely believe it's his background. The other 2 guys had clean records and were probably pretty good kids. No they can't go down as murderers. You have to be a thug to down as a murderer don't you know? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

I just know that both these guys don't even need a prison sentence to knock sense into them.

Sorry, but he has previous convictions? So they obviously didn't knock sense into him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭dennistuam

i friend of mine is a prison officer in the prison in castlerea
    he told me that they put the so called hard chaws in the old section if they get bolshy ,basically this building is riddled with mice runing along the radiator pipes from one cell to the next ,it is great gas hearing the thugs screaming as the mickey mouses runing up there legs

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

dennistuam wrote: »
    it is great gas hearing the thugs screaming as the mickey mouses runing up there legs

Ah they love a bit of mickey in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭dennistuam

[that the stuff for the mala toola tool bag murdurer a mickey from a peado

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

AC, you've achieved yet again to have me laughing hysterically.. Someone put this in the quotes project, quality!

jdivision wrote: »
    Sorry, but he has previous convictions? So they obviously didn't knock sense into him.
    I don't get you. There's a big difference between getting charged with breach of the peace and getting charged with murder...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 559 ✭✭✭danger mouse

Holsten wrote: »
    Straight up murder.

Punishment should fit the crime: Death.

Yeah i usually feel this is right, but anytime i hear of people actually getting executed i feel sick, and think it's so wrong.. Anyway I think life should probably mean life and death penalties are just the easy way out. More life with out release for the win....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

That's how they do in that neighbourhood.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,550 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

anti-venom wrote: »
    You're probably right, 8 - 10 years maybe. Doesn't sound much like justice for taking a life but at least the cnut is behind bars.

Life in Ireland means that the Minister for Justice can detain you for the rest of your natural life. It's up to him. The average is about 14 years, the stated minimum under McDowell was 12 years, the range from shortest to longest is 9 years to 40 years.

I don't know where people get the figure of 8-10 years, but it seems to be a figure plucked out of thin air.

The most important thing about life sentences is that even if someone is released on parole, the Minister for Justice can have them put back in jail on a whim, if there is a rumour about them misbehaving.

Read more here: http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/Pages/Life_sentences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 MondaysSuck

lock him up and throw away the key

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

I don't get you. There's a big difference between getting charged with breach of the peace and getting charged with murder...

Actually there's not a big difference. There's a difference, but it ain't big. By having a previous criminal record, the murderer is proving that he has broken the law before, and still continues to do so. He has, no doubt, been before the courts before, giving a similar speech about how sorry he was and that he wouldn't do it again.

The result of the crime might be drastically different, but his contempt for society/the law in each crime was the same.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Dave147 wrote: »
    AC, you've achieved yet again to have me laughing hysterically.. Someone put this in the quotes project, quality!
    Glad to hear it. Feel free to send me a donation. Just send the money to:

AlmightyCushion,
    Server 7B,
    The Internet.

Also just to let you know anyone can add to the quotes project. I'd do it myself but it would be equivalent to rigging an election which I would never do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭Heckler

This is the 2nd killing in Dublin 4 in a couple of years. Another happened in Ringsend. I know both the guys that committed the murders/manslaughter (same thing for me) and know a lot about what happened in both incidents (also know well the 1st young guy that was murdered).

Anyone who goes away, has a chance to cool down but still pulls a knife from a kitchen drawer and goes back to kill someone should go down for murder. Manslaughter my hole. As for this "I was only trying to scare him defence", go on away and **** off. You brought a knife to a minor confrontation. 20 years minimum. No parole. Maybe with sentences like that people might think twice before flashing a blade around. Cowardly ****ers !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I usally reserve terms like Throw the Book At Them for the really sick ****. Like the kind of guy that might rape a 12 year old and then gut them with a fork or something.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

Overheal wrote: »
    Like the kind of guy that might rape a 12 year old and then gut them with a fork or something.

Exactly, throw the book at them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

stovelid wrote: »
    The media are emphasizing that he had a 'good job' to amplify outrage emphasize the terrible loss. The garden-variety scobe-on-scobe stabbings just don't get the rabble going, or shift as many units.

Probably, however it doesnt take away from the fact that it was a heinous crime and a terrible loss. I am indeed outraged and disgusted and i think it is an illustration of everything that is wrong with society.

Are you suggesting that to be outraged by this suggests that one is "rabble"?

Heckler wrote: »
    Anyone who goes away, has a chance to cool down but still pulls a knife from a kitchen drawer and goes back to kill someone should go down for murder. Manslaughter my hole.
    We've had 2 examples of similar incidents within a mile of each other in the last couple of years where the killer has gone down for manslaughter. That's the problem.

btw, I think a lot of people wouldn't be cooling down. There's plenty of people of all backgrounds (snobs to knackers) who if they were fighting with 2 or 3 strangers around the corner from their house would get an adrenaline rush from being so close to safety, they'd feel ultra confident and they'd go to their house for a weapon. I'd actually say it's a much higher percentage of people than a lot may think. There's just something about being in your own neighborhood with guys that aren't from that area. Obviously the vast majority aren't going to go out to stab the people but jesus if someone threatens you with a knife you don't stay there and try to calm him down or walk towards him.

Maybe that's why a few of these incidents have been in Dublin 4. You're getting all types of people drinking in pubs/clubs close to residential estates. Complete guess though obviously.

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Probably, however it doesnt take away from the fact that it was a heinous crime and a terrible loss. I am indeed outraged and disgusted and i think it is an illustration of everything that is wrong with society.

Are you suggesting that to be outraged by this suggests that one is "rabble"?

I was suggesting that in the death reporting game, a professional trumps a scobe, a baby P trumps an African baby, and a Diana is a royal flush.

I don't usually make that point, because it's obvious, and can detract from the seriousness of the crime at hand, but it was a direct answer to the poster who wondered why the guy's profession had to be mentioned in every report. The whole slant was obviously Dalkey high-flyer cut down by recidivist scobe.

Nowhere did I say it wasn't an actual loss, or a terrible thing to happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭Turd Ferguson

stovelid wrote: »
    I was suggesting that in the death reporting game, a professional trumps a scobe, a baby P trumps an African baby, and a Diana is a royal flush.

I don't usually make that point, because it's obvious, and can detract from the seriousness of the crime at hand, but it was a direct answer to the poster who wondered why the guy's profession had to be mentioned in every report. The whole slant was obviously Dalkey high-flyer cut down by recidivist scobe.

Nowhere did I say it wasn't an actual loss, or a terrible thing to happen.

Same thing with the guy in Limerick. It was a terrible loss, but they really hit home the fact that he was "the rugby player" in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

I think the big difference here is that Dane Pearse had quite a few arrests on his record. Wasn't from a good address with an expensive Barrister He was a thug and scumbag growing up but there was also hundreds of other thugs and scumbags in Ringsend and Pearse at 15, 16, 17 and most of them grow out of it when they start drinking in pubs. He had a trade. He was with his girlfriend that night in the pub and their child was being minded.
    There, fixed it or you!. The persons previous recors would never have been known to the jury. Major difference I see is the quality of the defence and how nice a suit the accused can afford for court. Unfortunately juries are human and perception is everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Absolute scumbag got "life" which probably means about 8 years but still so glad he got the book thrown at him.

Why? What makes him worse than the six that were involved in that incident outside the hotel where a young lad was kicked/beaten to death?

Is it because a working class lad did something unforgivably stupid to a middle class lad? As has been pointed out, theres far worse articles than this eejit on the streets. If you want a lynch mob, its going to be a small one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 803 ✭✭✭flushje

He was in my class for 3 odd years, always was a bit of a wild one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

Nodin wrote: »
    Why? What makes him worse than the six that were involved in that incident outside the hotel where a young lad was kicked/beaten to death?

He went for a knife?

Aside from that, not much. The problem is that it was clearly him to blame,
    whereas in the other case you had to pin it on 1 of 6. All scum of the highest order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Was it ever revealed what the initial argument was about?
    I'd like to hear the whole story because maybe yer man Spellman was a right prick, Obviously It wouldn't justify murder, but maybe we would see it in a different light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭abitlonely

Surely not RA, sure he was a google employee...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

He's a violent scumbag who deserves a lengthy jail sentence but he obviously didn't intend things to go as far as they did considering he attempted suicide the next day and expressed remorse... I doubt the victim's family can forgive him, but it does make a change that the perpetrator actually apologised.

Dudess wrote: »
    He's a violent scumbag who deserves a lengthy jail sentence but he obviously didn't intend things to go as far as they did considering he attempted suicide the next day and expressed remorse... I doubt the victim's family can forgive him, but it does make a change that the perpetrator actually apologised.

Hes sorry because he was found guilty. If the was truly sorry he would have pleaded guilty and accepted his punishment thus sparing the grieving family the trial of the well, trial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

abitlonely wrote: »
    He went for a knife?

Aside from that, not much. The problem is that it was clearly him to blame,
    whereas in the other case you had to pin it on 1 of 6. All scum of the highest order.

Essentially. Though its worthy to note the fact that not all six were charged, and the time allowed to lapse (they were allowed go through third level) before it was brought to trial, despite it happening in front of an estimated 400 people. Stupid things done by stupid young lads which can never be fixed in both cases, yet theres only one doing life (which isn't to say he doesn't deserve to be there...thats not where the problem lies). Thats one of the reasohs we can't have the death penalty back.

Mind you another example comes to mind (and this probably dates back the late 1980's), there was the case of the wealthy couple and the priest, where the latter was found to have died of a blow by an object to the head, in their bedroom, with no other parties present save the couple, with no charges being brought. If that was Anto, antos mot and some priest, I doubt we'd have a similar outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Hes sorry because he was found guilty. If the was truly sorry he would have pleaded guilty and accepted his punishment thus sparing the grieving family the trial of the well, trial.
    He attempted suicide the day after the guy died though. Well yeah... maybe that was only because he couldn't face jail.

Was it ever revealed what the initial argument was about?
    I'd like to hear the whole story because maybe yer man Spellman was a right prick, Obviously It wouldn't justify murder, but maybe we would see it in a different light.

HAHAHA

Yeah because it's a regular occurance where upstanding people with decent jobs go picking on crazy "I'm in court on a regular basis" knackers when walking down the street. Get real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭riff-raff

each case is different ...:p but I love the bit in the evidence where he fell on the knife ...funny it..was twice he was stabbed...:rolleyes:..but what if this this guy was from foxrock like the guys who commited the murder outside Annabels night club .. does anybody think he would be doing 8 years or would he have the money to turn the sentance around for a lesser one!!:(

Dudess wrote: »
    He attempted suicide the day after the guy died though. Well yeah... maybe that was only because he couldn't face jail.

Mmmm, like the scobie who stabbed the Polish lad tried to kill himself the following day by taking a pile of E's?

The press have indeed played on the fact that he worked from Google, but, and the same Shane Geoghan, the outrage is due to the fact that they were innocent people going about their lives when they were murdered by pond-life. Not a conspiracy by "rabble" to lynch working class lads "who were never given a chance".

Mmmm, like the scobie who stabbed the Polish lad tried to kill himself the following day by taking a pile of E's?

The press have indeed played on the fact that he worked from Google, but, and the same Shane Geoghan, the outrage is due to the fact that they were innocent people going about their lives when they were murdered by pond-life.

determine pond life....

riff-raff wrote: »
    determine pond life....

People who stab other people.

What about shot, choke or batter to death no matter what social back ground:cool:

riff-raff wrote: »
    What about shot, choke or batter to death no matter what social back ground:cool:

Yes, those too.